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Central Registry

I. INTRODUCTION

North Carolina General Statue § 7B-311 (http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter 7B/GS 7B-
311.html) requires the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) to maintain a Central Registry of child abuse and neglect cases.
DHHS shall also maintain in the Central Registry dependency cases and child fatalities that are the result of alleged maltreatment. This
statute makes it mandatory for the director of the county child welfare agency to report to the Central Registry all cases of child abuse,
neglect, and/or dependency accepted for CPS Assessment as discussed in Assessments in the NC Child Welfare manual. Because they do
not meet the definition of abuse, neglect, and/or dependency, reports not accepted for CPS Assessment are currently exempt from the
Central Registry reporting requirement. The statute also requires that reports in the Central Registry be kept confidential under North
Carolina Administrative Rule (10A NCAC 70A .0102 http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-
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%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-
%20children's%20services/subchapter%20a/10a%20ncac%2070a%20.0102.pdf).

Il. PURPOSE

The Central Registry is intended to serve the following purposes:

A. To gather historical and statistical data on children who have been abused, neglected, and/or rendered dependent. As part of a
thorough assessment of allegations of abuse, neglect, and/or dependency, county child welfare agencies are required to conduct
a search of the Central Registry. Central Registry checks are not necessary when the agency has conducted such a check within
the previous 60 days or when the agency is providing continuous Child Protective Services.

Once the county child welfare agency accepts a report for CPS Assessment, each alleged victim child’s name must be checked
against the Central Registry to determine if any prior reports of abuse, neglect, and/or dependency have been made.

This is important because it provides information that will help the county child welfare worker determine if the allegations
represent a pattern of abuse, neglect, and/or dependency. When assessing a family to determine the most appropriate services,
the county child welfare worker must consider the history of abuse, neglect, and/or dependency, as well as the present incident
or circumstances. The Central Registry can clarify patterns of abuse, neglect, and/or dependency for families who move from
county to county within the State. Therefore, the Central Registry may offer additional history not contained in agency records.

B. To gather historical and statistical data on parents, guardians, caretakers, and custodians identified as being responsible for
abuse or serious neglect. This information will be contained in the RIL sub-system. Information from the RIL is available only to
authorized persons for the sole purpose of determining current or prospective employability or fitness to care for (foster parent)
or adopt children. Access to the Central Registry continues to be limited by North Carolina Laws and Administrative Rule and
does not change as a result of the RIL. At no time shall the Central Registry be used for determining employability.

Only individuals identified by the North Carolina Division of Social Services (Division) and county child welfare agencies will have
direct access to the RIL.

C. To gather historical and statistical data regarding child fatalities that result from alleged maltreatment.
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The Central Registry sub-system was created to track information on children in North Carolina who died because of abuse,
neglect, and/or dependency, regardless of CPS involvement. The Central Registry lists all children identified on the child fatality
intake form-- not just the child who died. The Central Registry will identify each child as either a

“fatality” or a “survivor”. This information is derived from reports made by county child welfare agencies according to the Child
Fatality Protocol and entered into the Central Registry by the Division.

The county child welfare agency may accept a report for CPS Assessment when, the parent(s) of the alleged victim had another
child who died previously as a result of abuse, neglect, and/or dependency. If the previous fatality occurred prior to the birth of
the child currently alleged to be abused, neglected, and/or dependent and there were no other children in the home at the time
of the fatality, there would not have been a CPS Assessment.

In this situation, the Central Registry will list the fatality via the child fatality subsystem, if reported to the Division. As a
part of a thorough CPS Assessment of the current allegations, the county child welfare agency conducts a Central Registry check,
and the names of the children involved in the earlier child fatality are displayed. The agency conducting the CPS Assessment will
need to contact the county child welfare agency in the county where the fatality occurred to receive more information.

The gathering of data to enable research to be done on the nature and extent of child abuse, neglect, and dependency and for
other appropriate disclosure.

The gathering of data to enable the system to produce statistics and management reports for county child welfare agencies, and
for use in making program decisions about protective services from the State.

11l. REPORTING TO THE CENTRAL REGISTRY

County child welfare agencies make the required reports to the Central Registry by use of the Report to the Central Registry/CPS
Application, Form DSS-5104 (http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf) and the Responsible Individuals List Form, DSS-
5104a (http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf).

Form DSS-5104 is a dual-purpose form.
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A. The DSS-5104 is used as the application for Child Protective Services. It documents the receipt of a report of abuse, neglect,
and/or dependency. The original form must be placed in the client's file and is subject to the confidentiality requirements for
Child

Protective Services as set forth in North Carolina General Statutes § 7B-302
(http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter 7B/GS 7B -302.html) and 10A NCAC 70A
.0102. A copy of the form must be used for data entry.

B. On-Line Data Entry allows county child welfare agency staff to enter Central Registry data directly into the system. Data

entered by the agency fulfils the statutory responsibility to file a report in the Central Registry on abuse, neglect, and/or
dependency reports received and assessed by the agency (NCGS § 7B-311)
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter 7B/GS 7B311.html). Data is to be entered
within ten working days after a case decision is made as to whether abuse, neglect, and/or dependency is found.

After a CPS Assessment has been completed, a DSS-5104 paper form must be completed, unless direct entry is permitted
according to county discretion. Once completed, the information from the form is keyed into the Central Registry System. The
DSS-5104 has 41 fields. Fields 1-9 have general information pertaining to the CPS Assessment and must always be completed
one per form number.

Fields 10-32 have information pertaining to the victim. The DSS-5104 paper form has space for one victim. If the CPS
Assessment has more than one victim, complete fields 10-32 on a DSS-5104c. Complete as many as needed. To enter more
than one child, select the F8 key and proceed to enter the information regarding that child.

Each victim must have a copy of a completed DSS-5104 paper form in his or her case record. Although there may be multiple
DSS-5104 paper forms for one CPS Assessment, there is only one form number per CPS Assessment. The Central Registry
allows for up to 20 victims and 10 perpetrators per DSS-5104. Do not enter multiple children from the same CPS Assessment
under different form numbers for the DSS-5104. For additional information on this topic please refer to Assessments in the NC
Child Welfare manual

Fields 33-40 have information pertaining to the perpetrator. The DSS-5104 paper form has space for 2 perpetrators. If the CPS
Assessment determines there are more than two perpetrators, a DSS-5104p should be used, but use the same form number
for each sheet. To enter more than one perpetrator select the F8 key and proceed to enter the information regarding that
perpetrator.
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Once the DSS-5104 paper form has been completed and sent to Data Entry, the information is then entered into the Central
Registry. Instructions for completing form DSS-5104 and all accompanying codes are located in this section.

The DSS-5104a is used only in cases of substantiated abuse and/or serious neglect when the identified responsible individual
is to be placed on the Responsible Individuals List. For information on the use and purpose of the DSS-5104a, refer to Cross
Function Topics in the NC Child Welfare manual.

IV. CONFIDENTIALITY OF THE CENTRAL REGISTRY
A. LEGAL BASIS

Information submitted by county child welfare agencies to the Central Registry is confidential (NCGS § 7B-311
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter 7B/GS 7B311.html). Non-identifying statistical
information and general information about the scope, nature, and extent of the child abuse, neglect, and dependency issue in
North Carolina is not subject to this rule of confidentiality. The Division publishes an annual report of statistics which is made
available on the Division’s web site.

Information submitted by county child welfare agencies to the RIL sub-system of the Central Registry is subject to broader
disclosure than the Central Registry (North Carolina General Statute § 7B-311(b)
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter 7B/GS 7B311.html). Please refer to Responsible
Individuals List in Cross Function Topics for more information.

B. REQUESTS FOR INFORMATION FROM THE CENTRAL REGISTRY

The release of information from the Central Registry is restricted except as identified below:

1. For guidance on the release of confidential information as it relates to the delivery of services to protect a child(ren),
refer to the NC Child Welfare manual for more about Confidentiality and Release of Information
(https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/info/olm/manuals/dss/ ).
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For guidance on the release of information from the RIL, refer to the NC Child Welfare manual
(https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/info/olm/manuals/dss/).

Although states are required to provide child abuse and neglect information to others states requesting information for
the purposes of approving foster and adoptive applications, information from the Central Registry shall not be provided
for this purpose. In accordance with North Carolina Administrative Rule (10A NCAC 70A .0102
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-
%20children's%20services/subchapter%20a/10a%20ncac%2070a%20.0102.pdf), the RIL is to be used for this purpose.

C. ACCESS RESTRICTIONS

Access to the Central Registry is restricted to:

Staff of the Division and staff of the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services who require access while
performing duties pertinent to management, maintenance, and evaluation of the Central Registry and evaluation of and
research into abuse, neglect and dependency cases reported in accordance with North Carolina General Statute § 7B-311
(http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter 7B/G S 7B-311.html). Management of
the Central Registry includes provision of information on cases to county child welfare agencies. Such information shall
be shared so as to assure that Child Protective Services will be made available to children and families as quickly as
possible.

The county director in order to identify:

a. Whether a child who is the subject of a current CPS Assessment has been previously reported as abused,
neglected, and/or dependent;

b. Whether a child is a member of a family in which a child fatality has occurred previously and there is suspicion
that the death was due to abuse, neglect, and/or dependency;

C. Whether an adult suspected of current abuse, neglect, and/or dependency has had previous substantiations for
abuse, neglect, and/or dependency; and/or
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d. Whether an adult is appropriate to be a Temporary Safety Provider during a current CPS Assessment.

The Central Registry may only be accessed for use of a Temporary Safety Provider during a current (open) CPS
Assessment. Once a case decision has been made, further assessments of relative or fictive kin for placement must
request information from the RIL or internal agency records--not the Central Registry.

3. When giving or receiving assistance with a case, the county director shall share information from the Central Registry
with law enforcement, licensed physicians, or licensed physician extenders when receiving assistance from these
professionals, during an open CPS Assessment, to provide Child Protective Services to children and their families in
accordance with 10A NCAC 70A .0102. For this purpose, information shared from the Central Registry will be limited to:

a. The child's name, date of birth, sex, race,
b. The county that assessed the report(s),
C. The type of maltreatment reported,
d. The case decision,
e. The date of the case decision,
f. The type of maltreatment found, and
g. The relationship of the perpetrator to the victim child.
4, The Chief Medical Examiner's office and law enforcement, in the event of a child fatality when there is a need to

determine if their investigation or evaluation should consider child abuse, neglect, and/or dependency as a factor in the
death. Information will be limited to that outlined above in accordance with 10A NCAC 70A .0102.
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D. RESEARCH - USING DATA FROM THE CENTRAL REGISTRY

Individuals may receive approval in accordance with 10A NCAC 70A .0102 to conduct studies and research using data from the
Central Registry.

1. Such approval must be requested in writing to the Director of the Division of Social Services. The written request will
specify and be approved based on:

a. An explanation of how the findings of the study have potential for expanding knowledge and improving
professional practices in the area of prevention and identification of child abuse, neglect, and dependency.

b. A description of how the study will be conducted and how the findings will be used.
C. A presentation of the individual's credentials in the area of critical investigation.
d. A description of how the individual will safeguard information.
2. Access will be denied when, in the judgment of the Director, the study will have minimal impact on either knowledge or

practice in accordance with 10A NCAC 70A .0102.

V. CENTRAL REGISTRY - DESIGN AND FUNCTION
This section is written for the county child welfare worker completing the Report to the Central Registry/CPS Application (DSS-5104)

paper form and/or Data Entry staff entering the data from the DSS-5104 paper form into the CPS Central Registry automated state
system.

A. CONFIDENTIALITY

North Carolina General Statute § 7B-311
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(http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter 7B/GS 7B311.html) states that information
contained in the Central Registry is confidential. The statute also requires that information in the Central Registry be kept
confidential under
North Carolina Administrative Rule (10A NCAC 70A.0102 http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-
%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-
%20children's%20services/subchapter%20a/10a%20ncac%2070a%20.0102.pdf). Any violations of confidentiality are considered a
Class 3 Misdemeanor (https://www.nccourts.gov/assets/documents/publications/Misdemeanor-list-2017.pdf).

County child welfare agencies have the responsibility for ensuring that unauthorized use is prohibited. For this reason, security
procedures have been established. Once access to the Central Registry has been secured, it is the responsibility of each user to
maintain confidentiality.

B. SECURITY

The DHHS and the Information Technology Services (ITS) have implemented the Resource Access Control Facility (RACF) to help
protect automated data at ITS. RACF controls overall access to the Division’s automated systems which supports programs
supervised by the Division. RACF does not replace security already established for individual systems. With RACF, each individual
user is identified and verified by a unique ID and a self-assigned password.

Each county security control officer is responsible for assigning generic RACF IDs and passwords provided by the Division’s
security administrators. Each user then selects an individual password. RACF IDs and passwords are confidential, and all users
must sign a memorandum of understanding when assigned security clearance. All users are instructed that RACF IDs and
passwords are for “Official Use Only”.

Passwords must begin with an alpha character and must be six to eight characters (can be letters, numbers, or a combination of
both). A password and RACF ID is revoked if not used in 45 days, entered incorrectly five times in a row, or not changed within
the required timeframe (90 days). Should a user’s access be revoked, the user must contact the security officer for that county. If
a user forgets a password, the county security officer would need to be contacted.

C. TERMINAL MESSAGES

A CW Listserv has been established to deliver terminal messages via email. Terminal messages are used to communicate system
related issues, updates, or changes.
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1. To Subscribe:

Go to the website http://lists.ncmail.net/mailman/listinfo/cwlistserv and complete the registration. An email will be
received when access has been approved.

2. To Unsubscribe:

Go to the website http://lists.ncmail.net/mailman/listinfo/cwlistserv and at the bottom of the page there is an option to
unsubscribe.

D. TURNAROUNDS

For each DSS-5104 keyed and processed in the nightly update, a DSS-5104 turnaround is automatically created and mailed to the
county.

E. LINK TO SIS AND RIL

When a CPS report is accepted on a child, the SIS system shall be checked to determine if the child has an existing SIS number in
the county receiving the report. If the child has an existing SIS number in the county, do not request a new SIS number. Instead
the county child welfare worker is required to update the existing DSS-5027 for that child by opening Service Code 210 (CPS
Assessment) and submitting it for data entry.

The county child welfare worker will complete the DSS-5104 at the conclusion of the CPS Assessment. If the child already has a
SIS number, items #10 through #19 on the DSS5104 should be left blank, as this information is already in the SIS system. Data
entry of the DSS-5104 is required within ten working days after a case decision is made. If the report is “Substantiated” or found
“Services Needed” and Service Code 215 (CPS In-Home Services) is to be opened, the county child welfare worker updates the
existing DSS-5027 to open Service Code 215 and any other services to be added and to close 210 services.

If the child does not already have a record in the SIS system, a DSS-5027 will have to be completed, as well as the DSS-5104. If the
information on federal tribe, language preference, special education status and race declined are not available when keying the
new SIS ID number, the DSS-5104 cannot be saved.
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SERVICES INFORMATION
o ADD e

CLIENT LAST FIRST MI TURNAROUND REQUEST
BIRTHDATE CTY CTY CASE NO FED TRIBE OTHER

DATE R

A Q END DATE REASON SPECIAL USE
01012011

LOCAL USE STATE USE

LEGAL STATUS LIV ARR ¢ RACE SCH GR LANG
1

d L PF3=5I5 MAIN MENU PF4=EXIT S
PLEASE ENTER THE REQUIRED FIELD
i | :00.3

Additional services should be added to the DSS-5027 turnaround form as needed.

The DSS-5104 is also associated with the DSS-51044a, the Responsible Individuals List (RIL).

11



NC DSS
CPS Data Collection (Non-NC FAST)
July 2019

Appendix 1
F. LOGON AND LOGOFF PROCEDURES

1. LOGON

From the banner screen that shows the message “IS CONNECTED TO THE
STATE NETWORK,” key “CICSNC16” in the application field, and press ENTER.

The next screen will be the CICS sign on screen.

=l =]

E =]
Fle= = v B8 & [ R O W o B2 ed |
199.90.157.13 WIA TCP/IP TO THE MNORTH CAROLIMNA STATE NETWORK

-- CUSTOMER SUPPORT CENTER: (9193 ¥54-6000 / 1-800

e e kW % WARMNTIN = ook w
« THIS IS A G NT CO . THE STATE OF
' ' XPEC e 2IVACY . THIS COMPUT

PﬁHTH AR i N
& TE! 4 1EMT OPERA
ESULT IM

ﬁDMIHISTP T
USE

APPLICATION:

From the CICS sign on screen enter in the Userid (RACF ID), bill code (bill-code), and password and press ENTER.
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B 1w

=l

Ple= = % £ ® @aFE O W B2 ed o7 B

ELCOME 1O CICSNCIE DAR 24 X 7 PRODUCTION REGION.

CCECCCCCECECTY, TITTIITIITITTITIILS CECECCCEEETET Y, S555555555555

171
1Y
Ccococococooccocy TITTTITTITITITITTG Y ol v o ] oo ] SSSSSSSSSSS
CCCCCCCCCCCe ILLIETITTT T BT CCCCCCCCCCee sssssssssssss

===>
= > B ===
Please Ti11 in wour Userid and Password and press ENTER

Tina DHHS region PRODUCTION
authorized users on official business only.
|

Press PF2 for more information

Mon Mar 16 03/16

The next screen will be a blank screen. From this blank screen, key ‘sy01’ and press ENTER. The following Central Registry
Menu will be displayed:

SYO0Ol CYAOOLFM DATE: 09/23/2011
TIME: 12:53:47
STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESQURCES
CENTRAL REGISTRY SELECTION MENU

FUNCTION KEY SELECTIONS
DSS-5104 ENTRY 1
DSS-5104 INQUIRY FORM NUMEBER

DS5-5104 CHANGES FORM NUMBER

VICTIM NAME DISPLAY LAST, FIRST, MI

SOUNDEX VICTIM NAME DISPLAY LAST, FIRST
PERPETRATOR NAME DISPLAY LAST, FIRST, MI

ADMINISTRATIVE MENU
FATALITIES MENU

RESPONSIELE INDIVIDUALS LIST MENU
SELECTION _ KEY

- PLEASE MARK A SELECTION.
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2.

