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IMPORTANT NOTICE 
 

MEDICAID ESTATE RECOVERY CLAIM 
 

        
 ________________________DATE 

 
____________________________ 
____________________________ 
____________________________ 
____________________________ 
 
RE: _________________________ 
 
This is NOTICE that North Carolina General Statute § 108A -70.5 authorizes Medicaid to file a claim against the 
estate of the person named above.  Attached to this notice is an invoice itemizing the amount of Medicaid 
payments subject to recovery.  It is the responsibility of the executor/administrator/legally authorized 
representative of the estate to notify each individual who will be affected by this claim and explain the following 
provisions: 
 
There are some circumstances when Medicaid will not pursue collection.  Recovery will be waived 
when: 
 
► The total assets in the estate are less than $5,000, OR  

The total Medicaid payments subject to recovery is less than $3,000 
 

There are some circumstances when your estate can be deferred: 

► When the spouse of the Medicaid beneficiary is still living; or, 
When the Medicaid beneficiary has a surviving child, who is under age 21, or 
When the Medicaid beneficiary has a surviving child of any age who is blind or disabled as provided in 
42 U.S.C. § 1396p(b)(2)(A); or 
When a qualified undue hardship applicant continues to meet the undue hardship criteria. 

 
 
Please refer to the back of this notice for a definition of undue hardship and directions to make a claim 
of undue hardship. 
 
If you have questions about anything in this notice, contact Medicaid, Eligibility Unit.  If you have a specific 
question regarding the invoice or collection process, contact the Third-Party Recovery Section (TPR) at 
Medicaid.  Both can be reached toll free at 800/662-7030. 
 
 
 
 
__________________________________                                        
            Caseworker Signature 
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In order for a claim of undue hardship to be granted, the qualified undue hardship applicant must meet 
all of the requirements for at least one of the three following undue hardship definitions:  
 

1. Real or personal property included in the estate of the deceased Medicaid beneficiary pursuant to North 
Carolina General Statute § 28A-15-1 meets the following conditions: 

 
a. The property is the sole source of income for a qualified undue hardship applicant and his or her 

spouse and related family members in his or her household, and  
b. The gross income available to the qualified undue hardship applicant and his or her spouse and 

related family members in his or her household is below 200 percent of the federal poverty 
level, or 

 
2. Recovery would result in the sale of real property included in the estate of the deceased Medicaid 

beneficiary pursuant to North Carolina General Statute § 28A-15-1 meets the following conditions: 
 

a. The qualified undue hardship applicant is residing on and has continuously resided on the real 
property since the decedent’s death and  

b. The qualified undue hardship applicant resided on the property for at least 12 months 
immediately prior to and continuously until the date of the decedent’s death; and  

c. The gross income available to the qualified undue hardship applicant and his or her spouse and 
related family members in his or her household is below 200 percent of the federal poverty 
level; and  

d. The assets of the qualified undue hardship applicant and his or her spouse and related family 
members of his or her household are valued below twelve thousand dollars ($12,000), or 

 
3. Recovery would result in the sale of real property included in the estate of the deceased Medicaid 

beneficiary pursuant to North Carolina General Statute § 28A-15-1 meets the following conditions: 
 

a. The qualified undue hardship applicant owns a tenancy in common interest of at least 25% 
in the real property, as evidenced by a valid and properly recorded deed; and  

b. The qualified undue hardship applicant’s ownership interest in the real property was 
acquired at least 24 months prior to the Medicaid beneficiary’s death, as evidenced by a 
valid and properly recorded deed; and 

c. The real property has a value of less than $100,000 determined as follows: 
(1) By the most current County tax assessment value of the property; or 
(2) By an appraisal of the property, obtained at the expense of the qualified undue 

hardship applicant, by an appraiser licensed by and in good standing with the 
North Carolina Appraisal Board; and 

d. The qualified undue hardship applicant is residing on and has continuously resided on the 
real property since the decedent’s death; and 

e. The qualified undue hardship applicant resided on the real property for at least 12 months 
immediately prior to and continuously until the date of the decedent's death; and  

f. The gross income available to the qualified undue hardship applicant and his or her spouse 
and related family members in his or her household is below 200 percent of the federal 
poverty level; and 

g. The assets of the qualified undue hardship applicant and his or her spouse and related 
family members in his or her household, excluding the qualified undue hardship applicant’s 
tenancy in common interest in the real property, are valued below twelve thousand dollars 
($12,000). 

 
An undue hardship waiver or deferral applies only during the lifetime of the qualified undue hardship applicant 
and only as long as the qualified undue hardship applicant continues to meet the criteria for one of the undue 
hardship definitions. 
 
A claim of undue hardship must be made within 60 days of the date of the notice of the Medicaid claim. The 
executor or qualified undue hardship applicant may contact the HMS Estate Recovery Unit at 1-866-455-0109 to 
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obtain an Application for Undue Hardship Waiver of North Carolina Medicaid Estate Recovery.  The completed 
application with supporting documentation stated on the application should be sent to:   
 

             HMS Estate Recovery Unit 
    Post Office Box 18869  
    Raleigh, North Carolina 27619 
 
 
If documentation necessary to evaluate the claim is not provided or the undue hardship applicant requests 
additional time to obtain the documentation, the estate recovery administrator may extend the review for an 
additional 30 calendar days.  If necessary documentation is not provided within the time frames, the claim will be 
denied. 
 
The estate recovery administrator will notify the undue hardship applicant, the executor, and/or the clerk of court 
of the decision in writing.  
 
If the undue hardship applicant disagrees with the decision on the claim of hardship, he or she may appeal to 
the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) within 60 calendar days from receipt of the decision.  If no appeal to 
OAH is filed, the decision is final. 


	DATE: 
	1: 
	2: 
	3: 
	4: 
	RE: 


