NORTH CAROLINA COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES NOTICE OF APPROVAL

The Social Security Administration informed us that you receive Supplemental Security Income (SSI). If you receive an SSI check, you are automatically eligible for Medicaid. Medicaid pays for certain medical services. As long as you remain eligible for SSI, you will receive Medicaid. Please read the Consumer's Guide upon receipt. The Guide will be mailed to you after the end of the month and is also available online at http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/pub/consumerlibrary.htm.

You will receive Medicaid for the following months:	
If you owe medical bills for any of these months, take your Medicaid card to the providers so they can file fo	01
Medicaid to pay your bills. Always take your Medicaid card with you to visits to medical providers.	

You may have been receiving Medicaid through the department of social services (DSS) but now you will receive full Medicaid coverage as an SSI recipient. You are eligible for all medical care services covered by the North Carolina Medicaid Program.

If you have unpaid medical bills for any of the three months before the month you applied for SSI, and need help to pay them, contact the county department of social services in the county where you live and ask for a retroactive Medicaid determination. You MUST ask for this determination within 60 days of the date of this letter.

As a recipient of Medicaid, you may be required to enroll in Community Care of North Carolina/Carolina Access (CCNC/CA), the Medicaid managed health care program. You must contact your local DSS within the next 30 days to choose a Primary Care Provider (PCP). If you do not, a PCP will be assigned to you. The name of your PCP will be printed on the front of your Medicaid card. You must use this provider for your basic health care needs and for referrals to other doctors. If you receive Medicare in addition to Medicaid, you can choose to enroll in Carolina ACCESS but you will not be required to do so. If you do not choose to enroll, you will not have a PCP assigned to you.

• Estate Recovery Notice:

Federal and State laws require the Division of Medical Assistance (DMA) to file a claim against the estate of certain individuals to recover the amount paid by the Medicaid program during the time the individual received assistance with certain medical services. Contact your county Department of Social Services for specific information regarding which services are applicable to estate recovery.

If you have questions about your Medicaid coverage, contact the County Department of Social Services in the county where you live.

Should you have further questions regarding Medicaid, or North Carolina Health Choice, you may call the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) Customer Support Center, toll free at 1-800-662-7030 (English/Spanish) or 1-877-452-2514 (Note: this is a TTY number that is for deaf or hearing impaired callers). The DHHS Customer Support Center is open from 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m., Monday - Friday. Additional information about services in your community is also found on the Department of Health and Human Services website at www.ncdhhs.gov/.