To logoff, press the “F3” key twice. At the blank screen key in “logoff” and press enter (for return to the main state banner

LOGOFF

screen).

G. KEYING FUNCTIONS (F KEYS)

Once logged into the State system, the following is a list of function keys that are used. The system often displays messages

July 2019

regarding these function keys at the bottom of the screen. Read these messages carefully before proceeding to the next screen.

1.

KEY FUNCTION
Enter The system edits the screen and displays messages when an error is found or when
the form updates successfully
PF3 To exit the screen and return to the Central Registry Selection menu.
PF7 To scroll back to the previous screen.
PF8 To scroll forward to the next screen (DSS-5104c and DSS-5104p)
PF9 To add/update when displayed on the screen being keyed.
PF10 To cancel data keyed on a current screen

CENTRAL REGISTRY MAIN MENU

DSS-5104 INITIAL ENTRY

To enter information on a new DSS-5104 key in “1” in the selection field and press ENTER. The system will not generate a
form id number until the entire form has been keyed. The next screen will show a blank DSS-5104 and information can be
entered and saved.

DSS-5104 INQUIRY

The inquiry function allows users to view previously keyed DSS-5104s. To view the DSS-5104, key “2”, as the selection
and key in the form number and press enter. This will display the DSS-5104. Since this is an inquiry, changes will not be
allowed.
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3. DSS-5104 CHANGES

When making changes to the DSS-5104, each change (and reason) should be thoroughly documented, along with the
appropriate authorization by the county child welfare agency director or his or her designee, as indicated, in the child's
file. The corrected paper DSS-5104 form should be placed in the child's file.

From the Central Registry Selection Menu, key “3” as the selection then key the form number to be corrected. This will
display the DSS-5104 screen. This screen allows data entry staff to make the appropriate changes.

There are certain fields that are protected, and information cannot be re-keyed. These fields are highlighted when this
occurs. In most cases, the cursor does not stop in these fields. If information is attempted to be keyed in a protected
field, the system displays the “Not Allowed” symbol in the lower left corner of the screen.

This symbol is an “X” next to a stick figure with arrows, seen below. To remove this error symbol, press the ESC key.

11 Session? - EXTRAL X-treme EEX

© Fle Edt view Tools Session Options Help
IDEH S & PO Wdle a8 K BE OE MR

ISCF  CYAIOLFM CENTRAL REGISTRY DSS-5104 INQUIRY DATE: 06/07/2010
FORM: 12343 INCIDENT AND VICTIM DATA TIME: 15:39:01

CcTY COUNTY CASE CASE MANAGER LAST FI MI NUMBER

INITIAL REPORT ASSESS INITIATED CASE DECISION RISK ASSMT REQ. ASSIST

CLIENT ID: LAST NAME:
SSN: - = DOB: SEX: : SCHOOL : GRADE :
LA: SPECIALS: SOURCE REF: Juv: CRI:
RELSHIP: POST SVCs: OLDID:
FAILURE TO REPORT SOURCE:
FAILURE TO REPORT REASON:

DID NOT WANT TO GET INVOLVED/FAMILY MATTERS/RELIGIOUS BELIEF

FEAR OF RETALIATION/FINANCIAL DISTRESS

DID NOT CONSIDER ACTIONS INAPPROPRIATE/DISBELIEF

DID NOT KNOW HOW TO REPORT

DSS WOULD NOT RESPOND

THOUGHT SOMEONE ELSE WOULD REPORT IT/BETTER HANDLED BY OTHER

THOUGHT IT WOULD BE A BREACH OF CONFIDENTIALITY

OTHER/UNKNOWN TO WORKER
PF3=PREV SCREEN ENTER=NEXT SCREEN PF7/8=PREV/NEXT VICT PFLO=CANCEL
CYAQOLl - FORM NUMBER NOT FOUND ON FORM TABLE - RETRY OR PF3 TO EXIT

Connected ko host scc.sips.state.nc.us [207.192.50,50] Keys: 0154 Saved: 0000 NUM
PP s 5 * Y f o BT
igstait. & =& 6 7 “EX LB ol RSN P
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4, DSS-5104 DELETIONS

If a DSS-5104 has been entered with an error, the form must be deleted. To request that a DSS-5104 be deleted from
the state system a written request must be submitted to the Division via the DSS-5104d. Requests must be submitted to:

NC Division of Social Services

Performance Management, Reporting and Evaluation Section
820 S. Boylan Ave
2415 Mail Service Center

Raleigh, NC 27699-2415

Or by fax to (919) 334-1052.

Appropriate deletion requests include:

a. Incorrectly entered each child on a separate DSS-5104 and need to be combined onto one form,
b. Entered children on form that were not a part of the CPS Assessment,
C. Child’s SIS ID number is incorrect and it cannot be corrected by doing a SIS
ID Merge, or
d. Duplicate entry (entered DSS-5104 multiple times)
5. VICTIM NAME DISPLAY/SOUNDEX VICTIM NAME DISPLAY (SEARCH)

a. VICTIM NAME DISPLAY
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To view the record of a name that is displayed, key an
the Central Registry.

July 2019

This option is used to search to see if a child has had a DSS-5104 entered as a result of prior reports. Key a “4” in
the selection field and then in the “key” field enter the last name and the first name separated by a comma and a
space after the comma, then enter. Only exact matches to the name entered will be displayed.

“uxn

It is also possible to search for a child using the
name as possible, followed by an “*”, and then as many letters of the first name as possible followed by an
This option locates all children whose names contain the letters keyed. For example, if searching for John Doe,
but unsure of the spelling of the name, key in “Do*, Jo*” and all children whose first names begin with “Jo” and
last names begin with “Do” will be listed.

(wildcard) option. To do so, key in as many letters of the last

“uxn

III”

To view the record of a name that is displayed, key an
information of the Central Registry.

next to the name, press F9 to see the perpetrator

SOUNDEX VICTIM NAME DISPLAY

This option is used to search to see if a child has a previous DSS-5104

entered as a result of a prior report. Key a “5” in the selection field and the name in the “key field, then enter.
Note that the last and first name are to be separated by a comma and a space after the comma. For this option,
the child’s last name and at least the first letter of the first name is needed. This option will display all names that
match and are similar to the name entered.

PERPETRATOR NAME DISPLAY (SEARCH)
This option is used to search to see if an alleged perpetrator already exists in the Central Registry as a result of a prior

report. Key a “6” in the selection field and in the “key” field enter the last name, first name of the alleged perpetrator.
Note that the last and first name are to be separated by a comma and a space after the comma.

The search results will only return results that have an exact match.

llIII

next to the name, then F9 to see the perpetrator information of
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7. ADMINISTRATIVE MENU

From the Central Registry Selection menu, key “7” in the selection field. Press ENTER. This menu is available only for the
State Administrator.

8. FATALITIES MENU

From the Central Registry Selection menu, key “8” in the selection field. Press ENTER. This menu is available only for
State staff.

9. RIL MENU

This option is used to access the RIL menu. From the Central Registry Selection menu, key “9” in the selection field. Press
ENTER. For more information please see Responsible Individuals List in Cross Function Topics.

VI. DSS-5104 FORM FIELDS AND CODES

Unless otherwise noted, to have the information that is keyed from a DSS-5104 entered in the system, press enter.

FIELD 1 - COUNTY NAME [ENTRY REQUIRED]

Enter the two-digit code that identifies the county conducting the CPS Assessment. In cases where there is a partner county child welfare
agency assisting with the CPS Assessment, the resident county child welfare agency is responsible for completing the DSS-5104. The
resident county child welfare agency's two-digit county code is to be entered.

18
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Co. # Co. Name Co. # Co. Name Co. # Co. Name Co.# Co. Name
01 Alamance 26 Cumberland 51 Johnston 76 Randolph
02 Alexander 27 Currituck 52 Jones 77 Richmond
03 Alleghany 28 Dare 53 Lee 78 Robeson
04 Anson 29 Davidson 54 Lenoir 79 Rockingham
05 Ashe 30 Davie 55 Lincoln 80 Rowan
06 Avery 31 Duplin 56 Macon 81 Rutherford
07 Beaufort 32 Durham 57 Madison 82 Sampson
08 Bertie 33 Edgecombe 58 Martin 83 Scotland
09 Bladen 34 Forsyth 59 McDowell 84 Stanly
10 Brunswick 35 Franklin 60 Mecklenburg 85 Stokes
11 Buncombe 36 Gaston 61 Mitchell 86 Surry
12 Burke 37 Gates 62 Montgomery 87 Swain
13 Cabarrus 38 Graham 63 Moore 88 Transylvania
14 Caldwell 39 Granville 64 Nash 89 Tyrrell
15 Camden 40 Greene 65 New Hanover 90 Union
16 Carteret 41 Guilford 66 Northampton 91 Vance
17 Caswell 42 Halifax 67 Onslow 92 Wake
18 Catawba 43 Harnett 68 Orange 93 Warren
19 Chatham 44 Haywood 69 Pamlico 94 Washington
20 Cherokee 45 Henderson 70 Pasquotank 95 Watauga
21 Chowan 46 Hertford 71 Pender 96 Wayne
22 Clay 47 Hoke 72 Perquimans 97 Wilkes
23 Cleveland 48 Hyde 73 Person 98 Wilson
24 Columbus 49 Iredell 74 Pitt 99 Yadkin
25 Craven 50 Jackson 75 Polk 00 Yancey

FIELD 2 - COUNTY CASE NUMBER

[ENTRY REQUIRED]

Enter the county's Child Protective Services case number: up to 6 numeric digits.

July 2019
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FIELD 3 - CASE MANAGER NAME [ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE]

Entry is not required if a valid county child welfare worker case manager number from FIELD 4 is entered. Otherwise enter the last name,
first initial, and middle initial of the case manager.

FIELD 4 - CASE MANAGER NUMBER [ENTRY REQUIRED]

Enter the county case manager/worker ID number (up to 9 numeric digits).

FIELD 5 - DATE OF INITIAL REPORT [ENTRY REQUIRED]
Enter the month, day, and year. Use a leading zero for any month or day less than ten that the report of abuse/neglect/dependency was

made to the county child welfare agency in the format of MMDDYYYY. If subsequent reports are received before the completion of the
CPS Assessment, enter the date of the first report that led to the opening of the CPS Assessment.

FIELD 6 - DATE CPS ASSESSMENT INITIATED [ENTRY REQUIRED]

Enter the month, day, and year (use a leading zero for any month or day less than ten) that the CPS Assessment was initiated in the
format of MMDDYYYY.

FIELD 7 - DATE CASE DECISION [ENTRY REQUIRED]

Enter the month, day, and year [use a leading zero for any month or day less than ten] that the CPS Assessment was completed in the
format MMDDYYYY.

All information gathered during the CPS Assessment process shall be incorporated into one case decision and one DSS-5104. If more than
one DSS-5104 is entered per CPS Assessment, this will impact the identification of repeat maltreatment.

Even if there are multiple children, multiple perpetrators, and/or multiple maltreatment types, submit the information into the Central
Registry under only one DSS-5104 Form Number.
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Information entered in Fields 5, 6, and 7 is relevant to safety outcomes, the timeliness of initiating CPS Assessments of reports of child
maltreatment and repeat maltreatment.

FIELD 8 - RISK ASSESSMENT RATING [ENTRY REQUIRED]

Enter the one-digit code indicating the over-all risk rating as determined by the Family Risk Assessment (DSS-5230,
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/DSS-5230-ia.pdf) for each case. A Family Risk Assessment is not required for a case involving
group home or institutional settings, in which case select “N/A” on the DSS-5104.

CODE DEFINITION
L Low
M Medium
H High
N Not Applicable

FIELD 9 - REQUEST FOR ASSISTANCE [ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE]

Enter the two-digit numeric code that corresponds to the county that provided assistance during the CPS Assessment. Up to three county
codes may be entered. Refer to Field 1 for a listing of the county codes.

FIELD 10 - CHILD ID [ENTRY REQUIRED]

If the alleged victim child already has a SIS number, enter the current SIS Client ID on the form. If, following the completion of a name
search, the alleged victim child does not already have a SIS number, obtain a new SIS Client ID and enter it on the form.

FIELD 11 - CHILD NAME [ENTRY REQUIRED]

If the alleged victim child already has a SIS number, enter the last name, first name, and middle initial as it appears in the SIS system. This
name will be verified at data entry when the SIS Client ID is keyed.
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If, following the completion of a name search, the alleged victim child does not already have a SIS number, the user will be automatically
redirected to the SIS screen. When the user has typed in information shown in the screen show below and presses “ENTER”,

I T e ey [ [ >< ]|
| ISCF CYAOLO1M bENTRAL REGISTRY DSS-5104 ENTRY DATE : 09/08/4011
FORM : INCIDENT AND VICTIM DATA TIME: 12:12:46

NUMB ER
943002756
REQ. ASSIST

CASE MANAGER LAST FI MI
ALFORD
RISK ASSMT
H

CTY COUNTY CASE

C
CASE DECISION
03012011

43
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The user will be redirected to the SIS system to complete additional required fields to establish this child’s SIS record.
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If the child does not already have a SIS number, enter the following fields in SIS--NOT Central Registry: Last Name, First Name, Middle
Initial, Social Security Number, Date of Birth, Sex, Race, School, Grade, Language, and Specials.
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For the child involved in a Safe Surrender, enter the last name as SURRENDER, the first name as SAFE COUNTY NAME. (Example:
SURRENDER, SAFE ALAMANCE) Once a legal name has been obtained, update the DSS-5027 to update SIS. For additional information on
Safe Surrender policy, refer to the NC Child Welfare manual (https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/info/olm/manuals/dss/).

FIELD 12 - CHILD SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER [ENTRY REQUIRED]

If the alleged victim child already has a SIS number, leave blank, this will be populated by information in SIS. If, following the completion
of a name search, the child does not have a SIS number, enter the following Fields in SIS, not Central Registry: Last Name, First Name, M,
SSN, DOB, Sex, Race, School, Grade, LA, and Specials.

If the child does not have a Social Security Number or if the number is unknown, enter all “0s”. Once the victim child’s Social Security
Number has been attained, complete a DSS-5027 to update the Social Security Number in the SIS system.

FIELD 13 - DATE OF BIRTH [ENTRY REQUIRED]

If the alleged victim child already has a SIS number, leave blank. This will be populated by information in SIS. If, following the completion
of a name search, the child does not have a SIS number, enter the following Fields in SIS, NOT Central Registry: Last Name, First Name,
Middle Initial, Social Security Number, Date of Birth, Sex, Race, School, Grade, Language, and Specials. Enter the month, day, and year.
[Use a leading zero for any month or day less than ten] in the format MMDDYYYY.

FIELD 14 - SEX [ENTRY REQUIRED]

If the alleged victim child already has a SIS number, leave blank. This will be populated by information in SIS. If, following the completion
of a name search, the child does not have a SIS number, enter the following Fields in SIS, NOT Central Registry: Last Name, First Name,
Middle Initial, Social Security Number, Date of Birth, Sex, Race, School, Grade, Language, and Specials.

CODE DEFINITION
1 Male
2 Female
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FIELD 15 - RACE/ETHNICITY [ENTRY REQUIRED]

If the alleged victim child already has a SIS number, leave blank. This will be populated by information in SIS. If, following the completion
of a name search, the alleged victim child does not have a SIS number, enter the following Fields in SIS, not Central Registry: Last Name,
First Name, Middle Initial, Social Security Number, Date of Birth, Sex, Race, School, Grade, Language, and Specials.

Assumptions or guesses shall not be made regarding a child’s race or ethnicity based on appearances. Rather, it is critical that the county
child welfare agency engages the family in a discussion around the child’s race and ethnicity that the family most identifies for the child.
If such a discussion is not able to take place, the agency shall use code “11” — Unable to Determine.

For the Safe Surrender child, if no parent is available to indicate the race, use code “11” or “12”— Unable to Determine.

CODE DEFINITION

01 White Native (Non Hispanic or Latino)

02 White (Hispanic or Latino)

03 Black (Non Hispanic or Latino)

04 Black (Hispanic or Latino)

05 American Indian or Alaskan Native (Non Hispanic or Latino)

06 American Indian or Alaskan Native (Hispanic or Latino)

07 Asian (Non Hispanic or Latino)

08 Asian (Hispanic or Latino)

09 Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or Latino)
10 Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)

11 Unable to Determine (Non Hispanic or Latino)

12 Unable to Determine (Hispanic)

13 White/Black (Non Hispanic or Latino)

14 White/Black (Hispanic or Latino)

15 White/American Indian or Alaskan Native (Non Hispanic or Latino)
16 White/American Indian or Alaskan Native (Hispanic or Latino)

17 White/Asian (Non Hispanic or Latino)

18 White/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)
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19 White/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or Latino)

20 White/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)

21 Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native (Non Hispanic or Latino)

22 Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native (Hispanic or Latino)

23 Black/Asian (Non Hispanic or Latino)

24 Black/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)

25 Black Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or Latino)

26 Black/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)

27 American Indian or Alaskan Native/Asian (Non Hispanic or Latino)

28 American Indian or Alaskan Native/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)

29 American Indian or Alaskan Native/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic
or Latino)

30 American Indian or Alaskan Native/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or
Latino)

31 Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or Latino)

32 Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)

33 White/Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native (Non Hispanic or Latino)

34 White/Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native (Hispanic or Latino)

35 White/Black/Asian (Non Hispanic or Latino)

36 White/Black/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)

37 White/Black/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or Latino

38 White/Black/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)

39 White/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Asian (Non Hispanic or Latino)

40 White/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)

41 White/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non
Hispanic or Latino)

42 White/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
(Hispanic or Latino)

43 White/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or Latino)

44 White/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)
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45 Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Asian (Non Hispanic or Latino)

46 Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)

47 Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Native Hawaiian (Non Hispanic or Latino)

48 Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Native Hawaiian (Hispanic or Latino)

49 Black/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or Latino)

50 Black/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)

51 American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or
Latino

52 American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)

53 White/Black/American Indian/Asian (Non Hispanic or Latino)

54 White/Black/American Indian/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)

55 White/Black/American Indian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or
Latino)

56 White/Black/American Indian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or
Latino)

57 White/Black/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or
Latino)

58 White/Black/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)

59 White/American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or
Latino)

60 White/American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or
Latino)

61 Black/American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or
Latino)

62 Black/American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or
Latino)

63 White/Black/American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic
or Latino)

64 White/Black/American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or
Latino)
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FIELD 16 IN SCHOOL [ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE]

If the alleged victim child already has a SIS number, leave this field blank. This will be populated by information in SIS. This field may
need to be updated with the alleged victim child’s current status. If so, update this field in SIS.

