
DMA ADMINISTRATIVE LETTER NO: 08-13, 
ADDENDUM 1, HEALTH COVERAGE FOR 

WORKERS WITH DISABILITIES 
 
DATE: 1/27/14 
 
SUBJECT: Health Coverage for Workers with Disabilities Phase III 
 
DISTRIBUTION: County Departments of Social Services 
 
 

I. BACKGROUND 
 

North Carolina is authorized to provide Medicaid for disabled/blind workers 
under the Health Coverage for Workers with Disabilities Act (G.S. 108A-54.1).  
Health Coverage for Workers with Disabilities (HCWD) provides an incentive 
for persons with disabilities to go to work or to increase their hours of work 
while protecting their Medicaid eligibility.  

 
Health Coverage for Workers with Disabilities was implemented in November 
2008, providing eligibility for disabled individuals with incomes of 150% or less 
of the federal poverty level (FPL) (See MA-2180, Health Coverage for Workers 
with Disabilities).  On August 26, 2013, the income limit was raised to 200% of 
FPL with the requirement that those whose income exceeds 150% FPL must 
pay an enrollment fee (see Administrative Letter 08-13). 

 
DMA is providing eligibility for all who qualify for HCWD regardless of income 
or CAP status beginning November 14, 2013. 

 
II. POLICY PRINCIPLES 
 

Implement the following changes in HCWD policy: 
 

A. Income 
 

The only income limit for the HCWD program is that the 
applicant/beneficiary cannot have more than 150% of FPL in unearned 
income.  However, those with total monthly incomes greater than 450% of 
FPL, after applicable disregards, must pay a full premium (see II.C. below). 
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B. Enrollment Fee 
 

All individuals with total monthly countable income above 150% of the 
federal poverty level must pay a $50 enrollment fee for each twelve month 
certification period.  The enrollment fee is collected by the county and 
retained to offset administrative expenses.  There is no enrollment fee for 
retroactive coverage.  See Administrative Letter 08-13 for enrollment fee 
notification and collection instructions.  If a premium is due (see II.C. 
below), mail the enrollment fee notice with the premium invoice. 

 
Note: Members of federally recognized Native American tribes and Alaska 
natives are exempt from cost sharing, including enrollment fees. 

 
C. Premiums 

 
Individuals with countable income above 200% of FPL must pay a monthly 
premium in addition to an enrollment fee of $50 per year.  The premiums 
increase with income range until income exceeds 450% of FPL, at which 
point a 100% premium is due.  The 100% premium is based upon the 
average claims paid for an individual in the MAD and MAB programs. 

 
1. The income ranges and associated premiums are found in the 

following chart: 
 
 Federal Poverty 

Level 
Income Range – 
HCWD Individual 

Income Range – 
HCWD Couple 

Monthly 
Premium 

101-150% $958.01 - $1,437 $1,293.01 - $1,939      0 
151-200% $1,437.01 - $1,915 $1,939.01 - $2,585      0 
201-250% $1,915.01 - $2,394 $2,585.01 - $3,232 $139 
251-300% $2,394.01 - $2,873 $3,232.01 - $3,878 $175 
301-350% $2,873.01 - $3,352 $3,878.01 - $4,524 $211 
351-400% $3,352.01 - $3,830 $4,524.01 - $5,170 $247 
401-450% $3,830.01 - $4,309 $5,170.01 - $5,817 $283 
451 and above $4,309.01 and up $5,817.01 and up $472 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Note: All HCWD cases with income above 200% of FPL must be 
processed in EIS (see III. for EIS requirements). 
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2. Determine if a Premium is Due 
 

a. Calculate the amount of total countable net earned and unearned 
income for the individual.  Those with unearned income above 
150% FPL are not eligible for HCWD. 

 
b. If total countable monthly income exceeds 200% of FPL, a 

premium is due. 
 

Note: Members of federally recognized Native American tribes and 
Alaska natives are exempt from cost sharing, including premiums. 

 
3. Notification of Premium Due 

 
Notify the applicant in writing that a premium is due.  (See 
Attachment 1 for premium invoice). 

 
a. Date the premium invoice the date it will be mailed. 

 
b. The invoice must identify the premium amount due for each 

month separately. 
 

c. The caseworker must provide his name, direct phone number 
and email address on the invoice. 

 
d. Mail the premium invoice with the enrollment fee notice (see II.B. 

above). 
 

e. Give the A/B 12 business days to pay the premium.  Day one is 
the day after the invoice is mailed. 

 
f. Payment must be by check or money order payable to: “NC 

DHHS” and “HCWD Premium” must be written on the memo line 
of the check. 

 
g. Have payment mailed to: “DHHS Controller; 2022 Mail Service 

Center; Raleigh, NC 27699.” 
 

h. When the premium payment is made, DMA will notify the county 
worker designated on the invoice by telephone and email a copy 
of the invoice and check to the worker. 

