NC Division of Aging and Adult Services CHANGE NO. 03-14

DATE: November 1, 2014

Manual:	State/County Special Assistance
Subject:	Residency Requirement Changes
То:	County Directors of Social Services
Effective:	November 1, 2014

I. BACKGROUND

Session Law 2014-100, the Appropriations Act of 2014, eliminates one of the ways for applicants to meet the State residency requirement for State/County Special Assistance (SA.) The Statute had allowed a person to meet the SA State residency requirement if he/she moved to North Carolina to join a close relative who has lived in the state for at least 180 days.

For applications taken on or after <u>November 1, 2014</u>, the applicant must either:

- **A.** Meet the 90-day residency requirement by residing in North Carolina for at least 90 days immediately prior to receiving SA with the intent to remain. **Or** :
- **B.** Must have been discharged from a State facility as a result of an interstate mental health compact that requires the State to continue treating the person within the State.

II. CONTENT AND IMPLEMENTATION OF CHANGE

Removed the reference to the policy allowing the applicant to meet State residency requirements by moving to the State to join a close relative.

III. MAINTENANCE OF MANUAL: REISSUED THE FOLLOWING

SA-3110: Application Process: Removed in Section IV.C., the statement that the relative must verify his/her residency when an applicant was moving to the State to join a close relative.

SA-3250: Residence: Removed from policy Section II. A.6., the reference to procedures when an applicant moves to the State to join a close relative.

If you have any questions regarding this information, please contact the SA Program Unit at specialassistance@dhbs.nc.gov

Sincerely,

Suzanne P. Merrill Acting Director