If, following the completion of a name search, enter the following Fields in SIS, not Central Registry: Last Name, First Name, Middle
Initial, Social Security Number, Date of Birth, Sex, Race, School, Grade, Language, and Specials.

CODE DEFINITION

Yes — child is enrolled in a public school.

R Yes — child is enrolled in a private school.
H Yes — child is enrolled in home school.
N No — child is not enrolled in school.
FIELD 17 - GRADE [ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE]

If the alleged victim child already has a SIS number, leave blank. This field will be populated by information in SIS. This field may need to
be updated with the alleged victim child’s current status in the SIS system.

If, following the completion of a name search, enter the following Fields in SIS, not Central Registry: Last Name, First Name, Middle
Initial, Social Security Number, Date of Birth, Sex, Race, School, Grade, Language, and Specials.

CODE DEFINITION

P Preschool
01-20 To identify either the highest grade attained if the individual is no longer in school, or the
last grade attended or the current grade if the individual is still in school.

98 GED Status
99 Unknown
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If the alleged victim child already has a SIS number, leave blank. This will be populated by information in SIS. For the safe surrender
child, enter code “99 — Unknown.”

If, following the completion of a name search, the alleged victim child does not has a SIS number, continued entry will be re-directed to
the SIS system to create a SIS ID for the child.

CODE DEFINITION

01 Living Alone - An independent living arrangement where the individual resides either alone,
or with others where the relationship is not characterized by intimacy, continuity or
commitment, as in a rooming house or shared housing.

02 Living With Family or Other Significant Individual(s) - A home occupied by two or more
people who are related by blood, marriage, adoption or who have a commitment to care
for one another.

03 Family Care Home - A licensed domiciliary home having a capacity of two to six residents.

04 Home for the Aged- A licensed domiciliary home has a capacity of seven or more residents.

05 Group Home for Developmentally Disabled Adults - A licensed DDS group home housing
residents with developmental disability, regardless of which county/state agency has
licensing monitoring or certification responsibilities.

06 Nursing/Combination Home - A licensing facility which provides nursing or convalescent
care for three or more persons.

07 Treatment/Rehabilitation Facility/Home - A 24-hour facility/home which provides
treatment or rehabilitation, services for medical, psychosocial, or psychiatric needs (e.g.
medical or psychiatric hospital, State Mental Retardation Center, mental health group
home for persons with mental illness). Not included in this definition are nursing homes,
maternity homes, and group homes for developmentally disabled adults.

08 Maternity Home - A 24-hour residential program whose primary purpose is to provide care,
support and other services for pregnant females.
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09 Jail, Lockup, Detention - A jail or a facility administered by the Department of Corrections or
Division of Youth Services.

10 Battered Women'’s Shelter - A 24-hour residential program whose primary purpose is to
offer protection, food, shelter, support and other services to battered women and their
children.

11 Shelter for the Homeless - An overnight shelter for people without homes.

97 Child Placement System (DSS-5094
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss5094.pdf) - When the client is a child for
whom the county child welfare agency has custody or placement authority, the living
arrangement will be tracked through the Child Placement and Payment System. This code
should remain unchanged in this system for as long as the DSS-5094 record remains open.
If the client remains a service client after the DSS-5094 record is closed, this field will have
to be updated on the DSS-5027 to reflect the actual living arrangement.

98 Other - A living arrangement which is known to the agency but does not fit the above
definitions.

99 Unknown

FIELD 19 SPECIAL AREAS [ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE]

If the alleged victim child already has a SIS number, leave blank. This will be populated by information in SIS.

July 2019

If, following the completion of a name search, the alleged victim child does not has a SIS number, enter the following Fields in SIS, not
Central Registry: Last Name, First Name, Middle Initial, Social Security Number, Date of Birth, Sex, Race, School, Grade, Language, and

Specials.

For more information on this field please refer to the Services Information System (SIS) Manual
(http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/manuals/dss/rim-01/man/).
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CODE

DEFINITION

01

Developmental Disabilities- Having a severe, chronic mental or physical disability resulting
in substantial limitations in three or more of the following areas of major life activity: self-
care, receptive and expressive language, capacity for independent living, learning,
mobility, self-direction, and economic self-sufficiency and reflecting the person’s need for
a combination of special inter-disciplinary care or treatment of a lifelong or extended
duration, manifested before age 22, unless caused by a head injury.

02

Blind or Visually Impaired- Having visual impairment that, in the child welfare worker’s
judgment, may significantly affect day-to-day functioning.

03

Deaf or Hard of Hearing- Having a hearing impairment, whether permanent or fluctuating
which may in the child welfare worker’s judgment, adversely affect day-to-day
functioning, a communication disorder such as stuttering, impaired articulator, or
language impairment that adversely affects functioning.

04

Physically Disabled- Having a physical condition that may, in the child welfare worker’s
judgment, adversely affect the individual’s day-to-day or intermittent functioning.

05

Emotionally Disturbed- Having mental or emotional problems exhibited in a wide range of
important social and personal contexts and causing significant impairment in social,
educational, or occupational functioning.

06

Learning Disability- Having a disorder in one or more of the basic psychological processes
involved in understanding or using language, spoken or written, that may manifest itself in
an imperfect ability to listen, think, speak, read, write, spell or to use mathematical
calculations. An example of a learning disability would be dyslexia.

07

Medical Condition- Having any apparently disabling physical condition other than those
listed above which has been diagnosed by a licensed physician and requires medical
attention.

08

HIV and AIDS- Having a syndrome, or a disease complex in which the natural immune
system is suppressed so significantly those individuals gradually die from vulnerability to a
variety of unusual infections and concerns (opportunistic infections) that would not
ordinarily pose a threat to an immunologically healthy person.
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09 Substance Abuse- Using alcohol or other drugs to a degree which creates a risk of harm to
self or others, or impairs social, educational or occupational functioning.

CODE DEFINITION

11 Undisciplined Child- A child who is an adjudicated undisciplined child under
N.C.G.S. § 7B-1501(27)
(http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter 7B/G
S 7B-1501.html).

12 Delinquent Child- A child who is an adjudicated delinquent child under N.C.G.S. § 7B-
1501(7).

13 Homeless Person- A person who does not have what society defines as a normal place of
his/her own to live.

14 Alzheimer's Disease and Related Dementias- Having an organic mental disorder, in which
intellectual function is progressively impaired in a previously well adult, usually
accompanied by memory loss, disorientation, impaired judgment, and personality change.

FIELD 20 - SOURCE OF REFERRAL

[ENTRY REQUIRED]

July 2019

Enter the two-digit code for the source of referral. There are spaces for up to three sources of referral to allow for subsequent reports
that may come in during the CPS Assessment. If more than one source of referral is listed, list the initial source first and the subsequent
sources in order of receipt.

CODE DEFINITION

01 Anonymous - An anonymous reporter is a person who deliberately chooses to remain
unknown.

02 Child Care Provider - This category includes baby sitters, personnel in day care
arrangements, and head start center personnel.

03 Educational Personnel - This category includes teachers, principals, school nurses, learning
aides, school librarians, or other individuals who report the maltreatment as a result of
their involvement in a school setting.

32


http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-1501.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-1501.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-1501.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-1501.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-1501.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-1501.html

NC DSS

CPS Data Collection (Non-NC FAST)

Appendix 1
CODE DEFINITION

04 Law Enforcement or Court Personnel - This category includes police, courts, attorneys,
parole and probation officers, and sheriff's deputies.

05 Medical Personnel - This category includes private physicians, clinic or hospital physicians,
dentists, emergency room personnel, nurses, X-ray technicians, and the staff of a physician
in private practice, optometrists, and paramedics

06 Relative - A member of the child and/or caretaker's immediate or extended family who is
not covered by another category.

07 Non-Relative - A person not related to the child's family or to the child (i.e. friend, neighbor,
and foster parent).

08 Human Service Personnel — This category includes child welfare workers, social workers,
mental health workers (psychiatrist, psychologist, psychiatric or clinical social workers), and
the staff of social services agencies and institutions.

09 Victim — The child who is alleged to be neglected and/or abused.

10 Parent — The biological, adoptive, or stepparent of the child.

FIELD 21 - PETITION FILED WITH JUVENILE COURT [ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE]

Enter the appropriate two-digit code if a petition has been filed in juvenile court in relation to the situation of abuse, neglect,

and/or dependency.

CODE DEFINITION
1 Yes
p No
FIELD 22 - CRIMINAL CHARGES FILE [ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE]

Enter the appropriate two-digit code if criminal charges related to the reported abuse and/or neglect has been filed.
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Yes

No

FIELD 23 - PERPETRATOR RELATIONSHIP CODE

July 2019

[ENTRY REQUIRED FOR SUBSTANTIATED CASES ONLY]

This field is used to show the sex of the perpetrator and his or her relationship to the victim. Although more than one perpetrator in

Field 33 can be entered, for the purposes of Field 23 only one Perpetrator Relationship Code can be entered. If there is more than one

perpetrator for the given victim, list the perpetrator code that defines the relationship of the perpetrator who had the most

responsibility for action causing the greatest harm or risk of harm to the child. Do not enter more than one DSS-5104 form number for
multiple perpetrators. Codes beginning with the number one indicate a female relationship to the child. Codes beginning with the
number two indicate a male relationship to the child.

FEMALE MALE DEFINITION

10 20 Natural Parent — Biological mother or father of the child.

11 21 Adoptive Parent — Parent who is not the child’s natural parent but who
has completed the legal procedures for adoption of the child.

12 22 Stepparent — Father’s spouse or mother’s spouse, when the spouse is not
the natural parent, and when the stepparent has not adopted the child.

13 23 Foster Parent — An individual who lives in a private residence and who is
licensed by the Division of Social Services to provide continuing, full-time
24-hour foster care or therapeutic care to children.

14 24 Grandparent — A parent of the child’s mother or father.

15 25 Step Grandparent — A parent of the child’s stepfather or stepmother.

16 26 Other Relatives — A relative other than parents or grandparents (aunts,
uncles, cousins, nieces, siblings, nephews, etc).
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FEMALE

MALE

DEFINITION

17

27

Employee of an Institution/Group Home — An institution/group home is
any public or private agency, group, organization, corporation or
partnership employing, directing, assisting, or providing its facilities to
persons who, as a part of their association with the institution, give 24-
hour residential care and services to children less than 18 years of age.
An employee of

Institution/Group homes includes house parents, cottage parents, or
other persons supervising a juvenile in a child-care facility. This code is
also to be used for any on-site administrator found to be responsible for
the neglect or abuse of a child.

18

28

Employee of a Child Care Facility/Plan — Child care is a child care
arrangement for a child under 13 years of age in a child care facility or
plan as defined in Article 7 of Chapter 110 of the NC General Statutes. An
employee of a Child Care Facility/Plan includes any person who has
responsibility for care of a juvenile in a child care arrangement as defined
in Article 7 of Chapter 110 of the NC General Statutes or any person who
has approval of the care provider to assume responsibility for the
juveniles under the care of the care provider. This code is to be used also
for any owner/operator found to be responsible for the neglect and/or
abuse of a child.

19

29

Other Caretaker — Any person other than those listed above including an
adult member of the juvenile’s household.

00

Unknown Perpetrator — This code is to be used when abuse (1), neglect
(2), abuse and neglect (3), abuse and serious neglect (3S), serious neglect
(2S), or neglect and serious neglect (2N) have been substantiated but the
specific perpetrator cannot be identified. Use of this code will require an
entry of “05” in Field 31.

FIELD 24 — SERVICES PROVIDED

[ENTRY REQUIRED]

July 2019

Enter the two-digit code for any services that were referred or provided to the family as a result of the CPS Assessment to reported
allegations. Services may have either been provided directly by the county child welfare agency or by another agency. There is space to
enter up to three two-digit codes for Services Provided. If more than three services were provided, enter the codes for the three most
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critical services identified to meet the child and family needs. If a family was referred to services, but those services had not yet been
initiated at the time of case decision, place code “12” (Information and Referral Services). “No Services Referred or Provided” code (00)

is used for cases with Type Found of “Unsubstantiated,” “Services Recommended” or “Services Not Recommended.”

CODE

DEFINITION

00

No Services Referred or Provided

01

Adoption Services — Services or activities provided to assist in bringing about the
adoption of a child.

02

Case Management Services - Services or activities for the arrangement,
coordination, and monitoring of services to meet the needs of children and
their families. This would include NC'’s service code 215, CPS In-Home
Services.

03

Counselling Services - Activities that apply the therapeutic processes to
personal, family, situational or occupational problems in order to bring
about a positive resolution of the problem or improved individual or family
functioning or circumstances.

04

Child Care Services - Services or activities provided in a setting that meet applicable
standards of State and local law, in a center or in a home, for a portion of a 24-hour
day.

05

Educational and Training Services - Activities provided to improve knowledge or daily
living skills and to enhance cultural opportunities.

06

Employment Services - Activities provided to assist individuals in securing
employment or acquiring of skills that promote opportunities for employment.

07

Family Planning Services - Educational, medical, or social service activities that
enable individuals, including minors, to determine freely the number and spacing of
their children and to select the means by which this may be achieved.

08

Health-Related and Home Health Services - Activities provided to attain and maintain
a favourable condition of health.

09

Home-Based Services - In-home activities provided to individuals or families to assist
with household or personal care that improve or maintain family wellbeing. Includes
in-home aides, home maintenance and household management services.
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CODE

DEFINITION

10

Housing Services - Activities designed to assist individuals or families in locating,
obtaining, or retaining suitable housing.

11

Independent and Transitional Living Services (LINKS) - Activities designed to help
older youth in foster care or homeless youth make the transition to independent
living.

12

Information and Referral Services - Resources or activities designed to provide facts
about services made available by public and private providers, after a brief
assessment of client needs (but not a diagnosis and evaluation) to facilitate
appropriate referral to these community resources.

13

Legal Services - Activities provided by a lawyer, or other person(s) under the
supervision of a lawyer, to assist individuals in seeking or obtaining legal help in civil
matters such as housing, divorce, child support, guardianship, paternity and legal
separation.

14

Mental Health Services - Activities which aim to overcome issues involving emotional
disturbance or maladaptive adversely affecting socialization, learning, or
development. Usually provided by public or private mental health agencies and
includes both residential and non-residential activities

15

Pregnancy/Parenting Services for Young Parents - Activities for married or unmarried
adolescent parents and their families to assist them in coping with social, emotional,
and economic problems related to pregnancy and to plan for the future.

16

Respite Care Services - Activities involving the temporary care of the children in order
to provide relief to the caretaker. May involve care of the children outside of the
caretaker’s own home for a brief period of time, such as overnight or for a weekend.
Not considered by the State to be foster care or other placement.

17

Special Services - Disabled - Activities for persons with developmental, physical,
emotional, visual or auditory impairments that are intended to help maximize their
potential alleviate the effects of their disabilities, and to enable these persons to live
in the least restrictive environment possible.

18

Special Services / Juvenile Delinquent - Activities for youth (and their families) who

are, or who may become, involved with the juvenile justice system.
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19

Substance Abuse Services — Activities designed to deter, reduce, or eliminate
substance abuse or chemical dependency for the child or the child’s family as a result
of the CPS response to reported allegations, or to the child himself.

20

Transportation Services - Activities that provide or arrange for travel, including travel
costs of individuals, in order to access services, or obtain medical care or
employment.

21

Other Services - Activities that have been provided to the child and/or family, but
which are not included in the services listed above.

22

Court Appointed Representative — A person appointed by the court to represent or
advocate for a child in a neglect and/or abuse proceeding. May be an attorney or a
court-appointed Special Advocate (or both) and is often referred to as a Guardian ad
Litem.

23

Family Preservation Services — Activities designed to help families alleviate crises that
might lead to out-of-home placement of children, maintain the safety of children in
their own homes, support families preparing to reunify or adopt, and assist families in
obtaining services and other supports necessary to address their multiple needs in a
culturally sensitive manner.

24

Family Support Services — Community-based preventative activities designed to
alleviate stress and promote parental competencies and behaviors that will increase
the ability of families to successfully nurture their children, enable families to use
other resources and opportunities available in the community, and create supportive
networks to enhance child-rearing abilities of parents.
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FIELD 25 - FAILURE TO REPORT SOURCE [ENTRY REQUIRED]
This field is completed when, during the course of the CPS Assessment, sources were found to know of the allegations but failed to

report them. Use the code that best describes the source. If there is more than one source identified that failed to report the
allegations, please record the first source identified. Enter the two digit code for the source of failure to report.