 
 
 
 
 



DMA Administrative Letter 08-13, Addendum 1 
Page 4 
 

4. Premium Invoices for Applications 
 

a. The applicant must be billed for all premiums due from the first 
month authorized through one month after the current calendar 
month. 

 
b. If 12 calendar days exceeds the 45/90 day processing standard, 

pend until you receive notice of payment, or until the first 
workday after the due date for payment. 

 
(1) Allow for the exclusion of days when income verification is 

received and the application must pend beyond 45/90 
days in order to notify the applicant and receive the 
premium payment.  

 
(2) The exclusion of days begins on the day of the request for 

premium payment and ends on the day the premium is 
received or on the 13th calendar day, whichever occurs 
first. 

 
(3) Use “HCW” code to indicate that the case is pending for 

the HCWD enrollment fee or premium or both.  Refer to 
MA-2304, Processing the Application, for case pending 
instructions. 

 
c. Premium Invoices for Retroactive Months 

 
An applicant who requests retroactive coverage must pay a 
premium for each retroactive month authorized. 

 
Note:  No enrollment fee is due for retroactive months. 

 
d. Decision Following Payment or Non-Payment 

 
(1) Upon receipt of notification from DMA that the premium 

has been paid, authorize eligibility for the month or months 
covered by the premium. 

 
For applications, apply premium payments to the oldest 
unpaid month associated with the application approval, 
retroactive or ongoing, and then apply payments to the 
remaining months associated with the application approval 
from oldest to newest.   

 
(a)  If the applicant has identified the premium payment 

as an ongoing payment, apply the payment to the 
earliest unpaid ongoing month. 
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(b) If the applicant has identified the premium payment 
as a retroactive payment, apply the payment to the 
earliest unpaid retroactive month. 

 
(c) If the payment is not identified as retroactive or 

ongoing, apply the payment to the earliest unpaid 
month. 

 
(2) Upon receipt of notification from DMA that the A/B refused 

to pay the premium, or failed to pay the premium, deny the 
application using a G9 code and send the HCWD denial 
for non-payment of premium letter (See Attachment 2 for 
non-payment denial notice). 

 
(a) Provide the coverage period and amount due for 

each month owed in the appropriate section of the 
denial notice. 

 
(b) Provide caseworker name and contact information 

in the appropriate section of the denial notice. 
 

5. Premium Invoices for Ongoing Cases and Redeterminations 
 

a. Send the monthly premium invoice on the first business day of 
the month prior to the next month of eligibility (See Attachment 1 
for premium invoice). 

 
Example: Premiums have been paid for January and February.  
On February 1 mail the premium invoice for March. 

 
b. Give the A/B 12 business days to pay the premium; day one is 

the day after the invoice is mailed. 
 

c. Do not send a termination notice prior to the day after the 
payment is due. 

 
d. If no communication has been received from DMA on the first 

business day following the twelfth business day (date on which 
the fee was due), contact DMA -- William Appel at 919-855-4005 
to verify status.  If payment has not been made, document the 
contact and terminate the case for non-payment of the fee. 
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e. Decision Following Payment or Non-Payment: 
 

(1) Upon receipt of notification from DMA that the premium 
has been paid, authorize eligibility for the month or months 
covered by the premium. 

 
For on-going cases, apply premium payments to the 
oldest unpaid month in the current certification period. 

 
(2) Upon receipt of notification from DMA that the A/B refused 

to pay the premium, or failed to pay the premium, 
terminate the case after timely notice (See Attachment 3 
for non-payment termination notice). 

 
(a) Provide the coverage period and amount due for 

each month owed in the appropriate section of the 
termination notice. 

 
(b) Provide caseworker name and contact information 

in the appropriate section of the termination notice. 
 

(3) If it is a redetermination, terminate after timely notice (See 
Attachment 3 for non-payment termination notice).  

 
(a) Provide the coverage period and amount due for 

each month owed in the appropriate section of the 
termination notice. 

 
(b) Provide caseworker name and contact information 

in the appropriate section of the termination notice. 
 

(4) See II.B.3. above for notice time frame requirements. 
 

Note: If the redetermination is late, provide coverage 
without premium payment until timely notice is effective. 

 
III. EIS REQUIREMENTS 
 

Neither EIS or NCFAST are able to accept incomes above 200% of FPL in an 
ABD program at this time.  In addition, none of the existing systems (EIS, 
NCFAST, and NCTRACKS) have the current capacity to bill for, process and 
track premiums.  Therefore, until the necessary system changes can be made, 
a workaround will have to be employed.  Take the following steps to authorize 
an individual in EIS by keying an 8125: 
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A. Income Limits and Medicaid Classification 
 

Due to EIS systems limitations, you will not be able to enter the correct 
maintenance and income amounts if countable income is above 200% of 
FPL.  If countable income is above 200% of FPL: 

 
1. For living arrangement 10: 

 
a. Key the maintenance amount as 200% of FPL  

 
(1) For a single individual, the maintenance amount is $1,915. 

