North Carolina County Department of Social Services

*YOUR APPLICATION FOR BENEFITS IS BEING DENIED OR WITHDRAWN*

Date Mailed
N We are taking action on your application.
ame -
Please read all pages of this form carefully
Address for important information.
Your application for is
because:

|:| If this block is checked, you will get a separate letter about your Medicaid benefits.

The state regulations requiring this action are found in

Individuals who are ineligible for Medicaid or NC Health Choice or individuals who are eligible for a Medicaid program
that is not considered minimal essential coverage, may be eligible for assistance in purchasing insurance on the Federal
Marketplace. Application information is sent to the Federal Marketplace via secure electronic transfer for those who may be
eligible for assistance and will be contacted by someone at the Federal Marketplace if further information is needed. For
more information, visit Healthcare.gov or call

1-800-318-2596.

HEARING RIGHTS: If you disagree with this decision, you have a right to a hearing to review this decision. Call your worker at
the number below within 60 days to ask for a hearing. The 60" day is . If you do not ask
for a hearing by this date, you cannot have a hearing unless you have a good reason for missing this deadline. You may reapply for
benefits at any time. To protect your rights, you may BOTH reapply AND ask for a hearing.

FREE LEGAL HELP: Free Legal Aid may be available to help you. Contact your nearest Legal Aid or Legal Services office, or
call 1-866-219-5262 toll free.

North Carolina Division of Social Services (NC DSS) complies with applicable Federal civil rights laws and does
not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, religion, creed, disability, age, political beliefs, or
reprisal or retaliation for prior civil rights activity in any program or activity conducted or funded by U.S. Health
and Human Services.

Caseworker Name and Phone Number FOR OFFICE USE ONLY:
Address County Case #
Case ID #

Aid Program/Category

PLEASE CONTINUE READING FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR RIGHT TO A HEARING.

DSS-8109 (rev.07/19)
Economic and Family Services
DHBI/Eligibility Services



YOUR RIGHT TO A HEARING: If you think we’re wrong, you
have until , which is 60
days from the date of this notice, to ask for a hearing.

— Calling your worker may fix the problem!
Did you miss an appointment or fail to return a

Eg form or other information? You can:
il

ERAN

1. Call your caseworker to reschedule your appointment or
see what you can do.

2. Return the form or other information immediately. Be
sure you answer every question. Be sure you provide
any proof of income.

3. If your case has already been closed, call your
caseworker to see what you can do.

Did you not do something your caseworker asked you to
do? You can call your caseworker to explain why and try to
solve the problem.

Did your caseworker make a mistake or has your
situation changed? Call your caseworker right away.

. Is there still a problem? You can ask for a
\ hearing. If you think we are wrong, or you
™8 have new information, you have the right to a

hearing. You must ask for this hearing within
60 days (or 90 days if you have a good reason for delay).
This hearing is a meeting to review your case and give you
the correct benefits if it was wrong.
Call or write your caseworker to ask for a hearing. A local
hearing will be held within 5 days of your request unless you
ask for it to be postponed. The hearing can be postponed, for
good reasons, for as much as 10 calendar days. Then, if you
think the decision in the local hearing is wrong, call or write
your caseworker WITHIN 15 DAYS to ask for a second
hearing. The second hearing is before a state hearing official.

If you ask for a hearing on Work First and you live in certain
counties, the second hearing is before a county official.

If you are requesting a hearing about disability, call or write
your caseworker to ask for a hearing. There is no local
hearing. A state hearing officer holds the disability hearing.

NC Medicaid Hearing Information

If you think we are wrong, or you have new information,
you have the right to a hearing. You must ask for this
hearing within 60 days (or 90 days if you have a good
reason for the delay). This hearing is a meeting to
review your case and give you the correct benefits if it
was wrong. You may call, write, send electronically, or
via ePass to your caseworker a request for a hearing. A
local hearing will be held within 5 days of your request
unless you ask for it to be postponed. The hearing can
be postponed, for good reasons, for as much as 15
calendar days. Then, if you think the decision in the
local hearing in wrong, you may call, write, send
electronically, or via ePass WITHIN 15 calendar DAYS
to ask for a second hearing. The second hearing is
before a state hearing official.

If you believe a standard hearing could seriously
jeopardize your life or health or could threaten your
ability to attain, maintain, or regain maximum function,
you may request an expedited hearing. An expedited
hearing will be held within 3 days unless you ask for it to
be postponed. You will be required to provide
documentation from a person who has knowledge of
your situation (such as doctor, nurse, or social worker)
to support your request. If you do not provide

documentation, your appeal will be held on a standard
schedule.

If you are requesting a hearing about a medical
disability determination, call, write, send electronically,
or via ePass to your caseworker a request for a hearing.
There is no local hearing. A state hearing officer holds
the medical disability hearing. If you believe a standard
hearing could seriously jeopardize your life or health or
could threaten your ability to attain, maintain, or regain
maximum function. You may request an expedited
medical disability hearing if you have medical records
(such as physical examination, laboratory findings, etc.)
to support your request. A doctor’s note providing an
opinion about your health without the submission of
supporting medical records is not sufficient to justify an
expedited fair hearing. If you do not provide medical
records, your appeal will be handled on a standard
schedule.

Did you know you have the right to be represented?

You may have someone speak for you at your hearing, such
as a relative, paralegal or attorney obtained at your expense.
Free legal services may be available in your community.
Contact your nearest Legal Aid or the Legal Aid Helpline at 1-
866-219-5262, toll free.

If you have additional questions or concerns, contact your
caseworker for information, or call DHHS Customer Service
Center, toll free at 1-800-662-7030. TDD/Voice for the
hearing impaired is also available through the number. The
hours are 8:00am-5:00pm, Monday — Friday, excluding State
holidays.

Did you know you have the right to see your record?

If you ask, your caseworker will show you (or the person
speaking for you) your benefits record before your hearing. If
you ask, you may also see other information to be used at the
hearing. You can get free copies of this information. You
may see this information again at your hearing.

Do you understand your rights? Do you understand how to
get a hearing? If you have any questions, please contact your
caseworker as soon as possible.

Medicare Medicaid Recipients

Prescription drug coverage for Medicare individuals who also
have Medicaid is only covered through a Prescription Drug
Plan (PDP). You must be enrolled in a PDP to receive
prescription drug coverage. PDP co-payments differ from
Medicaid co-payments. For questions about a PDP, co-
payment, or assistance with enrolling, you may call 1-800-
MEDICARE.

Beware of Fraud!
Don'’t forget to report all changes to your county department of
f social services within 10 calendar days (5
f[% . calendar days for Special Assistance). If you
[ 2@ don’t know whether a change is important, ask
pod your caseworker. If you do not truthfully report
information and changes, you may be quilty of a misdemeanor

or felony.

)

Notice to Work First Cash Assistance Clients Whose
Benefits Have Stopped: Unless you ask the Child Support
Services office to stop the child support services, you will
continue to receive them. If you choose to stop services, but
later reapply for services within thirty (30) days, you will not be
charged an application fee. Contact your county
social/human services agency for the telephone number of the
Child Support Services office.
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