CODE DEFINITION

01 Anonymous - An anonymous reporter is a person who deliberately chooses to
remain anonymous.

02 Childcare Provider - This category includes baby sitters, personnel in childcare
arrangements, Smart Start or Head Start agency personnel.

03 Educational Personnel - This category includes teachers, principals, school nurses,
learning aids, school librarians, or other individuals who report the maltreatment as
a result of their involvement in a school setting.

04 Law Enforcement or Court Personnel - This category includes police, courts,
attorney, parole and probation officers, and sheriff’s deputies.

05 Medical Personnel - This category includes private physicians, clinic or hospital
physicians, dentists, emergency room personnel, nurses, X-ray technicians, the staff
of a physician in private practice, optometrists, and paramedics.

06 Relative - A member of the child’s and/or caretaker’s immediate or extended family-
who that is not covered by another category.

07 Non-Relative - A person who is not related to the child’s family or to the child.
Example: friend, neighbor, or foster parent.

08 Human Service Personnel - This is category includes child welfare workers, .social
workers, mental health workers (psychiatrist, psychologist, psychiatric or clinical
social workers), and the staff of social service agencies and institutions.

09 Victim - The child who is alleged to be neglected and/or abused.
10 Parent -The biological, adoptive, or stepparent of the child.
11 N/A - During the course of the CPS assessment there was no failure to report found.
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FIELD 26 - FAILURE TO REPORT REASON [REQUIRED IF CODE 01-10 IS ENTERED IN FIELD 24]

If code 01-10 has been selected for Field 24, at least one of the following reasons must be selected. Enter an “X” by the appropriate
failure to report reasons. Select as many reasons that apply.

e Did not want to get involved/family matters/religious beliefs

e Thought DSS would not respond

e Fear of retaliation/financial distress

e Did not know how to report

e Thought someone else would report it/better handled by other resources or services
e Thought it would be a breach of confidentiality

e Did not consider actions inappropriate/disbelief of possible allegations

e Other/Refused to Say/Unknown

FIELD 27 - CONTRIBUTORY FACTORS [REQUIRED IF SUBSTANTIATED OR FOUND SERVICES NEEDED]

The tables below list three categories of Contributory Factors that may have led to the need for Child Protective Services intervention:
conditions attributed to the caretaker, conditions attributed to the child, and conditions attributed to the household. Within each
category (caretaker, child, and household), select as many factors as applicable and rank each factor based on priority.

For Contributory Factors associated with either the caretaker or the child, rank each factor from 01 to 09 (where 01 indicates the highest
priority and 09 is the lowest). For Contributory Factors associated with the household as a whole, rank each factor based on the priority
from 01 to 04 (where 01 indicates the highest priority and 04 is the lowest).

Caretaker, Child, and Household Contributory Factors are prioritized separately. The priority must be a two-digit number. Complete this
section on the DSS-5104 for each child. At least one contributory factor from one of these three tables must be identified if the CPS
Assessment finding is “Substantiated” or “Services Needed.”
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If none of the caretaker, child or household factors apply enter “00” in the box label “None of These Apply for This Child”. If “00” is

entered no other entries are allowed.

These Contributory Factors are derived directly from the federal definitions used to report to the National Child Abuse and Neglect Data
System (NCANDS) data collection and analysis system. As such, some definitions are based upon but have a more broad definition than
that found in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM).

CARETAKER CONTRIBUTORY
FACTOR

DEFINITION

Alcohol Abuse — Caretaker

The principal caretaker(s)’ compulsive use of alcohol that is
not of a temporary nature.

Drug Abuse — Caretaker

The principal caretaker(s)’ compulsive use of drugs that is
not of a temporary nature.

Mental Retardation — Caretaker

Significant sub-average general cognitive and motor
functioning existing concurrently with deficits in adaptive
that adversely affect socialization and learning. This
condition must be clinically diagnosed.

Emotionally Disturbed —
Caretaker

A condition exhibiting one or more of the following
characteristics over a long period of time and to a marked
degree: an inability to build or maintain satisfactory
interpersonal relationships, inappropriate types of or feeling
under normal circumstances, a general pervasive mood of
unhappiness or depression, or a tendency to develop
physical symptoms or fears associated with personal
problems. The term includes persons who are schizophrenic
or autistic. The term does not include persons who are
socially maladjusted, unless it is determined that they are
also seriously emotionally disturbed. This condition must be
clinically diagnosed. The diagnosis is based on the
Diagnostics and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (the
most recent edition of DSM).
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FACTOR

DEFINITION

Visually or Hearing Impaired —
Caretaker

A clinically diagnosed handicapping condition of the
principal caretaker(s) related to visual impairment or
permanent or fluctuating hearing or speech impairment
that may significantly affect functioning or development.

Learning Disability — Caretaker

A disorder of one or more of the principal caretaker(s) basic
psychological processes involved in understanding or using
language, spoken or written, that may manifest itself in an
imperfect ability to listen, think, speak, read, write, spell, or
to use mathematical calculations. This item includes
conditions such as perceptual disability, brain injury,
minimal brain dysfunction, dyslexia, and developmental
aphasia.

This condition must be clinically diagnosed.

Physically Disabled — Caretaker

A physical condition that adversely affects the caretaker(s)’
day-to-day motor functioning, such as cerebral palsy, spinal
bifida, multiple sclerosis, impairments, and other physical
disabilities. This condition must be clinically diagnosed.

Other Medical Condition —
Caretaker

A medical condition other than mental retardation, visual or
hearing impairment, physical disability, or being emotionally
disturbed, that significantly affects the functioning or
development of the primary caretaker(s) and their ability to
provide a suitable child care environment. This condition
must be clinically diagnosed.

Lack of Child Development
Knowledge — Caretaker

Limited knowledge of what can be reasonably expected of a
child at various stages of development.
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CHILD CONTRIBUTORY FACTOR

DEFINITION

Alcohol Problem — Child

A compulsive use of or need for alcohol. This includes
infants addicted at birth or who are victims of Fetal Alcohol
Syndrome, or who may suffer other disabilities due to the
use of alcohol during pregnancy.

Drug Problem — Child

A compulsive use of or need for narcotics. This includes
infants addicted at birth.

Mental Retardation — Child

Significant sub-average general cognitive and motor
functioning existing concurrently with deficits in adaptive
behavior manifested during the developmental period that
adversely affect a

child’s/youth’s socialization and learning. This condition
must be clinically diagnosed.

Emotionally Disturbed — Child

A condition exhibiting one or more of the following
characteristics over a long period of time and to a marked
degree: an inability to build or maintain satisfactory
interpersonal relationships, inappropriate types of or feeling
under normal circumstances, a general pervasive mood of
unhappiness or depression or a tendency to develop
physical symptoms or fears associated with personal
problems. The term includes persons who are schizophrenic
or autistic. The term does not include persons who are
socially maladjusted, unless it is determined that they are
also seriously emotionally disturbed. This condition must be
clinically diagnosed. The diagnosis is based on the
Diagnostics and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (the
most recent edition of DSM).

Visually or Hearing Impaired —
Child

A clinically diagnosed handicapping condition of the child
related to visual impairment or permanent or fluctuating
hearing or speech impairment that may significantly affect
functioning or development.
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CHILD CONTRIBUTORY FACTOR

DEFINITION

Learning Disability — Child

A disorder in one or more of the child’s basic psychological
processes involved in understanding or using language,
spoken or written, that may manifest itself in an imperfect
ability to listen, think, speak, read, write, spell, or to use
mathematical calculations. This item includes conditions
such as perceptual disability, brain injury, minimal brain
dysfunction, dyslexia, and developmental aphasia.

Physically Disabled — Child

A physical condition that adversely affects the child’s day-
to-day motor functioning, such as cerebral palsy, spinal
bifida, multiple sclerosis, impairments, and other physical
disabilities.

Behavior Problem- Child

Behavior in the school and/or community that adversely
affects socialization, learning, growth, and moral
development. These may include adjudicated or non-
adjudicated child behavior problems. This would include
the child’s running away from home or a placement.

Other Medical Condition — Child

A medical condition other than mental retardation, visual or
hearing impairment, physical disability, or being emotionally
disturbed, that significantly affects the functioning or
development the child or requires special medical care such
as chronicillnesses.

Included are children diagnosed as HIV positive or with AIDS.

HOUSEHOLD CONTRIBUTORY
FACTOR

DEFINITION

Domestic Violence

Incidents of inter-spousal physical or emotional abuse
perpetrated by one of the spouses or parent figures upon
the other spouse or parent figure in the child’s home
environment.

July 2019

a4



NC DSS
CPS Data Collection (Non-NC FAST)

Appendix 1 July 2019
HOUSEHOLD CONTRIBUTORY DEFINITION
FACTOR
Inadequate Housing A risk factor related to substandard, overcrowded, unsafe,

or otherwise inadequate housing conditions, including
homelessness.

Financial Problem A risk factor related to the family’s inability to provide
sufficient financial resources to meet minimum needs.

Public Assistance Any one or combination of the following welfare or social
services programs: TANF (Work First), General Assistance,
Medicaid, SSI, Food, Nutrition and Assistance (formerly
Food Stamps), etc.

FIELD 28 - TYPE REPORTED [ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE]

Enter the one-digit code to identify the type of report accepted for a CPS Assessment.

For the child where the only allegation is Safe Surrender, type “4” should be selected. For additional information on Safe Surrender
policy, refer to Chapter VIII: Protective Services: Section 1411 — Safe Surrender.

Note: When there are multiple children involved in a CPS assessment, if all children do not have allegations of maltreatment, the first
child listed on the DSS-5104 must have a valid Type

Reported (Type 1-4).Type 5, no allegations of maltreatment against this child, may be selected for any subsequent children as
appropriate.
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TYPE OF REPORT

DEFINITION

1

Abuse

An allegation that a juvenile’s parent, guardian, custodian, or
caretaker inflicts or allows to be inflicted, creates or allows to
be created a substantial risk of serious physical injury by other
than accidental means, or uses or allows to be used upon the
juvenile cruel or grossly inappropriate procedures or cruel or
grossly inappropriate devices to modify, or commits, permits,
or encourages the commission of any sexual offense by, with,
or upon the juvenile in violation of the law, promotes the
prostitution of the juvenile, or creates or allows to be created
serious emotional damage to the juvenile, or encourages,
directs or approves of delinquent acts involving moral
turpitude committed by the juvenile.

Neglect

An allegation that a juvenile does not receive proper care,
supervision, or discipline from the juvenile’s parent, guardian,
custodian or caretaker, or who has been abandoned, or who is
not provided necessary medical care, or who is not provided
necessary remedial care, or who lives in an environment
injurious to the juvenile’s welfare, or who has been placed for
care or adoption in violation of the law. In determining
whether to accept a report that a juvenile may be neglected, it
is relevant whether that juvenile lives in a home where

another juvenile has died as a result of abuse and/or neglect
or lives in a home where another juvenile has been subjected
to sexual abuse or severe physical abuse by an adult who
regularly lives in the home.

Abuse and Neglect

An allegation that both abuse and neglect occurred.

Dependency

An allegation that a juvenile is in need of assistance or
placement because he has no parent, guardian, or custodian
responsible for the juvenile’s care or supervision or whose
parent, guardian, or custodian, due to physical or mental
incapacity and the absence of an appropriate alternative child
care arrangement, is unable to provide for the juvenile’s care
or supervision.
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CODE TYPE OF REPORT DEFINITION
5 No Allegation of This code may only be used for subsequent children when the
Maltreatment first child listed on the DSS-5104 has a Type Reported of 1-4.

Indicates that there is no allegation of maltreatment against
that particular child.

FIELD 29 - MALTREATMENT TYPE REPORTED [ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE]

At the time that the CPS report was accepted, select what type of maltreatment is alleged by the reporting source.

If type reported code is “1” for abuse, place as many priority codes as applicable. Up to four priority codes (where 01 indicates the
highest priority and 04 is the lowest) may be placed next to the abuse allegation options.

If type reported is “2” for neglect, place as many priority codes as applicable. Up to ten priority codes (where 01 indicates the
highest priority and 10 is the lowest) may be placed next to the neglect allegation items.

If type reported code is “3” for abuse and neglect, place as many priority codes as applicable. Up to fourteen priority codes (where 01
indicates the highest priority and 14 is the lowest) may be placed, next to both the abuse and neglect allegation items.

If type reported code is “4”, for dependency, this field may be left blank.

For the Child Protective Services referral that has been identified by the agency as a Safe Surrender, select Safe Surrender.

If there is no alleged maltreatment for this child, enter code “00”. This option is only to be used if there is more than one child and the
first child has a valid maltreatment type entered. This code may only be selected if the value in Field 28 for this child is “5” (no alleged
maltreatment) and no other entries are allowed.
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ABUSE RELATED
MALTREATMENT TYPE

DEFINITION

Abuse — Physical

Non-accidental, serious, physical injury or risk of serious physical
injury caused or allowed to be caused by the parent, guardian,
custodian, or caretaker. The parent, guardian, custodian, or
caretaker used or allowed the use of cruel or grossly
inappropriate procedures or cruel or grossly inappropriate
devices to modify behavior.

Abuse — Emotional

Severe emotional damage to the juvenile created or allowed to
be created by the parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker as
evidenced by a juvenile’s severe anxiety, depression, withdrawal
or aggressive behavior toward himself or others.

Abuse — Sexual

Any sexual act with, by or upon a juvenile in violation of the law,
committed or allowed to be committed by the parent, guardian,
custodian, or caretaker. This includes prostitution with or by the
child. Also included are pornographic filming and picture
taking.

Delinquent Acts Involving
Moral Turpitude

Delinquent acts committed by the juvenile with the
encouragement, direction or approval of the parent or
caretaker.

Human Trafficking - Sexual

The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker sold or attempted
to sell the juvenile, subjected or maintained the juvenile in
sexual servitude, or recruits, entices, harbors, transports,
provides, or obtains by any means the juvenile with the intent
that the juvenile be held in sexual servitude.

Human Trafficking - Labor

The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker sold or attempted
to sell the juvenile, held the juvenile in involuntary servitude, or
recruits, entices, harbors, transports, provides, or obtains by any
means the juvenile with the intent that the juvenile be held in
involuntary servitude.
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SERIOUS
NEGLECT/NEGLECT
RELATED
MALTREATMENT TYPE

DEFINITION

Improper Supervision

The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker did not
provide proper supervision.

Improper Care

The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker did not
provide proper care.

Improper Discipline (No
Injuries)

The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker did not provide
proper discipline.

Improper Discipline (Injuries)

The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker providing
improper discipline resulting in physical injuries

Injurious Environment

Lives in an environment injurious to the juvenile’s welfare
other than substance abuse or domestic violence.

Injurious Environment (DV)

Evidence of Domestic Violence.

Injurious Environment (SA)

Evidence of Substance Abuse.

Abandonment

Child has been abandoned by parent, guardian, custodian,
or caretaker, other than under the Safe Surrender law

Safe Surrender

Child has been identified as a Safe Surrender where the age
of the child is 7 days or less.

Improper Med Care/Rem Care

The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker did not
provide necessary medical care or other remedial care.

Adoption Law Violation

Placed for adoption in violation of law.
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Enter the one-digit code to indicate the findings of the CPS Assessment. These codes may be different for each alleged victim child
in the report. Select the appropriate type found for each alleged victim child in the report.

CODE

TYPE FOUND

DEFINITION

Unsubstantiated

A situation that abuse, neglect, or dependency was not
found.

Abuse Substantiated

A situation in which a juvenile’s parent, guardian,
custodian, or caretaker inflicts or allows to be inflicted,
creates or allows to be created a substantial risk of
serious physical injury by other than accidental means,
or uses or allows to be used upon the juvenile cruel or
grossly inappropriate procedures or cruel or grossly
inappropriate devices to modify behavior, or commits,
permits, or encourages the commission of any sexual
offense by, with, or upon the juvenile in violation of the
law, promotes the prostitution of the juvenile, or
creates or allows to be created serious emotional
damage to the juvenile, encourages, directs or approves
of delinquent acts involving moral turpitude committed
by the juvenile, or commits or allows to be committed
an offense under G.S. § 14-43.11 (human trafficking),
G.S. § 14-43.12 (involuntary servitude), or G.S. § 14-
43.13 (sexual servitude) against the child.
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TYPE FOUND

DEFINITION

2

Neglect Substantiated

A situation in which a juvenile does not receive proper
care, supervision, or discipline from the juvenile’s
parent, guardian, custodian or caretaker, or who has
been abandoned, or who is not provided necessary
medical care, or who is not provided necessary remedial
care, or who lives in an environment injurious to the
juvenile’s welfare, or who has been placed for care or
adoption in violation of the law. In determining whether
a juvenile is a neglected juvenile, it is relevant whether
that juvenile lives in a home where another juvenile has
died as a result of abuse and/or neglect or lives in a
home where another juvenile has been subjected to
sexual abuse or severe physical abuse by an adult who
regularly lives in the home.

2S

Serious Neglect
Substantiated

Conduct, behaviors, or inaction of the juvenile’s parent,
guardian, custodian, or caretaker that evidences a
disregard of consequences of such magnitude that the
conduct, behavior, or inaction constitutes an
unequivocal danger to the juvenile’s health, welfare, or
safety, but does not constitute abuse.

2N

Serious Neglect and
Neglect Substantiated

A situation in which both Serious Neglect and neglect
are found.

Abuse and Neglect
Substantiated

A situation in which both abuse and neglect are found.
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TYPE FOUND

DEFINITION

3S

Abuse and Serious
Neglect Substantiated

A situation in which both abuse and Serious Neglect are
found.