 
(2) For a couple, the maintenance amount is $2,585. 

 
b. Enter the income as 200% FPL 

 
c. Document the file with the correct countable income figure. 

 
2. For living arrangement 11: 

 
a. Key the maintenance amount as 200% FPL 

 
(1) For a single individual the maintenance amount is $1,277. 

 
(2) For a couple, the maintenance amount is $1,724. 

 
b. Enter the income as 200% FPL.  

 
c. Document the file with the correct countable income limit. 

 
B. Sub-Program Codes 

 
1. For the Basic Coverage Group, enter the following sub-program 

codes: 
 

a. If countable income is at or below 150% of FPL enter B1. 
 

b. If countable income is greater than 150% of FPL, enter B2. 
 

2. For the Medically Improved Coverage Group, enter the following 
sub-program codes: 

 
a. If countable income is at or below 150% of FPL enter M5 

 
b. If countable income is greater than 150% of FPL, enter M6. 

 
3. See EIS Manual Section 2600 for sub-program codes. 

 
Note: Individual must be a B1 or B2 prior to becoming a M5 or M6.
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C. Federal Poverty Level Indicator 
 

Immediately after entering the subprogram code on the 8125, enter the 
Federal Poverty Level Indicator of 4A for all incomes above 150% FPL. 

 
D. Medicaid Status and Classification 

 
1. Enter the Medicaid status as “D”. 

 
2. Enter the Medicaid class as “M”. 

 
E. Certification Period 

 
For ongoing cases, enter the certification period as 12 months. 

 
F. Premiums 

 
1. HCWD cases over 200% FPL must be entered into EIS similarly to how 

a CAP deductible case is entered.  Enter the premium amount in the 
db/pml field. In the future, there will be a payment screen and all 
premiums will be entered by DMA. 

 
2. Enter the CAP code in the appropriate field only if the individual is also 

a CAP recipient. 
 

G. Notices 
 

Use “other” change code 50 and override the notice. 
 

H. Enter the Subprogram Group Begin Date 
 

1.  Enter the date coverage begins as MMDDYY. 
 

2. HCWD cannot be posted to a period of time that is authorized in an 
aid program/category that is not eligible for HCWD (i.e. MQB, MAA, 
MAF, etc.). Only MAD and MAB are correct for HCWD. 

 
3.  The Begin Date must be the first day of the month and cannot be 

later than the ongoing month. 
 

4. For cases with incomes over 200% FPL, the Begin Date can be 
retroactive, but cannot be earlier than November 1, 2013. 

 
5.  An A/B can have a different SUB PROGRAM in the retroactive 

period than in the ongoing period.  
 
 
 

.
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I. Enter the Subprogram Group End Date 
 

1. When HCWD ends, re-key the SUB PROGRAM GROUP code, the 
FPL indicator, the BEGIN DATE, and the END DATE. The END 
DATE must be after the BEGIN DATE and must be the last day of 
the month. 

 
2. For an open/shut approval, the END DATE may be retroactive to the 

current date, but must be the last day of a month. 
 

3. For an ongoing case, the END DATE must not be earlier than the 
last day of the month prior to the ongoing month. The END DATE 
cannot be retroactive. 

 
4. When HCWD coverage changes from one SUB PROGRAM to 

another, for instance, changing from B1 to M5, use the following 
instructions: 

 
a. To end coverage in the old SUB PROGRAM, re-key the old 

SUB PROGRAM code and FPL indicator, BEGIN DATE, and 
END DATE. The END DATE must be after the BEGIN DATE 
and must be the last day of the month prior to the ongoing 
month. 

 
b. Enter the new SUB PROGRAM code, FPL indicator, and 

BEGIN DATE. The BEGIN DATE cannot be earlier than the 
first day of the ongoing month. 

 
J. “Deductible” to Authorized 

 
1. If notified that the premium has been paid: 

 
a. Authorize the A/B using the “P” screen; 

 
b. Enter premium amount in db/pml field. 

 
2. If notified that premium has not been paid, see II.C. above for denial 

and termination instructions. 
 
IV. EFFECTIVE DATE AND IMPLEMENTATION 
 

This policy change is effective 11/01/2013.  Apply this change to applications 
taken and redeterminations started on or after November 1, 2013.  All 
applications received or redeterminations begun on or after 11/01/2013 which 
resulted in denials or terminations for excess income, in which the individual 
had earned income, will have to be reopened to determine if the individual  
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would have been eligible under the expanded HCWD program.  A list of all 
those potentially affected will be created in XPTR and the counties will be 
notified when these reports are available.  If you have been holding 
applications, process them now. 

 
If you have any questions regarding this information, please contact a Medicaid 
Program Representative. 
 
 
 
 

Sandra Terrell, MS, RN 
Acting Director 

 
(This material was researched and written by Wanda McLeoud, EIS Consultant and 
William Appel, Project Director, Recipient and Provider Services).  
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