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Purpose 
In North Carolina, any person who has cause to suspect a child is being maltreated (abused or neglected, or is dependent), is required by law to report 

their concerns to a county child welfare services agency. Child Protective Services (CPS) Intake is the first stage of the child welfare process and involves 

screening child protective services reports to determine what further action is required. Careful, detailed, and thorough work at CPS Intake lays the 

foundation for making well-informed decisions throughout the life of the case. The quality and consistency of the information gathered at CPS Intake 

directly impacts the safety of the alleged victim children and any subsequent intervention. 

The goal of CPS Intake is to make consistent screening decisions using a structured intake process based on specific criteria. The steps of CPS Intake are: 

1. Complete a new CPS Intake in NC FAST or the Structured Intake Report tool, using a strengths-based approach with the reporter. 

2. Consult the Maltreatment Screening Tool(s) that correspond to the allegations. 

3. Determine the county responsible for completing the CPS Assessment. 
4. Consult the Response Priority Decision Tree for response time (Immediate—8 hours, 24 hours, or 72 hours). 

5. Determine the appropriate Assessment Response Type (Investigative or Family). 

 
Following the steps above, the CPS Intake process determines whether the reported information meets the statutory guidelines for child maltreatment. 

When a report is screened in (i.e., it meets the statutory requirements), CPS Intake determines the county responsible for the assessment, the response 

time, the response type, and then the report is assigned for CPS Assessment. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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Policy Legal Basis 

North Carolina requires that anyone 

who suspects child abuse, neglect, or 

dependency must report their concerns 

to the county child welfare services 

agency. A person who makes a report 

of suspected child abuse, neglect, or 

dependency is immune from civil or 

criminal liability if the report was made 

in good faith. 

 
County child welfare agencies must 

receive, and screen all reports of abuse, 

neglect, or dependency, regardless of 

residency. Each county child welfare 

services agency must have written 

procedures for receiving CPS reports 

and for providing supervisory decision- 

making 24 hours a day. 

N.C.G.S. §7B-101 provides the definitions to determine a county child welfare services agency’s authority to 

intervene and includes the following sentence in the definition of neglected juvenile: "In determining 

whether a juvenile is a neglected juvenile, it is relevant whether that juvenile lives in a home where another 

juvenile has died as a result of suspected abuse or neglect or lives in a home where another juvenile has 

been subjected to abuse or neglect by an adult who regularly lives in the home." Relevance in this instance 

is a legal term that means that the court can find a child neglected on the basis that he or she was living 

with a victim child. 

 
N.C.G.S. §153A-257, Legal residence for social service purposes: 

(a) Legal residence in a county determines which county is responsible (i) for financial support of a needy 

person who meets the eligibility requirements for a public assistance or medical care program offered 

by the county or (ii) for other social services required by the person. Legal residence in a county is 

determined as follows: 

(1) Except as modified below, a person has legal residence in the county in which he resides. 

(2) If a person is in a hospital, mental institution, nursing home, boarding home, confinement 

facility, or similar institution or facility, he does not, solely because of that fact, have legal 

residence in the county in which the institution or facility is located. 

(3) A minor has the legal residence of the parent or other relative with whom he resides. If the minor 

does not reside with a parent or relative and is not in a foster home, hospital, mental institution, 

nursing home, boarding home, educational institution, confinement facility, or similar institution 

or facility, he has the legal residence of the person with whom he resides. Any other minor has 

the legal residence of his mother, or if her residence is not known then the legal residence of his 

father; if his mother's or father's residence is not known, the minor is a legal resident of the 

county in which he is found. 

(b) A legal residence continues until a new one is acquired, either within or outside this state. When a new 

legal residence is acquired, all former legal residences terminate. 

(c) This section is intended to replace the law defining "legal settlement." Therefore, any general law or local 

act that refers to "legal settlement" is deemed to refer to this section and the rules contained herein. 

(d) If two or more county departments of social services disagree regarding the legal residence of a minor 

in a child abuse, neglect, or dependency case, any one of the county departments of social services may 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-101.html
https://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_153A/GS_153A-257.html
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Policy Legal Basis 

 
 
 

 
The screening process requires 

knowledge of the statutory definitions 

of child abuse, neglect, dependency, 

and caretaker. The county child welfare 

services agency has the authority to 

intervene only when the allegation, if 

true, would meet the legal definitions. 

Reports accepted for CPS Assessment 

must clearly invoke the statutory 

authority to provide Child Protective 

Services. 

refer the issue to the Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, for 

resolution. The Director of the Division of Social Services or the Director's designee shall review the 

pertinent background facts of the case and shall determine which county department of social services 

shall be responsible for providing protective services and financial support for the minor in question. 

 
N.C.G.S. §7B-300, Protective Services: 

The director of the department of social services [county child welfare services agency] in each county of 

the state shall establish protective services for juveniles alleged to be abused, neglected, or dependent. 

Protective services shall include the screening of reports; the performance of an assessment using either a 

Family Assessment response or an Investigative Assessment response; casework; or other counseling 

services to parents, guardians, or other caretakers as provided by the director. These services will help the 

parents, guardians, other caretakers, and the court to prevent abuse or neglect; to improve the quality of 

childcare; to be more adequate parents, guardians, or caretakers; and to preserve and stabilize family life. 

 
N.C.G.S. §7B-301, Duty to report abuse, neglect, dependency, or death due to maltreatment: 

(a) Any person or institution who has cause to suspect that any juvenile is abused, neglected, or dependent, 

as defined N.C.G.S. §7B-101, or has died as the result of maltreatment, shall report the case of that 

juvenile to the director of the department of social services in the county where the juvenile resides or is 

found. The report may be made orally, by telephone, or in writing. The report shall include information 

as is known to the person making it including: the name and address of the juvenile; the name and address 

of the juvenile's parent, guardian, or caretaker; the age of the juvenile; the names and ages of other 

juveniles in the home; the present whereabouts of the juvenile if not at the home address; the nature and 

extent of any injury or condition resulting from abuse, neglect, or dependency; and any other information 

which the person making the report believes might be helpful in establishing the need for protective 

services or court intervention. If the report is made orally or by telephone, the person making the report 

shall give the person's name, address, and telephone number. Refusal of the person making the report to 

give a name shall not preclude the department's assessment of the alleged abuse, neglect, dependency, 

or death because of maltreatment. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-300.pdf
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-301.pdf
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-301.pdf
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Policy Legal Basis 

 (b) Any person or institution who knowingly or wantonly fails to report the case of a juvenile as required by 

subsection (a) of this section, or who knowingly or wantonly prevents another person from making a 

report as required by subsection (a) of this section, is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. 

 
N.C.G.S. §7B 302(b) states: "When a report of a juvenile's death as a result of suspected maltreatment or a 

report of suspected abuse, neglect, or dependency of a juvenile in a non-institutional setting is received the 

director of the department of social services shall immediately ascertain if other juveniles remain in the 

home, and, if so, initiate an assessment in order to determine whether they require protective services or 

whether immediate removal of the juveniles from the home is necessary for their protection.” 

 
N.C.G.S. §7B-309, Immunity of persons reporting and cooperating in an assessment. 

Anyone who makes a report pursuant to this Article; cooperates with the county department of social services 

in a protective services assessment; testifies in any judicial proceeding resulting from a protective services 

report or assessment; provides information or assistance, including medical evaluations or consultation in 

connection with a report, investigation, or legal intervention pursuant to a good-faith report of child abuse 

or neglect: or otherwise participates in the program authorized by this Article; is immune from any civil or 

criminal liability that might otherwise be incurred or imposed for that action provided that the person was 

acting in good faith. 

 
Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA) requires health care providers involved in the delivery 

and care of infants born with and identified as being affected by substance abuse, withdrawal symptoms 

resulting from prenatal drug exposure, or a Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder to notify the child protective 

services system of the occurrence. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-302.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-309.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-309.html
https://www.acf.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/cb/capta.pdf
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 Definitions 

Unless otherwise noted, the following definitions come from N.C.G.S. §7B-101. 

Juvenile: A person who has not reached the person's eighteenth birthday and is not married, emancipated, or a member of the Armed Forces of the 

United States. 
 

Caretaker: Any person other than a parent, guardian, or custodian who has responsibility for the health and welfare of a juvenile in a residential 

setting. A person responsible for a juvenile's health and welfare means a stepparent; foster parent; an adult member of the juvenile's 

household; an adult entrusted with the juvenile's care; a potential adoptive parent during a visit or trial placement with a juvenile in the custody 

of a department; any person such as a house parent or cottage parent who has primary responsibility for supervising a juvenile's health and 

welfare in a residential child care facility or residential educational facility; or any employee or volunteer of a division, institution, or school 

operated by the Department of Health and Human Services. Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to impose a legal duty of support 

under Chapter 50 or Chapter 110 of the General Statutes. The duty imposed upon a caretaker as defined in this subdivision shall be for the 

purpose of this Subchapter only. Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to impose a legal duty of support under Chapter 50 or Chapter 

110 of the General Statutes. The duty imposed upon a caretaker as defined in this subdivision shall be for the purpose of this Subchapter only. 

See also Caretaker Definition Decision Tool. 

 
Relative: An individual directly related to the juvenile by blood, marriage, or adoption. This includes but is not limited to the following examples: a 

grandparent, sibling, aunt, or uncle. 

 
Abused Juveniles: Any juvenile less than 18 years of age (i) who is found to be a minor victim of human trafficking under G.S. 14-43.15 or (ii) whose 

parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker 

(a) Inflicts or allows to be inflicted upon the juvenile a serious physical injury by other than accidental means; 

(b) Creates or allows to be created a substantial risk of serious physical injury to the juvenile by other than accidental means; 

(c) Uses or allows to be used upon the juvenile cruel or grossly inappropriate procedures or cruel or grossly inappropriate devices to modify 

behavior; 

(d) Commits, permits, or encourages the commission of a violation of the following laws by, with, or upon the juvenile: first-degree rape, as 

provided in N.C.G.S. §14-27.2; rape of a child by an adult offender, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14- 27.2A; second-degree rape as provided in 

N.C.G.S. §14-27.3; first degree sexual offense, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-27.4; sexual offense with a child by an adult offender, as provided in 

N.C.G.S. §14-27.4A; second degree sexual offense, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-27.5; intercourse and sexual offenses with certain victims; 

consent no defense, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-27.31 and N.C.G.S. §14- 27.32; unlawful sale, surrender, or purchase of a minor, as provided 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-101.html
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 Definitions 

in N.C.G.S. §14-43.14; crime against nature, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-177; incest, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-178 and N.C.G.S. §14-179; 

preparation of obscene photographs, slides or motion pictures of the juvenile, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-190.5; employing or permitting the 

juvenile to assist in a violation of the obscenity laws as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-190.6; dissemination of obscene material to the juvenile as 

provided in N.C.G.S. §14-190.7 and N.C.G.S. §14-190.8; displaying or disseminating material harmful to the juvenile as provided in N.C.G.S. 

§14-190.14 and N.C.G.S. §14-190.15; first and second degree sexual exploitation of the juvenile as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-190.16 and 

N.C.G.S. §14-190.17; promoting the prostitution of the juvenile as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-205.3(b); and taking indecent liberties with the 

juvenile, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-202.1, regardless of the age of the parties; or 

(e) Creates or allows to be created serious emotional damage to the juvenile. Serious emotional damage is evidenced by a juvenile's severe 

anxiety, depression, withdrawal, or aggressive behavior toward himself or others; 

(f) Encourages, directs, or approves of delinquent acts involving moral turpitude committed by the juvenile; or 

(g) Commits or allows to be committed an offense under N.C.G.S. §14-43.11 (human trafficking), N.C.G.S. §14-43.12 (involuntary servitude), or 

N.C.G.S. §14-43.13 (sexual servitude) against the child. 

 
Neglected Juvenile: Any juvenile less than 18 years of age (i) who is found to be a minor victim of human trafficking under G.S. 14-43.15 or (ii) whose 

parent, guardian, custodian or caretaker does not provide any of the following: 

(a) does not provide proper care, supervision, or discipline. 

(b) Has abandoned the juvenile. 

(c) Has not provided or arranged for the provision of necessary medical or remedial care 

(d) or whose parent, guardian, or custodian has refused to follow the recommendations of the Juvenile and Family Team made pursuant to 

Chapter 7B Article 27A. 

(e) Creates or allows to be created a living environment that is injurious to the juvenile’s welfare. 

(f) Has participated or attempted to participate in the unlawful transfer of custody of the juvenile under G.S. 14-321.2 

In determining whether a juvenile is a neglected juvenile, it is relevant whether that juvenile lives in a home where another juvenile has died as a 

result of suspected abuse or neglect or lives in a home where another juvenile has been subjected to abuse by an adult who regularly lives in the 

home. 

Dependent Juvenile: A juvenile in need of assistance or placement because the juvenile has no parent, guardian, or custodian responsible for the 

juvenile's care or supervision or whose parent, guardian, or custodian, is unable to provide for the care or supervision and lacks an appropriate 

alternative childcare arrangement. 

 
  

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_14/GS_14-43.15.pdf
https://www.ncleg.gov/enactedlegislation/statutes/pdf/byarticle/chapter_7b/article_27.pdf
https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_14/GS_14-321.2.pdf
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Receive 
CPS Report 

Is child 
under 18 
years of 

age?

If there is information that a 
child may have been harmed in 
violation of any criminal statute 
by a non-caretaker, immediate 

notification must be provided to 
LE/DA.

Is 
the alleged 

perpetrator a 
parent or 

caretaker?

Step 2. Does the 
child reside in your 

county?

Step 3. Use 
Maltreatment

 Screening Tools to 
make Screening 

Decision.

Step 4. 
Use Response 

Priority Tools to 
determine 
initiation 

timeframe.

Step 5. 
Determine 

Assessment Track, 
IA or FA

Assign 
Assessment

Report Not 
Accepted

NO

Report Not 
Accepted

NO

Report Not 
Accepted

CPS INTAKE STEPS

YES

Step 1. 
Collect 

Information on 
Intake Form 

Step 1:  Complete the structured intake form using a strengths-based approach with the 

reporter.

Step 2:  Determine residency and the county responsible for completing the CPS 

Assessment.

Step 3:  Consult maltreatment screening tool(s) which correspond to the allegations.  Make 

screening decision.

Step 4:  Consult the response priority tools to determine initiation timeframe.

Step 5:  Determine appropriate Assessment track, Investigative or Family.

YES 
or NO

Develop Plan of 
Safe Care using 
CC4C Referral.

YES

Does the 
report involve 
a Substance 

Affected 
Infant? 

Report accepted 
(screened in)

by another county 
and referred to 

your county.

CONFLICT OF INTEREST

If after completing the Intake Form a Conflict of Interest 

(COI) is identified, immediately stop and refer to COI 

policy.

New reports on an open COI case must be referred to 

and screened by the partner county with the open case. 

YESYES

Refer to 
Appropriate 

County

NOSEE NOTE

NO YES

NOTE:
1. Must follow Yes if it cannot be 
determined whether the alleged 
perpetrator meets the statutory 
definitions of a caretaker.
2. Must follow Yes for reports 
alleging Human Trafficking.
3. For other reports No.

SCREENED 
IN

SCREENED 
OUT

YES

CMARC 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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Protocol – What you must do Guidance – How you should do it 

North Carolina legislation requires that the person making the report give 

their name, address, and telephone number. However, refusal of the person 

making the report to identify himself or herself does not relieve the county 

child welfare services agency of its responsibility for conducting a CPS 

Assessment. 

 
North Carolina statute requires: 

• The identity of the person making the report, and 

• All information obtained during a CPS Assessment must be held in 

the strictest confidence by the county child welfare agency. 

 
However, this statute does not grant the right for the reporter to remain 

anonymous. The reporter must be informed that their identity will remain 

confidential unless: 

• A court orders otherwise; 

• A local, state, or federal entity demonstrates a need for the 

reporter’s name to carry out its mandated responsibilities. 

 
Statute does not require that the reporter possess any information beyond a 

cause to suspect abuse or neglect. The reporter is not required to have 

witnessed the abuse or neglect or to have firsthand knowledge. 

County child welfare agencies often need to speak with a reporter 

more than once to clarify or follow up on other issues, so anonymous 

calls should be discouraged as much as possible. If a county child 

welfare services agency has “Caller Identification,” the staff should 

make any caller aware that the agency has this information, especially 

if the identifying information the caller is giving is different from the 

information on the “Caller Identification.” If the county child welfare 

services agency knows the identity of the reporter, that information 

should be recorded on the Structured Intake Report tool, even if the 

caller wishes to remain anonymous. In that case, the fact that the 

caller wants to remain anonymous should be noted as well. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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Protocol – What you must do Guidance – How you should do it 

CREATING A NEW CPS INTAKE 

The county child welfare worker must document and manage 

information about the report of suspected abuse, neglect, 

and/or dependency by creating a new CPS Intake in NC FAST or 

use the structured intake tool, North Carolina Division of Social 

 Services’ Structured Intake Form, (DSS-1402) 

 
IDENTIFYING A CASE PARTICIPANTS, ROLES AND CASE HEAD 

A new CPS Intake begins with the identification participants 

involved in the case and their role in the case. Identification of a 

case head depends on the role of the participants involved in the 

new CPS Intake. Participant roles are: 

• Adult 

• Alleged Victim 

• Caretaker 

• Custodian 

• Non-Resident Parent 

• Parent 

Case heads are determined using the following guideline: 

• Mother 

• Father 

• Female Caretaker 

• Male Caretaker 

• Female child 

• Male child 

 
If the parent or caretaker is unknown, the case head is identified 

by the child in the assessment. If there is more than one child, 

the case head is that of the youngest child. 

 

 
Every effort should be made to speak with the reporter at the time the call is 

placed. In instances when the reporter left a message, the timeframe for response 

begins at the time the reporter left the message, not the time the call was 

returned. There may be times when the reporter does not have access to a 

telephone on a regular basis and cannot leave a number for the call to be 

returned. Assessing safety and if an immediate response is required is impossible 

when those concerns are left on a messaging system. 

 

Comprehensive information provided by the reporter supports county child 

welfare workers in making the best determination about the appropriateness of 

the report for CPS Assessment, the level of risk to the child, and the urgency of the 

response needed. Information gathering should focus on demographic information 

about the child and family; information about the alleged maltreatment; and 

information about the child, the parents/caretakers, and the family. 

 

There are some maltreatment reports that do not clearly meet legal definitions of 

abuse, neglect, and/or dependency; however, the alleged maltreatment is 

concerning. It may be that the reporter did not have enough information to 

provide specifics or was not willing to do so. In these situations, it is acceptable to 

use NC FAST services history or county agency history to make a well-informed 

decision. 

 

In some instances, a reporter may be considered a “designated reporter” for their 

agency, meaning they are calling on behalf of the person who has firsthand 

knowledge of the situation. In such situations, it is permissible to contact the 

person with firsthand knowledge prior to making a final decision about accepting 

the report. 

 
The identification of the case head as unknown during intake can change during 

the assessment should that information become known. When an adult 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/info/olm/forms/dss/dss-1402-ia.pdf
https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/info/olm/forms/dss/dss-1402-ia.pdf
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IDENTIFYING RELATIVES 

Beginning at Intake, the identification of relatives can help to 

promote the safety of children. Asking about relatives includes 

those who live outside of the home but can provide support to 

the family. 

 

parent/caretaker remains unknown the assessment case head should follow using 

this guideline. 
 
When a case involves an infant that has been safely surrendered to the local county 

child welfare agency, the agency should include all information provided by the 

reporter. This includes the parents (surrendering and non-surrendering), if known, 

along with any medical/health information about the family that can be obtained. 

This information must be kept confidential and can only be shared in accordance 

with NCGS § 7B‑524.  

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/


CPS INTAKE 

Collection of Information and Assessing Agency History 

CPS Intake Policy, Protocol, and Guidance (March 2025) 
NC CHILD WELFARE MANUAL 

Page 13 
Return to Intake TOC Return to Manual TOC 

 

 

 

Protocol – What you must do Guidance – How you should do it 

RESPONSE TIMES 

Response times include responding to and fully initiating 

screened in reports of abuse, neglect, and/or dependency. The 

timeframe to complete an initiation begins at the time the 

reporter contacts the county child welfare services agency. A 

report is not considered initiated until all victim children have 

been interviewed thoroughly regarding the allegations. Local 

county child welfare agencies must provide Child Protective 

Services, including Intake, 24 hours per day, 7 days per week, 

and, begin the initiation process immediately in emergency 

situations. 

 

Collection of Information and Assessing Agency History 

The county child welfare worker must gather sufficient 

information from the reporter to be able to: 

● Identify and locate case participants (child(ren), parents, 

or primary caretaker) and; 

● Determine if the report meets the statutory guidelines 

for child maltreatment; 

● Assess the seriousness of the child’s situation; and 

Understand the relationship of the reporter to the 

family and the motives of the reporter. 

Identify collaterals who may have additional information 

for the assessment (medical/behavioral health care 

providers, teachers, friends, family, or others) and their 

relationship to the alleged victim child(ren). 

 

The county child welfare worker must check CWIS services 

history and/or county agency records to determine if the case 

participants (family or child) has been reported/known to the 

Making effective CPS Intake decisions requires county child welfare workers to 

have competent interviewing skills, awareness of the information needed, the skill 

to organize and analyze information, to arrive at accurate conclusions, and the 

ability to be supportive of reporters. The reporter’s information/impression 

regarding the allegations needs to be listened to and documented on the 

structured intake tool, and to make the reporter feel he or she has been heard.  

 

Each reporter must be supported in their decision to make a report and their 

concerns addressed. Concerns may range from fear that the family will retaliate to 

fear of having to testify in court. It is important to understand that it is often very 

difficult for the reporter to make the call. The telephone call usually comes after 

much thought has been given to the possible consequences to the child and 

family. More than likely, the reporter has considered that it would be easier to do 

nothing or that the CPS system may not be able to help the family. It is difficult for 

a reporter to think that the call will help the family rather than hurt them. While 

gathering information from the reporter, the distinction between events and 

judgement is important. The position of the reporter can be determined from a 

compilation of the judgements the reporter is making about the case. CPS county 

child welfare workers will be able to make better decisions about the case if they 

have a good understanding of the reporter’s position. Helpful questions that can 

be used to establish the reporter’s position include: 

1. What, in your view are the worst aspects of the behavior you are talking 

about? 

2. What convinced you to call us now? 

3. What have you done (besides making the report) to address the problem? 

4. What do you see as the cause of the problem? 

5. Have you talked about these matters with anyone who knows the 

family? Would others agree with your perspective? What would they say? 

6. Would the parents of the family agree with your assessment of the 

situation? 

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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agency previously. 

 
The county child welfare worker must NOT check the Central 
Registry/Responsible Individuals List or contact another 
community agency to make a screening decision. 

In some instances, the reporter may know about exceptions to the current family 

situation, and some of the following questions may be useful: 

1. It sounds like this has happened before now. What have you seen the 

family do to work this out on its own? 

2. Are there times when the parent is attentive instead of neglectful? Talk 

more about those times. What did the parent and child do instead? What 

do you think made the parent respond differently? 

3. You said the child always seems depressed. Are there times when you have 

seen the child happy? What is going on then? 

 
While it is important to know the reporter’s concerns about the risk to the 

children, it is crucial that the message conveyed is that CPS is about ensuring safe 

homes for children by identifying the strengths of the family-not by identifying bad 

parents and taking children away. Some questions that may be useful in eliciting 

family strengths include: 

1. Can you share anything good about these parents? 

2. How do family members usually solve this problem? What have you seen 

them do in the past? 

3. What do you see as a positive regarding the relationship between parent 

and child? 

 

Another way that may be helpful includes talking with the reporter about what 

they hope the family can accomplish. Discussing safety shifts the focus from 

problems to possible solutions. Some of these questions include: 

1. This situation sounds serious. What do you think should happen? How 

would that solve the problem? 

2. Calling DSS is a big step. In your opinion, what would it take to make the 

child safer? 

3. What do you imagine the agency doing to make the child safer? 
4. What do you think this family should do? What are they capable of doing? 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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5. You are saying this family has problems. Can you tell me how the agency 

will know when the problem is solved? 

 
Talking with the reporter about the goal for contacting child welfare can also be 
initiated using scaling questions. The Intake child welfare worker can ask the 
reporter to rate the seriousness of the situation through a scaling question around 
safety. For example, “On a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 meaning you are certain the 
child will be abused again, and you believe the agency should act immediately, 
and with 10 meaning the problems are solved, where would you rate the 
seriousness of this situation?” Following this question, the Intake child welfare 
worker can then ask follow- up questions such as, “You rated the situation a 3. 
What makes you a 3? What can be done to increase the situation to a 4?” The use 
of scaling questions gives information about immediate progress as compared to 
complete resolution. 

 
Questions from a safety-oriented approach may be unexpected, causing the 
reporter to need more time to think critically about the situation and the Intake 
child welfare worker to be able to explain questions. Some reporters will be open 
to engaging in a discussion regarding safety and others will not because they feel 
they have done their job by notifying the county child welfare services agency. 
Exception questions, eliciting strengths, and goal-oriented questions cause the 
reporter to think about the family’s situation and emphasize that child safety and 
protection is a community issue that calls for collective responsibility. 

 

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA) requires that all 

infants identified as “substance affected” by a healthcare provider, 

receive a Plan of Safe Care. When a county child welfare services 

agency receives notification from a healthcare professional that an 

infant was born and identified as a substance affected infant, it 

must begin the process to ensure the development a Plan of Safe 

Care for each identified infant by: 

● Completing a Care Management for At Risk Children 

(CMARC) referral form and 

● Submitting the referral form to the local CMARC program 

or its local counterpart. 

 

To comply with confidentiality laws and to ensure that a Plan of Safe 

Care can be created for every infant, it is important that the CMARC 

referral be made during the screening of the report and prior to 

deciding to screen in or screen out the report. 

 
Once the referral has been made, the county child welfare services 

agency must follow the guidance contained in the Child Welfare 

Resources for Substance Affected Infants and Plan of Safe Care as 

well as consult the Substance Affected Infant Screening Tool to 

determine if a CPS Assessment is warranted. 

 
Refer to “Substance Affected Infants” in Assessments in the NC Child 

Welfare manual for more information. 

The timing of the referral is critical because confidentiality laws prohibit a 

county child welfare services agency from making the referral to CMARC or its 

local counterpart if the report has already been screened out and child 

protective services are no longer being provided. 

During the screening process, a child welfare agency may share confidential 

information with public and private agencies that are providing or facilitating 

protective services. To comply with confidentiality laws and to ensure that a 

plan of safe care can be created for every infant, it is important that the CMARC 

referral be made during the screening of the report and prior to making a 

determination to screen in or screen out the report.  The timing of the referral 

is critical because confidentiality laws will prohibit a child welfare agency from 

making the referral to CMARC if the report has already been screened out and 

child protective services are no longer being provided. 

 

Intake and Screening of the Report   
Healthcare providers have to make notification of all infants born with signs of 

withdrawal symptoms due to prenatal drug exposure or diagnosed with Fetal 

Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD) even if the situation does not necessarily 

constitute child abuse or neglect. A report that only alleges that an infant was 

exposed to substances prior to birth does not intrinsically meet the statutory 

definition of child abuse, neglect, or dependency. It is the responsibility of the 

Intake caseworker to gather enough information regarding the impact of the 

parents’ substance use on the infant to determine whether the notification 

meets the threshold to screen in a report.  
 

Current standard practice dictates that any information the county child 

welfare services agency obtains that is protected by federal regulations should 

not be disclosed absent a court order or proper client consent. See OBTAINING 

SUBSTANCE ABUSE RECORDS BY COURT ORDER in the Juvenile “Court and Child 

Welfare” section of Cross Function Topics in the NC Child Welfare manual for 

more information on 42 C.F.R. Part 2 regulations. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://www.acf.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/cb/capta.pdf
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/media/9927/download?attachment
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/media/9927/download?attachment
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/media/9927/download?attachment
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/child-welfare-resources-for-substance-affected-infants-and-plan-of-safe-care.pdf
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/child-welfare-resources-for-substance-affected-infants-and-plan-of-safe-care.pdf
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/


CPS INTAKE 

Human Trafficking 

CPS Intake Policy, Protocol, and Guidance (March 2025) 
NC CHILD WELFARE MANUAL 

Page 16 
Return to Intake TOC Return to Manual TOC 

 

 

 

Protocol – What you must do Guidance – How you should do it 

The Human Trafficking section of the structured intake tool must be completed 

when: 

• A reporter indicates or suspects trafficking 

• The CPS Intake worker suspects trafficking based on the maltreatment 

allegations 

 

 
When the child’s parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker information about 

the parent(s) must include their: 

• Protective capacity; 

• Willingness to take protective action; and 

• Role in the trafficking. 

 
 

Human Trafficking is a child who is sold, traded, or exchanged for anything, or to 
settle a debt, regardless of whether the child is used for labor or sex. 

 
 

For additional information about human trafficking, see Cross Function Topic: 

Human Trafficking. 

Perpetrators of trafficking may be family members or may pose as 

the child or youth’s parent, sibling, aunt, uncle, or significant other 

and their relationship to the child may be unclear – even to the 

reporter. 

 

 
Often persons who exploit children and youth through sex or labor 

trafficking make promises to children or to families that the child 

will have improved circumstances, access to education, or a job if 

the child moves from one place to another. Sometimes this involves 

moving from another country. 

 

 
If a child has moved from another country to the United States 

without a family member or is traveling with an adult to whom they 

are not related or with whom the relationship is unclear, it is 

possible that the child is being trafficked or is at risk of being 

trafficked. Intake workers should gather as much information as the 

reporter is able to provide concerning the child and the child’s 

circumstances, including: 

• Where they are traveling from; 

• Where they are traveling to; 

• Who (if anyone) they are traveling with and their 

relationship to this person; 

• The reason for coming to the United States, as provided by 

the child, the person with whom they are traveling or with 

whom they reside; and 

• Any other information the reporter can provide regarding 

their concern that the child is being trafficked or is at risk of 

being trafficked. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/modified-manual-1/cross-function-2.pdf
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/modified-manual-1/cross-function-2.pdf
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 RESPONDING TO MISSING AND ABDUCTED CHILDREN 

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

When a report involves a missing, abducted, or runaway child, the local 
county child welfare agency must notify law enforcement regardless of the 
screening decision. When the missing or abducted child is in the custody of 
a North Carolina local county child welfare agency, notification to the 
responsible Foster Care caseworker must be made. When the report 
indicates that the child is in the custody of another State, that should be 
included in the report to law enforcement.  

 
Any information that is obtained that could assist law enforcement with 

locating the child either through case search and/or provided by the 

reporter must be provided when law enforcement is notified. This includes 

information about the child’s appearance, last known location, medical 

concerns, etc.    

 

REQUIREMENTS FOR SUPERVISORS 

Upon notification that a child is missing or abducted, the supervisor must: 

• Within 24 hours, confirm the Intake caseworker has made 

notification to law enforcement and the Foster Care caseworker, 

when applicable. 

 

The Intake caseworker must include documentation in the Intake report 

for any contact information for law enforcement contacted.  

RESPONDING TO MISSING AND ABDUCTED CHILDREN 

Children who are missing and abducted should be considered at a higher 

risk for Human Trafficking. North Carolina laws requires a report to be 

made to law enforcement when a child is believed to be missing or 

abducted. NCGS § 14-318.5 (c) states, “any person who reasonably 

suspects the disappearance of a child and who reasonably suspects that 

the child may be in danger shall report those suspicions to law 

enforcement within a reasonable time...” 

When the local county child welfare agency has the responsibility for care 

and placement of a child, there is the requirement to make notification to 

the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children (NCMEC) in 

addition to law enforcement. For most cases, the assigned Foster Care 

caseworker is best suited to provide this notification because they will 

have the most information about the child’s appearance, last known 

location, and whereabouts.  

 

Abduction of Children – Per N.C.G.S. § 14-41 “any person who, without 
legal justification or defense, abducts or induces any minor child who is at 
least four years younger than the person, to leave any person, agency, or 
institution lawfully entitled to the child’s custody, placement, or care…” 
 
Kidnapping – Per N.C.G.S. § 14-39 “any person who shall unlawfully 
confine, restrain, or remove from one place to another, any other person 
16 years of age or over without the consent of such person, or any other 
person under the age of 16 years without the consent of a parent or legal 
custodian of such person...” 
 
Missing Child – Per N.C.G.S. § 143B-1011, “a juvenile as defined in N.C.G.S 

§ 7B-101 whose location has not been determined, who has been 

reported as missing to a law enforcement agency, and whose parent’s, 

spouse’s, guardian’s, or legal custodian’s temporary or permanent 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_14/GS_14-318.5.pdf
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_14/GS_14-41.pdf
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_14/GS_14-39.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_143B/GS_143B-1011.pdf
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-101.pdf
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-101.pdf
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residence is in North Carolina or is believed to be in North Carolina.” 

Missing Foster Child – A child who has either left voluntarily (runaway) or 

involuntarily (abduction, kidnapped, or lost), and cannot be accounted for 

by the agency responsible for their care and placement. 

 

Runaway – A child who has voluntarily left their placement provider or 
home and whose whereabouts are either unknown by the child’s parent, 
guardian, custodian, caretaker, foster parent, or caseworker or whose 
whereabouts are unknown by the child’s parent, guardian, custodian, 
caretaker, foster parent, or caseworker but who maintains periodic 
contact with the caseworker or others. 
 
It is important to inform law enforcement about any circumstances that 
could severely compromise the safety of a child or youth who is missing 
 

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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JUVENILE AND CARETAKER DETERMINATION 
 
 

Determine if Juvenile Involved 

County child welfare agencies must screen out any reports of maltreatment that do 

not involve a juvenile. See definitions. However, all children living in the home of 

the victim child identified in the report must be considered alleged victim children. 

 

 
Does the Report Meet Abuse, Neglect, &/or Dependency Definitions? 

County child welfare agencies only have the authority to intervene when the 

allegations if true met the statutory definitions of abuse, neglect, and or 

dependency. See definitions. 

 

 
Is the Alleged Perpetrator a Parent, Guardian, Custodian or Caretaker? 

Reports that do not involve the maltreatment of a child by a parent, guardian, 

custodian or caretaker must be screened out, except for those alleging human 

trafficking. 

 

 
Caretaker 

County child welfare agencies must screen Child Protective Services reports to 

determine whether the alleged perpetrator meets the statutory requirements for a 

caretaker at the time the maltreatment occurred. See Caretaker Definition Decision 

Tool and definitions. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Caretaker has a legal definition that is separate from that of a 

parent, guardian or custodian; therefore, the Caretaker 

Definition Decision Tool in human trafficking cases does not 

apply. Please see the Caretaker Definition Decision Tool. The 

only exception is in cases regarding Human Trafficking.  

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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Determination of Caretaker 

Extended step-relatives such as step-grandparents, step-aunts, step-uncles, and 

step-cousins entrusted with responsibility for the health and welfare of the child 

must be considered caretakers. An adult entrusted with the health and welfare of a 

juvenile is a person who has a significant degree of parental-type responsibility for 

the child. The totality of the circumstances must be considered in these instances 

including: 

● The duration and frequency of care provided by the adult; 

● The location in which that care is provided; and 
● The decision-making authority granted to the adult. 

 
Local county child welfare agencies must assess whether the parent made an 

appropriate decision regarding the child’s safety and welfare when he or she placed 

the child with the relative/caretaker, regardless of whether the alleged perpetrator 

meets the caretaker definition. When allegations involve an adult who does not 

meet the caretaker definition, but provides care for the child, the parent, custodian, 

or guardian’s decision to allow the adult to provide care and their response to the 

abuse or neglect must be screened for maltreatment.   

 

The report must be accepted for assessment if it cannot be determined whether the 

alleged perpetrator meets the statutory definition of a caretaker.  

When allegations involve an adult who does not meet the caretaker definition, but 

provides care for the child, the parent, custodian, or guardian’s decision to allow 

the adult to provide care and their response to the abuse or neglect must be 

screened for maltreatment. 

 
While every “employee or volunteer” of a juvenile justice secure detention facility is 

no longer subject to a CPS Assessment, the caretaker definition still applies to 

employees who have “responsibility for the health and welfare of a juvenile” at 

such a facility. See Out-of-Home Care Providers. 

 

 

A temporary arrangement for supervision is not the equivalent 

of entrusting a person with the care of the juvenile. To entrust 

means the individual is responsible for the health and welfare of 

a juvenile with a significant degree of parental type 

responsibility for the juvenile.   

The North Carolina Supreme Court case law re: R.N.N. provides 

additional information regarding the determination of a 

caretaker. The duration and frequency of care provided, 

location in which that care is provided, and the decision-making 

authority granted to the adult has to be considered in its totality 

to determine whether an individual meets the definition of a 

caretaker. It is important to consider whether the parent, 

guardian, or custodian has relinquished their responsibility for 

the child’s health and welfare to the caretaker.  

In cases where a child spends a significant amount of time with 

an adult, even one who is related, but does not live in their 

home cannot necessarily be considered a caretaker if the 

parent, guardian, or custodian maintains their decision-making 

authority over the child’s health and welfare. In the above 

situations, the Intake caseworker should gather the information 

related to maltreatment of the child in conjunction with the 

caretaker’s awareness and response to the behavior to 

determine a screening decision. The statute includes “allows to 

be created.” 

Statute is specific to include certain relationships such as 

stepparents. These relationships should be liberally construed, 

and inclusive of persons connected by blood, as well as by 

marriage. 

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://appellate.nccourts.org/opinions/?c=1&pdf=33257
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Reports alleging maltreatment in boarding schools also are subject to a CPS 

Assessment based on the caretaker definition. 

 
Non-Caretaker Reports 

When a report of maltreatment is not accepted for CPS Assessment but includes 

information that a child may have been physically (including sexually) harmed in 

violation of any criminal statute by a non-caretaker, the agency must: 

● Give immediate verbal notifications to the District Attorney or designee; 

● Send subsequent written notification to the District Attorney within 48 

hours; 

● Give immediate verbal notification to the appropriate local law 

enforcement agency; and 

Send subsequent written notification to the appropriate local law enforcement 

agency within 48 hours. 

In cases that the reporter is unable to identify if the person 

maltreating is a caretaker, the agency should accept the report 

and allow the Assessment caseworker to determine the 

relationship with the child. If the person maltreating the child is 

not a caretaker, then the caretaker would need to be assessed 

for safety because the non-caretaker was “allowed” to maltreat 

the child. 

REPORTS INVOLVING A CHILD FATALITY WITH SUSPICION THAT MALTREATMENT 

CONTRIBUTED TO THE DEATH 

At the time of the fatality: 

• All children residing in the home must be identified on the structured intake 

tool as victim children 

• If no other children reside in the home, the county child welfare services 

agency has no authority to intervene in the case but must make a report to 

law enforcement 

• When the cause of death is suspected maltreatment, a report of the death 

must be made to NC DSS. 

See the “Child Fatality Prevention and Review” section of the NC Child Welfare 

manual. 

 
 
 

If a child lives in a home where another child has died because 

of maltreatment, that child may also have been abused or 

neglected. It is critical that information regarding risk and 

safety be carefully gathered and evaluated to determine if the 

child has been harmed or if there is evidence or suspicion that 

the other children are being maltreated. 

 
 
 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/modified-manual-1/cross-function-2.pdf
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/modified-manual-1/cross-function-2.pdf
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Is the person 

the parent (birth or adoptive), legal 

guardian or legal custodian?

YES

Is the person 

an adult member of the 

household where the child resides? This 

includes: stepparents, foster parents, potential 

adoptive parents, and any 

other adult living in 

the home.

This person is legally responsible for the health and 

welfare (care) of the juvenile.

NO

NO

This person is defined by statute as a caretaker.  

For reports regarding a foster parent and an open 

Permanency Planning case, refer to:  Reports 

Regarding an Open Permanency Planning Case in 

Intake Policy.

Is the person an 
adult (inclusive of

 persons connected by blood as well as by 
marriage) entrusted** with 

the juvenile s care?

YES
This person is 

defined by statute 

as a caretaker.  

Is the person in the 

role of a house parent or 

cottage parent who has primary 

responsibility for supervising a juvenile's health and 

welfare in a residential child care facility or residential 

educational facility, or any employee or volunteer of a 

division, institution, or boarding school operated 

by the Department of Health and 

Human Services?

This person is defined by statute as a caretaker. 

While not every employee or volunteer of a Juvenile Justice secure 

detention facility is subject to a CPS Assessment, the caretaker 

definition still applies to employees who have responsibility for the 

health and welfare of a juvenile at such a facility.

Refer to: Reports Involving Residential Setting in Intake Policy.

NO

YES

NO
This person is NOT defined by 

statute as a caretaker. 

YES

 ** responsible for the health and welfare of a juvenile or 
having a significant degree of parental-type 
responsibility for the juveniile. Circumstances to be 
considered:

• The duration and frequency of care provided,

• The location in which that care is provided, and

• The decision-making authority granted to the adult. 

CARETAKER DEFINITION DECISION TOOL

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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DUTY TO REPORT ALLEGATIONS OF MALTREATMENT IN CHILD CARE 

When a county child welfare services agency receives a report of suspected child 

maltreatment by a caregiver in a child care facility, a CPS Intake must be 

completed in NC FAST or using a structured intake tool, and the report be 

screened out. 

The Division of Child Development and Early Education (DCDEE) must be notified 

within 24 hours or on the next working day and fax the DSS-5282 with the 

completed Intake Report tool. 

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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RESIDENCE OR ALLEGED MALTREATMENT IS OUT-OF-STATE 

● When the report indicates that the case participants (child, parents/caretakers) 

residence is in North Carolina, but the location of the alleged maltreatment occurred 

out-of-state, the county of residence must conduct the CPS Assessment. 

● If maltreatment is alleged to have occurred to a North Carolina child while out-of- 

state by an individual who is not a resident of North Carolina, the county child 

welfare services agency that received the report must refer it to the state where the 

alleged maltreatment occurred. If there are concerns regarding the decision making 

of the parents or caretakers with whom the child resides in North Carolina, then the 

child welfare agency must accept the report and conduct the CPS Assessment. 

Timeframes for responding to reports of abuse, neglect, and/or dependency begin at 

the time the reporter contacts the county child welfare services agency regardless of 

any jurisdictional barriers. Refer to the “Diligent Efforts” section of Cross Function 

Topics in the NC Child Welfare manual. 

● If a report alleges that a North Carolina child was subject to maltreatment in North 

Carolina by a parent or caretaker who is not a North Carolina resident, the North 

Carolina county child welfare services agency of residence must conduct the CPS 

Assessment with the other state’s assistance. 

● When the report indicates that the residence of both the child and the parents or 

caretakers is out-of-state and the location of the alleged maltreatment occurred in 

North Carolina with a different parent or caretaker than with whom the child resides, 

but the child is no longer in North Carolina, the North Carolina child welfare agency 

shall conduct the CPS Assessment with the assistance of the state where the child 

resides. However, 

o When the report indicates that the residence of the child and the parents or 

caretakers is out-of-state and the location of the alleged maltreatment 

occurred in North Carolina yet the child and parents or caretakers are no 

longer in North Carolina and there are no plans for them to return to the 

 

If the state where the child resides does not provide 

assistance (resulting in child unable to be 

interviewed), and the North Carolina child welfare 

agency makes diligent efforts to conduct the 

assessment without success, then the case may be 

closed as unable to locate. 

 

 
If a report is received on a child that resides in another 

state but ‘found’ in the county and the Intake decision 

was to not accept the report for CPS Assessment, the 

other state should be notified of the report and the 

county’s screening decision. This gives the resident 

state information for when the child returns and 

allows for screening based on their statue. 

 

 
In some circumstances, the other state when 

contacted may not accept the county's report because 

the maltreatment occurred in North Carolina, even 

though the child is a resident of their state and is in 

that state now. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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state, the child welfare agency should refer that report to the state where 

the child and parents or caretakers reside. 

o When the report indicates that the residence of both the child and the 

parents or caretakers is out-of-state and the location of the alleged 

maltreatment occurred out-of-state, the agency should refer that report to 

the state where the alleged maltreatment occurred. 

● If at any time, the county child welfare services agency where the child is found 

believes the child is in immediate danger, a petition must be filed, and a non-secure 

custody order obtained. 

See Out-of-State Decision Making Tool. 
 
 

REQUESTS/REPORTS FROM OUT OF STATE 
 
 

A new CPS Intake in NC FAST, or structured intake tool North Carolina Division of Social 

 Services’ Structured Intake Form, (DSS-1402) must be completed when another state 

requests that NC continue to provide protective services to children and their families who 

are now living in NC. NC must determine if: 

• NC has statutory authority to intervene (allegations must meet NC definitions) 

• The child is in NC in violation of the Interstate Compact for the Placement of Children 

(ICPC) 

o If court action took place prior to the child(ren) being in NC, a referral to the 

ICPC office must be made. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Referrals to the ICPC office assures compliance with 

the ICPC regulations and the continuation of 

appropriate services to the family. See Permanency 

Planning in the NC Child Welfare manual. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/info/olm/forms/dss/dss-1402-ia.pdf
https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/info/olm/forms/dss/dss-1402-ia.pdf
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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Out of State Decision Making Tree 
 

Child Residency / 
Location 

Alleged Perpetrator 
Residency 

Location of Alleged 
Maltreatment 

County Responsible 
for CPS Assessment 

 

 

Child is a 
resident of 

NC? 

YES 
Perpetrator 
a resident 

of NC? 

YES 

NO 

YES 

NO 

Alleged 
Maltreatment 

Occurred in 
NC? 

YES 

Child found  
in NC? 

NO* 

NO 

Alleged Maltreatment 
Occurred In or 
Out of State 

This decision tree is not all inclusive. There may 
be situations where a county child welfare 
agency answers no (at asterisk*) and based on 
the information obtained: 

Screens in and assigns a CPS assessment in 
North Carolina and 
Requests assistance from that state. 

Within the Intake report, provide documentation 
with jurisdiction for decisions. 

Refer report to the 
state where the 

child resides. 
No further action. 

 
 

Refer report to the state where the 
alleged maltreatment occurred. 

 

NC Child Welfare agency of 
residence must conduct the 

CPS Assessment with the 
other states assistance. 

NC Child Welfare agency of 
residence must conduct the 

CPS Assessment. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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REPORTS INVOLVING OPEN CHILD PLACEMENT CASES 

Any new maltreatment and/or incident that meets the legal definitions of abuse, neglect, 

and/ or dependency received at any time during the child receiving Child Placement 

Services, must be documented and managed as a new report and the agency must 

conduct a prompt and thorough assessment of the maltreatment allegations. 

 

Additional requirements are contained in “Conflict of Interest” in Cross Function Topics in 

the NC Child Welfare manual. 

REPORTS INVOLVING OUT-OF-HOME CARE PROVIDERS 
Reports that allege a child is being maltreated by an out-of-home care provider, and the 

out-of-home provider meets the definition of caretaker per G.S. §7B-101, the county child 

welfare services agency must complete a CPS Assessment.  

 

In cases where the report alleges that the child has been maltreated by a licensed foster 

parent/group home, a notification must be made to NC DSS within 5 days to ensure 

Licensing and Regulatory are aware. NC DSS licenses all foster parents, therapeutic foster 

parent, and level 1 group homes. This notification must be made for ALL homes with a 

foster care license regardless of whether there is currently a foster child in the home. This 

also includes notification when the victim child is the biological or adopted child of the 

licensed foster parent and there is a foster child in the home.  

A notification must be made to the Division of Health Service Regulation for all mental 

health group homes (i.e., Level 2, 3, 4 and Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facility 

(PRTF)) within 5 days.   

Additional requirements are contained in in “Conflict of Interest” in Cross Function Topics 

in the NC Child Welfare manual. 

REPORTS INVOLVING INSTITUTIONAL PLACEMENTS 

When a report alleges that a child is maltreated in an institutional placement and the 

person alleged to have maltreated the child is entrusted with the child’s health and 

 REPORTS INVOLVING OPEN CHILD PLACEMENT CASES 

Children in Out of Home placement may share additional 

information about abuse and neglect after being removed 

from their home. If the information meets the statutory 

definition, it must be investigated. 

 

In situations where the biological parents have had their 
parental rights terminated and the child discloses 
allegations regarding maltreatment committed by their 
biological parents, the report must be screened out. NCGS § 
7B-1112. states, “An order terminating the parental rights 
completely and permanently terminates all rights and 
obligations of the parent to the juvenile and of the juvenile 
to the parent arising from the parental relationship, except 
that the juvenile's right of inheritance from the juvenile's 
parent shall not terminate until a final order of adoption is 
issued.” A notification must be sent to Law Enforcement 
and the District Attorney’s office.  
 
If the allegations provided meet the statutory threshold and 
the reporter is aware of other children in the home of the 
biological parent that could be at risk, it should be screened 
in.  
 
Licensing and Regulatory maintains information regarding 

licensed foster homes/group homes and should be included 

in the process to ensure that if there are concerns for 

abuse, neglect, and/or dependency that actions can be 

taken to ensure that no additional children are harmed.  

 

If a report is received and the person alleged to have 

abused or neglected the juvenile is an employee that 

is not entrusted with the child’s care such as the cook, the 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://www.ncleg.gov/enactedlegislation/statutes/html/bysection/chapter_7b/gs_7b-1112.html
https://www.ncleg.gov/enactedlegislation/statutes/html/bysection/chapter_7b/gs_7b-1112.html
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welfare, the report must be accepted for CPS Assessment. This includes a correctional 

officer or any employee with the Division of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention 

that has responsibility for the health and welfare of a juvenile. 

 

Screened in reports on institutional placements must be assigned as an Investigative 

Assessment Response and referred to law enforcement when required. Only children 

identified as victims must be the subject of the Investigative Assessment. However, 

other children in the institutional setting must be considered as victims if an assessment 

of the circumstances warrants the inclusion of those children in the Investigative 

Assessment. 

Additional requirements are contained in “Jurisdiction” in Cross Function Topics in the 

NC Child Welfare manual. 

REPORTS INVOLVING CHILDREN LIVING IN AN INSTITUTIONAL SETTING WHERE A CHILD 

HAS DIED DUE TO SUSPECTED MALTREATMENT 

 
When a report of a juvenile's death, because of suspected maltreatment in an 

institutional setting, such as a residential child care facility or residential educational 

facility is received: 

● The county child welfare services agency must immediately determine if other 

juveniles remaining in the facility are subject to the alleged perpetrator's care or 

supervision; and 

● If so, assess the circumstances of those juveniles to determine whether they 

require protective services or whether immediate removal of those juveniles 

from the facility is necessary for their protection (N.C.G.S. §7B-302(b)). 

janitor, the groundskeeper, etc., the report would not be 
accepted for CPS Assessment but reported to law 
enforcement. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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MULTIPLE REPORTS INVOLVING THE SAME CHILD OR FAMILY 

If a CPS report is received that describes maltreatment allegations and 

incidents currently being assessed through an open CPS Assessment: 

● The information must be documented and managed as a new CPS 

Intake on the structured intake tool, and screened-in. 

● The report may not require a new initiation; therefore, a 

determination of the response timeframe is unnecessary. 

A new CPS Intake must be created when new maltreatment allegations that 

meet the legal definition of abuse, neglect, and or dependency are received 

from the public during the course of an open CPS Assessment (i.e., not 

uncovered by the county child welfare worker as a part of the CPS 

Assessment). The new information is not assigned as a separate assessment 

but must be responded to within appropriate time frames to assess the 

safety of the child. There must be one assessment and one case decision 

that addresses every screened in allegation regardless of whether there are 

multiple reports. 

 

There are times when a county child welfare services agency may 

receive a report describing maltreatment and incidents that were 

previously assessed during a CPS Assessment that has closed. The 

agency should consider all new information in making its screening 

decision. 

 
 

“Received from the public” refers to an individual’s intent to contact 

the county child welfare services agency for the purposes of making a 

CPS report. Information that a county child welfare worker obtains 

from a collateral contact during an open CPS Assessment does not 

constitute a new report or obligate the county child welfare to send 

reporter notification letters to that individual. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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REPORTS INVOLVING OPEN CPS IN-HOME SERVICES CASES 

Any new maltreatment and/or incident that meets the legal definitions of abuse, 

neglect, and/or dependency received at any time during a CPS In-Home Services case 

must result in the creation of a new CPS Intake and a prompt and thorough 

assessment of the allegations. 

The county with the open CPS In-Home Services case must be the county responsible 

for conducting the assessment of any new screened in reports, unless there has been 

a change in residence. 

Refer to “New Assessment on Open In-Home Case” in In-Home in the NC Child 

Welfare manual. 

 
 
This includes information from collaterals involved with the 
family who provide the information to the current caseworker 
providing In-Home services. A collateral should not be 
expected to know the difference between making a report to 
the caseworker involved with the family and a formal call to 
the Intake line for the agency. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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The family’s (child’s) county of residence is responsible for conducting the 

CPS Assessment, except in cases where there is a conflict of interest present. 

When there is a conflict of interest, another county child welfare services 

agency must conduct the assessment. 

 

Transition into the PATH NC System: When a county that is in the PATH NC 
System receives a report that is a COI the local county child welfare agency 
must take the information from the reporter and put it in the PATH NC 
System. If the county receiving the COI report is in PATH NC System, then the 
information gathered must be sent in the system for screening and response 
by the receiving county.  
 
If the county receiving the COI is not in the PATH NC System, then 
information gathered from the reporter must be printed out and immediate 
notification made to the county receiving the report. The sending county 
must ensure that it is received and then the receiving county must screen the 
report and if accepted determine the assessment track and response time 
based on the CPS Intake policy.  

 
When a county that has not transitioned into the PATH NC System receives 
a report that is a COI the local county child welfare must take the 
information on the current DSS-1402, make immediate notification to the 
other county regardless of whether they are in the PATH NC System or not. 
The information gathered from the reporter will be sent to the county 
receiving the COI for a screening decision and, if warranted, an assessment 
track and response time determination. The county sending the 
information must ensure that it is received.  

 
If the county is in the PATH NC System the information must be entered into 
the system and use the SDM Screening and Response Tool. 
 
The county completing the conflict of interest must make a screening decision 

 
 
 
 

 

 

As all 100 counties transition into the PATH NC System there will be 
counties that are in the system and counties that have not transitioned 
yet. This means that counties will be operating under two different 
screening and response processes. For counties that have not 
transitioned into the system they will continue use the DSS-1402 and 
CPS Intake Policy to make screening and response decisions. Counties 
that have entered in PATH NC System will use the Structured Decision-
Making (SDM) Tool that is a part of the system for screening and 
response and the SDM Intake Policy. 
 

When additional information is needed to complete the screening 

process, the reporter can be contacted by the receiving county when 

available. In cases where the reporter is unavailable the Intake 

caseworker will make a screening and response decision based on the 

information that they received. 

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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and, if accepted, determine the assessment track and response time UNLESS 

the information provided in the report is urgent and requires an immediate 

response by the agency receiving the report. Verbal notification must also be 

made informing the county of the child’s location and that initiation has begun 

by the county receiving the report. 

 
See “Conflict of Interest” in Cross Function Topics in the NC Child Welfare 
manual for further information regarding a county child welfare services 
agency’s responsibility when there is a conflict of interest. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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CONSULTATION WITH MALTREATMENT SCREENING TOOLS 

Use of the Maltreatment Screening tools: 

● Must occur for every CPS report: 

o Regarding a child under the age of 18, and 

o Alleging abuse, neglect, and/or dependency by a parent or caretaker, 

● Provide for consistent screening across the state; and 

● Determine whether the allegations meet the legal definitions of abuse, neglect and 

dependency. 

 
Intake county child welfare workers must have a current knowledge of statutory guidelines 

to identify and categorize child abuse, neglect and dependency allegations. 

 
A CPS Assessment must occur if the information reported meets the legal definitions. The 

appropriate maltreatment must be selected based on the maltreatment screening tools. 

 
There are 16 maltreatment screening tools. The Intake worker must consult each tool that 

corresponds to the allegations in the report. The abuse screening tools include physical 

injury, cruel/grossly inappropriate behavior modification, sexual abuse, emotional abuse, 

moral turpitude, and human trafficking. The neglect screening tools include improper care, 

improper supervision, unsafe discipline, abandonment, improper medical/remedial care, 

injurious environment, and illegal placement/adoption. Reports alleging dependency must 

consult the dependency screening tool. When a reporter alleges maltreatment pertaining to 

substance abuse and/or domestic violence, the substance abuse and/or domestic violence 

screening tool must be consulted. 

 
See Maltreatment Screening Tools to: 

● Determine the Maltreatment Type for each allegation that meets the definition of 

abuse, neglect, and/or dependency for assessment; and 

● For the associated directions and guidance required when consulting the screening 

tools. 

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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DETERMINATION OF COUNTY OR STATE ASSIGNMENT 

The intake decision determines if there is a valid Child Protective Services (CPS) 

report, and which county child welfare services agency is responsible for conducting 

the CPS Assessment. 

 
COUNTY ASSIGNMENT 

The county child welfare worker and supervisor managing the CPS Intake must: 

● Screen the report; 

● Determine whether the facts alleged in the report are sufficient to warrant 

intervention based on suspected abuse, neglect, or dependency; 

● Determine which county child welfare services agency is responsible for 

conducting the CPS Assessment;  

● Send the reporter notification letter; and 
● Send all other required notifications (i.e. Law Enforcement, DA, DSS, DCDEE, 

DHSR, Military, RAMS)  

 
When a reporter contacts a county where the child does not reside, the county 

receiving the report must still take all the information from the reporter and make 

verbal notification to the county where the child resides. The county where the child 

resides must make a screening decision and, if accepted, determine the assessment 

track and response time UNLESS the information provided in the report is urgent and 

requires an immediate response by the agency receiving the report. Verbal 

notification must also be made informing the county of the child’s location and that 

initiation has begun by the county receiving the report. 

Additional requirements are contained in in “Conflict of Interest” in Cross Function 

Topics in the NC Child Welfare manual. 

 

The worker should not expect the caller to find the correct 

number to call or make the call to another DSS agency. The 

worker should gather the demographic information, what 

happened, current location of the child as well as any other 

information needed to make an accurate screening decision. 

The caller should be advised that their name and information 

will be referred to another agency and that, if necessary, this 

agency may call the reporter seeking more information. The 

caller should also be advised that this agency will also send 

them a five-day notification letter. 

The process of referring the report should be immediate. The 

timeframe for initiation begins with the first contact with the 

reporter. The responsibility for ensuring that the transfer of 

information occurred lies with the county screening the 

report. 

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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DETERMINATION OF RESPONSE PRIORITY 

Response Priority Tools are one component of Intake Decision-Making. The 

use of the Response Priority Tools result in consistent decisions regarding 

the response time for assessments. 

The Response Priority Tool determines the time frame for the response for 

all reports accepted for a CPS Assessment (immediate, within 24 hours, or 

within 72 hours). 

All reports that are screened “in” must be assigned for response according to 

the criteria in the Response Priority Tool. See Response Priority Decision 

Trees to establish appropriate initiation timeframe. 

 
An agency may always respond more quickly than the indicated time if 

there are circumstances or lack of information that may indicate the 

child is possibly at greater risk than indicated by the Response Priority 

Tools. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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DETERMINATION OF ASSESSMENT APPROACH 

With a valid CPS report, the county child welfare services agency must determine whether to approach the 

family using either the Family Assessment response or Investigative Assessment response. 

 

 
FAMILY ASSESSMENT RESPONSE 

A response that is: 

● Family-centered; 

● Protection- and prevention-oriented; and 

● Evaluates the strengths and needs of the juvenile’s family, as well as the condition of the juvenile. 
 
 

The Family Assessment response is appropriate for reports that contain allegations meeting the statutory 

definitions of neglect. These are reports that include allegations a juvenile: 

 

● Does not receive proper care from a parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker; 
● Does not receive proper supervision from a parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker; 
● Does not receive proper discipline from a parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker; 
● Is not provided necessary medical care; 
● Is not provided necessary remedial care; 
● Lives in an environment injurious to his/her welfare; 
● Has been placed for care or adoption in violation of law; 
● Lives in a home where another juvenile has been subjected to abuse or neglect by an adult who 

regularly lives in the home; 

● Needs assistance or placement because he or she has no parent, guardian, or custodian responsible 
for the juvenile’s care or supervision; or 

● Whose parent, guardian, or custodian is unable to provide for the care and supervision and lacks an 

appropriate alternative child care arrangement; or, 

● Has been safely surrendered per N.C.G.S. §14-322.3. 
 

 

Except for certain reports that must 

be taken as an Investigative 

Assessment, each county child 

welfare services agency can choose 

which response will be used to 

assess reports of abuse, neglect, 

and/or dependency. Use of the 

Family Assessment is the preferred 

approach because it allows county 

child welfare agencies to work with 

families with a strength-based, 

family-centered, and prevention- 

oriented approach. 

 

 
Nothing replaces the professional 

judgment of the county child welfare 

worker and child welfare supervisor. 

A report that is statutorily 

considered neglect may be assigned 

to the Investigative Assessment 

response if it is deemed to be the 

more appropriate response. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_14/GS_14-322.3.pdf
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The Family Assessment response is also appropriate for reports meeting the statutory definition of 

dependency (N.C.G.S. §7B-101). 

 

 
INVESTIGATIVE ASSESSMENT RESPONSE 

A response to reports of child abuse and selected reports of child neglect and dependency that is a formal 

information gathering process to determine whether a juvenile is abused, neglected, or dependent. 

The Investigative Assessment response is appropriate for reports that include allegations that a juvenile may 

be a victim of human trafficking or whose parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker: 

● Creates or allows to be created a substantial risk of serious physical injury to the juvenile by other 

than accidental means; 

● Inflicts or allows to be inflicted upon the juvenile a serious physical injury by other than accidental 

means; 

● Uses or allows to be used upon the juvenile cruel or grossly inappropriate procedures or cruel or 

grossly inappropriate devices to modify behavior; 

● Commits, permits, or encourages the commission of a violation of the following laws by, with, or upon 

the juvenile: first-degree rape, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-27.2; rape of a child by an adult offender, 

as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-27.2A; second-degree rape, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-27.3; first-degree 

sexual offense, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-27.4; sexual offense with a child by an adult offender, as 

provided in N.C.G.S. §14-27.4A; second degree sexual offense, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-27.5; 

intercourse and sexual offenses with certain victims; consent no defense, as provided in N.C.G.S. 14- 
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http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-101.html


CPS INTAKE 

Intake Decision Making 

CPS Intake Policy, Protocol, and Guidance (March 2025) 
NC CHILD WELFARE MANUAL 

Page 41 
Return to Intake TOC Return to Manual TOC 

 

 

 

Protocol – What you must do Guidance – How you should do it 

27.7; unlawful sale, surrender, or purchase of a minor, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-43.14; crime 

against nature, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-177; incest between certain near relatives, as provided in 

N.C.G.S. §14-178; incest between uncle and niece and nephew and aunt, as provided in N.C.G.S. 

§14.179; preparation of obscene photographs, slides, or motion pictures, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14- 

190.5; employing or permitting minor to assist in offense under Article (26), as provided in N.C.G.S. 

§14-190.6; dissemination of obscene material to minors under the age of 16 years, as provided in 

N.C.G.S. §14-190.7; dissemination of obscene material to minors under the age of 13 years, as 

provided in N.C.G.S. §14-190.8; displaying material harmful to minors, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14- 

190.14; disseminating harmful material to minors; exhibiting harmful performances to minors, as 

provided in N.C.G.S. §14-190.15; first-degree sexual exploitation of a minor, as provided in N.C.G.S. 

§14-190.16; second-degree sexual exploitation of a minor, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-190.17; 

promoting prostitution of a minor, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-190.18; and taking indecent liberties 

with children, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-202.1; 

● Creates or allows to be created serious emotional damage to the juvenile; or 

● Encourages, directs, or approves of delinquent acts involving moral turpitude committed by the 

juvenile. 

The special type of neglect reports that must be assigned for an Investigative Assessment response include 

cases in which the allegations include the existence of the following: 

● A child fatality when there are surviving children in the family; 

● A child in the custody of a county child welfare services agency, family foster homes, or residential 

facilities; 

● A child taken into protective custody by a physician or law enforcement, pursuant to N.C.G.S. §7B-308 

(http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-308.html) 

and §7B-500 

(http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-500.html); 

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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● The medical neglect of disabled infants with life threatening condition, pursuant to Public Law 98-457 

(Baby Doe); 

● A child hospitalized (admitted to hospital) due to suspected abuse/neglect; 

● Abandonment; 

● The suspected or confirmed presence of a methamphetamine lab where children are exposed; 

● A child less than a year who has been shaken or subjected to spanking, hitting, or other form of 

corporal punishment; or 

● Reports of dependency where the child or youth is believed to be the victim of human trafficking. 

 

ASSIGNMENT OF ASSESSMENT APPROACH 

Regardless of the assignment to either CPS Assessment response, when the county child welfare services 

agency receives a valid CPS report, the agency must act to ensure the safety of the child through the provision 

of protective services. 

As the timeframe for responding to reports of abuse, neglect, and/or dependency begins at the time the 

reporter contacts the county child welfare services agency, assignment of the report for assessment must 

occur as soon as the CPS Intake screening process is complete. 

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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TWO-LEVEL DECISION MAKING 

Two-level decisions must occur on every CPS Intake completed. The 

screening decision(s) must include a discussion between the CPS Intake 

worker and a supervisor (or other management position) about the tools 

consulted, the response priority and assessment response and a justification 

for those decisions. 

All persons participating in the screening decision must sign or approve the 

Structured Intake Report tool where indicated. 

 

Two-level decisions for CPS Intake reports should involve the assigned 

caseworker and that worker’s supervisor. However, there may be 

circumstances that require another county child welfare worker or 

another supervisor or a higher-level manager in the agency to 

participate in a review or the decision making. 

When a supervisor does not have access to a higher-level manager for 

a 2nd level review when screening an Intake report, the supervisor may 

send to another supervisor for the 2nd level review. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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DISTRICT ATTORNEY / LAW ENFORCEMENT 
NOTIFICATION  
 
REPORTS OF ABUSE 
 
Reports of abuse by a parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker that may meet the 
criminal definitions of child abuse must result in a notification to the District Attorney and 
Law Enforcement. 

G.S §7B-307 directs that when there is evidence that 

 
• the child may have been abused as defined by G.S. § 7B-101 by the parent, 

guardian, custodian or caretaker, 

 

The county child welfare agency must: 

a) Give immediate verbal notifications to the District Attorney or designee; 

b) Send subsequent written notification to the District Attorney within 48 hours 

c) Give immediate verbal notification to the appropriate local law enforcement 

agency; and 

d) Send subsequent written notification to the appropriate local law enforcement 

agency within 48 hours. 

e) Notification to the appropriate military authority that there is evidence of abuse 

of a juvenile by a parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker with that military 

affiliation. 

 
 
 

 
The receipt of a report is considered evidence of 

abuse and or violation criminal misdemeanor or 

felony child abuse. 

 
 

 
An example of a neglect report that is reported to the 

District Attorney and Law Enforcement would be 

discipline that violated the criminal statute and was 

done by a non-caretaker. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Notification to the military authority of the alleged 

perpetrator only takes place there is evidence of 

abuse of a juvenile by a parent, guardian, custodian, 

or caretaker with that military affiliation. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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REPORTS OF NEGELCT (Unsafe Discipline) 

In instances of parental child neglect/inappropriate discipline where the injuries amount to 
misdemeanor child abuse according to statute, the county child welfare agency must: 

• Give immediate verbal notification to the appropriate local law enforcement 
agency; and 

• Send subsequent written notification to the appropriate local law enforcement 
agency within 48 hours 

 
NON-CARETAKER REPORTS 

G.S. §14-318.6 requires that any person 18 years of age or older who knows or should have 

reasonably known that a child has been or is the victim of criminal misdemeanor child abuse 

defined under G.S. 14-318.2 or felony child abuse §14-318.4 must notify the local law 

enforcement agency. 

In instances of physical harm to a child that violates any criminal statute by a Non- 

Caretaker, including instances of inappropriate discipline that amount to misdemeanor child 

abuse, the local child welfare agency must: 

• Give immediate verbal notification to the appropriate local law enforcement 

agency; and 

• Send subsequent written notification to the appropriate local law enforcement 

agency within 48 hours 

• Give immediate verbal notifications to the District Attorney or designee; 

• Send subsequent written notification to the District Attorney within 48 hours 

Notification Requirements: 
• Juvenile Victim: Name, Age, Address, Current whereabouts 
• Parent, Guardian, Custodian, Caretaker: Name, Address 
• Alleged Offender: Name, Age, Address 
• Other Juveniles present or in danger: Name and Age 
• Nature, extent or conditions of offense 

 

 
Examples of situations in which non-caretaker reports 

are to be made to the District Attorney and Law 

Enforcement include reports alleging assault on a child 

by educational personnel; reports alleging sexual 

molestation of a child by a stranger; reports alleging 

maltreatment of a child by staff of an acute physical 

care hospital. 

 

 
In some cases, local law enforcement may be 

investigating the actions of the person who is 

reported to be directly responsible for the harm to the 

child while the county child welfare services agency 

assesses the parent or caretaker's behavior that 

contributed to the alleged abuse or neglect. Other 

situations are clearly the responsibility of law 

enforcement as far as investigation and court action 

are concerned. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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Definitions in Criminal statutes: 

Misdemeanor child abuse (§14-318.2) is defined as any person (caretaker and non- 

caretaker) who: inflicts, allows to be inflicted creates a substantial risk of physical injury by 

non-accidental means. Failure to report crimes against juveniles carries a penalty of Class 1 

misdemeanor. 

Felony child abuse (§14-318.4) 

• Serious bodily injury (G.S. §14-318.4(d)(1) Bodily injury that creates a substantial risk 

of death or that causes serious permanent disfigurement, coma, a permanent or 

protracted condition that causes extreme pain, or permanent or protracted loss or 

impairment of the function of any bodily member or organ, or that results in 

prolonged hospitalization. 

• Serious physical injury (G.S. §14-318.4(d)(2) Physical injury that causes great pain 

and suffering. The term includes serious mental injury. 

• Sexually Violent Offense (G.S. §14-208.6(5)) This also includes the following: an 

attempt, solicitation, or conspiracy to commit any of these offenses; aiding and 

abetting any of these offenses. 

Violent Offense (G.S. 14-318.6(5)) any offense that inflicts upon the juvenile 

serious bodily injury or serious physical injury by other than accidental means. This 

term also includes the following: an attempt, solicitation, or conspiracy to commit 

any of these offenses: aiding and abetting any of these offenses. 

 
REPORTER NOTIFICATION 

For all CPS Intake reports, there must be documentation that: 
a) Written notice was sent to the person making the report within 

5 calendar days after receipt of the report; 

b) The person making the report waived their right to notice; or 

c) The person making the report refused to provide identifying information. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The requirement for written notification does not 

negate the county child welfare services agency’s 

ability to share the screening decision with the 

reporter through other means prior to receipt of the 5-
day letter if the inquiry is an effort to provide 
protective services to the family. Examples of such 
situations include a hospital social worker wanting to 
know the screening decision prior to a child’s 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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The notice to the reporter must include: 

a) A statement about whether the report was accepted for CPS Assessment based on 

statutory definitions and citing the relevant statutes, and identify the type of CPS 

Assessment that includes a brief description 

b) The date the report was made; 

c) The identity of the alleged victim child; for instance, if the reporter specifically 

identifies the name of a child, use that name; however, if the name is unknown, use 

the descriptor given by the reporter; 

d) Information regarding the process by which the reporter may obtain a review of the 

agency’s decision not to accept the report for CPS Assessment; 

e) A statement about whether the report was referred to the appropriate state or local 

law enforcement agency; 

f) The identity of the county responsible for conducting the CPS Assessment, if 

different than the county that received the Intake; 

g) Information and resources on human trafficking, if the report is screened out; 
h) A statement that encourages the reporter to contact the agency if more information 

or concerns regarding the child or family surfaces; and 

i) The name and contact information for the assigned county child welfare worker, the 

supervisor, or other identified person. 

If a reporter describes the exact same allegations and incidents that are currently being 

assessed, the county child welfare services agency must still provide the notification, even if 

they may not have been the initial reporter. 

 
 

NOTIFICATIONS INVOLVING OUT-OF-HOME PLACEMENTS 
Refer to “Conflict of Interest” in Cross Function Topics in the NC Child Welfare manual for 

notifications required for out-of-home placements. 

discharge, or a police officer who is waiting for a 

county child welfare worker to arrive on the scene. 

 
Reference G.S. 7B-309 for specific information about 

the immunity of persons reporting and cooperating in 

an assessment. This can be found in the policy and 

legal basis section of the CPS Intake Manual. 

 

Appropriate information and resources to the 

reporter may include, but are not limited to: 

• National Human Trafficking Hotline Number 
(1-888-373-7888); 

• Contact information for local agencies serving 
survivors of human trafficking; and, 

• Contact information for statewide agencies 
serving survivors of human trafficking. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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The purpose of the maltreatment screening decision trees is to provide structure for the determination of the 

type of maltreatment and the associated assessment response for every report. This applies to all reports, 

whether a case is open to CPS Assessments, CPS In-Home Services, or Child Placement Services. 

Use of Maltreatment Screening Decision Trees 

1. Begin with the Maltreatment Decision Tree that corresponds to the maltreatment allegation that is the 

most egregious. Consult the appropriate Maltreatment Decision Tree for each allegation in the report. 

The Maltreatment Trees include: 

• Physical Injury. To be used with allegations of physical abuse and allegations of a parent driving 

while intoxicated; 

• Cruel/grossly inappropriate behavior modification; 

• Moral turpitude; 

• Sexual Abuse; 

• Emotional Abuse; 

• Human Trafficking; 

• Neglect Priority Decision Trees that include: 

▪ Improper care; 

▪ Refusal to participate in Juvenile Justice recommendations; 

▪ Improper supervision; 

▪ Unsafe discipline; 

▪ Abandonment; 

▪ Improper medical/remedial care; 

▪ Injurious environment, plus specific tools for: 

o Substance Abuse, 

▪ Substance Affected Infants 

o Domestic Violence, and 

▪ Illegal placement/adoption. 

• Dependency Decision Tree. 

• Request to Dismiss Safe Surrender Request 

2. Start with the first question box of each Decision Tree. Proceed by answering the questions yes or no. 

When the answer to any question is yes, this is the termination point. Guidance regarding each of the 

questions is provided after the Decision Tree. 

3. The termination point indicates the assessment approach/ track to be selected for each allegation. 

4. If the termination point for any allegation designates an Investigative Assessment, then that 

track/approach must be selected for the assessment. Otherwise, the Family Assessment track is 

appropriate. 

If the county child welfare services agency selects a track other than what the corresponding Decision Tree 

indicates, the rationale for changing the track must be documented and approved by a supervisor or higher 

management level. The decision trees are designed to guide decisions, not to replace county child welfare 

worker judgement. A case may have unique circumstances not captured by the decision tree, or there may be 

critical information that is unknown. If there is any doubt about the most appropriate response time frame, the 

agency decision must be to select the Investigative track. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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A. Physical Injury Screening Tool Directions: This is not an all-inclusive list. There may be information that is 
reported that must be screened in for an assessment.   

 
 

Is the parent/caretaker causing serious non-accidental physical injury, which creates a substantial risk of 

death, disfigurement, or impairment? 

Fractures, subdural hematoma, dislocations, sprains, internal injuries, burns, and inflicted injuries such as 

extensive welts, bruises, lacerations, bites and abrasions would be indicative of abuse. The specific injuries 

listed are not intended to be an all-inclusive list but are an indication of information that does warrant an 

Investigative Assessment. There may be instances where a child has bruises that do not rise to the level of 

abuse but are considered unsafe discipline (refer to Unsafe Discipline Maltreatment Screening Tool), as well 

as situations where there may be bruising and there is no abuse or neglect. 

Is the parent/caretaker causing the child to be at a substantial risk of serious non-accidental abuse or 

injury? 

This refers to a situation when the parent/caretaker knows that the environment has a substantial risk for 

serious non-accidental abuse or injury and allows the child to remain in this environment. In situations 

where the child has unexplained injuries, and there is no clear perpetrator, these reports would be 

accepted, as the statute refers to “creates or allows to be created”. 

Has the parent been driving while intoxicated? 

If the allegations are that a parent or caretaker is driving under the influence of mind-impairing substances, 

regardless of whether they are prescribed or not and the child is in the car, the report must be accepted for 

assessment. It is irrelevant whether or not the caretaker was criminally charged as the statute reads, “creates 

or allows to be created.” A child is unsafe in a moving vehicle with an impaired caretaker driving. All of these 

reports must be accepted for abuse. 

 

 
Return to Maltreatment Screening Tools page. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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B. Cruel/Grossly Inappropriate Behavior Modification Screening Tool Directions: This is not an all-inclusive list. 
There may be information that is reported that must be screened in for an assessment.   

 
Is the parent/caretaker using sadistic measures to modify the child’s behavior? 

Sadistic measures include the parent/caretaker purposely injuring the child and inflicting pain to modify 

behavior, such as bites, cigarette burns and scalding water burns. Also included is any discipline that is 

designed to cause physical pain such as excessive physical exercise including forcing a child to run laps, 

complete push-ups, carry heavy rocks, etc. The child’s age and cognitive abilities should be factored into the 

screening decision. This includes any child who is three years old or younger, non-verbal, or limited by 

developmental, behavioral, or physical disabilities with any marks or injuries as a result of physical 

discipline/corporal punishment. 

Is the parent/caretaker using extreme confinement measures to modify the child’s behavior? 

Extreme confinement measures would include any type of activity the parent/caretaker uses to severely 

restrict the child, such as tying the child up with rope, duct tape, or using a chain to keep the child in one 

place. This also includes locking the child up in any manner which threatens the child’s safety. This is not 

referring to placing a child in time out or sending the child to their room for a short period of time. The 

child’s age and cognitive abilities should be factored into the screening decision. 

Is the parent/caretaker using weapons to modify the child’s behavior? 

Threatening and/or using a gun, knife or any item that may be used as a weapon to correct the child’s 

behavior is cruel and grossly improper and is abusive. A paddle is not considered a weapon when used in the 

reasonable application of corporal punishment. 

Is the parent/caretaker forcing the child to ingest harmful substance? 

Forcing a child to ingest nonfood items is not appropriate. This includes having the child ingest any 

substance that would be harmful such as poisonous household/cleaning chemicals, an extreme amount of 

water, an extreme amount of hot sauce, or hot peppers. The child’s age and cognitive abilities should be 

considered as to whether the allegations fit most appropriately under the physical abuse guidelines or with 

the unsafe discipline guidelines. 

 
 
 
 

Return to Maltreatment Screening Tools page. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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C. Moral Turpitude Screening Tool Directions: This is not an all-inclusive list. There may be information that is 
reported that must be screened in for an assessment.   

 
 

Is the parent/caretaker encouraging, directing or approving of the child participating in illegal activities 

such as shoplifting, fraud or selling drugs/alcohol? 

Situations where the parent/caretaker encourages or directs the child to participate in shoplifting activities 

while under their supervision are applicable, as well as, situations where the parent has knowledge that the 

child is shoplifting and instead of intervening to terminate those activities, the parent/caretaker encourages 

the activity. Situations in which a parent/caretaker uses the child as a part of a drug/alcohol operation, for 

example, as a drug runner would require an Investigative Assessment. The parent/caretaker providing 

alcohol/drugs to the child or consuming alcohol/drugs with the child are situations that meet the definition 

of neglect; therefore, completion of the Improper Care Maltreatment Screening Tool must occur. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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D. Sexual Abuse Screening Tool Directions: This is not an all-inclusive list. There may be information that is reported 
that must be screened in for an assessment.   

 
Is the parent/caretaker committing, permitting, or encouraging any sexual act with the child? 

Sexual abuse is any incident of sexual contact involving a child that is inflicted, or allowed to be inflicted, by 

the parent/caretaker. Sexual abuse includes, but is not limited to the following: rape, intercourse, sodomy, 

fondling, oral sex, incest, or sexual penetration-digital, penile or foreign objects. 
 

Is the parent/caretaker committing, permitting, or encouraging the child to participate in the preparation 

and/or dissemination of obscene material? 

The use of children in the production of obscene films, photographs, and/or slides is sexual abuse. The 

parent/caretaker encouraging the child to watch obscene material is also sexual abuse. 

 

Is the parent/caretaker displaying and/or disseminating obscene material to the child or encouraging the 

child to participate in a live sex act? 

Any material that a reasonable person would consider obscene should not be shared with the child. The 

parent/caretaker is responsible for ensuring the child is not sexually exploited. 
 

Is the parent/caretaker participating in the commercial sexual activity of the child? 

This includes any action of the parent/caretaker to entice, force, encourage, supervise, support, advise, or 

protect the commercial sexual activities of the child. 

Pursuant to 22 USC § 7102; 8 CFR § 214.11(a) and N.C.G.S. § 14-204(c), anyone under the age of 18 years 

that is involved in a commercial sex act is a victim of human trafficking. Under federal law (22 U.S. CODE § 

7102), a commercial sex act is “any sex act on account of which anything of value is given to or received by 

any person.” For the purpose of criminal proceedings, force, fraud or coercion do not have to be present to 

prove that someone under the age of 18 years was a victim of sex trafficking. 

A parent’s involvement in the prostitution of their child is abuse. This type of sexual abuse is human 

trafficking. Children whose parents commit this type of offense against them meet the definition of abused 

juvenile under N.C.G.S. §7B-101(1)(d) or N.C.G.S. §7B-101(1)(g). 

Is the parent/caretaker allowing sibling sexual activity to occur? 

When the parent/caretaker has knowledge that siblings are engaging in sexual activity and 

permits/encourages the continuation of this activity a CPS Assessment must occur. Reports alleging sexual 

activity between children under age 16 may provide cause to examine the supervision provided by their 

parents/ caretakers. If it is clear at Intake that the parent/ caretaker responded in a protective manner, 

keeping the health and well-being needs of the child at the forefront, a CPS Assessment is not required. 
 

Reports Involving Sex Offenders 

If a substantiated perpetrator or an individual convicted of a sexual offense against a child has established 

residence where another juvenile resides, the screening decision must be based upon the risk of the child 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/


CPS INTAKE 

Maltreatment Type Screening Tools Attachment A 

CPS Intake Policy, Protocol, and Guidance (March 2025) 
NC CHILD WELFARE MANUAL 

Page 54 
Return to Manual TOC Return to Intake TOC 

 

 

 

being exposed to an injurious environment. For reports alleging an injurious environment, please consult the 

Injurious Environment Maltreatment Screening Tool. 

Is the parent/caretaker intentionally permitting the child to engage in sexual activity? 

The parent/caretaker has knowledge the child is engaging in sexual activity and permits/encourages the 

continuation of this activity. Relevant to screening these types of reports is whether the parent is condoning 

the behavior of a child under age 16 while the child is under their care and supervision. Reports alleging 

sexual activity between children under age 16 may provide cause to examine the supervision provided by 

their parent/caretakers. If it is clear at Intake that the parent/caretaker responded in a protective manner, 

keeping the health and well-being needs of the child at the forefront, a CPS Assessment is not required. It is 

important to get sufficient information at Intake regarding the behavior of the parent(s), as well as the 

behavior of the minor child(ren). When the parent has no knowledge of the child’s sexual activity, the child’s 

age, behaviors and developmental level impact whether a CPS Assessment is required. If the only allegation 

in the report is that a child age 16 or above is having sex without the parents’ knowledge or the child is 

pregnant, then these reports should not be accepted. The legal age of consent in North Carolina is 16; 

therefore, consensual sexual activity of juveniles 16 and above is not, in and of itself, considered sexual 

abuse. 

When a report involving parental knowledge and permission of sexual activity of an incompetent juvenile, a 

CPS Assessment must occur, regardless of the age of the juvenile, as an incompetent juvenile is not able to 

consent. A parent providing condoms and/or birth control to their children is not, in and of itself, considered 

permitting or encouraging their child to engage in sexual activity. The provision of birth control is considered 

a preventive measure in order to maintain the juvenile's health, which is consistent with N.C.G.S. § 90-21.5 

(http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_90/GS_90-21.5.html), 

Minor’s consent sufficient for certain medical health services. 

A CPS Assessment based on improper supervision must occur for the following situations: 

• A 15-year-old engaging in risky sexual behavior (multiple partners, no protection) with parental 

knowledge and the absence of a protective response by the parent; or 

• A child displaying sexualized behaviors that are inconsistent with normal child development and the 

parent has not responded in a protective manner. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_90/GS_90-21.5.html


CPS INTAKE 

Maltreatment Type Screening Tools Attachment A 

CPS Intake Policy, Protocol, and Guidance (March 2025) 
NC CHILD WELFARE MANUAL 

Page 55 
Return to Manual TOC Return to Intake TOC 

 

 

 

 Normal Child Sexual Development 

Infancy (birth through one year) 

• Pair bonding 

• Genital play 

• Identification of gender 

Toddler/Early Childhood (2 to 5 years) 

• Toilet training 

• Genital play 

• Interpersonal games: family, marriage, doctor, etc. 

Latency (6 to 9 years) 

• Concrete interest in anatomic differences, pregnancy, birth 

• Private, occasional masturbation 

• Modesty about bodies 

• Increased secretive behavior among peers 

• Interest in socialization 

Pre-adolescence (10 to 12 years) 

• Adaptation to initial signs of puberty 

• Development of secondary sexual characteristics 

• Strong friendships and budding romances 

• Playful hitting or tickling among peers 

 
E. Sex Abuse Crimes: This is not an all-inclusive list. There may be information that is reported that must be 

screened in for an assessment.   
 

If a parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker commits, permits, or encourages the commission of a violation 

of the following laws by, with, or upon the juvenile, then that adult has sexually abused the child. The 

information contained within this statute delineates specific sex abuse crimes. The Intake county child 

welfare worker must refer to this information when screening sexual abuse reports. 

N.C.G.S. § 14-27.2. First-degree rape 

(a) A person is guilty of rape in the first degree if the person engages in vaginal intercourse: 

(1) With a victim who is a child under the age of 13 years and the defendant is at least 12 years old 

and is at least four years older than the victim; or 

(2) With another person by force and against the will of the other person, and: 

a. Employs or displays a dangerous or deadly weapon or an article which the other person 

reasonably believes to be a dangerous or deadly weapon; or 

b. Inflicts serious personal injury upon the victim or another person; or 

c. The person commits the offense aided and abetted by one or more other persons. 
 

N.C.G.S. § 14-27.2A. Rape of a child by an adult offender 

(a) A person is guilty of rape of a child if the person is at least 18 years of age and engages in vaginal 

intercourse with a victim who is a child under the age of 13 years. 
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N.C.G.S. § 14-27.3. Second-degree rape 

(a) A person is guilty of rape in the second degree if the person engages in vaginal intercourse with 

another person: 

(1) By force and against the will of the other person; or 

(2) Who is mentally defective, mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless, and the person 

performing the act knows or should reasonably know the other person is mentally defective, 

mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless. 

N.C.G.S. § 14-27.4. First-degree sexual offense 

(a) A person is guilty of a sexual offense in the first degree if the person engages in a sexual act: 

(1) With a victim who is a child under the age of 13 years and the defendant is at least 12 years 

old and is at least four years older than the victim; or 

(2) With another person by force and against the will of the other person, and: 

a. Employs or displays a dangerous or deadly weapon or an article which the other person 

reasonably believes to be a dangerous or deadly weapon; or 

b. Inflicts serious personal injury upon the victim or another person; or 

c. The person commits the offense aided and abetted by one or more other persons. 

 
N.C.G.S. § 14-27.4A. Sexual offense with a child by an adult offender 

(a) A person is guilty of sexual offense with a child if the person is at least 18 years of age and engages in 

a sexual act with a victim who is a child under the age of 13 years. 

N.C.G.S. § 14-27.5. Second-degree sexual offense 

(a) A person is guilty of a sexual offense in the second degree if the person engages in a sexual act with 

another person: 

(1) By force and against the will of the other person; or 

(2) Who is mentally defective, mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless, and the person 

performing the act knows or should reasonably know that the other person is mentally 

defective, mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless. 

N.C.G.S. § 14-27.31 and §14-2732. Intercourse and sexual offenses with certain victims; consent no 

defense 

(a) If a defendant who has assumed the position of a parent in the home of a minor victim engages in 

vaginal intercourse or a sexual act with a victim who is a minor residing in the home; or if a person 

having custody of a victim of any age or a person who is an agent or employee of any person, or 

institution, whether such institution is private, charitable, or governmental, having custody of a 

victim of any age engages in vaginal intercourse or a sexual act with such victim, the defendant is 

guilty of a Class E felony. Consent is not a defense to a charge under this section. 
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N.C.G.S. § 14-43.14. Unlawful sale, surrender, or purchase of a minor 

(b) A person commits the offense of unlawful sale, surrender, or purchase of a minor when that person, 

acting with willful or reckless disregard for the life or safety of a minor, participates in any of the 

following: the acceptance, solicitation, offer, payment, or transfer of any compensation, in money, 

property, or other thing of value, at any time, by any person in connection with the unlawful 

acquisition or transfer of the physical custody of a minor, except as ordered by the court. This 

section does not apply to actions that are ordered by a court, authorized by statute, or otherwise 

lawful. 

 

N.C.G.S. § 14-177. Crime against nature 

If any person shall commit the crime against nature, with mankind or beast, he shall be punished as a 

Class I felon. 

N.C.G.S. § 14-178. Incest between certain near relatives 

The parties shall be guilty of a felony in all cases of carnal intercourse between (i) grandparent and 

grandchild, (ii) parent and child or stepchild or legally adopted child, or (iii) brother and sister of the half 

or whole blood. Every such offense is punishable as a Class F felony. 

N.C.G.S. § 14-179. Incest between uncle and niece, and nephew and aunt 

In all cases of carnal intercourse between uncle and niece, and nephew and aunt, the parties shall be 

guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. 

N.C.G.S. § 14-190.5. Preparation of obscene photographs, slides and motion pictures 

Every person who knowingly: 

(1) Photographs himself or any other person, for purposes of preparing an obscene film, 

photograph, negative, slide or motion picture for the purpose of dissemination; or 

(2) Models, poses, acts, or otherwise assists in the preparation of any obscene film, photograph, 

negative, slide or motion picture for the purpose of dissemination, shall be guilty of a Class 1 

misdemeanor. 
 

N.C.G.S. § 14-190.6. Employing or permitting minor to assist in offense under Article (26) 

Every person 18 years of age or older who intentionally, in any manner, hires, employs, uses or permits 

any minor under the age of 16 years to do or assist in doing any act or thing constituting an offense 

under this Article and involving any material, act or thing he knows or reasonably should know to be 

obscene within the meaning of N.C.G.S. §14-190.1, shall be guilty of a Class I felony. 

N.C.G.S. § 14-190.7. Dissemination to minors under the age of 16 years 

Every person 18 years of age or older who knowingly disseminates to any minor under the age of 16 

years any material which he knows or reasonably should know to be obscene within the meaning of 

N.C.G.S. §14-190.1 shall be guilty of a Class I felony. 
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N.C.G.S. § 14-190.8. Dissemination to minors under the age of 13 years 

Every person 18 years of age or older who knowingly disseminates to any minor under the age of 13 

years any material which he knows or reasonably should know to be obscene within the meaning of 

N.C.G.S. §14-190.1 shall be punished as a Class I felon. 

N.C.G.S. § 14-190.14. Displaying material harmful to minors 

(a) A person commits the offense of displaying material that is harmful to minors if, having custody, control, 

or supervision of a commercial establishment and knowing the character or content of the material, he 

displays material that is harmful to minors at that establishment so that it is open to view by minors as part 

of the invited general public. Material is not considered displayed under this section if the material is placed 

behind "blinder racks" that cover the lower two thirds of the material, is wrapped, is placed behind the 

counter, or is otherwise covered. 

N.C.G.S. § 14-190.15. Disseminating harmful material to minors; exhibiting harmful performances to 

minors 

(a) Disseminating Harmful Material. - A person commits the offense of disseminating harmful material to 

minors if, with or without consideration and knowing the character or content of the material, he: 

(1) Sells, furnishes, presents, or distributes to a minor material that is harmful to minors; or 

(2) Allows a minor to review or peruse material that is harmful to minors. 

(b) Exhibiting Harmful Performance. - A person commits the offense of exhibiting a harmful performance 

to a minor if, with or without consideration and knowing the character or content of the 

performance, he allows a minor to view a live performance that is harmful to minors. 

(c) Defenses. - Except as provided in subdivision (3), a mistake of age is not a defense to a prosecution 

under this section. It is an affirmative defense to a prosecution under this section that: 

 
(1) The defendant was a parent or legal guardian of the minor. 

(2) The defendant was a school, church, museum, public library, governmental agency, medical 

clinic, or hospital carrying out its legitimate function; or an employee or agent of such an 

organization acting in that capacity and carrying out a legitimate duty of his employment. 

(3) Before disseminating or exhibiting the harmful material or performance, the defendant 

requested and received a driver's license, student identification card, or other official 

governmental or educational identification card or paper indicating that the minor to whom the 

material or performance was disseminated or exhibited was at least 18 years old, and the 

defendant reasonably believed the minor was at least 18 years old. 

(4) The dissemination was made with the prior consent of a parent or guardian of the recipient. 

N.C.G.S. § 14-190.16. First degree sexual exploitation of a minor 

(a) Offense. - A person commits the offense of first degree sexual exploitation of a minor if, knowing the 

character or content of the material or performance, he: 

(1) Uses, employs, induces, coerces, encourages, or facilitates a minor to engage in or assist 

others to engage in sexual activity for a live performance or for the purpose of producing 

material that contains a visual representation depicting this activity; or 
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(2) Permits a minor under his custody or control to engage in sexual activity for a live 

performance or for the purpose of producing material that contains a visual representation 

depicting this activity; or 

(3) Transports or finances the transportation of a minor through or across this state with the 

intent that the minor engages in sexual activity for a live performance or for the purpose of 

producing material that contains a visual representation depicting this activity; or 

(4) Records, photographs, films, develops, or duplicates for sale or pecuniary gain material that 

contains a visual representation depicting a minor engaged in sexual activity. 

(c) Inference. - In a prosecution under this section, the trier of fact may infer that a participant in sexual 

activity whom material through its title, text, visual representations, or otherwise represents or 

depicts as a minor is a minor. 

(d) Mistake of Age. - Mistake of age is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. 

 
N.C.G.S. § 14-190.17. Second degree sexual exploitation of a minor 

(a) Offense. - A person commits the offense of second-degree sexual exploitation of a minor if, knowing 

the character or content of the material, he: 

(1) Records, photographs, films, develops, or duplicates material that contains a visual 

representation of a minor engaged in sexual activity; or 

(2) Distributes, transports, exhibits, receives, sells, purchases, exchanges, or solicits material that 

contains a visual representation of a minor engaged in sexual activity. 

(b) Inference. - In a prosecution under this section, the trier of fact may infer that a participant in sexual 

activity whom material through its title, text, and visual representations or otherwise represents or 

depicts as a minor is a minor. 

(c) Mistake of Age. - Mistake of age is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. 

 
N.C.G.S. § 14-205.3(b) Promoting prostitution of a minor 

 
(b) Any person who willfully performs any of the following acts commits the offense of promoting 

prostitution of a minor or mentally disabled person: 

(1) Advances prostitution as defined in N.C.G.S. §14-203, where a minor or profoundly mentally 

disabled person engaged in prostitution, or any person in prostitution in the place of 

prostitution is a minor or severely or profoundly mentally disabled at the time of the offense. 

(2) Profits from prostitution by any means where the prostitute is a minor or is severely or 

profoundly mentally disabled at the time of the offense. 

(3) Confines a minor or a severely or profoundly mentally disabled person against the person’s 

will by the infliction or threat of imminent infliction of great bodily harm, permanent 

disability, or disfigurement or by administering to the minor or severely or profoundly 

mentally disabled person, without the person’s consent or by threat or deception and for 

other than medical purposes, any alcoholic intoxicant or a drug as defined in Article 5 of 

Chapter 90 of the General Statutes (North Carolina Controlled Substances Act) and does any 

of the following: 
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a. Compels the minor or severely or profoundly mentally disabled person to engage in 

prostitution. 

b. Arranges a situation in which the minor or severely or profoundly mentally disabled 

person may practice prostitution. 

c. Profits from prostitution by the minor or severely or profoundly mentally disabled 

person. 

 
N.C.G.S. § 14-202.1. Taking indecent liberties with children 

(a) A person is guilty of taking indecent liberties with children if, being 16 years of age or more and at 

least five years older than the child in question, he either: 

(1) Willfully takes or attempts to take any immoral, improper, or indecent liberties with any child 

of either sex under the age of 16 years for the purpose of arousing or gratifying sexual 

desire; or 

(2) Willfully commits or attempts to commit any lewd or lascivious act upon or with the body or 

any part or member of the body of any child of either sex under the age of 16 years. 

 
 
 
 

 
Return to Maltreatment Screening Tools page. 
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F. Emotional Abuse Screening Tool Directions: This is not an all-inclusive list. There may be information that is 
reported that must be screened in for an assessment.   

 
When making screening decisions about emotional abuse, it is important to question the reporter about the 

child’s mental and physical status. The parent’s behavior must be causing serious emotional damage to the 

child or pose risk of causing serious emotional damage. Serious emotional damage is evidenced by a child’s 

severe anxiety, depression, withdrawal, or aggressive behavior. The following can be indicators of a child 

suffering from emotional abuse: 

• Eating disorders such as obesity and anorexia; 

• Speech disorders such as stuttering or stammering; 

• Developmental delays in the acquisition of speech and motor skills; 

• Weight or height levels substantially below norm; 

• Flat or bald spots on an infant’s head; and 

• Nervous disorders such as rashes, hives, or facial tics. 

 
It is important to note that emotional abuse is characterized by continuous, ongoing harmful interactions-- 

not isolated incidents. This list is not all-inclusive, nor is it absolute; rather factors to consider when making a 

decision to accept a report for a CPS Assessment. 

Is the parent/caretaker’s rejection of the child causing serious emotional damage? 

Potential serious emotional damage may be caused if the parent/caretaker continually uses rejecting 

statements such as, “I wish you were never born.” It is also concerning for possible emotional abuse if the 

parent/caretaker sees the child as responsible for their problems. 

Is the parent/caretaker’s criticism of the child causing serious emotional damage? 

Potential serious emotional damage may be caused if the parent/caretaker continually uses critical 

statements such as, “Why can’t you ever do anything right?” This could be a situation where one child has 

been identified as the scapegoat of the family, meaning the child bears the blame for anything that goes 

wrong within the family system. 

Is the parent/caretaker’s insulting of the child causing serious emotional damage? 

Potential serious emotional damage may be caused if the parent/caretaker continually uses insulting 

statements such as, “I can’t believe you would be so stupid.” This includes describing the child as ugly, evil, 

or in any demeaning or degrading manner. This also includes using sexualized language such as whore or 

slut to describe the child. 

Is the parent/caretaker’s humiliation of the child causing serious emotional damage? 

Potential serious emotional damage may be caused if the parent/caretaker continually uses humiliation 

tactics such as embarrassing the child in front of other people, cursing at the child, and belittling the child. 
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Is the parent/caretaker’s isolation of the child causing serious emotional damage? 

Potential serious emotional damage may be caused if the parent/caretaker continually uses isolation tactics 

such as prohibiting the child from playing with friends and neighbors who are appropriate for the child’s age 

and development. Isolation tactics would further include actions that the parent/caretaker takes to prevent 

the child from forming friendships with others and/or teach the child they are alone in the world. 

Is the parent/caretaker’s terrorizing of the child causing serious emotional damage? 

Potential serious emotional damage may be caused if the parent/caretaker continually uses terrorizing 

tactics such as, “The police or social services will come and take you away.” When the parent/caretaker 

destroys the child’s possessions or attacks beloved people or pets, the parent/caretaker is teaching the 

lesson that the world is a hostile place. 

 
 
 
 
 

Return to Maltreatment Screening Tools page. 
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G. Human Trafficking Screening Tool Instructions: This is not an all-inclusive list. There may be information that is 
reported that must be screened in for an assessment.   

Is the child being held in involuntary servitude? 

Involuntary servitude is a type of human trafficking called labor trafficking. It is defined as: 

• The performance of labor, whether for compensation, or the satisfaction of a debt; and 

• By deception, coercion, or intimidation using violence or the threat of violence or by any other 

means of coercion or intimidation. 

 
Labor trafficking sometimes occurs when individuals exchange children for acts of labor. This exchange may 

involve: 

• An individual being directly or indirectly given, promised, or receiving anything of value in exchange 

for the child; or 

• An individual using a child or child’s acts of labor to satisfy a debt. 

 
Labor trafficking may involve: 

• Allowing, forcing, or coercing the child to perform labor in various settings, such as agricultural 

work, hospitality work in hotels or restaurants, or domestic work; or 

• A child working long hours for little or no pay; particularly in dangerous jobs or jobs which are illegal 

for children to perform. 

Is the child being held in sexual servitude? 

Sexual servitude is a type of human trafficking called sex trafficking. It is defined as: 

• Any sexual activity as defined in G.S. 14-190.13 for which anything of value is directly or indirectly 

given, promised to, or received by any person, which conduct is induced or obtained by coercion or 

deception or which conduct is induced or obtained from a person under the age of 18 years; or 

• Any sexual activity as defined in G.S. 14-190.13 that is performed or provided by any person, which 

conduct is induced or obtained by coercion or deception or which conduct is induced or obtained 

from a person under the age of 18 years. 

 
Sex trafficking sometimes occurs when individuals exchange children for acts of sex. This exchange may 

involve: 

• An individual being directly or indirectly given, promised, or receiving anything of value in exchange 

for the child; or 

• An individual using a child or child’s acts of sex to satisfy a debt. 

 
Sex trafficking may involve: 

• Allowing, forcing, or coercing the child to engage in prostitution; or 

• Allowing, forcing, or coercing the child to engage in the production of child pornography. 

 
 

If the allegations meet the statutory criteria for juvenile human trafficking, the referral must be accepted 

regardless of the relationship between the perpetrator and the juvenile. Such reports must be accepted as 

abuse and neglect. Dependency may be present but if the report is screened in due to the human trafficking 

allegations, it must be screened in as abuse and neglect. 
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H. Improper Care Screening Tool Directions: This is not an all-inclusive list. There may be information that is 
reported that must be screened in for an assessment.   

 
Is the parent/caretaker failing to provide sufficient food? 

The parent/caretaker needs to provide sufficient food for the child to prevent nutritional deficiencies. A 

report would be accepted in situations where adequate food has not been provided for timeframe that 

interferes with the health needs of the child based on age and other conditions. A CPS Assessment to 

determine whether food neglect exists must occur when a child shows symptoms of malnutrition, 

dehydration, or food poisoning. If the county child welfare services agency receives a report and the only 

information is there is no food in the home, this report would be accepted, and a CPS Assessment would be 

conducted. A CPS Assessment must occur if the parent/caretaker fails to meet specific dietary needs of the 

child. 

Is the parent/caretaker failing to provide appropriate and reasonable clothing? 

A CPS Assessment to determine whether clothing neglect exists must occur when the child suffers illness, 

exposure or frostbite due to inadequate clothing or the clothing is insufficient to protect the child from the 

elements. This may include severe sunburn. Consideration is given to whether the clothing is sufficient to 

protect the child from the elements and health hazards. 

Is the parent/caretaker failing to ensure proper hygiene? 

Depending on the age and needs of the child, it is a concern when a serious health hazard is present, and the 

parent/caretaker is not taking appropriate action to eliminate the problem. 

Is the parent/caretaker failing to provide adequate shelter? 

The parent/caretaker needs to provide housing or emergency shelter or make alternate arrangements in the 

event the family is homeless. The parent/caretaker needs to ensure the child is safe and protected from the 

elements. 

Is the parent/caretaker failing to provide a basic education? 

Educational neglect pertains to the failure of the parent/caretaker to meet the child's educational 

needs. Educational neglect may take the form of permitted chronic truancy, failure to enroll or provide 

alternative education, or inattention to special education needs. 

 
The allegation of permitted chronic truancy would apply after the inability of the school to engage the 

parent/caretaker in efforts to improve the child's attendance. N.C.G.S. §115C-378 describes a school 

principal's responsibilities in relation to children who are repeatedly absent and sets out circumstances in 

which a principal must notify DSS regarding unlawful absences. After 10 accumulated unexcused absences in 

a school year, the principal, or the principal’s designee, is required to confer with the student and the 

parent, guardian, or custodian to determine if a good faith effort has been made to comply with the 

compulsory school attendance law. If there is a determination that a good faith effort has not been made, 

the principal is required to notify the district attorney and DSS in the county where the child resides. Upon 

receiving notification by the principal or the principal’s designee, DSS must determine whether to undertake 

an investigation under N.C.G.S. §7B-302. Intervention by DSS must occur only after the school's efforts have 
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proven to be unable to ensure the child's attendance. However, the reporting of educational neglect by 

schools may also result in the reporting of other forms of abuse or neglect. School truancy, whether excessive, 

unexcused or not, may be an indicator of other forms of underlying abuse or neglect in the home. The 

allegation of permitted chronic truancy does not pertain to children who willfully refuse to attend school. 

 
In North Carolina, children between the ages of seven and sixteen must be enrolled in a public school or an 

equivalent or receive private instruction through home schooling. Educational neglect may take the form of 

failure to home school, to register, or to enroll a child of mandatory school age. North Carolina courts have 

consistently found that it is "fundamental that a child who receives proper care and supervision in modern 

times is provided a basic education” and that willful failure and refusal to send children to school or to 

provide children with an alternative education, constitutes neglect for improper care and injurious 

environment. In re McMillan, 30 N.C. App. 235 (1976) 

 
Lastly, educational neglect may take the form of refusing to allow or failing to obtain recommended special 

education or remedial education services. The North Carolina Court of Appeals found neglect where a father 

refused to send his mentally handicapped child to public school, and its special education programs, because 

the father insisted on educating his children at home. In re Devone, 86 N.C. App. 57 (1987) The court noted 

that the child needed additional stimulation outside the home and that denial of the remedial care available 

in the public schools constituted neglect and lack of proper care. The Devone Court, quoting In re Huber, 57 

N.C. App. 453 (1982), stated, “[t]o deprive a child of the opportunity for normal growth and development is 

perhaps the greatest neglect a parent can impose upon a child." 
 
 

Is the parent/caretaker providing drugs/alcohol to the child? 

The parent/caretaker providing alcohol/drugs to the child or consuming alcohol/drugs with the child are 

situations that meet the definition of neglect and a CPS Assessment must occur. 

 

 
Return to Maltreatment Screening Tools page. 
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I. Refusal to Participate in Juvenile Justice Recommendations Screening Tool Directions: This is not an all-inclusive 
list. There may be information that is reported that must be screened in for an assessment.   

 
Has the parent refused to follow recommendations of the Juvenile and Family Team? 

SL 2021-123 adds to the neglected juvenile definition found in NCGS 7B-101, “whose parent, guardian, or 

custodian has refused to follow the recommendations of the Juvenile and Family Team made pursuant to 

Article 27A.” If the parent, guardian, or custodian is refusing to follow the recommendations of the Juvenile 

and Family Team, AND this refusal causes abuse, neglect and/or dependency or creates a substantial risk of 

harm to the juvenile. The worker must gather as much information as possible regarding the impact the 

non-compliance of the parent is having on the safety of the child. There must be abuse, neglect, and/or 

dependency or a substantial risk of harm to the child as a result of non-compliance for a report to be 

accepted for assessment. All allegations should be considered and may require the child welfare worker to 

review other sections of the Maltreatment Screening Tool. 

 
The Juvenile and Family Team is a component of Juvenile Justice specifically designed to develop 

recommendations for services for vulnerable juveniles. NCGS 7B-1501 defines vulnerable juveniles as “any 

juvenile who, while less than 10 years of age but at least 6 years of age, commits a crime or infraction under 

State law or under an ordinance of local government, including violation of the motor vehicle laws, and is 

not a delinquent juvenile.” The Juvenile and Family Team is intended to keep vulnerable juveniles from court 

involvement. All reports received regarding Juvenile Justice involved youth should be screened for abuse, 

neglect, and/or dependency based on the allegations. However, this screening tool is only for youth 

identified as vulnerable juveniles. 

The juvenile court counselor will offer services to the caretakers of vulnerable juveniles and if there is a 

refusal, the case will be closed. If there are concerns of maltreatment the juvenile court counselor is 

required to make a report to the local child welfare agency and the intake worker must screen for abuse, 

neglect, and/or dependency. Vulnerable juveniles and their caretakers are served through case  

management services provided by Juvenile Justice for up to six months providing case management services. 

An extension of juvenile consultation services may be made for up to three months at the approval of the 

chief court counselor. Article 27A includes a list of services that can be recommended to include: 

• Attend all scheduled meetings with the juvenile court counselor 

• Attend all parental responsibility classes. 

• Obtain medical, surgical, psychiatric, or psychological evaluation or treatment for the vulnerable juvenile 

or parent/guardian/custodian 

• Compliance with recommendations of the juvenile court counselor 

 
NCGS 7B-2713 outlines the Juvenile and Family Team process be used for all of these cases and includes the 

parent, guardian, or custodian, DSS (when involved), LME/MCO, local education authority, and any other 

community stakeholders involved with the family. 

https://www.ncleg.gov/Sessions/2021/Bills/Senate/PDF/S207v6.pdf
https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-101.pdf
https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/SessionLaws/PDF/2021-2022/SL2021-123.pdf
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J. Improper Supervision Screening Tool Directions: This is not an all-inclusive list. There may be information that is 
reported that must be screened in for an assessment.   

 

Is the parent/caretaker leaving a child age 8 or younger alone with no supervision? 

No legal age for when a child can stay at home alone has been established; however, NC fire code specifies 

that children under age eight should not be locked or confined. A report alleging a child under age six left 

alone must have an immediate response. The length of time the child is left alone, along with the child’s age, 

and cognitive abilities factor into whether the child can be safely left alone. Some important questions to 

ask are: Is the child afraid to stay at home alone? Is the child providing care for siblings? Does the child know 

how to contact emergency personnel? How long is the child being left alone? Is the child in an isolated area? 

 

Is the parent/caretaker placing the responsibility for supervision of siblings with a child who is not capable 

of providing proper supervision? 

The child’s age and cognitive abilities factor into the decision as to whether a child can provide adequate 

supervision for siblings, as well as the age and needs of the children being provided supervision. A child who 

is not able to contact emergency personnel and who is afraid to stay at home alone is not able to supervise 

siblings. A child who is safe at home alone for short periods of time may not be able to handle the 

responsibility of providing care and supervision for younger siblings. 

Is the parent/caretaker’s choice or style of supervision placing the child at risk? 

When the parent/caretaker makes alternative arrangements for the child’s supervision, the person 

responsible for the child’s care must be able to consistently provide the minimum of child-caring tasks. It can 

be problematic when the parent/caretaker frequently makes alternative arrangements with caretakers 

whom they have been unable to assess about child care due to the inadequate length of time they have 

been acquainted. The parent/caretaker can be present, but not attending to the child to such an extent that 

the need for care goes unnoticed or unmet. The parent/caregiver can be present while the child wanders 

outdoors alone; plays with dangerous objects; plays on unprotected window ledge; or is exposed to other 

serious hazards. 

In reports involving children playing in the street, it is important to note the traffic patterns on that street 

and the age of the child. Some streets in NC do not pose a safety risk for children. In a situation where the 

reporter alleges a young child is playing in a busy street, a CPS Assessment must occur. 

Reports involving sexual activity between children under age 16 may provide cause to examine the 

supervision provided by their parent/caretakers. Refer to the sexual abuse screening tool for specifics in 

these situations. When children are participating in a juvenile delinquent activity such as vandalism or selling 

drugs on the corner with the parent’s encouragement, direction, or approval it is moral turpitude. In 

instances where the juvenile is participating in delinquent activity without the encouragement, direction or 

approval of the caregiver improper supervision may be a concern. 

If it is clear at Intake that the parent/caretaker responded in a protective manner, this report would not be 

accepted for assessment. In situations where the parent has no knowledge of the child’s delinquent activity, 

the screening decision should be based on whether the supervision plan the parent/caretaker had in place 

was a reasonable plan based on the child’s current and past behaviors. If the parent had no reason to expect 



CPS INTAKE 

Maltreatment Type Screening Tools Attachment A 

CPS Intake Policy, Protocol, and Guidance (March 2025) 
NC CHILD WELFARE MANUAL 

Page 68 
 Return to Intake TOC 

 

 

that the child needed a more stringent supervision plan and was unaware of the child’s delinquent activities, 

this report would not be accepted for assessment. If the child’s past behaviors indicated that a more 

stringent supervision plan was needed, and the parent failed to implement a more stringent plan, this report 

would be accepted for assessment. 

 

 
Return to Maltreatment Screening Tools page. 



CPS INTAKE 

Maltreatment Type Screening Tools Attachment A 

CPS Intake Policy, Protocol, and Guidance (March 2025) 
NC CHILD WELFARE MANUAL 

Page 69 
 Return to Intake TOC 

 

 

 

K. Unsafe Discipline Screening Tool Directions: This is not an all-inclusive list. There may be information that is 
reported that must be screened in for an assessment.   

 

Is the parent/caretaker using corporal punishment that results in any type of minor injury, cuts, or 

bruises? 

The law does not prohibit the use of reasonable methods of parental discipline or recommend methods. 

Parents have the right to physically discipline their child if the punishment is reasonable and appropriate for 

the child’s age and stage of development. Unsafe Discipline occurs when a parent/caretaker uses physical 

discipline on a child four and older that results in minor bruises, welts, or other soft-tissue injuries on the 

buttocks, back, legs, and/or arms that do not require medical attention. Cases of unsafe discipline must be 

accepted for assessment. In screening, the worker must consider whether the discipline that was given was 

reasonable for the child’s age, developmental status and/or other vulnerability factors to determine 

whether the allegations meet the threshold for physical abuse. 

Examples of unreasonable and inappropriate acts of discipline include, but are not limited to: 

• Child standing in one place for an extended amount of time; 

• Requiring the child to consume nonfood items or inappropriate amounts of food or water; or 

• Parent uses restraints, confinement, or deprivation. 

 
When determining reasonable discipline consider the following factors: 

• Child’s age, physical size, abilities, and condition; 

• Location of the physical marks and frequency or recurrence of injuries; and 

• Type and extent of discipline. 

 
Is the parent/caretaker withholding food and/or water or requiring the child to consume nonfood items 

or inappropriate amounts of food or water? 

A CPS Assessment must occur if there is a pattern of withholding water or food. Forcing a child to consume 

excessive amounts of food or water can be dangerous. Forcing a child to consume an extreme amount of 

hot sauce, salt, pepper or nonfood item is not an appropriate form of discipline and depending upon the age 

and size of the child could be life threatening. Reports of this nature could meet the criteria for an abuse 

report based on cruel/grossly inappropriate behavior modification, depending on the circumstances. 

Is the parent/caretaker using restraints, confinement, or deprivation? 

Appropriate discipline does not involve the use of restraints, confinement, or deprivations. This includes 

being deprived of heat, ventilation, or any basic necessity. 

 

 
Return to Maltreatment Screening Tools page. 
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L. Abandonment Screening Tool Directions: This is not an all-inclusive list. There may be information that is 
reported that must be screened in for an assessment.   

 
Is the parent/caretaker gone for an extended time period without indicating when he/she will return? 

Abandonment is a willful act, a conscious decision made by the parent/caretaker to abandon the child. 

There is a clear demonstration that the parent/caretaker does not intend to resume parental 

responsibilities for the child. The legal definition of abandonment is “any willful or intentional conduct 

on the part of the parent which evidences a settled purpose to forego all parental duties and relinquish 

all parental claims to the child.” It is important to determine if the parent/caretaker made arrangements 

with an alternate caregiver. A situation where a parent/caretaker left a child with a grandparent, and 

the grandparent is willing to continue to provide care for the child, should not be accepted for CPS 

Assessment under the abandonment category. The grandparent should be referred to community 

resources to assist with obtaining legal custody. If the only issue is that the grandparents are having 

difficulties enrolling the child in school, refer to N.C.G.S. § 115C-366, Assignment of student to a 

particular school. A situation where a parent/caretaker left a child with a grandparent who agreed to 

provide care and the parent did not return to assume caretaking responsibilities, and the grandparent is 

now saying they are no longer willing to provide care meets the criteria for a CPS Assessment. 

Another consideration is the appropriateness of the alternate caretaker and their desire to continue to 

provide care for the child, as well as, determining the last time the parent/caregiver has been in contact 

with the child and alternate caretaker. The Infant Homicide Prevention Act requires CPS reports of 

abandonment to be initiated immediately. The county child welfare agencies must contact law 

enforcement to request assistance to inquire through the NC Center for Missing Persons and other 

resources to determine if the child has been reported as a missing child. 

Return to Maltreatment Screening Tools page. 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

https://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_115C/GS_115C-366.html
http://www.ncleg.net/Sessions/2001/Bills/House/PDF/H275v7.pdf
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M. Improper Medical and Remedial Care Screening Tool Directions: This is not an all-inclusive list. There may 
be information that is reported that must be screened in for an assessment.   

 

Is the parent/caretaker failing to provide proper medical care? 

This includes the parent/caretaker’s refusal or failure to seek, obtain, and/or maintain those services for 
necessary medical, dental, or mental health care. This category includes the parent/caretaker not seeking 

treatment for the child’s immediate, chronic, and/or dangerous medical condition or does not follow 

prescribed treatment. If the child has exceptional needs, such as being medically fragile, which the 

parent/caretaker does not or cannot meet, a CPS Assessment may be warranted. If the child is suicidal and the 

parent/caretaker will not/cannot take protective action, a CPS Assessment is warranted. 

 

Is the parent/caretaker failing to provide proper remedial care? 

This category further includes necessary rehabilitative care such as speech therapy and physical therapy, as 

well as, remedial care such as the proper treatment for a hearing defect. 

Note: Failure to provide child with immunizations or routine well child care in and of itself does not constitute 

neglect. A parental decision not to provide a child with behavior modification medication in and of itself does 

not constitute neglect. An allegation of neglect based solely on a child having head lice is not appropriate for 

CPS Assessment. This condition could arise in any number of ways and is not, in and of itself, an indicator of 

neglect. Collecting information regarding the parent/caretaker’s attempts towards treating the head lice, as 

well as, whether public health has intervened is important. In situations where a teenager is refusing to keep 

appointments with a therapist and the parent/caretaker is making every effort to encourage the child to keep 

the appointment, including arranging transportation for the child, is not sufficient information to proceed with 

a CPS Assessment. 
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N. Injurious Environment Screening Tool Directions: This is not an all-inclusive list. There may be information that is 
reported that must be screened in for an assessment.   

 

Are there structural issues with the family’s living environment which place the child’s health or safety at 

risk? 

Structural issues to consider include exposed electrical wiring, holes in the floor of the home, flaking lead- 

based paint, plumbing/septic tank issues, leaking gas from stove or heating unit, lack of water or utilities 

(heat, plumbing and electricity) with no alternate provisions made or the alternate provisions are 

inappropriate (stove, unsafe space heaters used), or open, broken or missing windows. The age and 

developmental status of the child impact the potential for harm to the child’s health and safety. 
 

Is the child’s living environment hazardous or immediately threatening? 

Housekeeping/cleanliness issues addressed through CPS are those that impact the child’s health or safety. 

Simply having a dirty house does not indicate an injurious environment. The living conditions must be such 

that they are not safe for a child. Cleanliness issues to consider include a substantial amount of scattered 

garbage/trash accessible to a young child, a substantial amount of contained garbage/trash which sits to the 

point that vermin are present, animal or human waste that is not disposed of properly, and any situation in 

which the failure to maintain cleanliness results in a health or safety risk to the child. The main concern 

regarding fecal matter has to do with fecal/oral contamination so the child’s age and developmental status 

impacts the level of risk. It is important to note whether dangerous substances or objects are stored in areas 

that are easily accessible to young children, such as lower shelves or cabinets, under the sink or in an open 

area. The accessibility of firearms and other weapons is a factor to consider. In accordance with N.C.G.S. 

§14-315, a report which indicates that the firearm is stored or left in a condition that the firearm can be 

discharged and that the parent has knowledge that the child has access to the firearm warrants a CPS 

Assessment. 

 
Are there criminal elements endorsed by the parent/caretaker that place the child’s health or safety at 

risk? 

The potential exists for a child to be negatively impacted when the parent/caretaker engages in activities 

such as manufacturing and/or distributing drugs/alcohol, operating a gaming house, or organizing a 

shoplifting ring, which lead to constant disruption of the home environment as evidenced by heavy traffic in 

the home. A consideration would be whether drugs and alcohol were easily accessible to the child, the 

potential for violence/weapons associated with illegal activities, and whether the parent/caretaker’s 

caretaking and supervision skills were negatively impacted in this environment. 

 

Is the child living in the home with a sex offender? 

If a substantiated perpetrator or an individual convicted of a sexual offense against a child has established 

residence where juveniles reside, those persons having suspicion of risk in the new environment are 

obligated to report. The screening decision must be based on current risk. If it is believed the children are at 

risk, the report must be accepted for CPS Assessment. 
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Reports Involving Domestic Violence and Substance Abuse 

Domestic violence and substance abuse are not intrinsically considered child maltreatment. However, the 

impact of parent/caretaker domestic violence and/or substance abuse can result in the neglect of a child 

due to the injurious environment created. For reports alleging domestic violence and substance abuse, 

please consult the Domestic Violence and Substance Abuse Maltreatment Screening Tools. 

Return to Maltreatment Screening Tools page. 
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Substance Abuse Screening Tool Directions: This is not an all-inclusive list. There may be information that is reported 
that must be screened in for an assessment.   

 

Is the parent/caretaker using money to buy alcohol/drugs without making arrangements to provide basic 

necessities? 

When the substance abusers use rises to the level that he or she is willing to place their needs to satisfy the 

addiction above providing proper care to the child, it is problematic and must be accepted for CPS 

Assessment in the absence of an alternative arrangement for ensuring those basic needs are provided to the 

child. In situations when other family/friends/other support networks are ensuring that the child is provided 

with food, clothing, and shelter, the dynamic of that relationship should be explored. This could be 

considered enabling and could lead to the substance abuser’s expectation that others will provide care for 

their child. Illegal and legal drugs have the potential to become problematic when they are abused. 
 
 

Is the parent/caretaker’s use of alcohol/drugs impairing their ability to care for the child in the absence of 

an alternative child care arrangement? 

Parenting skills are affected by substance use, depending upon the parent/caretaker’s level of dependency 

on the substance. The capacity to provide proper care will vary. Many times, the parent/caretaker decides 

for care to be provided to the child by a responsible caretaker known to the child, and this can be 

appropriate depending upon the relationship among the child, parent, and caretaker, and the frequency of 

such an arrangement. The parent’s use/behavior and the impact on the child are relevant. Simply using 

drugs or having a drink in the child’s presence does not meet the definition of neglect. If the parent’s use 

impacts the caretaking ability in such a manner that his or she is not providing proper supervision and care, 

then those reports must be accepted for CPS Assessment. 

 

Has the parent/caretaker been driving while intoxicated? 

If the allegations are that a parent or caretaker is driving under the influence of mind-impairing substances, 

regardless of whether they are prescribed or not and the child is in the car, the report must be accepted for 

assessment. It is irrelevant whether or not the caretaker was criminally charged as the statute reads, “creates 

or allows to be created.” A child is unsafe in a moving vehicle with an impaired caretaker driving. All of these 

reports must be accepted for abuse. 

 

Has the child been exposed to a methamphetamine or other drug-manufacturing laboratory? 

The children who live in and around methamphetamine or other drug-manufacturing laboratories have a 

high risk of harm due to their developmental nature. Under these circumstances, the children are at 

increased risk due to their inability to protect themselves. The children in these homes are also exposed to 

serious toxins and dangers that could have long term effects on their health and development. A child living 

in or being exposed to a methamphetamine or other drug-manufactoring laboratory must be accepted for 

an Investigative Assessment. 
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Has an infant been identified as affected by substance use resulting from prenatal drug exposure? 

 
The Child Abuse and Prevention Treatment Act (CAPTA) requires that health care providers involved in the 

delivery and care of an infant affected by substance abuse, withdrawal symptoms resulting from prenatal 

drug exposure or a Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder must notify the child protective services system. 

However, the notification requirement is not a report of child abuse or neglect. Federal law does not 

establish a definition that constitutes child abuse or neglect based on a notification. In North Carolina, the 

notification must occur upon identification of the infant as a “substance affected infant,” as defined by the 

North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services. 

 
Thus, a report that an infant has been identified as affected by substance use resulting from prenatal drug 

exposure does not always mean that child welfare services are appropriate. The intake worker must gather 

the information and determine whether it meets the statutory definition of abuse or neglect. Consult the 

Substance Affected Infant Screening Tool that follows to determine if a CPS Assessment is warranted. 

 
 
 
 

 
Return to Maltreatment Screening Tools page.
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O. Substance Affected Infant Screening Tool Directions: This is not an all-inclusive list. There may be information 
that is reported that must be screened in for an assessment.   

 
Has the infant been identified as being affected by a Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder? 

 
Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD) is an umbrella term that encompasses all disabilities caused by 

prenatal alcohol exposure. 

 
If the infant has received one of the following diagnoses then the report must be accepted for CPS 

Assessment: Fetal Alcohol Syndrome (FAS), Partial FAS (PFAS), Neurobehavioral Disorder associated with 

Prenatal Alcohol Exposure (NDPAE), Alcohol-Related Birth Defects (ARBD) or Alcohol-Related 

Neurodevelopmental Disorder (ARND). 

 
Did the infant have a positive drug toxicology? Is the infant experiencing drug/alcohol withdrawal 

symptoms? 

 
Any infant born exposed to substances that are not attributed to medical treatment to include medication- 

assisted treatment, and exposure is indicated by any of the following: 

 
• Infant's positive toxicology screen for drugs or alcohol, other than prescribed AND 

• a medical impact to the child (i.e. hospitalization as a direct result of withdrawal or medical 

condition that requires ongoing medical care that is directly attributed to the drugs or alcohol in the 

child's system); OR 

• demonstrating behavioral impact on the parent's ability to care for the infant; OR 

• there are other maltreatment concerns, including the parent’s ability to care for the infant OR a 

pattern of substantiations or findings. 

 
Did the mother have a positive drug or alcohol toxicology screen at the time of the infant’s birth? 

 
A report that only alleges the mother’s substance use would not be appropriate for CPS Assessment. 

However, a CPS Assessment must occur if she is also demonstrating behaviors that impact her ability to 

provide care to the infant. 

 
Additionally, a CPS Assessment must occur if a review of NC FAST services or county child welfare services 

agency history revealed a pattern of substantiations or findings of services needed or a particularly 

egregious finding that correlates with the allegations. However, a mother’s prescribed and appropriate use 

of medications should not be coupled with county child welfare services agency history to justify the 

acceptance of a report. 

 
Did the mother have a medical evaluation or behavioral health assessment that was indicative of an 

active substance use disorder at the time of the infant’s birth? 

 
A report that only alleges the mother’s substance use disorder would not be appropriate for CPS 

Assessment. In cases where the only allegation is the mother’s substance use disorder, additional screening 
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questions must be asked to determine if there are any additional behavioral indicators that impact the  

safety of the infant or put them at risk of harm. A CPS Assessment must occur if the mother is 

demonstrating any behaviors that impact her ability to provide care to the infant. 

Return to Maltreatment Screening Tools page. 
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P. Domestic Violence Screening Tool Directions: This is not an all-inclusive list. There may be information that is 
reported that must be screened in for an assessment.   
 
Domestic violence is a serious issue with potentially fatal implications for children and non-offending adult 

victims. In recognition of this potential lethality, every reporter must be asked, “Has there been an 

occurrence of domestic violence in the home?” 

Domestic violence is the establishment of control and fear in an intimate relationship using violence and 

other forms of abuse including but not limited to physical abuse, emotional abuse, sexual abuse, economic 

oppression, isolation, threats, intimidation, and maltreatment of the children to control the non-offending 

adult victim. 

 

Has the child ever called 911, intervened, or been physically harmed during violent incidents between 

adults? 

There is a real possibility that the child could be physically injured when intervening in domestic violence 

situations. 

 

Is the child fearful for their life, for the lives of other family members including pets, or fearful for the 

non-offending adult victim’s life? 

An assessment of the impact of exposure to the violence is needed. The child fearing for their life or for the 

lives of any family members is evidence that the violence is having a serious impact on their 

mental/emotional health. There is a correlation between pet abuse and domestic violence, as it is a 

predictor of a batterer’s lethality. 
 
 

Is the child present or does he or she have knowledge of when the batterer inflicts injury on or threatens 

violence against the non-offending adult victim? 

The child’s presence when violence is occurring warrants a CPS Assessment. A child’s presence is defined as 

within sight or sound regardless of their age. This includes not only a situation where a child is present to 

witness violence, but also must include a situation when a child may have knowledge that violence is 

occurring in their home. For example, a child reporting that he or she hears one parent/caretaker 

threatening the life of the parent/caretaker; he or she reports seeing injuries on a parent/caretaker after an 

altercation; or a parent/caretaker is reporting to the child he or she was assaulted by the other 

parent/caretaker. An assessment of the impact of exposure is needed, as some children are more resilient 

than others. 

Has there been repeated police involvement? Are there civil protective orders? 

Police involvement is one indication there is a history of domestic violence and that the non-offending adult 

victim has taken some steps towards protection. Repeated violence from the batterer after law 

enforcement/court involvement is an indication that the batterer has no regard for these legal measures, 

and that law enforcement is not a deterrent. 
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Is there a history of domestic violence? Is the violence increasing in frequency? 

A pattern of domestic violence indicates a situation more serious than an isolated incident. If the batterer 

has become increasingly violent, it is reasonable to expect this progression to continue which can 

compromise the child’s safety. 
 
 

Are there weapons present or have weapons been used? 

The presence of a weapon or weapons creates a risk for potential use. The use of weapons increases the 

potential for deadly violence. 

 

Are there power and control dynamics that pose risk to a child’s well-being? Does the batterer interfere 

with the non-offending adult victim’s ability to meet the child’s needs? 

Batterers will often control access to basic necessities to maintain power in the family. Examples include 

control over access to food, shelter, clothing, education, mental health, and medical care. 

 
 
 
 

Return to Maltreatment Screening Tools page. 
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Q. Illegal Placement/Adoption Screening Tool Directions: This is not an all-inclusive list. There may be information 
that is reported that must be screened in for an assessment.   

 
Is the parent/caretaker placing the child for adoption in exchange for money or other compensation? 

A parent/caretaker may not pay or give, offer to pay or give, or request, receive or accept any money or 

anything of value, directly or indirectly for the placement or adoption of a child. An adoptive parent, or 

another person acting on behalf of an adoptive parent, may pay medical expenses, counseling services 

expenses, and/ or reasonable or actual expenses for ordinary living expenses, etc. for the mother. It is 

neglectful to accept payment in kind for a child, such as trading a child for a car. 

 

Is the parent/caretaker placing the child for adoption without executing a Consent for Adoption? 

A parent/caretaker cannot place a child with an alternate caregiver without executing their consent for 

adoption. The parent/caretaker must have the authority to place the child and consent to the child’s 

adoption. 

 

Is the parent/caretaker placing the child in violation of the Interstate Compact on the Placement of 

Children? 

ICPC is a legally and administratively sound means of placing children across state lines with the same 

safeguards and services that are available when they are placed within their own state. ICPC provides 

the means for securing an evaluation of a prospective placement before the child is sent outside the 

state and provides assurance that the state sending the child retains jurisdiction over the child sufficient 

to ensure that the child receives adequate care and protection. Placements across state lines require the 

cooperation of agencies in ensuring that potential placements are evaluated for suitability and that 

supervision will be provided for the time necessary to determine that the placement is in the child's best 

interest. 

 
 
 
 

Return to Maltreatment Screening Tools page. 
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R. Dependency Screening Tool Directions: This is not an all-inclusive list. There may be information that is reported 
that must be screened in for an assessment.   

 
Is the child without a parent/caretaker? 

A child can be dependent due to the absence of a parent/caretaker. The parent/caretaker’s absence may be 

due to hospitalization, incarceration, or any situation in which the parent/caretaker is unavailable and there 

are no alternative arrangements to provide appropriate care. Dependency also refers to the lack of ability of 

the parent/caretaker. A parent who is hospitalized or incarcerated is not necessarily unwilling to provide 

care but is unable to provide care due to the present circumstances. An infant who has been safely 

surrendered is dependent. 

Children or youth who appear to be unaccompanied, whose parent/caretaker is absent, or who have run 

away from home may be vulnerable to exploitation or may have already been exploited through sex 

trafficking or labor trafficking. Intake workers should consider if the child is a victim of human trafficking and 

consult the Human Trafficking Screening Tool. Intake workers may need to ask questions to further explore 

the child’s circumstances regarding access to basic needs (food, clothing, shelter), who is providing those 

needs, and whether the child is exchanging sexual acts to meet these needs or for anything else of value. 

 

Is the parent/caretaker lacking capacity to provide care and supervision to the child without having an 

appropriate alternative child care arrangement? 

Dependency can also occur in situations where the parent/caretaker is incapacitated due to mental or 

physical illness, substance abuse, or any situation which impacts the ability of the parent to provide 

appropriate care. If the parent/caretaker fails to ensure an appropriate alternative child care arrangement, 

the child is dependent, and a CPS Assessment must occur. 

Return to Maltreatment Screening Tools page. 
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S. Parent Request to Dismiss Safe Surrender Screening Tool Directions: This is not an all-inclusive list. There may be 
information that is reported that must be screened in for an assessment.   

 

Was the child safely surrendered and the parent has returned to dismiss the request? 

A parent who safely surrendered their infant and has contacted the agency to regain custody of the infant 
must be accepted for assessment. 

 
This can only be selected in circumstances in which the agency determined that the infant’s surrender met 

criteria for Safe Surrender infant, and the person requesting custody can demonstrate, or there is reason to 

believe, they are a parent that safely surrendered the infant. Please see § 7B-527. Rights of surrendering 

parent for additional information. 
 

The worker should accept the report for Family Assessment with a 72-hour response time as long as there are no 

other contributing factors or additional maltreatment allegations that would require an Investigative Assessment. 

https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/ByArticle/Chapter_7B/Article_11.pdf
https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/ByArticle/Chapter_7B/Article_11.pdf
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The purpose of the response priority decision trees is to provide structure for the determination of how quickly 

the CPS Assessment must be initiated. The response priority decision trees are to be consulted for every new 

CPS report that is accepted for CPS Assessment. This applies to all new reports as well as new reports on 

families with an open case in CPS Assessments, In-Home Services, or Child Placement Services. 

Use of Response Priority Decision Trees: 

1. Begin with the Response Priority Decision Tree that corresponds to the maltreatment allegation that is 

the most egregious. Consult the Priority Response Decision Tree for each type of maltreatment alleged 

in the report. The Response Priority Trees include: 

• Physical Abuse Response Priority Decision Tree. To be used with allegations of physical abuse and 

cruel/grossly inappropriate behavior modification. 

• Moral Turpitude Response Priority Decision Tree 

• Sexual Abuse Response Priority Decision Tree 

• Emotional Abuse Response Priority Decision Tree 

• Human Trafficking Response Priority Decision Tree 

• Neglect Response Priority Decision Tree. To be used with maltreatment allegations of improper 

care, refusal to participate in Juvenile Justice recommendations, improper supervision, unsafe 

discipline, abandonment, improper medical/remedial care, injurious environment, and illegal 

placement/adoption. 

• Dependency Response Priority Decision Tree 

2. Start with the first question box of each Decision Tree. Proceed by answering the questions yes or no. 

When the answer to any question is yes, this is the termination point. Guidance regarding each of the 

questions is provided after the Decision Tree. 

3. The termination point indicates the appropriate response time, immediate-within 8-hours, within 24-

hours, or within 72-hours. If an immediate response has been indicated on one tree, it is not 

necessary to complete additional maltreatment trees. Otherwise, continue with the Decision Tree for 

each maltreatment alleged. 

 

For an immediate response, initiation must occur at once, immediately after completion of the Intake report, 

no later than 8 hours from the initial contact made by the reporter. The response should never exceed 24 

hours for a report alleging physical or sexual abuse. The response should never exceed 72 hours for a report 

alleging neglect or dependency. 

 

Note: The time clock for a report including the completion of an initiation begins at the time the reporter first makes 

contact with the agency and is not complete until all victim children have been interviewed. It is important that the 

interviews with victim children begins as quickly as possible upon receipt of the Intake report to ensure compliance 

with the timeframe. Therefore, Intake workers must efficiently act to complete reports quickly to allow Assessment 

workers ample time to complete the initiation.  
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The responsibility to ensure safety begins at Intake. If the county child welfare services agency selects an 

initiation timeframe other than what the corresponding Response Time Decision Tree indicates, the rational for 

changing the response, especially for any decision to delay the response time, must be documented and 

approved by a supervisor or higher management level. The decision trees are designed to guide decisions--not to 

replace county child welfare worker and child welfare supervisor judgement. A case may have unique 

circumstances not captured by the decision tree, or there may be critical information that is unknown. If there is 

any doubt about the most appropriate response time frame, the agency decision must be to respond in a 

response time that ensures the children are, first and foremost, protected from harm. 
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PHYSICAL ABUSE RESPONSE PRIORITY DECISION TREE DEFINITIONS 
 

Is the child preschool-aged or limited by a disability? 

Physical abuse of a young child or a child with a disability is high risk and an immediate response must be 

assigned. 

 

Is the child being tormented or tortured? 

Tormenting and torture are aggravated circumstances and an immediate response must be assigned. 
 
 

Is the child in a life-threatening situation? 

Physical abuse can present as a life-threatening situation depending upon severity, age, and developmental 

stage of the child. Examples of possible life-threatening situations include a child with internal injuries, burns 

requiring medical treatment, or a child less than a year old who has been shaken or subjected to spanking, 

hitting, or other form of corporal punishment. 

 

Is this a self-reporting child under 12? Is this child afraid to go home? 

A child under the age of 12 who contacts the county child welfare services agency directly as a possible abuse 

victim is particularly concerning and an immediate response must be assigned. Based on credible threats made 

by a parent/caretaker, a child’s behavioral indicators of fear, as well as a history of abusive behavior like the 

current allegation, may suggest a higher chance of reoccurrence. 

 

Does the child live in a home in which another child died as a result of maltreatment? 

Based on the potential risk, this situation an immediate response must be assigned. 
 
 

Return to Response Priority page.
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Moral Turpitude Response Priority Decision Tree Definitions 

Is the child in a life-threatening situation? 

Based on the child’s age and developmental status, if the moral turpitude presents a threat to the child’s 

life, an immediate response must be assigned. 
 

 
Return to Response Priority page. 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SEXUAL ABUSE RESPONSE PRIORITY DECISION TREE DEFINITIONS 

 
Does the alleged perpetrator have access to the child currently being sexually abused? 

If the alleged perpetrator resides in the home with or has access to the suspected victim child, an immediate 

response must be assigned. In situations where the reported abuse occurred in the past and the alleged 

perpetrator does not have access to the child, a response within 24 hours is acceptable. 

 

Is the child in a life-threatening situation? 

If the alleged sexual abuse presents a threat to the child’s life, an immediate response must be assigned. 
 
 

Is this a self-reporting child under 12? Is this child afraid to go home? 

A child under the age of 12 who contacts the county child welfare services agency directly as a possible 

sexual abuse victim is particularly concerning and an immediate response must be assigned. Based on 

credible threats made by a parent/caretaker, a child’s behavioral indicators of fear also suggest a potentially 

dangerous situation and an immediate response must be assigned. 

 

Return to Response Priority page. 
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EMOTIONAL ABUSE RESPONSE PRIORITY DECISION TREE DEFINITIONS 

 
 

Is the child in a life-threatening situation? 

If the emotional abuse presents a threat to the child’s life, an immediate response must be assigned. An 

example of a life-threatening allegation includes the emotional abuse has prompted the child to exhibit 

suicidal behavior. 

Is this a self-reporting child under 12? Is this child afraid to go home? 

A child under the age of 12 who contacts the county child welfare services agency directly as a possible 

abuse victim is particularly concerning and an immediate response must be assigned. Based on credible 

threats made by a parent/caretaker, a child’s behavioral indicators of fear, as well as a history of abusive 

behavior like the current allegation, may suggest a higher chance of reoccurrence. 

Is the child being tormented? 

If the child is currently being exposed to extreme terrorizing tactics and evidences behavioral indicators of 

fear, an immediate response must be assigned. 

Return to Response Priority page. 
 

 
 

HUMAN TRAFFICKING RESPONSE PRIORITY DECISION TREE DEFINITIONS 

Does the alleged perpetrator have access to the child currently being exploited or trafficked? 

 
If the alleged perpetrator resides in the home with or has access to the suspected victim child, an immediate 

response must be assigned. In situations where the reported abuse occurred in the past and the alleged 

perpetrator does not have access to the child, a response within 24 hours is acceptable. 

 

Is the child in a life-threatening situation? 

If the alleged trafficking presents a threat to the child’s life, an immediate response must be assigned. 
 

Is this a self-reporting child under age 12? Is the child afraid to go home? 

A child under the age of 12 who contacts the county child welfare services agency directly as a possible human 

trafficking or sexual abuse victim is particularly concerning and an immediate response must be assigned. 

Based on credible threats made by a parent/caretaker, a child’s behavioral indicators of fear also suggest a 

potentially dangerous situation and an immediate response must be assigned. 

Return to Response Priority page. 
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NEGLECT RESPONSE PRIORITY DECISION TREE DEFINITIONS 
 

Is the child immediately at risk of harm resulting from neglect? 

Based on the child(ren)’s age and developmental status, if they are at immediate risk of harm, then a timelier 

response is more appropriate. Things that constitute an immediate risk of harm include leaking gas from a stove 

or a heating unit, lack of food in the home and information that the child has not been fed, substances or objects 

accessible to the child(ren) that may endanger their health and safety, excessive garbage, human, and/or animal 

waste which threatens the child(ren)’s health, or serious illness or significant injury has occurred due to living in 

such conditions and these conditions still exist (lead poisoning, rat bites), and firearms that are easily accessible 

to children. 

Is the child under the age of 6 or limited by a disability unsupervised? 

If the child is under the age of 6 or limited by a disability not supervised by the parent/caretaker, and there is 

no known appropriate alternative plan for supervision, then an immediate response is warranted. 

Is the child in a life-threatening situation? Has the child been abandoned? 

Based on the child’s age and developmental status, if the alleged neglect presents a threat to the child’s life, 

then an immediate response is warranted. Child abandonment is considered an aggravated circumstance and an 

immediate response must be assigned. 

Is this a self-reporting child under 12? Is the child afraid to go home? 

A child under the age of 12 who contacts the county child welfare services agency directly as a possible 

neglect victim is particularly concerning and an immediate response must be assigned. Based on credible 

threats made by a parent/caretaker, a child’s behavioral indicators of fear also suggest a potentially 

dangerous situation and an immediate response must be assigned. 

 

Is the child in a home where another child has been abused or where a child has died as a result of abuse or 

neglect? 

Based on the potential for risk, for CPS reports with allegations that a child resides in the home where 

another child has been abused or has died because of abuse or neglect an immediate response must be 

assigned, regardless of whether the abuse or neglect was known and substantiated. 

Is the child in immediate need of medical care? 

CPS reports with allegations that the child needs immediate, not necessarily lifesaving medical care an 

immediate response must be assigned. Examples include allegations that the child is underweight, the child is 

not being fed, the parent/caretaker refuses to meet the child’s medical and/or mental health needs, or the 

parent/caretaker refuses to treat a serious injury/condition. 
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Is the child at risk of serious injury? 

Based on the parent’s ability to provide appropriate supervision and care, CPS reports with allegations that a 

child is at risk of serious injury may require a timelier response. 

 
Has the child received discipline resulting in injury? 

For CPS reports that allege unsafe discipline resulting in injury to the child, a response of 24 hours must be 

assigned; all other unsafe discipline reports a response within 72 hours must occur. If the bruises reported are 

not currently visible, a response within 72 hours must be assigned. 

 
 

 
 

Return to Response Priority page. 
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DEPENDENCY RESPONSE PRIORITY DECISION TREE DEFINITIONS 
 

Is the child in a life-threatening situation? 

Based on the child’s age and developmental status, if the dependency presents a threat to the child’s 

life, an immediate response must be assigned. 

Is this a self-reporting child under 12? Is this child afraid to go home? 

A child under the age of 12 who contacts the county child welfare services agency directly as a possible 

dependency victim is particularly concerning and an immediate response must be assigned. 

Is the child without a parent/caretaker to provide care and supervision and believed to be a victim of human 

trafficking? 

The response time to CPS reports containing allegations that the child is without a parent/caretaker and is 

believed to be a victim of human trafficking requires an immediate response. 

 

Is this an infant who has been safely surrendered? 

An immediate response time must be assigned to reports alleging that an infant has been safely 

surrendered. 

• Infant appears to be under the age of 30 days and free of abuse or neglect, per the reporter 

• The surrendering parent has no intention to return for the child, per the reporter 

• The infant was surrender to a legally designated safe person: 

o A health care provider, as defined under G.S 90-21.11, who is on duty or at a hospital or at a 

local or district health department or at a nonprofit community health center. 

o A first responder on duty, including a law enforcement officer, a certified emergency medical 
services worker, or a firefighter on duty. 

o A social services worker who is on duty or at a local department of social services. 

The designated safe person may have information from the parent, but this information is confidential under the 

law. The Intake worker should record any information regarding the surrendering parent, but this information 

needs to be flagged as confidential and Intake may not reach out to the surrendering parent. 

Is this a child without a parent/caretaker to provide care and supervision? 

The response time to CPS reports containing allegations that the child is without a parent/caretaker must 

be based upon the absence of the parent/caretaker to provide care and supervision. 

Is this a child with a parent/caretaker who is unable to provide care and supervision? 

The response time to CPS reports containing allegations that the child is with a parent/caretaker who is 

unable to provide care and supervision must be based upon the parent/caretaker’s capacity (or lack 

thereof) to meet the child’s needs. 