Dependency
Substantiated

A situation in which a juvenile is in need of assistance or
placement because the juvenile has no parent, guardian,
or custodian responsible for the juvenile’s care or
supervision or whose parent, guardian, or custodian,
due to physical or mental incapacity and the absence of
an appropriate alternative child care arrangement, is
unable to provide for the juvenile’s care or supervision.

Services Needed

Involuntary CPS services to ensure the safety of the
child. These are situations in which the safety and risk of
harm is so great that the agency cannot ensure the
safety of the children without either providing necessary
services or monitoring those provided by another
agency or provider.

Services
Recommended

A situation in which a Family Assessment has been
completed on CPS reports of neglect (with the exception
of abandonment and the special types of reports) and
dependency, and the safety of a child is not an issue and
future risk of harm is not an issue, but the family has a
need for other non-safety related services. These are
cases that the agency could feel comfortable with the
safety of the children if the family chose not to agree,
continue to participate in, or otherwise fail to comply
with any one or all of the recommendations made by
the agency. This finding is not appropriate for cases in
which the agency feels it needs to monitor compliance
with the service recommendation due to safety and
future risk of harm. It is also not appropriate to make
this finding if the agency believes it would become re-
involved with the family through CPS should information
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DEFINITION

be received that the family had stopped receiving any
recommended service(s).

7 Services Not
Recommended

A situation in which a Family Assessment has been
completed on CPS reports of neglect (with the exception
of abandonment and the special types of reports) and
dependency, and not only is the safety of a child not an
issue and there is no concern for the future risk of harm,
but also, the family has no need for other non-safety
related services.

8 Services Provided,
Child Protective
Services No Longer
Needed

A situation in which a Family Assessment has been
completed on CPS reports of neglect (with the exception
of abandonment and the special types of reports) and
dependency, and the safety of a child and future risk of
harm are no longer issues because the agency had been
successful in

“frontloading” necessary services during the Family
Assessment. These are cases in which continued
involuntary CPS supervision is no longer needed to
ensure the child’s safety. This finding is not appropriate
for cases in which the agency feels it needs to monitor
compliance with the service recommendation due to
safety and future risk of harm.

FIELD 31- FINDINGS REASON

[ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE]
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If type found code in Field 30 is “Unsubstantiated” (0), “Services Recommended” (6), or “Services Not Recommended” (7), enter in a

two-digit reason code for finding.
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If type found code in Field 30 is “Abuse” (1), “Neglect” (2),”Abuse and neglect” (3), “Abuse and Serious Neglect” (3S), “Serious Neglect”
(2S), or “Neglect and Serious Neglect” (2N) and the code in Field 23, Perpetrator Relationship is “Unknown Perpetrator” (00), then code
“05” must be entered in this field.

For the Safe Surrender child, this field should be left blank.

CODE

VALUE

DEFINITION

01

Allegations could
not be proven

At the time of case decision, no evidence could be found to
prove allegations occurred.

02

Isolated Incident

Accidental incident that did not pose a serious physical
injury, risk of serious physical injury, or risk of severe
emotional damage.

03

Lack of Severity

Incident is not of a serious nature to be defined as abuse or
neglect.

04

No Lack  of
Safety/No
protection issue

At the time of case decision, incident did not pose any
immediate or future safety protection issues.

05

Cannot Identify
Perpetrator

At the time of case decision, protection of child from the
perpetrator was not an issue OR the identity of the
perpetrator was not able to be determined.

06

Perpetrator is not a
caretaker

Perpetrator is not a parent, guardian, or custodian or
caretaker.

FIELD 32 - MALTREATMENT TYPE FOUND [ENTRY REQUIRED FOR SUBSTANTIATED CASES OF ABUSE, NEGLECT, OR ABUSE AND
NEGLECT ONLY]

At the conclusion of the CPS Assessment, if the case is “Substantiated”, select the appropriate maltreatment type found.

Do not complete this field if a family assessment finding (Codes 5, 6, 7, or 8) is recorded in Field

30 (Type Found). Do not complete if dependency (Code 4) is recorded in Field 30 (Type Found).
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This field allows more than one type of maltreatment to be selected. Each maltreatment type must be assigned a priority code. The
priority code is based on what level of priority is given to the maltreatment type with “01” being the highest priority. The priority code

must be at least two-digits.

The maltreatment type is based on the case finding (Type Found) in Field 30.

If the case finding code is “1” then prioritize as many abuse maltreatment types as applicable, up to four. If the case finding code is “2”
then prioritize as many neglect maltreatment types as applicable, up to ten. If the case finding code is “3”, then prioritize as many abuse
and neglect maltreatment types as apply, up to fourteen.

If “Abandonment” is prioritized as a neglect maltreatment code, check the “Safe Surrender” box if the child was abandoned under the
Safe Surrender law (the child’s date of birth must be within seven days of report date).

For all neglect maltreatment types that are prioritized, the “Serious” box may be selected.

ABUSE RELATED
MALTREATMENT TYPE

DEFINITION

Abuse — Physical

Non-accidental, serious, physical injury or risk of serious
physical injury caused or allowed to be caused by the
parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker. The parent,
guardian, custodian, or caretaker used or allowed the use
of cruel or grossly inappropriate procedures or cruel or
grossly inappropriate devices to modify behavior.

Abuse — Emotional

Severe emotional damage to the juvenile created or
allowed to be created by the parent, guardian, custodian,
or caretaker as evidenced by a juvenile’s severe anxiety,
depression, withdrawal or aggressive behavior toward
himself or others.
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Abuse — Sexual

Any sexual act with, by or upon a juvenile in violation of
the law, committed or allowed to be committed by the
parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker. This includes
prostitution with or by the child. Also included are
pornographic filming and picture taking.

Delinquent Acts Involving Moral
Turpitude

Delinquent acts committed by the juvenile with the
encouragement, direction or approval of the parent or
caretaker.

ABUSE RELATED
MALTREATMENT TYPE

DEFINITION

Human Trafficking - Sexual

The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker sold or
attempted to sell the juvenile, subjected or maintained the
juvenile in sexual servitude, or recruits, entices, harbors,
transports, provides, or obtains by any means the juvenile
with the intent that the juvenile be held in sexual
servitude.

Human Trafficking - Labor

The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker sold or
attempted to sell the juvenile, held the juvenile in
involuntary servitude, or recruits, entices, harbors,
transports, provides, or obtains by any means the juvenile
with the intent that the juvenile be held in involuntary
servitude.

SERIOUS NEGLECT
RELATED
MALTREATMENT TYPE

DEFINITION

Improper Supervision

The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker did not
provide proper supervision.

Improper Care

The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker did not
provide proper care.

Neglect Related
Maltreatment Type

Definition

56



NC DSS
CPS Data Collection (Non-NC FAST)
Appendix 1 July 2019

SERIOUS NEGLECT
RELATED
MALTREATMENT TYPE

DEFINITION

Improper Discipline (No Physical
Injuries)

The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker did not
provide proper discipline.

Improper Discipline (Physical
Injuries)

The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker providing
improper discipline resulting in physical injuries

Injurious Environment

Lives in an environment injurious to the juvenile’s welfare
other than substance abuse or domestic violence.

Injurious Environment (DV)

Evidence of Domestic Violence.

Injurious Environment (SA)

Evidence of Substance Abuse.

Abandonment

Child has been abandoned by parent, guardian, custodian,
or caretaker, other than under the Safe Surrender law

Safe Surrender

Child has been identified as a Safe Surrender where the
age of the child is 7 days or less.

Improper Medical
Care/Remedial Care

The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker did not
provide necessary medical care or other remedial care.

Adoption Law Violation

Placed for adoption in violation of law.

FIELD 33 - PERPETRATOR NAME [ENTRY REQUIRED FOR CASES SUBSTANTIATED FOR ABUSE AND/OR NEGLECT ONLY]

No perpetrator information is entered when the type found in Field 30 is dependency (4), or for any of the family assessment findings (5,

6,7, 0r8).

If the code in Field 31, Findings Reason, is 05, “the identity of the perpetrator was not able to be determined”, the Perpetrator Fields

(33-40) will be left blank.
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There are sections on the DSS-5104 for up to two perpetrators. At data entry, there are sections in the system for up to ten
perpetrators. Therefore, if there are more than two perpetrators in a report, complete the DSS-5104p
(http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104p.pdf).

If any perpetrator is an employee of a group home or institution, enter the required information for the specific perpetrator and write
the name of that group home or institution in Field 41, labelled

“GROUP HOME/INSTITUTION” of the DSS-5104.

If the case decision is that the owner/operator or administrator of a group home or institution was responsible for the abuse and/or
neglect of a child, that individual’s name should be listed as a perpetrator. If the case decision concludes that there is no specific
employee of a group home or institution who can be identified as a perpetrator in the incident being substantiated, enter unknown as
the perpetrator and enter the name of that child care arrangement, group home, or institution in the field labelled “GROUP
HOME/INSTITUTION” of the paper DSS-5104 form. If the situation involves a child care home, the child care provider’s name may be
used in this field.

If a family assessment was conducted or if the case was substantiated for dependency, there is no perpetrator, and therefore, nothing is
entered in Fields 33 - 38.

To enter perpetrator information in the State system, press F9. To enter additional perpetrator information, press F8 to scroll to
the next perpetrator screen.

Enter the name of each parent or other caretaker identified as a perpetrator. The individual perpetrator’s name is entered with the
last name, first name, and the middle initial in the middle initial block.

FIELD 34 - DATE OF BIRTH
[ENTRY REQUIRED FOR CASES SUBSTANTIATED FOR ABUSE, SERIOUS NEGLECT AND/OR
NEGLECT ONLY]

Enter the month, day, and year [use a leading zero for any month or day less than ten] for each perpetrator’s date of birth in the format
MMDDYYYY. If the exact date of birth is unknown or cannot be obtained, leave this field blank and go to Field 35. The Central Registry
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system will list an estimated date of birth based on the age listed in Field 35 and the date of the report. The fact that the date of birth is
estimated will be marked in the Central Registry system.

FIELD 35 — AGE [ENTRY REQUIRED FOR CASES SUBSTANTIATED FOR ABUSE, SERIOUS NEGLECT AND/OR NEGLECT ONLY]

If the perpetrator’s date of birth is unknown and cannot be obtained, enter the two-digit code that indicates the perpetrator’s age in
years. If the exact age is unknown, approximate the age. DO NOT CODE A “99” FOR UNKNOWN. Do not complete this field when the

date of birth was entered in Field 34. The Central Registry system will compute the age automatically.

FIELD 36 - RACE/ETHNICITY

Enter the appropriate two-digit code to indicate the primary racial group of which the perpetrator is a member.

CODE

DEFINITION

01

White Native (Non Hispanic or Latino)

02

White (Hispanic or Latino)

03

Black (Non Hispanic or Latino)

04

Black (Hispanic or Latino)

05

American Indian or Alaskan Native (Non Hispanic or Latino)

06

American Indian or Alaskan Native (Hispanic or Latino)

07

Asian (Non Hispanic or Latino)

08

Asian (Hispanic or Latino)

09

Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or Latino)

10

Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)

11

Unable to Determine (Non Hispanic or Latino)

12

Unable to Determine (Hispanic or Latino)

13

White/Black (Non Hispanic or Latino)

14

White/Black (Hispanic or Latino)

[ENTRY REQUIRED FOR CASES SUBSTANTIATED FOR
ABUSE, SERIOUS NEGLECT AND/OR NEGLECT ONLY]
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CODE

DEFINITION

15

White/American Indian or Alaskan Native (Non Hispanic or Latino)

16

White/American Indian or Alaskan Native (Hispanic or Latino)

17

White/Asian (Non Hispanic or Latino)

18

White/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)

19

White/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or Latino)

20

White/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)

21

Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native (Non Hispanic or Latino)

22

Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native (Hispanic or Latino)

23

Black/Asian (Non Hispanic or Latino)

24

Black/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)

25

Black Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or Latino)

26

Black/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)

27

American Indian or Alaskan Native/Asian (Non Hispanic or Latino)

28

American Indian or Alaskan Native/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)

29

American Indian or Alaskan Native/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non
Hispanic or Latino)

30

American Indian or Alaskan Native/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
(Hispanic or Latino)

31

Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or Latino)

32

Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)

33

White/Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native (Non Hispanic or Latino)

34

White/Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native (Hispanic or Latino)

35

White/Black/Asian (Non Hispanic or Latino)

36

White/Black/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)

37

White/Black/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or Latino)

38

White/Black/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)

39

White/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Asian (Non Hispanic or Latino)

40

White/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)

41

White/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific
Islander (Non Hispanic or Latino)
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CODE

DEFINITION

42

White/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific
Islander (Hispanic or Latino)

43

White/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or Latino)

44

White/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)

45

Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Asian (Non Hispanic or Latino)

46

Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)

47

Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Native Hawaiian (Non Hispanic or Latino)

48

Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Native Hawaiian (Hispanic or Latino)

49

Black/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or Latino)

50

Black/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)

51

American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non

Hispanic or Latino)

52

American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or
Latino)

53

White/Black/American Indian/Asian (Non Hispanic or Latino)

54

White/Black/American Indian/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)

55

White/Black/American Indian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non
Hispanic or Latino)

56

White/Black/American Indian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic
or Latino)

57

White/Black/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or
Latino)

58

White/Black/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)

59

White/American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non
Hispanic or Latino)

60

White/American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic
or Latino)

61

Black/American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non
Hispanic or Latino)

62

Black/American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic
or Latino)
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CODE DEFINITION
63 White/Black/American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
(Non Hispanic or Latino)
64 White/Black/American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
(Hispanic or Latino)

FIELD 37 — SEX
[ENTRY REQUIRED ON CASES SUBSTANTIATED
FOR ABUSE, SERIOUS NEGLECT AND/OR NEGLECT ONLY]

Enter the appropriate one-digit code to indicate the sex of the perpetrator.

CODE DEFINITION
1 Male
2 Female

FIELD 38 - SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

[ENTRY REQUIRED ON CASES SUBSTANTIATED FOR ABUSE AND/OR NEGLECT ONLY]

Enter the Social Security Number for the perpetrator. If the Social Security Number is unknown and cannot be obtained, enter all
“0s” in this field.

FIELD 39 - RESPONSIBLE INDIVIDUALS LIST INDICATOR [ENTRY REQUIRED ON CASES SUBSTANTIATED FOR ABUSE AND/OR NEGLECT
ONLY]

The code in this field is automatically “00” until a DSS-5104a is completed. The RIL indicator will automatically be updated based on the
information keyed in the RIL.

HJ ”

Codes ending with a indicate that the individual was placed on the RIL as the result of a Judicial Review.

CODE DEFINITION RIL PLACEMENT STATUS
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00 Dismissed / Adjudication No RIL Placement / No No
Adjudication
1J Abuse / RIL Placement Yes
2J Serious Neglect / RIL Placement Yes
3J Abuse and Serious Neglect / RIL Placement Yes
4) Abuse and Neglect/ RIL Placement Yes
5J Serious Neglect and Neglect/ RIL Placement Yes

Codes ending with an “A” indicate that the individual was placed on the RIL as the result of a Juvenile Petition.

July 2019

Note: As of October 1, 2013, these codes were no longer used for new RIL placements, however they are valid codes for Petitions

prior to October 1, 2013.
CODE DEFINITION RIL PLACEMENT STATUS
00 Dismissed / Adjudication No RIL Placement / No No
Adjudication
1A Abuse / RIL Placement Yes
2A Serious Neglect / RIL Placement Yes
3A Abuse and Serious Neglect / RIL Placement Yes
4A Abuse and Neglect/RIL Placement Yes
5A Serious Neglect and Neglect/ RIL Placement Yes

Code 9A refers to the Judicial Petition adjudication of abuse, serious neglect, abuse and neglect, abuse and serious neglect, serious

neglect and neglect, neglect, and/or dependency without the placement of the individual on the RIL.

Codes ending with a “D” indicate that the individual was placed on the RIL as the result of the original case decision.
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CODE DEFINITION RIL PLACEMENT STATUS
1D Abuse / RIL Placement Yes
2D Serious Neglect / RIL Placement Yes
3D Abuse and Serious Neglect / RIL Placement Yes
4D Abuse and/or Neglect and Other Finding / RIL Yes
Placement
5D Serious Neglect and Neglect/ RIL Placement Yes

Although uncommon, cases have occurred where the individual is criminally convicted prior to the county child welfare case decision
being made. The following codes will automatically populate to this field only if the individuals is not currently on the RIL and if other
data keyed on the same DSS-5104 does not place the name on the RIL.

CODE DEFINITION RIL PLACEMENT STATUS
1C Abuse Yes
2C Serious Neglect Yes
3C Abuse and Serious Neglect Yes
4c Abuse and/or Neglect Yes
5C Serious Neglect and Neglect Yes
FIELD 40 - MILITARY AFFILIATION [ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE]

Please indicate if the perpetrator is a member of the military, enter the two-digit code that corresponds to the branch of service
with which that individual is affiliated.

CODE DEFINITION
00 Not Applicable

01 Army

02 Navy

64



NC DSS

CPS Data Collection (Non-NC FAST)

July 2019

Appendix 1
03 Air Force
04 Marines
05 Coast Guard
06 Reserves- Active Duty
07 National Guard — Active Duty
08 Reserves — Inactive
09 National Guard — Inactive
10 Unknown

FIELD 41 - GROUP HOME/INSTITUTION NAME

[ENTRY REQUIRED SUBSTANTIATED CASES INVOLVING
CHILD CARE, GROUP HOME AND INSTITUTION SETTINGS]

If the perpetrator relationship code in Field 23 is coded as “17”, “27”, “18”, or “28”, enter the group home or institution name involved.
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Responsible Individuals List

I. INTRODUCTION

The development of the Responsible Individuals List (RIL) is a direct result of federal requirements under the Child Abuse Prevention and
Treatment Act (CAPTA) (http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/PLAW-111publ320/pdf/PLAW-111publ320.pdf), Section 106(a). The CAPTA
grant requires each state to establish procedures for individuals found to have abused or neglected a juvenile to appeal that decision.
Non-compliance with this requirement directly impacts the receipt of CAPTA funds.

