North Carolina		Count	y De	partment	of	Social	Serv	vices
----------------	--	-------	------	----------	----	--------	------	-------

MEDICAID/WORK FIRST NOTICE OF INQUIRY

GENERAL INFORMATION AND REASON FOR INQUIRY (Caseworker completes)

1.	CASE NAME		CASE NO			DATE			
	ADDRESS			PHONE					
	Worker's Name_			Telephone Number					
2.	Check the programs discussed with the applicant and the referrals made:								
	<u>Discussed</u>	Referre	<u>d</u>	Discussed	Referred	<u>I</u>			
			WFFA			MA, Adult			
			WFFA-EA			MIC			
			SA			MPW			
			FS			MQB			
			CIP			MAD			
			MAF			CAP			
			Affordable Care Act Hea (Healthcare.gov; 1-800-			MAF Family Planning			
			OTHER:						
3.			for the inquiry. Explain vne decision not to apply.	vhy no application was f	filed. Spec	sify the facts provided by the			
INQU	IRY STATEMI	ENT	(Applicant Completes)					
1.	I understand I	cannot r	eceive benefits without f	iling an application.					
2.	I decided not to file an applic		application for	cation forProgram		use:			
	Applicant's Signature				Date				

APPEAL RIGHTS: You have the right to appeal if DSS refuses to take your application or discourages you from applying for assistance. Read the back of this notice to find out more about your appeal rights.

YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO A HEARING

You have the right to ask for a hearing if you believe that DSS refused to take your application or discouraged you from applying for assistance. Discouragement includes situations in which DSS did any of the following things:

- 1. Suggested or required that you wait to apply until other benefits (such as Social Security) have been applied for or approved or denied, or until written verification of the application for those benefits has been obtained:
- 2. Suggested that you make an appointment to apply for benefits;
- 3. Suggested you complete a mail-in application rather than completing a face-to-face interview when you came to the agency;
- 4. Did not explain how the date of application is determined when you came to the agency and requested and application from the receptionist to mail to DSS;
- 5. Did not explain available Medicaid programs if you requested Work First Employment Services, including direct financial services such as car repairs or indirect financial services such as help preparing a resume;
- 6. Incorrectly told or suggested to you that you will not qualify for assistance;
- 7. Did not give you correct or complete information about available programs or options.

HOW TO ASK FOR A HEARING

You can ask any caseworker or supervisor for a hearing. You can do this in writing or verbally. You can do this through the mail or in person or over the telephone.

WHEN TO ASK FOR A HEARING

You must ask for a hearing within 60 days from the date you become aware that DSS gave you incorrect or incomplete information which led you not to file an application. If you have good cause for not asking for a hearing within 60 days, you must still ask for a hearing within 90 days.

LOCAL AND STATE HEARINGS

If you ask for a hearing, you will be given a local hearing which will be held within 5 calendar days. The local hearing is held before an impartial DSS official who was not involved in your case before you asked for a hearing.

If you are not satisfied with the local hearing decision, you can have a second hearing. The second hearing is held before an impartial official of the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services. You must ask for the second hearing within 15 calendar days of the date the local hearing decision is mailed to you. If you ask for a hearing on Work First and you live in an electing county, the second hearing is before a county official.

WHAT HAPPENS IF YOU WIN THE HEARING

Your application will be opened. If the application is approved, you may receive assistance back to the date you inquired.

YOUR RIGHT TO BE REPRESENTED

Free legal services may be available. Contact the Legal Services office at (866-219-5262) or call DHHS Customer Service Center toll free at (800-) 662-7030. Hearing impaired callers may call either of the above numbers or the TTY dedicated line toll free at 877-452-2514. DHHS Customer Service Center is available Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. except state holidays. A bilingual information and referral specialist is available for Spanish-speaking callers.