This policy outlines procedures regarding notice to an alleged responsible individual and the procedures for a judicial review of the
county child welfare agency’s decision to substantiate abuse and/or serious neglect and identify the individual as a responsible
individual.

Il. DEFINITIONS

Session Law 2010-90 (http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/Sessions/2009/Bills/Senate/PDF/S567v6.pdf) amended the definition of Responsible
Individual found in G.S. § 7B-101

(http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B101.html) and added a definition for
Serious Neglect. The definitions read:

(18a) Responsible Individual — A parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker who abuses or seriously neglects a juvenile.

(19a) Serious Neglect — Conduct, behavior, or inaction of the juvenile’s parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker that evidences a
disregard of consequences of such magnitude that the conduct, behavior, or inaction constitutes an unequivocal danger to the juvenile’s
health, welfare, or safety, but does not constitute abuse.

Administrative Rule 10A NCAC 70A .0104 (http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-
%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-
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%20children's%20services/subchapter%20a/10a%20ncac%2070a%20.0104.html) contains additional definitions that impact the RIL.
These definitions read:

"Authorized persons” means persons authorized to receive data from the Responsible Individuals List. Individuals authorized to receive
information from the Responsible Individuals List are individuals whose job functions include administration of the Responsible
Individuals List and provision of information from the List to other authorized persons, as identified by the Director of the North Carolina
Division of Social Services:

(A) Individuals as identified by the directors of county child welfare agencies,
(B) Individuals as identified by the Director of the Division of Child Development for child caring institutions,

(©) Any Executive Director or program administrator of a child placing agency licensed by the State of North
Carolina or another state or that state's agency,

(D) Individuals as identified by the Director of the Division of Health Service Regulation for group home facilities,

(B) Any Executive Director or program administrator of other providers of foster care, child care and adoption
services determined by the Department of Health and Human Services,

(3] The Administrator for the State Guardian Ad Litem program, and

(G) Any Executive Director or program administrator of other private or nonprofit agencies that care for children.

2) "Personal written notice" means delivery in person of the case decision to the responsible individual by the social
worker.
3) "Serious neglect” means conduct, behavior, or inaction that evidences a disregard of consequences of such magnitude

as to constitute an unequivocal danger to a child's health, welfare or safety.

lll. RESPONSIBLE INDIVIDUALS LIST STATUTE (NCGS § 7B-311)
DHHS is required to establish a list of individuals responsible for the abuse and/or serious neglect of a juvenile and is required to
establish due process procedures for the alleged responsible individual to request a judicial review of the abuse and/or serious neglect
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decision and the placement of his or her name on the RIL. The case decision can also include other findings in any combination provided
at least one of the findings is abuse or serious neglect.

The RIL is used to identify parents, guardians, caretakers, or custodians that have been named as responsible individuals in all
substantiated cases of abuse and/or serious neglect. Thus, only case decisions made as a result of an Investigative Assessment can result
in RIL placement.

Placement on the RIL occurs only after one of the following has occurred:

1. The responsible individual is properly notified of his or her right to request a judicial review and fails to file a petition for
judicial review in a timely manner,

2. The court determines that the individual is a responsible individual as a result of a hearing on the individual’s petition for
judicial review, or

3. The individual is criminally convicted as a result of the same incident involved in the Investigative Assessment. The district
attorney shall inform the director of the result of a criminal proceeding. Each county child welfare agency shall develop
policies and procedures with its district attorney regarding the notification to the agency of the criminal conviction.

Requests for information, by authorized users other than county child welfare agencies, from the RIL shall be directed to the North
Carolina Division of Social Services (NCDSS) using the Request for Information from the Responsible Individuals List form
(http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5268-ia.pdf). Authorized individuals on staff at county child welfare agencies will have
direct access to the RIL.

NCGS § 7B-311(b) only authorizes the use of the RIL “to determine the fitness of individuals to care for or adopt children.” The RIL may
not be used as part of the employment process unless the employee will have the responsibility of caring for children, either on a
temporary or permanent basis. RIL checks are mandated for foster parent and adoptive applicants and kinship care providers.

With the exception of searches conducted by the county child welfare agencies, all requests for searches of the Responsible Individuals
List will be submitted in writing to the Division of Social Services by “authorized persons,” as defined in Section Il above, who are
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strongly considering the responsible individual for employment or volunteer services that involve the care of or adoption of children. In
order to conduct a search, the Division requires that the requests include the potential responsible individual’s date of birth, sex, and
Social Security Number, as well as an acknowledgement by the potential responsible individual that he or she has been informed that
the Division of Social Services will disclose to the authorized person whether his or her name appears on the Responsible Individuals List.

In contrast, the Central Registry is used to gather historical and statistical data on children who have been alleged or identified as victims
of abuse, neglect, and/or dependency. It is also used to gather historical and statistical data on parents, guardians, caretakers, and
custodians identified as perpetrators of abuse or neglect. Access to the Central Registry is limited by North Carolina Laws and
Administrative Rules, and that access does not change as a result of the Responsible Individuals List. At no time shall the Central Registry
be used for determining employability or fitness of an individual (including a volunteer) to provide care to or adopt a child.

Because the RIL could affect the individual’s employment or ability to foster or adopt, information maintained on the RIL should be
current and updated within the timeframes established.

The RIL is subject to strict confidentiality rules. Therefore, it is unlawful for any public official or public employee to knowingly and
willfully release information from the Central Registry or the RIL to an unauthorized person. It is unlawful for any person who is
authorized to receive the information to release it to an unauthorized person, and it is unlawful for any person who is not authorized to
receive information to access or attempt to access it. A person who commits such an offense described is guilty of a Class 3
Misdemeanor.

IV. OUT-OF-STATE SITUATIONS

There are instances when a report is received but the incident occurred out-of-state, or the alleged responsible individual lives out-of-
state. The following scenarios detail actions to be taken related to the RIL:

A. Child and parent/caretaker reside in NC: maltreatment is out-of-state:

When the report indicates that the residence of both the child and the parents or caretakers is in North Carolina, but the location of the
alleged maltreatment is out-of-state, the county of residence shall conduct the CPS Assessment, but if substantiated for abuse and/or
serious neglect, the named perpetrator is not eligible for the judicial review process which must take place in the county where the
abuse or neglect report arose, and thus may not have their name placed on the RIL.
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B. Child resident of NC, parent/caretaker non-NC resident, maltreatment out-of-state:

If maltreatment is alleged to have occurred to a North Carolina child while out-of-state by an individual who is not a resident of North
Carolina, the agency should refer that report to the state where the alleged maltreatment occurred. If that state refuses to accept the
report, North Carolina should conduct the CPS Assessment with assistance from the other state, but if substantiated for abuse and/or
serious neglect, the named perpetrator is not eligible for the judicial review process which must take place in the county where the
abuse or neglect report arose, and thus may not have their name placed on the RIL.

C. Child resident of NC, parent/caretaker non-NC resident, maltreatment in NC:

If a report alleges that a North Carolina child was maltreated in North Carolina by a parent or caretaker who is not a North Carolina
resident, it is the responsibility of the county child welfare agency to conduct the CPS Assessment with the other state’s assistance. If
the case decision results in a substantiation of abuse and/or serious neglect, the alleged responsible individual is eligible for the judicial
review process and, if appropriate, to have their name placed on the RIL.

V. JUDICIAL REVIEW

The judicial review process is a district court level hearing on a petition, initiated by the alleged responsible individual for a review of the
director’s decision to identify the individual as a responsible individual and to place their name on the RIL. The judicial review process is
established by NCGS § 7B-323 and NCGS § 7B-324.

The Judicial Review Petition, AOC-J-131 (http://www.nccourts.org/Forms/Documents/951.pdf), must be filed within 15 days of receipt
of the case decision notification in the district in which the abuse and/or serious neglect arose. Should that timeframe expire, the right
to request a judicial review is forfeited, and the individual’s name will be placed on the RIL, unless the district court in that county allows
a judicial review petition filed outside of that 15-day timeframe to be heard because it serves the interest of justice or for extraordinary
circumstances, as per G.S. § 7B323(e).

A. CASE DECISION ISSUES & SWITCHING ASSESSMENT TRACKS
Existing policy states that upon completion of either a family assessment or an investigative assessment, the county child welfare worker

is required to notify the parties involved of the case decision. However, only investigative assessment findings of abuse and/or serious
neglect are eligible to have the name of the alleged responsible individual placed on the RIL. The case decision can also include other
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findings in any combination provided at least one of the findings is abuse or serious neglect. The name shall be placed on the RIL only
after one of the three criteria outlined earlier in this section is satisfied. Specific requirements for case decision notification in RIL cases
are discussed below.

Current child welfare policy allows county child welfare agencies to switch CPS Assessment responses between an investigative
assessment and family assessment during the actual assessment. Switching responses during a CPS Assessment should not be done
frequently or without a thorough discussion of the case by the county child welfare worker and the county child welfare supervisor. All
decisions to change the CPS Assessment response must be done with supervisory approval. Documentation in the file should also clearly
show why such a decision was made and how it helped ensure the safety of the child.

Note: While cases of abuse may only be assigned as investigative assessments, cases alleging neglect may initially be assigned as a family
assessment. County child welfare agencies must insure that neglect allegations that will result in a finding of serious neglect and that
have initially been assigned as family assessments are reassigned as investigative assessments prior to case decision. Additionally, prior
to case decision, the family shall be notified by the agency that the family assessment process is ending and that the case is being
reassigned as an investigative assessment. The county child welfare agency shall also review with the family the differences between
family and investigative assessments, including the potential for RIL placement.

Regardless of the response under which the report was accepted, if the case decision is to substantiate abuse and/or serious neglect
after an investigative assessment, the name(s) of the perpetrator(s) is/are to be entered on the Report to the Central Registry, DSS-
5104, (http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf).

When completing a family assessment, the finding will be reported to the Central Registry with no perpetrator information entered,
therefore the RIL process is not available.

North Carolina Administrative Code 10A NCAC 70A .0114 (http://ncrules.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-
%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-
%20children's%20services/subchapter%20a/10a%20ncac%2070a%20.0114.pdf) specifies that county child welfare agencies continue to
be responsible for the delivery of protective services and for ensuring the safety of children during the judicial review process. While this
rule references the former RIL expunction process, it should be interpreted to be applicable to the current judicial review process. If the
county child welfare agency determines that the family is unwilling to accept critically needed services, or despite the agency’s efforts to
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provide or arrange for those services, the parents have made no progress toward providing adequate care sufficient to ensure the safety
of the child, the agency maintains the ability to file a juvenile petition alleging abuse, neglect, and/or dependency.

During the judicial review process, if the county child welfare agency determines that protective services are no longer necessary and
case closure is appropriate, nothing in the judicial review process should prevent the closure of the case.

B. CASE DECISION NOTIFICATION (G.S. § 7B-320)

G.S. § 7B-320(a) (http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter 7B/GS 7B-302.html) states,
“after the completion of an investigative assessment that results in a determination of abuse or serious neglect and the identification of
a responsible individual, the director shall personally deliver written notice of the determination to the identified individual.” Thus, after
a case decision is made to substantiate any combination of abuse and/or serious neglect which identifies an alleged responsible
individual, that individual must receive notice regarding the RIL. In other words, placement on the RIL is not discretionary.

The county child welfare worker shall make face-to-face contact with the alleged responsible individual within five business days of the
case decision to explain the reason for the substantiation and to provide written notice of the potential for his or her name to be placed
on the RIL. It is permissible for a county child welfare worker other than the county child welfare worker who conducted the CPS
Assessment to deliver the case decision / RIL placement notice. In addition to documentation in the file, when possible, it is
recommended that the notice include an acknowledgement by the alleged responsible individual that they received the case decision /
RIL placement notice and the date received.

If it is not possible to make face-to-face contact with the alleged responsible individual to deliver the written notice within those five
business days, the county child welfare worker shall make diligent and persistent efforts to make contact. However, if the county child
welfare worker is unsuccessful in contacting the alleged responsible individual to provide personal written notice within 15 days of the
case decision, the notice shall be sent by registered or certified mail, return receipt requested, and addressed to the individual at the
individual’s last known address.

If the case decision / RIL placement notice is returned as undeliverable or signed by someone other than the alleged responsible
individual, the individual’s name shall not be placed on the RIL, unless the procedures of NCGS 7B-320(al) are used. If the director
cannot show that the individual has received actual notice, the director shall not place the individual on the RIL until an ex parte hearing
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is held at which a district court judge determines that the director made diligent efforts to find the individual. A finding that the
individual is evading service is relevant to the determination that the director made diligent efforts.

Note: In the event that there is a lack of identifying information for the alleged responsible individual, such as a date of birth or Social
Security Number (SSN), but the individual did receive the notice, it is permissible to place the name on the RIL provided that there is at
least one identifier. However, if the notice is undeliverable and there is no identifying information, the name shall not go on the RIL.

NCGS § 7B-320(c) specifies that the personal written notice to the responsible individual shall contain the following:

A thorough, detailed statement summarizing the substantial evidence supporting the decision to substantiate abuse
and/or serious neglect (without identifying the reporter or collateral contacts) and that the individual has been
identified as the responsible individual. The case decision can also include other findings in any combination provided
at least one of the findings is abuse or serious neglect. When this occurs, the notice to the individual shall also
include language that indicates the agency will continue to work with the family on an involuntary basis

A statement, in accordance with NCGS § 7B-320(c)(3), informing the individual that unless the individual petitions for
a judicial review within the specified timeframe (15 days), their name will be placed on the RIL, and that NC DHHS
may provide information from that list to child caring institutions, child placing agencies, group home facilities, and
other providers of foster care, child care, or adoption services (including Guardian ad Litem) that need to determine
the fitness of individuals to care for or adopt children as permitted by NCGS § 7B-311.

A clear description of the actions the individual must take to request a judicial review to prevent the placement of
their name on the RIL. These instructions shall include a copy of the Petition for Judicial Review.

An example of a case decision letter is provided. However, the letter may be altered to individualize it. The letter may read:

73



NC DSS
CPS Data Collection (Non-NC FAST)

Appendix 1 July 2019
Date
Name
Address

City, State, ZIP

Dear ,

This agency has completed a Child Protective Services (CPS) Investigative Assessment based on the allegations of:

This Child Protective Services (CPS) Assessment has been substantiated based on the following:

As a result, a case decision to substantiate (or find) abuse and/or serious neglect has been made. In addition, the
case decision also found neglect and/ or dependency (Optional). This substantiation also identifies you as a person
responsible for the abuse and/or serious neglect and with that comes the potential for your name to be placed on
the Responsible Individuals List (RIL).

The RIL is a list of individuals determined to be responsible for the abuse and/or serious neglect of a juvenile.
Information from this list may be released to certain employers (G.S. § 7B-311(b)) such as: child caring institutions,
child placing agencies, group home facilities, and other providers of foster care, child care, or adoption services
(including the Guardian Ad Litem). Information released shall be used to determine fitness to care for or adopt
children.

To request that a district court judge review the case decision identifying you as a person responsible for abuse
and/or serious neglect, a Petition for Judicial Review: Responsible Individuals List (AOC-J-131) must be filed (see
the attached form). North Carolina law (G.S. § 7B-323) states that this Petition must be filed within 15 days from
your receipt of this letter. This Petition for Judicial Review should be filed with the clerk of court in

County. Should you choose to file a Petition for Judicial Review, your name will not be placed on the RIL unless the
court finds you are an individual responsible for the abuse and/or serious neglect of a child. If you chose not to
file a Petition for Judicial Review within 15 days, your name will automatically be placed on the RIL.

G.S. § 7B-320(b) provides that, at the judicial review hearing, the director shall have the burden of proving by a
preponderance of the evidence the abuse or serious neglect and the identification of the individual seeking
judicial review as a responsible individual. The hearing shall be before a judge without a jury, and the rules of
evidence applicable to civil cases shall apply. However, the court in its discretion may permit the admission of any
reliable and relevant evidence if the general purposes of the rules of evidence and the interests of justice will best
be served by its admission.

G.S. § 7B-323(c) further provides that the parties have the right to present relevant sworn evidence, law, or rules,
the right to represent themselves or obtain the services of an attorney at their own expense, and the right to
subpoena witnesses, crossexamine witnesses of the other party and make a closing argument.

In the event that there are extraordinary circumstances that prevent you from filing for a judicial review with 15
days, NCGS § 7B-323(e) allows you to file a Petition for Judicial Review and a district court judge in
County has discretion to determine whether the judicial review hearing should be held.

Should you have further questions regarding the placement of your name on the RIL, please contact:
at

Sincerely,
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Child Welfare Worker

Child Welfare Supervisor

Alleged Responsible Individual signature/initial Date

This acknowledges only the receipt of this letter, not agreement with the finding of abuse and/or serious neglect.
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C. PETITION FOR JUDICIAL REVIEW (NCGS § 7B-323)

A Petition for Judicial Review must be filed within 15 days of the receipt of the case decision/RIL placement notice by the alleged
responsible individual. The Petition for Judicial Review must be filed with the district court in the county where the abuse and/or serious
neglect arose. Upon filing, the clerk of court will calendar the case for hearing within 45 days. The county child welfare director who
made the determination to identify the alleged responsible individual, and the petitioner, will be sent a Notice of Hearing. If the
individual fails to file the Petition for Judicial Review within 15 days of receipt of the case decision/RIL placement notice, the right to
request a judicial review is waived, unless the individual utilizes the provisions of NCGS § 7B-323(e) described above. This failure to
request a judicial review will result in the placement of the alleged responsible individual’s name on the RIL.

1. DIRECTOR’S REVIEW AND DETERMINATION

Once notified that a judicial review has been calendared, the director shall review all records, reports, and other information gathered
and used during the CPS Assessment case decision process. If, after reviewing the information gathered, the director determines that
there is not sufficient evidence to support a determination that the individual abused and/or seriously neglected the juvenile and is a
responsible individual, the director shall prepare a written statement of the director’s determination and deliver it to the responsible
individual. It is permissible for the director’s designee to deliver the letter. The letter may also be sent by first class mail. The individual’s
name may not be placed on the RIL.

Note: If a determination is made that there was not sufficient evidence to support a determination of abuse and/or serious neglect, but
that a finding of neglect and/or dependency was properly made as a part of the original case decision, the statement provided to the
individual and the clerk of court shall include language that indicates the agency will continue to work with the family on an involuntary
basis without the individual being placed on the RIL.

NCGS 7B-323(b1) provides that the clerk of court, upon receipt of the director’s letter finding no abuse or serious neglect, will cancel the
judicial review hearing with notice of cancellation given to the petitioner.

2. CONFLICT OF INTEREST

When another county, as a result of a conflict of interest, conducts the CPS Assessment, the request for judicial review following
notification of an alleged responsible individual must still be made to the district court in the county where the abuse and/or serious
neglect arose (where the incident occurred). However, it is the director of the county that made the case decision of abuse and/or
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serious neglect and responsible individual determination who is responsible for reviewing that case decision upon notification of a
pending judicial review and for presenting evidence in the judicial review held in the county where the report arose.

3. PERSONS INELIGIBILE FOR JUDICIAL REVIEW

NCGS § 7B-324(a) provides that an individual identified by a director as a responsible individual may not petition for judicial review if any
of the following apply:

¢ The individual is criminally convicted as a result of the same incident. The district attorney shall inform the
director of the result of the criminal proceeding, or

e After proper notice, the individual fails to file for judicial review with the district court in a timely manner.
This same statute provides that if, at any time during the judicial review process, the individual seeking the judicial review is named as a

respondent in a juvenile court case or a defendant in a criminal court case resulting from the same incident, the court may stay the
judicial review process. The juvenile court action may no longer be consolidated with the RIL judicial review.

D. JUDICIAL REVIEW PROCESS

Throughout the judicial review process, the following shall apply:

. The rules of civil procedure
o The right to present sworn evidence, law, or rules
. The right of responsible individuals to represent themselves or obtain the services of an attorney at their

own expense
. The right to subpoena witnesses, cross-examine witnesses of the other party, and make a closing argument.
The director has the burden of proving by a preponderance of the evidence that the case decision of abuse and/or serious neglect and

placement of the person’s name on the RIL is correct.
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The rules of evidence in civil cases apply. However, upon judicial determination, other reliable and relevant evidence may be admissible.
Because of the nature of this hearing, the county child welfare social worker should be prepared to give personal testimony and/or to
provide the case file if requested. This hearing shall be before a judge without a jury. The alleged responsible individual and the director
are parties to the action. The judicial review process does not provide for the involvement of a Guardian Ad Litem, as per NCGS § 7B-601
(http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter 7B/G S 7B-601.html).

JUDICIAL DETERMINATION (NCGS § 7B-323(d))

NCGS § 7B-323(d) provides that within 30 calendar days of the conclusion of the judicial review hearing, the court shall sign and enter a
written order containing findings of fact and conclusions of law.

That statute further provides that if the court concludes that the director has established by a preponderance of the evidence abuse or
serious neglect and the identification of the individual seeking judicial review as the responsible individual, the court shall order the
director to place the individual’s name on the RIL.

If the court concludes that the director has not established by a preponderance of the evidence abuse or serious neglect or the
identification of the responsible individual, the court shall reverse the director’s determination and order the director not to place the
individual’s name on the RIL.

If the court determines only that there was insufficient evidence to establish that the alleged responsible individual was the person
responsible for abuse or serious neglect of a child, the individual’s name may not go on the RIL. However, the status of the child as
abused or seriously neglected is unchanged.

In this instance, the county child welfare agency would need to decide whether this family requires ongoing, involuntary services to
protect the child. While the court did not make a determination about the agency’s case decision, the court’s findings may affect its

ability to continue providing ongoing, involuntary services.

The agency may still have grounds to petition the court to adjudicate the child as abused, neglected, and/or dependent without a
responsible individual finding.

The responsible individual or the director may appeal the district court’s decision. Notice of Appeal of the District Court’s order will not
prohibit the director from placing that responsible individual’s name on the RIL.
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If the Court of Appeals reverses the district court’s finding and orders that an individual’s name be removed from the RIL, the director
will notify NC DSS and request that individual’s name be removed.
VI. DSS-5104a FORM COMPLETION: FIELDS AND CODES

All CPS Assessments utilizing the investigative assessment track shall include a discussion with the family that, as a part of the
investigative assessment, a case decision to substantiate abuse and/or serious neglect carries with it the potential for the responsible
individual’s name to be placed on the RIL. The Responsible Individual’s List form, DSS-5104a
(http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf), is the mechanism by which the placement of the responsible individual’s
name on the RIL occurs.

If the director is notified that a Petition for Judicial Review has been filed, staff will enter the information regarding the judicial review at
the conclusion of the judicial review hearing via the DSS-51044a, (Fields 13-18). The name of the responsible individual is only placed
upon the RIL if the court makes that determination. If the determination of the court is that the name is to be placed on the RIL, the
Central Registry will automatically be updated to reflect the decision of the court on the Petition for Judicial Review once the DSS-5104a
is entered.

If the alleged responsible individual fails to file a Petition for Judicial Review within the timeframe allowed (15 days), the original
decision of the director stands, and staff will enter information regarding the original decision of the director to identify the perpetrator
as a responsible individual (Fields 24-26). The Central Registry will automatically be updated to reflect the decision of the director when
the DSS-5104a is entered.

When the DSS-5104a is initially opened for data entry, Fields 1-11 will be auto-populated from the case in the Report to Central Registry.
The remaining fields document the process of placing the name of the alleged responsible individual on the RIL. The form is meant to
provide as accurate a timeline as possible and track events that occurred. The form is updated as needed and data entered once the
appropriate processes are complete.

Due to system requirements, the agency will not be able to enter information as it becomes available but must wait until each process is
complete before keying. For instance, in cases where a Petition for Judicial Review is filed, the date the AOC-J-131 is filed (Field 13)
cannot be keyed until the information for Date of Judicial Review (Field 14), Director Determination (Field 15), JR Determination (Field
16), and Date Judicial Review Signed (Field 18) is also available.

The single exception is in cases where the director is responsible for placing someone on the RIL. Fields 24 (RIL Code) and 25 (Date of RIL
Placement) should be keyed as soon as possible and not be held until the Responsible Individual has been criminally convicted, if
applicable. The system will allow the Date of Criminal Conviction (Field 28) to be keyed at a later time.
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A. RESPONSIBLE INDIVIDUALS LIST FUNCTIONS
The RIL can be accessed through the Central Registry system main menu by selecting Option 9.

The RIL menu has 7 functions:

SY0O1 CYAOOLFM
STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

DATE: 09/23/2011
TIME: 12:53:47

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES
CENTRAL REGISTRY SELECTION MENU

FUNCTION KEY
DSS-5104 ENTRY
DSS-5104 INQUIRY FORM NUMBER
DSS-5104 CHANGES FORM NUMBER

VICTIM NAME DISPLAY LAST, FIRST,
SOUNDEX VICTIM NAME DISPLAY LAST, FIRST
PERPETRATOR NAME DISPLAY LAST, FIRST,

ADMINISTRATIVE MENU
FATALITIES MENU

RESPONSIBLE INDIVIDUALS LIST MENU
SELECTION KEY

1 - PLEASE MAR ELECTION.
0.1

RILO1OFM RESPONSIBLE INDIVIDUAL LIST
MAIN MENU

OPTIONS DESCRIPTION

DSS-5104A INQUIRY
DSS-5104A UPDATE

DSS-5104A ENTRY

SEARCH BY SSN (INQUIRY/
SEARCH BY NAME (INQUIRY/
ADMINISTRATIVE MENU

RETURN TO CENTRAL REGISTRY

=l Oy U s L

OPTION _ KEY

PF3= CENTRAL REGISTRY MAIN MENU PF4= LOGOFF
RIL1010: SELECT OPTION & ENTER REQUIRED FIELDS

G | 100.1

SELECTIONS
1

MI
MI

W O~ Owuvis Wi

RIL NUMBER

RIL NUMBER

CYA FORM NUMBER
RIL SSN

RIL LAST, FIRST,

00000
18/13

July 2019
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1. Menu Options
. DSS-5104a Inquiry: allows the RIL form number to be entered to view the RIL entry.

Key “1” as the selection followed by the RIL form number. This will display the DSS-5104a record. The Inquiry function displays a view-
only screen and no changes or updates may be made.
RILO20FM

INDIVIDUAL
FIRST NAME

INVESTIGATIVE ASSESSMENT FINDINGS

M INI

AD] FIND RIL FIND JP SIGNED

. DSS-5104a Update: This field allows for the updating of the RIL record.
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Key “2” as the selection followed by the RIL form number. This will display the DSS-5104a record. Only those fields that do not have a
value entered may be updated. Fields with values displayed in blue are locked and may not be changed.

RILO3OFM RESPONSBILE INDIVIDUAL LIST DATE: 09/26/2011
RIL UPDATE 10:50:50

RIL FORM:
RESPONSIBLE INDIVIDUAL
LAST NAME FIRST NAME MI

INVESTIGATIVE ASSESSMENT FINDINGS
CTY CYA FORM INITIAL REPORT CASE DECISION RIL IND NOTICE DEL

JUDICIAL REVIEW (AOC ) HEARING
DATE J131 FILED JUD REV DATE DIR DETERM JR DETERM JR SIGNED

JUVENILE PETITION (AOC-]-130)
DATE J130 FILED DATE ADJUDICATION ADJ FIND RIL FIND JP SIGNED

ORIGINAL R INDICATOR STATUS DSS-5104
RIL CODE JATE RIL P CEMENT JATE CRIM CONVICTION

PREV SCREEN PF9 = CONFIRM PF10 = CANCEL
ENTER CLIENT CHANGES
. :00.1

If data is entered incorrectly or in error, a DSS-5104d (https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/info/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104d-ia.pdf) must be
submitted to the Division for the appropriate modification or deletion.

. DSS-5104a Entry: allows for the initial entry of a DSS-5104a.
Key “3” as the selection and the corresponding DSS-5104 (Central Registry/CYA) number.

A screen will appear listing all perpetrators associated with the DSS-5104. Users will be able to select which perpetrator(s) to enter the
DSS-5104a.

RILO40FM RESPONSIBLE INDIVIDUAL LIST 9/2
PERPETRATOR DISPLAY 13
CYA FORM N1
NAME DOB SSN
PERPETRATOR FIRST 06011979 111221111
PERPETRATOR SECOND 06011983 333113333
PERPETRATOR THIRD 06011989 555225555

ENTER 'S' NEXT TO PREPETRATOR SELECTION

PF3 = PREV SCREEN PF10 = CANCEL
RIL4009: PERPS DISPLAYED,PERP(S) ELIGIBLE FOR ENTRY ARE IN WHITE.
[EIH | i 100, 1
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Once a perpetrator has been selected, the DSS-5104a screen will display with Fields 1-12 auto populated from the Central Registry. The
RIL form number will be displayed at the top left of the screen.

RILOOOFM RESPONSEILE INDIVIDUAL LIST DATE: 09/23/2011
RIL ENTRY 13:17:45
RIL FORM:
RESPONSIBLE INDIVIDUAL
LAST NAME FIRST NAME MI DOB AGE RACE SEX SSN

INVESTIGATIVE ASSESSMENT FINDINGS
CTY CYA FORM INITIAL REPORT CASE DECISION RIL IND NOTICE DEL

JUDICIAL REVIEW (AOC-J-131) HEARING
DATE 1131 FILED JuD REV DATE DIR DETERM JR DETERM JR SIGNED

JUVENILE PETITION (AQOC-J-130)
DATE J130 FILED DATE ADJUDICATION ADJ FIND RIL FIND JP SIGNED

ORIGINAL RIL INDICATOR STATUS DSS-5104
RIL CODE DATE RIL PLACEMENT DATE CRIM CONVICTION

PF3 = PREV SCREEN PF9 = CONFIRM PF10 = CANCEL
RIL4015: ENTER DSS-5104A DATA
[ | ¢ 00 1

When all of the information regarding the perpetrator has been entered the message “DSS-5104 VALIDATED. PF9 ADD TO RIL OR PF10
CANCEL RIL.” will display at the bottom of the screen. The user will be returned to the RIL entry
screen and the message “FORM PROCESSED.PERP(S) IN GREEN. ENTER NEW CYA FORM OR PF3 EXIT” will be displayed.

If there are additional perpetrators from the DSS-5104 that should be added to the

RIL, they may be selected and added. If all perpetrators that are Responsible Individuals have been added, press PF3 to return to the
main menu. When all perpetrators on the DSS-5104 have had a DSS-5104a entered, the message “ALL PERPETRATORS OF THIS FORM
HAVE BEEN ADDED” will be displayed.

Not all perpetrators on a particular DSS-5104 should necessarily have an associated DSS-5104a. There should only be one DSS-5104
entered for the assessment which should include all perpetrators. However, some perpetrators may not be appropriate for placement
on the RIL. In that case, simply do not key a DSS-5104a for those perpetrators, and they will continue to show in white.

Only those DSS-5104s that have at least one type found of “1” Abuse, “2S” Serious Neglect, “3” Abuse and Neglect “3S” Abuse and

Serious Neglect, or “2N’ Serious Neglect and Neglect are eligible for entry in RIL. If none of these values are present an error message
“FORM DOES NOT PERMIT RIL ENTRY” will appear.
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SSN Search: This option is used to search for a responsible individual by their social security number.

Key “4” as the selection then the SSN as the key.

RILOLOFM RESPONSIBLE INDIVIDUAL LIST
MAIN MENU

OPTIONS DESCRIPTION

=5104A INQUIRY
-5104A UPDATE
ENTRY = M NUMBER
SSN (INQUIRY/UPDATE) Il
NAME (INQUIRY/UPDATE) 3 , FIRST, MI
ADMINISTRATIVE MENU
RETURN TO CENTRAL REGISTRY

1
2
3
4
S
6
£

OPTION KEY 111221111

CENTRAL REGISTRY MAIN MENU PF4= LOGOFF
010: SELECT OPTION & ENTER REQUIRED FIELDS
w:00.1

Results will display as shown below. Users may select a specific record for Inquiry “I” or Update “U”,
depending on their access level.

RILOSOFM RESPONSIBLE INDVIDUAL LIST REGISTER
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER SEARCH

S FORM SSN [s]e]:] S RL RPT DATE CASE DEC
— 000014 PERPETRATOR FIRST 111221111 06011979 1 1D 06012011 06302011

NEW SEARCH==>

I= CLIENT INQUIRY U = CLIENT UPDATE
PF3= PREV MEMU PF7= PAGE BACK PF8= PAGE FORWARD

RIL5008: NO MORE NAMES
AN 7 100

Name Search: This option is used to search for a responsible individual by name.
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i. Key “5” as the selection then the individual’s last name, first name, first initial as the key. Do not leave spaces between the names.
Wildcard searches may also be performed by entering a partial name and an asterisk (*), as shown below.

RILO10FM RESPONSIBLE TINDIVIDUAL LIST
MATN MENU

OPTIONS DESCRIPTION
INQUIRY 2 NUMBER
UPDATE 2 NUMBER
ENTRY CYA FORM MNUMEER

¥ SSN (INQUIRY /UPDATE) 2 SSN

SEARCH BY NAME (INQUIRY/UPDATE) 2 LAST, FIRST,

ADMINISTRATIVE MENU

RETURN TO CENTRAL REGISTRY

E
4
5
<]

KEY Perpet™

PF3= CENTRAL REGISTRY MAIN MENU PF4= LOGOFF
RIL1010: SELECT OPTION & ENTER REQUIRED FIELDS
EIH ] 00, 1

iii. Results will be shown as below. Users may select a specific record for Inquiry “I” or Update “U”, depending
on their access level.

RESPONSIBLE INDVI \L LIST REGISTER
CLIENT NAME SEARCH

SSN RL RPT DATE CASE DEC
1D L 1

1
1D 11
2 1D :

I= CLIENT 1
PF3= PR E P PAGE PF8 FO )
RILB006: SELECTION MUST BE EITHER 'I’ ‘'U' = REENTER
|alE L 1
. Administrative Menu: allows for functions not available to all users.
. Return to Central Registry: Key “7” to return to the Central Registry.
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J Log off: allows the user to logoff. When “F3” is pressed twice, a blank screen will show and the user then types
“logoff” and press enter. The screen will then return to the main state banner screen.
V. RESPONSIBLE INDIVIDUALS’ INFORMATION (FIELDS 1 THROUGH 11)
Fields 1-6 contain information regarding the identity of the responsible individual when the type found code entered into the DSS 5104
isa “1” (Abuse), “3” (Abuse and Neglect), “3S” (Abuse and Serious Neglect), “2N” (Serious Neglect and Neglect) or a “2S” (Serious

Neglect).

Fields 7-11 contain addition information regarding the CPS Assessment. These fields are auto-populated from the Report to Central
Registry (DSS-5104) and cannot be changed.

FIELD 1 - RESPONSIBLE INDIVIDUAL NAME
(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 33)

The name will display exactly as it appears in the Central Registry.

FIELD 2 - DATE OF BIRTH
(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 34)

The date of birth will appear exactly as it appears in the Central Registry. Without a date of birth or SSN, the name shall not be placed on
the RIL.

FIELD 3 — AGE
(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 35)

The age of the individual will be calculated from the entry in Field 2. Should the date of birth be unknown, an “E” will appear indicating
the age as estimated.

FIELD 4 - RACE/ETHNICITY
(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 36)

FIELD 5 - SEX
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(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 37)

The responsible individual’s sex will be displayed using one of the following one-digit codes:

Code Value
1 Male
2 Female

FIELD 6 - SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER
(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 38)

Without a date of birth or SSN, the name shall not be placed on the RIL.

FIELD 7 - COUNTY

(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 1)

Co. # County Co. # County Name Co. # County Name Co. # County Name
Name

01 Alamance 26 Cumberland 51 Johnston 76 Randolph
02 Alexander 27 Currituck 52 Jones 77 Richmond
03 Alleghany 28 Dare 53 Lee 78 Robeson
04 Anson 29 Davidson 54 Lenoir 79 Rockingham
05 Ashe 30 Davie 55 Lincoln 80 Rowan
06 Avery 31 Duplin 56 Macon 81 Rutherford
07 Beaufort 32 Durham 57 Madison 82 Sampson
08 Bertie 33 Edgecombe 58 Martin 83 Scotland
09 Bladen 34 Forsyth 59 McDowell 84 Stanly
10 Brunswick 35 Franklin 60 Mecklenburg 85 Stokes
11 Buncombe 36 Gaston 61 Mitchell 86 Surry
12 Burke 37 Gates 62 Montgomery 87 Swain
13 Cabarrus 38 Graham 63 Moore 88 Transylvania
14 Caldwell 39 Granville 64 Nash 89 Tyrrell
15 Camden 40 Greene 65 New Hanover 90 Union
16 Carteret 41 Guilford 66 Northampton 91 Vance
17 Caswell 42 Halifax 67 Onslow 92 Wake

July 2019
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18 Catawba 43 Harnett 68 Orange 93 Warren

19 Chatham 44 Haywood 69 Pamlico 94 Washington
20 Cherokee 45 Henderson 70 Pasquotank 95 Watauga
21 Chowan 46 Hertford 71 Pender 96 Wayne

22 Clay 47 Hoke 72 Perquimans 97 Wilkes

23 Cleveland 48 Hyde 73 Person 98 Wilson

24 Columbus 49 Iredell 74 Pitt 99 Yadkin

25 Craven 50 Jackson 75 Polk 00 Yancey

Field 8 - Central Registry Form Number

(The DSS-5104 number assigned to the record when created in the Central Registry.)

Field 9 - Date of Initial Report
(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 5)

Field 10 — Date of Case Decision

(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 7)

Field 11 — RIL Indicator Status
(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 39)

July 2019

This field will initially show as “00” to reflect at the time of entry this individual is not on the RIL. No entry in this field is allowed.

When the DSS-5104a is completed, this field will automatically update based on the entry in Fields 16, 22 and 24 which populate Field
39 on the DSS-5104.

Field 12 - Date Notice to the Responsible Individual Delivered
(ENTRY REQUIRED)

Enter the date (in the eight-digit numeric MMDDYYYY format) that the notice to the responsible individual was delivered. This date

cannot precede the Date of Case Decision listed in Field 10 on the DSS-5104.

VI. JUDICIAL REVIEW HEARING - FIELDS 13 THROUGH 18
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The alleged responsible individual has 15 days from the delivery date of the case decision notice to file a petition requesting a judicial
review. Fields 13-18 will document the decision of the court and whether the alleged responsible individual’s name will appear on the
RIL.

Field 13 - Date AOC-J-131 Filed
(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE)

Enter the date (in the eight-digit numeric MMDDYYYY format) that the Petition for Judicial Review was filed by the alleged responsible
individual. This date cannot be earlier than the date in Field 12. Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot be modified or changed by
county users. A modification to this field requires the submission of a DSS-5104d to

NCDSS.

Field 14 - Date of Judicial Review
(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE)

If there is a value entered in Field 13, this is a required field.
Enter the date (in the eight-digit numeric MMDDYYYY format) that the judicial review hearing was held. Once there is an entry for this
field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the submission of a DSS-5104d to

NCDSS.

Field 15 - Director Determination
(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE)

If there is a value entered in Field 13, this is a required field.

Enter the appropriate two-digit code regarding the director’s determination regarding the appropriateness of the case decision using
one of the following codes:

Code Value
01 The Director determined the name should be on the RIL
02 The Director determined that the name should not be on the RIL
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Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the
submission of a DSS-5104d to NCDSS.

Field 16 - Judicial Review Determination
(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE)

If there is a value in Field 13, this field is required.

Enter the two-digit code regarding the court’s determination using one of the following codes:

Code Value RIL Placement?
0J No RIL finding/No serious neglect or abuse No
1) Abuse / RIL Placement Yes
pA| Serious Neglect / RIL Placement Yes
3J Abuse and Serious Neglect / RIL Placement Yes
4) Abuse and Neglect / RIL Placement Yes
5] Serious Neglect and Neglect / RIL Placement Yes

The use of Code 0J reflects those situations where the district court has determined, after a judicial review, that the director did not
meet the burden to show that the case decision of abuse and/or serious neglect was correct, or determined that the named individual
was not shown to be the individual responsible for that abuse and/or serious neglect.

Once there is an entry into this field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the
submission of a DSS-5104d to the NCDSS.

Field 17 — Reserved for Future Use
(NO ENTRY)

Field 18 - Date of Judicial Review Signed
(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE)

If there is a value in Field 13, this field is required.
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Enter the date (in the eight-digit numeric MMDDYYYY format) that the presiding judge signed the court order placing the name on the
RIL.

This date cannot precede the date of the judicial review listed in Field 14. Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot be modified or
changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the submission of a DSS-5104d to NCDSS.
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VII. JUVENILE PETITION - FIELDS 19 THROUGH 23

As of October 1, 2013, Juvenile Petitions will no longer be used to determine an Individual’s placement on the RIL. Fields 19-23 will now be
“reserved” for future needs.

VIII. DIRECTOR DETERMINATION - FIELDS 24 THROUGH 29

Fields 24 and 25 must be completed when the perpetrator is identified as a responsible individual and fails to file a Petition for a Judicial
Review.

Field 24 - RIL Code
(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE)

Enter the appropriate two-digit code regarding the director’s determination using one of the following codes:

Code | Value RIL Placement?
1D | Abuse /RIL Placement Yes
2D Serious Neglect / RIL Placement Yes
3D Abuse and Serious Neglect / RIL Placement Yes
4D Abuse and/or Neglect and Other Finding/RIL Placement Yes
5D Serious Neglect and Neglect / RIL Placement Yes
1D Abuse / RIL Placement Yes
2D Serious Neglect / RIL Placement Yes

The director’s determination may be different than the type found of the case decision. Therefore, the dates in Fields 11 (Type Found)
and 24 (RIL Code) are not required to mirror each other.

Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the
submission of a DSS-5104d to NCDSS.

Field 25 - Date of RIL Placement
(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLCABLE)

If there is a value in Field 24, this field is required.
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Enter the date in the eight-digit numeric MMDDYYYY format. This date must be a minimum of 15 days past the case decision date (DSS-
5104, Field 7).

Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the
submission of a DSS-5104d to NCDSS.

Field 26 - Reserved for Future Use
(NO ENTRY)

Field 27 - Reserved for Future Use
(NO ENTRY)

Field 28 - Date Criminal Order Signed
(THIS FIELD IS NOT REQUIRED UNLESS THERE IS AN ENTRY IN FIELD 29)

Enter the date (in the eight-digit numeric MMDDYYYY format) that the alleged responsible individual was criminally convicted as a result
of the same incident that led the county child welfare agency to its Child Protective Services involvement, if applicable. This date cannot
be earlier than the date in Field 10 (Date of Case Decision). A value may be entered after the agency has entered its initial DSS-5104a.
However, information on the date of the criminal conviction must be entered no later than 7 days from the date the county child
welfare agency receives notice of the criminal conviction.

Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the
submission of a DSS-5104d to NCDSS. No entry is allowed unless there is an entry is Field 29.

Field 29 - Criminal Code
(THIS FIELD IS NOT REQUIRED UNLESS THERE IS AN ENTRY IN FIELD 28)

This code will automatically populate to Field 39 on the DSS-5104 (RIL Indicator) only if the individuals is not currently on the RIL and if
other data keyed on the same DSS-5104 does not place the name on the RIL. If the person is already on the RIL, entry of data in this field

will not have any effect on any other fields.

Only the following codes are permitted:
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Code Value RIL Placement?
1C Abuse Yes
2C Serious Neglect Yes
3C Abuse and Serious Neglect Yes
4c Abuse and/or Neglect Yes
5C Serious Neglect and Neglect Yes

July 2019
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	Due to system requirements, the agency will not be able to enter information as it becomes available but must wait until each process is complete before keying. For instance, in cases where a Petition for Judicial Review is filed, the date the AOC-J-1...
	The single exception is in cases where the director is responsible for placing someone on the RIL. Fields 24 (RIL Code) and 25 (Date of RIL Placement) should be keyed as soon as possible and not be held until the Responsible Individual has been crimin...
	A.         RESPONSIBLE INDIVIDUALS LIST FUNCTIONS
	The RIL menu has 7 functions:
	Key “1” as the selection followed by the RIL form number. This will display the DSS-5104a record. The Inquiry function displays a view-only screen and no changes or updates may be made.
	Key “2” as the selection followed by the RIL form number. This will display the DSS-5104a record. Only those fields that do not have a value entered may be updated. Fields with values displayed in blue are locked and may not be changed.
	If data is entered incorrectly or in error, a DSS-5104d (https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/info/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104d-ia.pdf) must be submitted to the Division for the appropriate modification or deletion.
	Key “3” as the selection and the corresponding DSS-5104 (Central Registry/CYA) number.
	A screen will appear listing all perpetrators associated with the DSS-5104. Users will be able to select which perpetrator(s) to enter the DSS-5104a.
	Once a perpetrator has been selected, the DSS-5104a screen will display with Fields 1-12 auto populated from the Central Registry. The RIL form number will be displayed at the top left of the screen.
	When all of the information regarding the perpetrator has been entered the message “DSS-5104 VALIDATED. PF9 ADD TO RIL OR PF10 CANCEL RIL.” will display at the bottom of the screen. The user will be returned to the RIL entry
	screen and the message “FORM PROCESSED.PERP(S) IN GREEN. ENTER NEW CYA FORM OR PF3 EXIT” will be displayed.
	If there are additional perpetrators from the DSS-5104 that should be added to the
	RIL, they may be selected and added. If all perpetrators that are Responsible Individuals have been added, press PF3 to return to the main menu. When all perpetrators on the DSS-5104 have had a DSS-5104a entered, the message “ALL PERPETRATORS OF THIS ...
	Not all perpetrators on a particular DSS-5104 should necessarily have an associated DSS-5104a. There should only be one DSS-5104 entered for the assessment which should include all perpetrators. However, some perpetrators may not be appropriate for pl...
	Only those DSS-5104s that have at least one type found of “1” Abuse, “2S” Serious Neglect, “3” Abuse and Neglect “3S” Abuse and Serious Neglect, or “2N’ Serious Neglect and Neglect are eligible for entry in RIL.  If none of these values are present an...
	i. Key “5” as the selection then the individual’s last name, first name, first initial as the key. Do not leave spaces between the names. Wildcard searches may also be performed by entering a partial name and an asterisk (*), as shown below.
	ii.
	V.  RESPONSIBLE INDIVIDUALS’ INFORMATION (FIELDS 1 THROUGH 11)
	Fields 1-6 contain information regarding the identity of the responsible individual when the type found code entered into the DSS 5104 is a “1” (Abuse), “3” (Abuse and Neglect), “3S” (Abuse and Serious Neglect), “2N” (Serious Neglect and Neglect) or a...
	Fields 7-11 contain addition information regarding the CPS Assessment. These fields are auto-populated from the Report to Central Registry (DSS-5104) and cannot be changed.
	FIELD 1 - RESPONSIBLE INDIVIDUAL NAME
	(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 33)
	The name will display exactly as it appears in the Central Registry.
	FIELD 2 - DATE OF BIRTH
	(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 34)
	The date of birth will appear exactly as it appears in the Central Registry. Without a date of birth or SSN, the name shall not be placed on the RIL.
	FIELD 3 – AGE
	(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 35)
	The age of the individual will be calculated from the entry in Field 2. Should the date of birth be unknown, an “E” will appear indicating the age as estimated.
	FIELD 4 - RACE/ETHNICITY
	(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 36)
	FIELD 5 - SEX
	(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 37)
	The responsible individual’s sex will be displayed using one of the following one-digit codes:
	FIELD 6 - SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER
	(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 38)
	Without a date of birth or SSN, the name shall not be placed on the RIL.
	FIELD 7 - COUNTY
	(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 1)
	Field 8 - Central Registry Form Number
	(The DSS-5104 number assigned to the record when created in the Central Registry.)
	Field 9 - Date of Initial Report
	(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 5)
	Field 10 – Date of Case Decision
	(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 7)
	Field 11 – RIL Indicator Status
	(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 39)
	This field will initially show as “00” to reflect at the time of entry this individual is not on the RIL. No entry in this field is allowed.
	When the DSS-5104a is completed, this field will automatically update based on the entry in Fields 16, 22 and 24 which populate Field 39 on the DSS-5104.
	Field 12 - Date Notice to the Responsible Individual Delivered
	(ENTRY REQUIRED)
	Enter the date (in the eight-digit numeric MMDDYYYY format) that the notice to the responsible individual was delivered. This date cannot precede the Date of Case Decision listed in Field 10 on the DSS-5104.
	VI. JUDICIAL REVIEW HEARING - FIELDS 13 THROUGH 18
	The alleged responsible individual has 15 days from the delivery date of the case decision notice to file a petition requesting a judicial review. Fields 13-18 will document the decision of the court and whether the alleged responsible individual’s na...
	Field 13 - Date AOC-J-131 Filed
	(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE)
	Enter the date (in the eight-digit numeric MMDDYYYY format) that the Petition for Judicial Review was filed by the alleged responsible individual. This date cannot be earlier than the date in Field 12. Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot ...
	NCDSS.
	Field 14 - Date of Judicial Review
	(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE)
	If there is a value entered in Field 13, this is a required field.
	Enter the date (in the eight-digit numeric MMDDYYYY format) that the judicial review hearing was held. Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the submission of a D...
	NCDSS.
	Field 15 - Director Determination
	(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE)
	If there is a value entered in Field 13, this is a required field.
	Enter the appropriate two-digit code regarding the director’s determination regarding the appropriateness of the case decision using one of the following codes:
	Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the submission of a DSS-5104d to NCDSS.
	Field 16 - Judicial Review Determination
	(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE)
	If there is a value in Field 13, this field is required.
	Enter the two-digit code regarding the court’s determination using one of the following codes:
	The use of Code 0J reflects those situations where the district court has determined, after a judicial review, that the director did not meet the burden to show that the case decision of abuse and/or serious neglect was correct, or determined that the...
	Once there is an entry into this field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the submission of a DSS-5104d to the NCDSS.
	Field 17 – Reserved for Future Use
	(NO ENTRY)
	Field 18 - Date of Judicial Review Signed
	(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE)
	If there is a value in Field 13, this field is required.
	Enter the date (in the eight-digit numeric MMDDYYYY format) that the presiding judge signed the court order placing the name on the RIL.
	This date cannot precede the date of the judicial review listed in Field 14.  Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the submission of a DSS-5104d to NCDSS.
	VII.  JUVENILE PETITION - FIELDS 19 THROUGH 23
	VIII.  DIRECTOR DETERMINATION - FIELDS 24 THROUGH 29
	Fields 24 and 25 must be completed when the perpetrator is identified as a responsible individual and fails to file a Petition for a Judicial Review.
	Field 24 - RIL Code
	(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE)
	Enter the appropriate two-digit code regarding the director’s determination using one of the following codes:
	The director’s determination may be different than the type found of the case decision. Therefore, the dates in Fields 11 (Type Found) and 24 (RIL Code) are not required to mirror each other.
	Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the submission of a DSS-5104d to NCDSS.
	Field 25 - Date of RIL Placement
	(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLCABLE)
	If there is a value in Field 24, this field is required.
	Enter the date in the eight-digit numeric MMDDYYYY format.  This date must be a minimum of 15 days past the case decision date (DSS-5104, Field 7).
	Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the submission of a DSS-5104d to NCDSS.
	Field 26 - Reserved for Future Use
	(NO ENTRY)
	Field 27 - Reserved for Future Use
	(NO ENTRY)
	Field 28 - Date Criminal Order Signed
	(THIS FIELD IS NOT REQUIRED UNLESS THERE IS AN ENTRY IN FIELD 29)
	Enter the date (in the eight-digit numeric MMDDYYYY format) that the alleged responsible individual was criminally convicted as a result of the same incident that led the county child welfare agency to its Child Protective Services involvement, if app...
	Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the submission of a DSS-5104d to NCDSS. No entry is allowed unless there is an entry is Field 29.
	Field 29 - Criminal Code
	(THIS FIELD IS NOT REQUIRED UNLESS THERE IS AN ENTRY IN FIELD 28)
	This code will automatically populate to Field 39 on the DSS-5104 (RIL Indicator) only if the individuals is not currently on the RIL and if other data keyed on the same DSS-5104 does not place the name on the RIL. If the person is already on the RIL,...
	Only the following codes are permitted:

