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Purpose 

In North Carolina, any person who has cause to suspect a child is being maltreated (abused or neglected, or is dependent), is required by law to report 

their concerns to a local county child welfare agency. Child Protective Services Structured Decision Making (SDM) Screening and Response Tool is the 

first stage of the child welfare process and involves screening child protective services reports to determine what further action is required. Careful, 

detailed, and thorough work at CPS Intake lays the foundation for making well-informed decisions throughout the life of the case. The quality and 

consistency of the information gathered at CPS Intake directly impacts the safety of the alleged victim children and any subsequent intervention.  

The goal of CPS Intake is to make consistent screening decisions using a structured intake process based on specific criteria. The steps of CPS Intake are: 

1.    Complete a new CPS Intake in the Partnership and Technology Hub North Carolina (PATH NC). 

2.    Consult the Maltreatment Screening Tool(s) that correspond to the allegations. 

3.    Determine the county responsible for completing the CPS Assessment. 

4.    Determine the appropriate Assessment Response Track (Investigative or Family) and Response Time (Immediate—8 hours, 24 hours, or 

72 hours). 

 

Following the steps above, the CPS Intake process determines whether the reported information meets the statutory guidelines for child maltreatment. 

When a report is screened in (i.e., it meets the statutory requirements), CPS Intake determines the county responsible for the assessment, the response 

track, the response time, and then the report is assigned for CPS Assessment.  
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Policy Legal Basis 

North Carolina requires that anyone 

who suspects child abuse, neglect, or 

dependency must report their concerns 

to the local county child welfare 

agency. A person who makes a report 

of suspected child abuse, neglect, or 

dependency is immune from civil or 

criminal liability if the report was made 

in good faith. 

 

The local county child welfare agencies 

must receive, and screen all reports of 

abuse, neglect, or dependency, 

regardless of residency. Each local 

county child welfare agency must have 

written procedures for receiving CPS 

reports and for providing supervisory 

decision-making 24 hours a day.   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

N.C.G.S. §153A-257, Legal residence for social service purposes:  

(a)  Legal residence in a county determines which county is responsible (i) for financial support of a needy 

person who meets the eligibility requirements for a public assistance or medical care program offered 

by the county or (ii) for other social services required by the person. Legal residence in a county is 

determined as follows: 

(1)  Except as modified below, a person has legal residence in the county in which he resides. 

(2)  If a person is in a hospital, mental institution, nursing home, boarding home, confinement 

facility, or similar institution or facility, he does not, solely because of that fact, have legal 

residence in the county in which the institution or facility is located. 

(3)  A minor has the legal residence of the parent or other relative with whom he resides. If the minor 

does not reside with a parent or relative and is not in a foster home, hospital, mental institution, 

nursing home, boarding home, educational institution, confinement facility, or similar institution 

or facility, he has the legal residence of the person with whom he resides. Any other minor has 

the legal residence of his mother, or if her residence is not known then the legal residence of his 

father; if his mother's or father's residence is not known, the minor is a legal resident of the 

county in which he is found. 

(b)  A legal residence continues until a new one is acquired, either within or outside this state. When a new 

legal residence is acquired, all former legal residences terminate. 

(c)  This section is intended to replace the law defining "legal settlement." Therefore, any general law or local 

act that refers to "legal settlement" is deemed to refer to this section and the rules contained herein. 

(d)  If two or more county departments of social services disagree regarding the legal residence of a minor 

in a child abuse, neglect, or dependency case, any one of the county departments of social services may 

refer the issue to the Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, for 

resolution. The Director of the Division of Social Services or the Director's designee shall review the 

pertinent background facts of the case and shall determine which county department of social services 

shall be responsible for providing protective services and financial support for the minor in question.  

 

N.C.G.S. §7B-300, Protective Services: 

The director of the department of social services [local county child welfare agency] in each county of the 

state shall establish protective services for juveniles alleged to be abused, neglected, or dependent. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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Policy Legal Basis 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The screening process requires 

knowledge of the statutory definitions 

of child abuse, neglect, dependency, 

and caretaker. The local county child 

welfare agency has the authority to 

intervene only when the allegation, if 

true, would meet the legal definitions. 

Reports accepted for CPS Assessment 

must clearly invoke the statutory 

authority to provide Child Protective 

Services. 

 

Protective services shall include the screening of reports; the performance of an assessment using either a 

Family Assessment response or an Investigative Assessment response; casework; or other counseling 

services to parents, guardians, or other caretakers as provided by the director. These services will help the 

parents, guardians, other caretakers, and the court to prevent abuse or neglect; to improve the quality of 

childcare; to be more adequate parents, guardians, or caretakers; and to preserve and stabilize family life. 

 

N.C.G.S. §7B-301, Duty to report abuse, neglect, dependency, or death due to maltreatment: 

(a)  Any person or institution who has cause to suspect that any juvenile is abused, neglected, or dependent, 

as defined N.C.G.S. §7B-101, or has died as the result of maltreatment, shall report the case of that 

juvenile to the director of the department of social services in the county where the juvenile resides or is 

found. The report may be made orally, by telephone, or in writing. The report shall include information 

as is known to the person making it including: the name and address of the juvenile; the name and address 

of the juvenile's parent, guardian, or caretaker; the age of the juvenile; the names and ages of other 

juveniles in the home; the present whereabouts of the juvenile if not at the home address; the nature 

and extent of any injury or condition resulting from abuse, neglect, or dependency; and any other 

information which the person making the report believes might be helpful in establishing the need for 

protective services or court intervention. If the report is made orally or by telephone, the person making 

the report shall give the person's name, address, and telephone number. Refusal of the person making 

the report to give a name shall not preclude the department's assessment of the alleged abuse, neglect, 

dependency, or death because of maltreatment. 

(b)  Any person or institution who knowingly or wantonly fails to report the case of a juvenile as required by 

subsection (a) of this section, or who knowingly or wantonly prevents another person from making a 

report as required by subsection (a) of this section, is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. 

 

N.C.G.S. §7B 302(b) states: "When a report of a juvenile's death as a result of suspected maltreatment or a 

report of suspected abuse, neglect, or dependency of a juvenile in a non-institutional setting is received the 

director of the department of social services shall immediately ascertain if other juveniles remain in the 

home, and, if so, initiate an assessment in order to determine whether they require protective services or 

whether immediate removal of the juveniles from the home is necessary for their protection.” 

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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Policy Legal Basis 

N.C.G.S. §7B-309, Immunity of persons reporting and cooperating in an assessment. 

Anyone who makes a report pursuant to this Article; cooperates with the county department of social services 

in a protective services assessment; testifies in any judicial proceeding resulting from a protective services 

report or assessment; provides information or assistance, including medical evaluations or consultation in 

connection with a report, investigation, or legal intervention pursuant to a good-faith report of child abuse 

or neglect: or otherwise participates in the program authorized by this Article; is immune from any civil or 

criminal liability that might otherwise be incurred or imposed for that action provided that the person was 

acting in good faith.  

 

Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA) requires health care providers involved in the delivery 

and care of infants born with and identified as being affected by substance abuse, withdrawal symptoms 

resulting from prenatal drug exposure, or a Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder to notify the child protective 

services system of the occurrence.  

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-309.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-309.html
https://www.acf.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/cb/capta.pdf
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Definitions 

Unless otherwise noted, the following definitions come from N.C.G.S. §7B-101. 

Juvenile: A person who has not reached the person's eighteenth birthday and is not married, emancipated, or a member of the Armed Forces of the 

United States.  

Caretaker: Any person other than a parent, guardian, or custodian who has responsibility for the health and welfare of a juvenile in a residential 

setting. A person responsible for a juvenile's health and welfare means a stepparent; foster parent; an adult member of the juvenile's 

household; an adult entrusted with the juvenile's care; a potential adoptive parent during a visit or trial placement with a juvenile in the custody 

of a department; any person such as a house parent or cottage parent who has primary responsibility for supervising a juvenile's health and 

welfare in a residential child care facility or residential educational facility; or any employee or volunteer of a division, institution, or school 

operated by the Department of Health and Human Services. Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to impose a legal duty of support 

under Chapter 50 or Chapter 110 of the General Statutes. The duty imposed upon a caretaker as defined in this subdivision shall be for the 

purpose of this Subchapter only. Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to impose a legal duty of support under Chapter 50 or Chapter 

110 of the General Statutes. The duty imposed upon a caretaker as defined in this subdivision shall be for the purpose of this Subchapter only. 

See also Caretaker Definition Decision Tool. 

 

Relative: An individual directly related to the juvenile by blood, marriage, or adoption. This includes but is not limited to the following examples: a 

grandparent, sibling, aunt, or uncle. 

 

Abused Juveniles: Any juvenile less than 18 years of age (i) who is found to be a minor victim of human trafficking under G.S. 14-43.15 or (ii) whose 

parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker 

(a)  Inflicts or allows to be inflicted upon the juvenile a serious physical injury by other than accidental means; 

(b)  Creates or allows to be created a substantial risk of serious physical injury to the juvenile by other than accidental means; 

(c)  Uses or allows to be used upon the juvenile cruel or grossly inappropriate procedures or cruel or grossly inappropriate devices to modify 

behavior; 

(d)  Commits, permits, or encourages the commission of a violation of the following laws by, with, or upon the juvenile: first-degree rape, as 

provided in N.C.G.S. §14-27.2; rape of a child by an adult offender, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14- 27.2A; second-degree rape as provided in 

N.C.G.S. §14-27.3; first degree sexual offense, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-27.4; sexual offense with a child by an adult offender, as provided in 

N.C.G.S. §14-27.4A; second degree sexual offense, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-27.5; intercourse and sexual offenses with certain victims; 

consent no defense, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-27.31 and N.C.G.S. §14- 27.32; unlawful sale, surrender, or purchase of a minor, as provided 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-101.html
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Definitions 

in N.C.G.S. §14-43.14; crime against nature, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-177; incest, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-178 and N.C.G.S. §14-179; 

preparation of obscene photographs, slides or motion pictures of the juvenile, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-190.5; employing or permitting the 

juvenile to assist in a violation of the obscenity laws as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-190.6; dissemination of obscene material to the juvenile as 

provided in N.C.G.S. §14-190.7 and N.C.G.S. §14-190.8; displaying or disseminating material harmful to the juvenile as provided in N.C.G.S. 

§14-190.14 and N.C.G.S. §14-190.15; first and second degree sexual exploitation of the juvenile as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-190.16 and 

N.C.G.S. §14-190.17; promoting the prostitution of the juvenile as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-205.3(b); and taking indecent liberties with the 

juvenile, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-202.1, regardless of the age of the parties; or 

(e)  Creates or allows to be created serious emotional damage to the juvenile. Serious emotional damage is evidenced by a juvenile's severe 

anxiety, depression, withdrawal, or aggressive behavior toward himself or others; 

(f)  Encourages, directs, or approves of delinquent acts involving moral turpitude committed by the juvenile; or 

(g)  Commits or allows to be committed an offense under N.C.G.S. §14-43.11 (human trafficking), N.C.G.S. §14-43.12 (involuntary servitude), or 

N.C.G.S. §14-43.13 (sexual servitude) against the child. 

 

Neglected Juvenile: Any juvenile less than 18 years of age (i) who is found to be a minor victim of human trafficking under G.S. 14-43.15 or (ii) whose 

parent, guardian, custodian or caretaker does not provide any of the following: 

(a) does not provide proper care, supervision, or discipline.  

(b) Has abandoned the juvenile. 

(c) Has not provided or arranged for the provision of necessary medical or remedial care  

(d) or whose parent, guardian, or custodian has refused to follow the recommendations of the Juvenile and Family Team made pursuant to 

Chapter 7B Article 27A.  

(e) Creates or allows to be created a living environment that is injurious to the juvenile’s welfare. 

(f) Has participated or attempted to participate in the unlawful transfer of custody of the juvenile under G.S. 14-321.2  

In determining whether a juvenile is a neglected juvenile, it is relevant whether that juvenile lives in a home where another juvenile has died as a 

result of suspected abuse or neglect or lives in a home where another juvenile has been subjected to abuse by an adult who regularly lives in the 

home. Relevance in this instance is a legal term that means that the court can find a child neglected on the basis that he or she was living with a victim 

child. 

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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Definitions 

Dependent Juvenile: A juvenile in need of assistance or placement because the juvenile has no parent, guardian, or custodian responsible for the 

juvenile's care or supervision or whose parent, guardian, or custodian, is unable to provide for the care or supervision and lacks an appropriate 

alternative childcare arrangement. 
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Report or 
Notification Received

Select New Intake Tab 
and Collect Reporter 

information

Complete Mandatory 
Questions Tab*

Is there a CMARC 
Notification 

Requirement?

If Applicable, Complete 
Notification to 

Appropriate Entity:
DA/LE

DHSR/DCD/DSS
Military

*If there is a Mandatory 
Screen Out, Complete Collection 

of Narrative and Participant 
Information if needed and 

Determine if a Notification is 
Required after 2nd Level Review.

Assign Assessment

Complete Screening and 
Connecting 

Maltreatments Tab:
Select All that Apply

No

CPS INTAKE PROCESS

Complete Screening 
Response Tab and submit for 

review to supervisor. 

If no maltreatment allegation is 
selected, referral does not include an 

allegation of abuse, neglect or 
dependency.
SCREEN OUT

Was one or more 
maltreatment types 

selected?

Yes

No

2-Level review and sign off by supervisor 
or upper management

(A) Select New Intake and collect Reporter Information
(B) Complete Mandatory Questions Tab, collect Narrative information and complete Add Participant tab. 
(C) Complete Screening and Connecting Maltreatments Tab.   

*Screen Outs go directly to (D) *Conflict of Interest, refer to policy
(C) Complete Response Time, Assessment and Screening Response Tabs
(D) Two-Level Review and Sign-off

Conflict of Interest Cases

If after completing the collection of the Narrative 
Information from the Reporter a COI is identified, 

refer to COI policy.
New reports on an open COI case must be referred to and 

screened by the partner county with the open case.

*If a report is transferred from another county prior to the 
Screening and Response portion being complete, the receiving 

county should screen the report.

*If a report is accepted/screened in by another county and 
referred to your county it will be transferred 

as an assessment case.

Collect information 
from Reporter in the 

Narrative box. 

Complete prior to 
screening process. 
Proceed to Step 1.

Yes Complete Response Time, 
Assessment Track Tab 

2-Level review and sign off by 
supervisor or upper 

managementComplete Add 
Participant Tab
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Protocol – What you must do Guidance – How you should do it 

North Carolina legislation requires that the person making the report give 

their name, address, and telephone number. However, refusal of the person 

making the report to identify himself or herself does not relieve the local 

county child welfare agency of its responsibility for conducting a CPS 

Assessment if the allegations meet the statutory definition for acceptance.  

 

North Carolina statute requires: 

• The identity of the person making the report, and 

• All information obtained during a CPS Assessment must be held in 

the strictest confidence by the local county child welfare agency.  

 

This statute does not grant the right of the reporter to remain anonymous. 

However, the reporter must be informed that their identity will remain 

confidential unless:  

• A court orders otherwise; 

• A local, state, or federal entity demonstrates a need for the 

reporter’s name to carry out its mandated responsibilities. 

 

Statute does not require that the reporter to possess any information 

beyond a cause to suspect abuse or neglect. The reporter is not required to 

have witnessed the abuse or neglect or to have firsthand knowledge. 

Local County child welfare agencies often need to speak with a 

reporter more than once to clarify or follow up on other issues, so 

anonymous calls should be discouraged as much as possible. If a local 

county child welfare agency has “Caller Identification,” the staff should 

make any caller aware that the agency has this information, especially 

if the identifying information the caller is giving is different from the 

information on the “Caller Identification.” If the local county child 

welfare agency knows the identity of the reporter, that information 

should be recorded on the PATH NC Screening and Response Tool 

under the information for Reporter, even if the caller wishes to remain 

anonymous. The Intake caseworker should include that the reporter 

would like to remain anonymous at the top of the narrative 

information box and mark the role of the reporter as “Individual Not 

Provided” or INP.  

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/


CPS INTAKE 

Collection of Information and Assessing Agency History 

CPS Intake Policy, Protocol, and Guidance (March 2025) Page 12 
NC CHILD WELFARE MANUAL Return to Intake TOC Return to Manual TOC 

Protocol – What you must do Guidance – How you should do it 

CREATING A NEW CPS INTAKE 

The Intake caseworker must document and manage information 

about the report of suspected abuse, neglect, and/or dependency 

by creating a new CPS Intake in the PATH NC Screening and 

Response Tool. A new CPS Intake begins with the collection of 

reporter information.  

 

RESPONSE TIME 

Response times include responding to and fully initiating 

screened in reports of abuse, neglect, and/or dependency. The 

timeframe to complete an initiation begins at the time the 

reporter contacts the local county child welfare agency. A 

report is not considered initiated until all victim children have 

been interviewed thoroughly regarding the allegations. Local 

county child welfare agencies must provide Child Protective 

Services, including Intake, 24 hours per day, 7 days per week, 

and begin the initiation process immediately in emergency 

situations when identified in the Screening and Response Tool. 

 

The Intake caseworker must provide support and encouragement 

to the reporter by: 

● Explaining the purpose of CPS (to ensure safety of children, 

and protect and strengthen the family); 

● Emphasizing the importance of reporting; 

● Dealing with the fears and concerns of the reporter; and 

● Discussing confidentiality regarding the CPS report 

including the identity of the reporter. 

 

 

 

 

Making effective CPS Intake decisions requires Intake caseworkers to have 

competent interviewing skills, awareness of the information needed, the skill to 

organize and analyze information, to arrive at accurate conclusions, and the ability 

to be supportive of reporters. The reporter’s information regarding the allegations 

needs to be listened to and documented on the PATH NC Screening and Response 

Tool, and to ensure that Intake has collected all the information provided by the 

reporter. The Intake caseworker should access the Desk Guide for additional 

questions to assist them in completing a comprehensive Intake assessment. 

 

Every effort should be made to speak with the reporter at the time the call is 

placed. In instances when the reporter left a message, the timeframe for response 

begins at the time the reporter left the message, not the time the call was 

returned. There may be times when the reporter does not have access to a 

telephone on a regular basis and cannot leave a number for the call to be 

returned. Assessing safety and if an immediate response is required is impossible 

when those concerns are left on a messaging system.  

 

In cases where the reporter has concerns about making a report, the Intake 

caseworker can point them to NCGS § 7B-301 that requires any person over the 

age of 18 that suspects abuse, neglect, or dependency of a juvenile to make a 

report to the local county child welfare agency. This suspicion does not require the 

reporter to have witnessed or have firsthand knowledge of the allegations. This 

statute also assures immunity from civil and criminal liability as long as the report 

was made in good faith. The reporter must be supported in their decision to make 

a report and address their concerns. It is important to understand that it can often 

be very difficult for the reporter to make the call.  

 

In some instances, a reporter may be considered a “designated reporter” for their 

agency, meaning they are calling on behalf of the person who has firsthand 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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MANDATORY QUESTIONS 

The Intake caseworker must answer a series of mandatory 

questions in the Screening and Response Tool prior to gathering 

the narrative information to assist with determining whether the 

use of the Screening and Response Tool is necessary. If the 

allegations are not regarding a child and there are no other 

children in the home, the Intake caseworker will bypass the 

remainder of the tool and screen out the report. In cases involving 

allegations of abuse or severe neglect against an individual who is 

not a caretaker, with the exception of Human Trafficking, the 

Intake caseworker will still gather the narrative and participant 

information from the reporter and send it to the appropriate 

agency.  

 

In cases where the agency does not have statutory authority to 

intervene because there is not a child under 18 in the home or the 

allegations do not involve a caretaker, except Human Trafficking, 

the information will be screened out prior to completion of the 

Screening and Response Tool and go straight to the supervisor for 

second level review. The Mandatory Questions include:  

1. Is the victim child under 18 years of age? 

2. Is the child a victim of fatality? 

3. Is this a near fatality, where a physician has determined 

that a child is in serious or critical condition as a result of 

knowledge of the situation. In such situations, it is permissible to contact the 

person with firsthand knowledge prior to making a final decision about accepting 

the report. The person(s) with firsthand knowledge should be listed in the 

collateral section of the Screening and Response Tool.  

 

MANDATORY QUESTIONS 

It will be important for Intake caseworkers to be able to communicate the 

definitions for words such as caretaker, Human Trafficking, and Domestic Violence 

that may not be familiar to the reporter so they can understand and answer the 

questions accurately.  

 

The Intake system has built-in decision-making assistance by responding to 

questions in an if/then format. In the case of Mandatory Questions, it provides 

assistance with pre-screening. If the victim is over 18 the system will provide a 

notification about referral of the information to law enforcement or Adult 

Protective Services (APS). It will also ask if there are any other children under 18 in 

the home and if the answer is no, the system will bypass the Screening and 

Response Tool and send to the supervisor for review. If the child is the victim of a 

fatality and there are no other children in the home, the system will bypass the 

Screening and Response Tool and send to the supervisor for review. There will be a 

secondary question to ensure that the fatality is reported to law enforcement. CPS 

does not have jurisdiction in cases where there are no children under 18 years of 

age. In cases that do not involve youth under 18 years of age, the Intake 

caseworker should direct notification to the appropriate entity such as law 

enforcement or Adult Protective Services (APS).  

 

Most questions are in a yes/no format. There are some questions that ask for 

additional information. In cases where the child is not a resident of North Carolina, 

the system will request residency information. A question about the location of 

the incident requires the Intake caseworker to fill in information in a narrative box.  

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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sickness or injury caused by suspected abuse, neglect, or 

maltreatment? 

4. Is the child a resident of North Carolina? 

5. Where did the incident occur? (This question has a 

narrative box)  

6. Is the perpetrator a parent/caretaker? 

7. Are you aware of any relatives or kin supports for this 

family? 

8. Does this report include information about a child who is 

missing, abducted, or on runaway status? 

9. Are there concerns for Human Trafficking? 

10. Are there concerns for Domestic Violence? 

11. Is this a licensed facility or group home? 

 

If ANY of the following conditions are reported by a medical 

provider, as the result of abuse or neglect, the question about a 

near fatality must be marked “yes.” 

• Life-saving procedures have been performed (CPR, 

intubation); or 

• Child will be/was admitted to the Intensive Care Unit 

(ICU)*, as a direct result of the injury and/or alleged 

neglect. 

* Included is admission to pediatric intensive care unit or neonatal 

intensive care unit requiring treatment to continue the function of 

vital organ/s.  

The maltreatment concern, regardless of whether it is abuse or 

neglect, will result in an Investigative Assessment Track and 

Immediate Response Time being selected by the system. The 

“Near fatality” is a phrase used in child protective services and is defined as 

follows: 

• An act that, as certified by a physician, places a child in serious or critical 

condition (Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA), Chapter 67, 

subchapter 1) 

• NC G.S. § 7B-2902.9(a)(3) defines a Near fatality as “A case in which a 

physician determines that a child is in serious or critical condition as the 

result of sickness or injury caused by suspected abuse, neglect, or 

maltreatment.”   

Determination of a condition by a physician (serious or critical) can be made 

verbally and/or in writing. Hospitals apply the terms “serious” or “critical” with 

variability, depending on which physician specialty is queried (e.g., emergency 

department physician, intensive care unit physician, primary care physician, etc.) 

There is a distinction between an injury being of a serious nature versus a child 

being determined to be in serious condition. The level and extent of medical 

intervention may be an indicator in this distinction. 

The condition of the child admitted to the ICU must be considered. If the child is 

admitted for observation, such as after surgery, the condition may not meet that 

of a near fatality. Please review the Near Fatality-Tip Sheet for additional 

information in determining Near Fatality. 

 

 

 

 

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/document/child-welfare-resource-near-fatality-tip-sheet/
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maltreatment causing the near fatality should be selected in 

Screening portion of the Tool.  

 

COLLECT PARTICIPANT INFORMATION 

After completing the mandatory questions, the Intake caseworker 

will be directed to identify participants involved in the case and 

their roles. Identification of a case head depends on the role of the 

participants involved in the new CPS Intake. Only the information 

provided by the reporter can be used in the participant section of 

the Screening and Response Tool. This ensures confidentiality by 

not providing the reporter with any additional information that 

they did not give.  Participant roles are: 

• Adult 

• Alleged Victim 

• Caretaker 

• Custodian 

• Non-Resident Parent 

• Parent 

• Minor Parent 

 

Case heads are determined using the following guideline: 

• Mother 

• Father 

• Female Caretaker 

• Male Caretaker 

• Female child 

• Male child 

 

 

 

 

COLLECT PARTICIPANT INFORMATION 

A case head can be marked as “unknown” during intake and can change during the 

Assessment once that information becomes known. When an adult 

parent/caretaker remains “unknown” the assessment case head is required to 

follow the guidelines listed in the protocol section and can be found as a help text 

in the system. A case head has to be documented before you move on to the next 

section of the Screening and Response Tool. Any additional information obtained 

during the Assessment should not be updated in the Screening and Response tool 

to ensure that the reporter does not get information that they did not provide to 

the agency and maintain the family’s confidentiality.  

 

Only living participants should be added to the participant information except in 

cases with a child fatality. Each deceased child should be added as a participant 

and the box indicating a fatality is required to be checked.  All other deceased 

participants, including parents or caretakers, should be documented in the 

Narrative Information box.  The system will not allow the Intake caseworker to add 

maltreatments to the deceased child. 

 

When a case involves an infant that has been safely surrendered to the local 

county child welfare agency, the agency should include all information provided by 

the reporter. This includes the parents (surrendering and non-surrendering), if 

known, along with any medical/health information about the family that can be 

obtained. This information must be kept confidential and can only be shared in 

accordance with NCGS § 7B‑524.  

 

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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If the parent or caretaker is unknown, the case head is identified by 

the child in the assessment. If there is more than one child, the 

case head is that of the youngest child.  

 

IDENTIFYING RELATIVES AND KIN 

Beginning at Intake, the identification of relatives and kin, including 

non-relative/fictive kin, can help to promote the safety of children. 

This information should be included in the mandatory question 

section under the question, “Are you aware of any relatives or kin 

supports for this family? Asking about relatives and kin includes 

those who live outside of the home but can provide support to the 

family.  

 

Collection of Information and Assessing Agency History 

The Intake caseworker must gather sufficient information from the 

reporter to be able to:   

● Identify and locate case participants (child(ren), parents, or 

primary caretaker) and; 

● Determine if the report meets the statutory guidelines for 

child maltreatment; 

● Assess the seriousness of the child’s situation; and 

● Understand the relationship of the reporter to the family 

and the motives of the reporter. 

● Identify collaterals who may have additional information 

for the assessment (medical/behavioral health care 

providers, teachers, friends, family, or others) and their 

relationship to the alleged victim child(ren).  

 

The Intake caseworker must check the service history and/or 

county agency records to determine if the case participants (family 

 

 

 

 

This is a statutory requirement, but more importantly the engagement of supports 

early in the process can begin construction of a family’s support network and help 

stabilize families in crisis and prevent future safety issues. 

 

 

 

 

While it is important to know the reporter’s concerns about the risk to the 

children, it is crucial that the message conveyed is that CPS is about ensuring safe 

homes for children by identifying the strengths of the family-not by identifying bad 

parents and taking children away.  

 

Another way that may be helpful includes talking with the reporter about what 

they hope the family can accomplish. Discussing safety shifts the focus from 

problems to possible solutions. Some of these questions include: 

 

1. Calling DSS is a big step. In your opinion, what would it take to make the 

child safer? 

2. What do you think the family is capable of doing to make the child safer? 

3. Can you tell me how the agency will know when the problem is solved? 

 

Comprehensive information provided by the reporter supports Intake caseworkers 

in making the best determination about the appropriateness of the report for CPS 

Assessment, the level of risk to the child, and the urgency of the response needed. 

Information gathering should focus on the alleged maltreatment; and information 

about the child, the parents/caretakers, and the family. Use of Narrative 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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or child) have been reported/known to the agency previously, this 

includes the PATH NC system. Any information obtained regarding 

additional participants must be entered into the Narrative 

Information box or case notes for the Assessment caseworker. The 

Intake caseworker must NOT enter any additional participants that 

the reporter did not provide into the Participant Tab. 

 

 

The Intake caseworker must NOT check the Central 

Registry/Responsible Individuals List or contact another community 

agency to make a screening decision. 

interviewing to gather information is a helpful tool in ensuring that you have 

obtained as much information as you can from the reporter for screening 

purposes. 

 

There are some maltreatment reports that do not clearly meet legal definitions of 

abuse, neglect, and/or dependency; however, the alleged maltreatment is 

concerning. It may be that the reporter did not have enough information to 

provide specifics or was not willing to do so. In these situations, it is acceptable to 

use the PATH NC System history and county agency history to make a well-

informed decision. To maintain the confidentiality of the family, the Intake 

caseworker should add any additional participants found from the search of the 

PATH NC/county agency records to the narrative box rather than the participant 

section to ensure that the reporter notification letter does not include information 

that was not provided by the reporter. Reviewing a 5027 or Child Welfare 

Information System (CWIS) history for previous 210 services may be one way to 

check the family history. 

There are times when questions from a safety-oriented approach may be 

unexpected, causing the reporter to require additional time to think critically 

about the situation. The Intake caseworker may even need to be able to explain 

their questions in more detail. Some reporters will be open to engaging in a 

discussion regarding safety and others will not for various reasons. They may feel 

they have done their job by notifying the local county child welfare agency or they 

do not have any additional information regarding the family. Exception questions, 

eliciting strengths, and goal-oriented questions cause the reporter to think about 

the family’s situation and emphasizes that child safety and protection is a 

community issue that calls for collective responsibility. The Intake caseworker 

should use their professional judgement to determine the level of information that 

a reporter may have about a family based on the relationship and length of time 

the reporter has known the family. This should help guide the questions that may 

be used to elicit information.  

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/


CPS INTAKE 

Substance Affected Infants 

CPS Intake Policy, Protocol, and Guidance (March 2025) Page 18 
NC CHILD WELFARE MANUAL Return to Intake TOC Return to Manual TOC 

Protocol – What you must do Guidance – How you should do it 

Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA) requires that all 

infants identified as “substance affected” by a healthcare provider, 

receive a Plan of Safe Care. When a local county child welfare 

agency receives notification of the birth and identification of a 

substance affected infant, it must begin the process of ensuring a 

Plan of Safe Care is identified and developed for each infant by: 

● Completing a Care Management for At Risk Children 

(CMARC) referral form and  

● Submitting the referral form to the local CMARC program 

or designated alternative service. 

 

To comply with confidentiality laws and to ensure that a Plan of Safe 

Care can be created for every infant, it is important that the CMARC 

referral be made during the screening of the report and prior to 

deciding to the screening decision during the 2nd level review. 

 

Once the referral has been made, the local county child welfare 

agency must follow the guidance contained in the Child Welfare 

Resources for Substance Affected Infants and Plan of Safe Care as 

well as consult the Substance Affected Infant Maltreatment 

Definition to determine if a CPS Assessment is warranted. 

 

 

The timing of the referral is critical because confidentiality laws prohibit a local 

county child welfare agency from making the referral to CMARC if the report 

has already been screened out and child protective services are no longer 

being provided.  

Intake and Screening of the Report   

Healthcare providers have to make notification of all infants born with signs of 

withdrawal symptoms due to prenatal drug exposure or diagnosed with Fetal 

Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD) even if the situation does not necessarily 

constitute child abuse or neglect. A report that only alleges that an infant was 

exposed to substances prior to birth does not intrinsically meet the statutory 

definition of child abuse, neglect, or dependency. It is the responsibility of the 

Intake caseworker to gather enough information regarding the impact of the 

parents’ substance use on the infant to determine whether the notification 

meets the threshold to screen in a report.  

Current standard practice dictates that any information the local county child 

welfare agency obtains that is protected by federal regulations should not be 

disclosed absent a court order or proper client consent. Additionally, the name 

of the reporter must remain confidential. See OBTAINING SUBSTANCE ABUSE 

RECORDS BY COURT ORDER in the Juvenile “Court and Child Welfare” section 

of Cross Function Topics in the NC Child Welfare manual for more information 

on 42 C.F.R. Part 2 regulations. 

 

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://www.acf.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/cb/capta.pdf
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/media/9927/download?attachment
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/media/9927/download?attachment
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/child-welfare-resources-for-substance-affected-infants-and-plan-of-safe-care.pdf
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/child-welfare-resources-for-substance-affected-infants-and-plan-of-safe-care.pdf
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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Human Trafficking must be selected in the pre-screening Mandatory Questions 

if the reporter identifies concerns or the information provided causes the Intake 

caseworker to suspect that there is a concern. The Human Trafficking 

Maltreatment Allegation located in the Screening and Response Tool must be 

selected when: 

• A reporter indicates or suspects trafficking  

• The CPS Intake caseworker suspects trafficking based on the 

maltreatment allegations 

 

The narrative information must include the child’s parent, guardian, custodian, 

or caretaker information: 

• Protective capacity; 

• Willingness to take protective action; and 

• Role in the trafficking. 

 

Human Trafficking is a child who is sold, traded, or exchanged for anything, or 
to settle a debt, regardless of whether the child is used for labor or sex. 
 

For additional information about human trafficking, see Cross Function Topic: 

Human Trafficking.  

 

When asking a reporter about Human Trafficking, it may not be 

enough to simply ask the question. You may need to provide the 

definition and additional clarifying questions to help them answer 

the question.  

Perpetrators of trafficking may be family members or may pose as 

the child or youth’s parent, sibling, aunt, uncle, or significant other 

and their relationship to the child may be unclear – even to the 

reporter. 

 

Often persons who exploit children and youth through sex or labor 

trafficking make promises to children or to families that the child 

will have improved circumstances, access to education, or a job if 

the child moves from one place to another. Sometimes this involves 

moving from another country.  

 

If a child has moved from another country to the United States 

without a family member or is traveling with an adult to whom they 

are not related or with whom the relationship is unclear, it is 

possible that the child is being trafficked or is at risk of being 

trafficked. Intake caseworkers should gather as much information 

as the reporter is able to provide concerning the child and the 

child’s circumstances, including: 

• Where they are traveling from;   

• Where they are traveling to; 

• Who (if anyone) they are traveling with and their 

relationship to this person;  

• The reason for coming to the United States, as provided by 

the child, the person with whom they are traveling or with 

whom they reside; and 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/modified-manual-1/cross-function-2.pdf
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/modified-manual-1/cross-function-2.pdf
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• Any other information the reporter can provide regarding 

their concern that the child is being trafficked or is at risk of 

being trafficked. 

 

Children who have run away from home, or whose parent or 

caretaker is absent, may be trafficked or at risk of being trafficked. 

The CPS Intake caseworker should engage the reporter to obtain 

information about: 

• Child’s circumstances and access to basic needs; 

• Who is providing for these needs – food, clothing, shelter, 

etc.; 

• Whether the child is exchanging sex acts to meet these 

needs; and 

• Names, aliases, physical description, and relationship to the 

child of anyone accompanying the child or youth who is 

suspected to be dependent or who has run away. 

 

When appropriate, the Intake caseworker may provide the reporter 

with information and resources for human trafficking victims 

before a screening decision is made. Appropriate information and 

resources shared with the reporter may include but are not limited 

to: 

• National Human Trafficking Hotline Number (1-888-373-

7888); 

• Contact information for local agencies serving survivors of 

human trafficking; and 

• Contact information for statewide agencies serving 

survivors of human trafficking. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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RESPONDING TO MISSING AND ABDUCTED CHILDREN 

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

When a report involves a missing or an abducted child, the local county child 

welfare agency must notify law enforcement regardless of the screening 

decision. When the missing or abducted child is in the custody of a North 

Carolina local county child welfare agency, notification to the responsible Foster 

Care caseworker must be made. When the report indicates that the child is in 

the custody of another State, that should be included in the report to law 

enforcement.  

Any information that is obtained that could assist law enforcement with 

locating the child either through case search and/or provided by the reporter 

must be provided when law enforcement is notified. This includes information 

about the child’s appearance, last known location, medical concerns, etc.    

REQUIREMENTS FOR SUPERVISORS 

Upon notification that a child is missing or abducted, the supervisor must: 

• Within 24 hours, confirm the Intake caseworker has made notification 

to law enforcement and the Foster Care caseworker, when applicable. 

 

The Intake caseworker must include documentation in the Intake report for any 

contact information for law enforcement contacted.  

Children who are missing and abducted should be considered at a 

higher risk for Human Trafficking. North Carolina laws requires a 

report to be made to law enforcement when a child is believed to 

be missing or abducted. NCGS § 14-318.5 (c) states, “any person 

who reasonably suspects the disappearance of a child and who 

reasonably suspects that the child may be in danger shall report 

those suspicions to law enforcement within a reasonable time...” 

When the local county child welfare agency has the responsibility 

for care and placement of a child, there is the requirement to make 

notification to the National Center for Missing and Exploited 

Children (NCMEC) in addition to law enforcement. For most cases, 

the assigned Foster Care caseworker is best suited to provide this 

notification because they will have the most information about the 

child’s appearance, last known location, and whereabouts.  

Abduction of Children – Per N.C.G.S. § 14-41 “any person who, 

without legal justification or defense, abducts or induces any minor 

child who is at least four years younger than the person, to leave 

any person, agency, or institution lawfully entitled to the child’s 

custody, placement, or care…” 

Kidnapping – Per N.C.G.S. § 14-39 “any person who shall unlawfully 

confine, restrain, or remove from one place to another, any other 

person 16 years of age or over without the consent of such person, 

or any other person under the age of 16 years without the consent 

of a parent or legal custodian of such person...” 

Missing Child – Per N.C.G.S. § 143B-1011, “a juvenile as defined in 

N.C.G.S § 7B-101 whose location has not been determined, who 

has been reported as missing to a law enforcement agency, and 

whose parent’s, spouse’s, guardian’s, or legal custodian’s 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_14/GS_14-318.5.pdf
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temporary or permanent residence is in North Carolina or is 

believed to be in North Carolina.” 

Missing Foster Child – A child who has either left voluntarily 

(runaway) or involuntarily (abduction, kidnapped, or lost), and 

cannot be accounted for by the agency responsible for their care 

and placement. 

Runaway – A child who has voluntarily left their placement provider 

or home and whose whereabouts are either unknown by the child’s 

parent, guardian, custodian, caretaker, foster parent, or 

caseworker or whose whereabouts are unknown by the child’s 

parent, guardian, custodian, caretaker, foster parent, or 

caseworker but who maintains periodic contact with the 

caseworker or others. 

It is important to inform law enforcement about any circumstances 

that could severely compromise the safety of a child or youth who 

is missing.  

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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JUVENILE AND CARETAKER DETERMINATION 

 

Determine Juvenile Involvement 

Any reports of maltreatment that do not involve a juvenile will be automatically 

screened out and sent to a supervisor for a 2nd level review.  See definitions. 

However, all children living in the home of the victim child identified in the report 

must be considered alleged victim children.  

Does the Report Meet Abuse, Neglect, &/or Dependency Definitions? 

Local county child welfare agencies only have the authority to intervene when the 

allegations, if true, meet the statutory definitions of abuse, neglect, and/or 

dependency.  See definitions. 

Is the Alleged Perpetrator a Parent, Guardian, Custodian or Caretaker? 

Reports that do not involve the maltreatment of a child by a parent, guardian, 

custodian or caretaker will be automatically screened out and sent to a supervisor 

for 2nd level review, except for those alleging human trafficking. 

 

Caretaker 

Local county child welfare agencies must screen reports to determine whether the 

alleged perpetrator meets the statutory definition of a caretaker at the time the 

maltreatment occurred. See Caretaker Definition Decision Tool and definitions. 

 

Determination of Caretaker 

Extended step-relatives such as step-grandparents, step-aunts, step-uncles, and 

step-cousins entrusted with responsibility for the health and welfare of the child 

must be considered caretakers. An adult entrusted with the health and welfare of a 

juvenile is a person who has a significant degree of parental-type responsibility for 

 

 

 

The first Mandatory Question asks whether the victim is under 

the age of 18. If they are not, there is a second question asking 

whether there are any children under 18. In cases where the 

report is regarding a victim over 18 and there are additional 

children in the home, the Intake caseworker will have to 

continue to obtain the Narrative Information and complete the 

Screening and Response Tool to assess the safety of the 

children residing in the home.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

Caretaker has a legal definition that is separate from that of a 

parent, guardian or custodian. Please see the Caretaker 

Definition Decision Tool. The only exception is in cases 

regarding Human Trafficking.  

 

A temporary arrangement for supervision is not the equivalent 

of entrusting a person with the care of the juvenile. To entrust 

means the individual is responsible for the health and welfare 
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the child. The totality of the circumstances must be considered in these instances 

including: 

● The duration and frequency of care provided by the adult; 

● The location in which that care is provided; and 

● The decision-making authority granted to the adult.  

 

Local county child welfare agencies must assess whether the parent made an 

appropriate decision regarding the child’s safety and welfare when he or she placed 

the child with the relative/caretaker, regardless of whether the alleged perpetrator 

meets the caretaker definition. When allegations involve an adult who does not 

meet the caretaker definition, but provides care for the child, the parent, custodian, 

or guardian’s decision to allow the adult to provide care and their response to the 

abuse or neglect must be screened for maltreatment.   

 

When a report of maltreatment involves a person that the reporter is unable to 

identify as the caretaker the agency must mark “yes” in the system. The report 

must be accepted for assessment if it cannot be determined whether the alleged 

perpetrator meets the statutory definition of a caretaker.  

 

While every “employee or volunteer” of a juvenile justice secure detention facility is 

no longer subject to a CPS Assessment, the caretaker definition still applies to 

employees who have “responsibility for the health and welfare of a juvenile” at 

such a facility. See Out-of-Home Care Providers. 

 

Reports alleging maltreatment in boarding schools are also subject to a CPS 

Assessment based on the caretaker definition.  

 

Non-Caretaker Reports 

When a report of maltreatment is not accepted for CPS Assessment but includes 

of a juvenile with a significant degree of parental type 

responsibility for the juvenile.   

The North Carolina Supreme Court case law re: R.N.N. provides 

additional information regarding the determination of a 

caretaker. The duration and frequency of care provided, 

location in which that care is provided, and the decision-making 

authority granted to the adult has to be considered in its 

totality to determine whether an individual meets the 

definition of a caretaker. It is important to consider whether 

the parent, guardian, or custodian has relinquished their 

responsibility for the child’s health and welfare to the 

caretaker.  

In cases where a child spends a significant amount of time with 

an adult, even one who is related, but does not live in their 

home cannot necessarily be considered a caretaker if the 

parent, guardian, or custodian maintains their decision-making 

authority over the child’s health and welfare. In the above 

situations, the Intake caseworker should gather the 

information related to maltreatment of the child in conjunction 

with the caretaker’s awareness and response to the behavior to 

determine a screening decision. The statute includes “allows to 

be created.” 

Statute is specific to include certain relationships such as 

stepparents. These relationships should be liberally construed, 

and inclusive of persons connected by blood, as well as by 

marriage. 

 

In cases that the reporter is unable to identify if the person 

maltreating is a caretaker, the agency should accept the report 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://appellate.nccourts.org/opinions/?c=1&pdf=33257
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information that a child may have been physically (including sexually) harmed in 

violation of any criminal statute by a non-caretaker, the agency must: 

● Give immediate verbal notifications to the District Attorney or designee; 

● Send subsequent written notification to the District Attorney within 48 

hours; 

● Give immediate verbal notification to the appropriate local law 

enforcement agency; and 

● Send subsequent written notification to the appropriate local law 

enforcement agency within 48 hours. 

and allow the Assessment caseworker to determine the 

relationship with the child. If the person maltreating the child is 

not a caretaker, then the caretaker would need to be assessed 

for safety because the non-caretaker was “allowed” to maltreat 

the child. 

 

 

REPORTS INVOLVING A CHILD FATALITY WITH SUSPICION THAT MALTREATMENT 

CONTRIBUTED TO THE DEATH  

At the time of the fatality: 

• All children residing in the home must be identified on the Screening and 

Response Tool as victim children 

• If no other children reside in the home, the local county child welfare 

agency has no authority to intervene in the case but must make a report to 

law enforcement. The system will notify the caseworker that a report must 

be made to law enforcement and the District Attorney.  

• When the cause of death is suspected maltreatment, a report of the death 

must be made to NC DSS for a Child Fatality review.  

See the “Child Fatality Prevention and Review” section of the NC Child Welfare 

manual.  

If a child lives in a home where another child has died because 

of maltreatment, that child may also have been abused or 

neglected. It is critical that information regarding risk and 

safety be carefully gathered and evaluated to determine if the 

child has been harmed or if there is evidence or suspicion that 

the other children are being maltreated.  

When a child fatality is identified the system will provide the 

following prompt to remind the Intake caseworker to complete 

the DSS-5282.  “All known child deaths/near fatalities: must be 

reported to the State Child Welfare Office.” 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/modified-manual-1/cross-function-2.pdf
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/modified-manual-1/cross-function-2.pdf
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Is the person 

the parent (birth or adoptive), legal 

guardian or legal custodian?

YES

Is the person 

an adult member of the 

household where the child resides? This 

includes: stepparents, foster parents, potential 

adoptive parents, and any 

other adult living in 

the home.

This person is legally responsible for the health and 

welfare (care) of the juvenile.

NO

NO

This person is defined by statute as a caretaker.  

For reports regarding a foster parent and an open 

Permanency Planning case, refer to:  Reports 

Regarding an Open Permanency Planning Case in 

Intake Policy.

Is the person an 
adult (inclusive of

 persons connected by blood as well as by 
marriage) entrusted** with 

the juvenile s care?

YES
This person is 

defined by statute 

as a caretaker.  

Is the person in the 

role of a house parent or 

cottage parent who has primary 

responsibility for supervising a juvenile's health and 

welfare in a residential child care facility or residential 

educational facility, or any employee or volunteer of a 

division, institution, or boarding school operated 

by the Department of Health and 

Human Services?

This person is defined by statute as a caretaker. 

While not every employee or volunteer of a Juvenile Justice secure 

detention facility is subject to a CPS Assessment, the caretaker 

definition still applies to employees who have responsibility for the 

health and welfare of a juvenile at such a facility.

Refer to: Reports Involving Residential Setting in Intake Policy.

NO

YES

NO
This person is NOT defined by 

statute as a caretaker. 

YES

 ** responsible for the health and welfare of a juvenile or 
having a significant degree of parental-type 
responsibility for the juveniile. Circumstances to be 
considered:

• The duration and frequency of care provided,

• The location in which that care is provided, and

• The decision-making authority granted to the adult. 

CARETAKER DEFINITION DECISION TOOL

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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DUTY TO REPORT ALLEGATIONS OF MALTREATMENT IN CHILD CARE 

When a local county child welfare agency receives a report of suspected child 

maltreatment by a caregiver in a childcare facility, narrative information must be 

collected in PATH NC System, and the report will be automatically screened out 

and sent to a supervisor for a 2nd level review. 

The Division of Child Development and Early Education (DCDEE) must be notified 

within 24 hours or on the next working day and fax the DSS-5282 with the 

narrative information from the PATH NC System.  

 

 

 

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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RESIDENCE OR ALLEGED MALTREATMENT IS OUT-OF-STATE 

● When the report indicates that the case participants (child, parents/caretakers) 

residence is in North Carolina, but the location of the alleged maltreatment occurred 

out-of-state, the Intake caseworker should indicate where the incident occurred in the 

Mandatory Questions, and the county of residence must conduct the CPS Assessment. 

● If maltreatment is alleged to have occurred to a North Carolina child while out-of-state 

by an individual who is not a resident of North Carolina, the local county child welfare 

agency that received the report must refer it to the state where the alleged 

maltreatment occurred. If there are concerns regarding the decision making of the 

parents or caretakers with whom the child resides in North Carolina, then the local 

county child welfare agency must accept the report and conduct the CPS Assessment. 

Timeframes for responding to reports of abuse, neglect, and/or dependency begin at 

the time the reporter contacts the local county child welfare agency regardless of any 

jurisdictional barriers. Refer to the “Diligent Efforts” section of Cross Function Topics in 

the NC Child Welfare manual.  

● If a report alleges that a North Carolina child was subject to maltreatment in North 

Carolina by a parent or caretaker who is not a North Carolina resident, the North 

Carolina local county child welfare agency of residence must conduct the CPS 

Assessment with the other state’s assistance. 

● When the report indicates that the residence of both the child and the parents or 

caretakers is out-of-state and the location of the alleged maltreatment occurred in 

North Carolina with a different parent or caretaker than with whom the child resides, 

but the child is no longer in North Carolina, the North Carolina child welfare agency 

shall conduct the CPS Assessment with the assistance of the state where the child 

resides. However, 

o When the report indicates that the residence of the child and the parents or 

caretakers is out-of-state and the location of the alleged maltreatment 

occurred in North Carolina yet the child and parents or caretakers are no 

longer in North Carolina and there are no plans for them to return to the state, 

 

If the state where the child resides does not provide 

assistance (resulting in the child being unable to be 

interviewed), and the North Carolina child welfare 

agency makes diligent efforts to conduct the 

assessment without success, then the case may be 

closed as unable to locate.  

 

If a report is received on a child that resides in another 

state but ‘found’ in the county and the Intake decision 

was to not accept the report for CPS Assessment, the 

other state should be notified of the report and the 

county’s screening decision. This gives the resident 

state information for when the child returns and allows 

for screening based on their statue.   

 

In some circumstances, the other state when contacted 

may not accept the county's report because the 

maltreatment occurred in North Carolina, even though 

the child is a resident of their state and is in that state 

now.  

 

 

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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the child welfare agency should refer that report to the state where the child 

and parents or caretakers reside. 

o When the report indicates that the residence of both the child and the parents 

or caretakers is out-of-state and the location of the alleged maltreatment 

occurred out-of-state, the agency should refer that report to the state where 

the alleged maltreatment occurred. 

● If at any time, the local county child welfare agency where the child is found believes 

the child is in immediate danger, a petition must be filed, and a non-secure custody 

order obtained. 

See Out-of-State Decision Making Tool. 

 

REQUESTS/REPORTS FROM OUT OF STATE 

A new CPS Intake in the PATH NC System must be completed when another state requests that 

NC continue to provide protective services to children and their families who are now living in 

NC. NC must determine if: 

• NC has statutory authority to intervene (allegations must meet NC definitions) 

• The child is in NC in violation of the Interstate Compact for the Placement of Children 

(ICPC)  

o If court action took place prior to the child(ren) being in NC, a referral to the 

ICPC office must be made.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Referrals to the ICPC office assures compliance with 

the ICPC regulations and the continuation of 

appropriate services to the family. See Permanency 

Planning in the NC Child Welfare manual. 

 

 

 

 

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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Out of State Decision Making Tree 
 

Child Residency 
/ Location 

Alleged Perpetrator 
Residency 

Location of Alleged 
Maltreatment 

County Responsible 
for CPS Assessment 

 

 

Child is a 
resident 
of NC? 

YES 
Perpetrator 

a resident 
of NC?  

YES 

NO 

YES 

NO 

Alleged 
Maltreatment 

Occurred in 
NC? 

YES 

Child found 
in NC? 

NO* 

NO 

Alleged Maltreatment 
Occurred In or 
Out of State 

This decision tree is not all inclusive. There may 
be situations where a county child welfare 
agency answers no (at asterisk*) and based on 
the information obtained: 

Screens in and assigns a CPS assessment in 
North Carolina and 
Requests assistance from that state. 

Within the Intake report, provide documentation 
with jurisdiction for decisions. 

Refer report to the 
state where the 

child resides. 

No further action. 

 

Refer report to the state where the 
alleged maltreatment occurred. 

 

NC Child Welfare agency of 
residence must conduct the 

CPS Assessment with the 
other states assistance. 

NC Child Welfare agency of 
residence must conduct the 

CPS Assessment. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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REPORTS INVOLVING OPEN CHILD PLACEMENT CASES 

Any new maltreatment and/or incident that meets the legal definitions of abuse, neglect, 

and/ or dependency received at any time during the child receiving Child Placement 

Services, must be documented and managed as a new report and the agency must 

conduct a prompt and thorough assessment of the maltreatment allegations.  

Additional requirements are contained in “Conflict of Interest” in Cross Function Topics in 

the NC Child Welfare manual.  

REPORTS INVOLVING OUT-OF-HOME CARE PROVIDERS 

Reports that allege a child is being maltreated by an out-of-home care provider, and the 

out-of-home provider meets the definition of caretaker per G.S. §7B-101, the local county 

child welfare agency must complete a CPS Assessment using the Investigative 

Assessment Track.  

In cases where the report alleges that the child has been maltreated by a licensed foster 

parent/group home, a notification must be made to NC DSS within 5 days to ensure 

Licensing and Regulatory are aware. NC DSS licenses all foster parents, therapeutic foster 

parent, and level 1 group homes. This notification must be made for ALL homes with a 

foster care license regardless of whether there is currently a foster child in the home. This 

also includes notification when the victim child is the biological or adopted child of the 

licensed foster parent and there is a foster child in the home.  

A notification must be made to the Division of Health Service Regulation for all mental 

health group homes (i.e., Level 2, 3, 4 and Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facility 

(PRTF)) within 5 days.   

Additional requirements are contained in “Conflict of Interest” in Cross Function Topics in 

the NC Child Welfare manual. 

 

REPORTS INVOLVING OPEN CHILD PLACEMENT CASES 

Children in Out of Home placement may share 

additional information about abuse and neglect after 

being removed from their home. If the information 

meets the statutory definition, it must be investigated. 

In situations where the biological parents have had 

their parental rights terminated and the child discloses 

allegations regarding maltreatment committed by 

their biological parents, the report must be screened 

out. NCGS § 7B-1112. states, “An order terminating 

the parental rights completely and permanently 

terminates all rights and obligations of the parent to 

the juvenile and of the juvenile to the parent arising 

from the parental relationship, except that the 

juvenile's right of inheritance from the juvenile's 

parent shall not terminate until a final order of 

adoption is issued.” A notification must be sent to Law 

Enforcement and the District Attorney’s office.  

If the allegations provided meet the statutory 

threshold and the reporter is aware of other children 

in the home of the biological parent that could be at 

risk, it should be screened in.  

Licensing and Regulatory maintains information 

regarding licensed foster homes/group homes and 

should be included in the process to ensure that if 

there are concerns for abuse, neglect, and/or 

dependency that actions can be taken to ensure that 

no additional children are harmed.  

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://www.ncleg.gov/enactedlegislation/statutes/html/bysection/chapter_7b/gs_7b-1112.html
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REPORTS INVOLVING INSTITUTIONAL PLACEMENTS 

When a report alleges that a child is maltreated in an institutional placement and the 

person alleged to have maltreated the child is entrusted with the child’s health and 

welfare, the report must be accepted for CPS Assessment. This includes a correctional 

officer or any employee with the Division of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention 

that has responsibility for the health and welfare of a juvenile. 

Screened in reports on institutional placements must be assigned as an Investigative 

Assessment Response and referred to law enforcement when required. Only children 

identified as victims must be the subject of the Investigative Assessment. However, other 

children in the institutional setting must be considered as victims if an assessment of the 

circumstances warrants the inclusion of those children in the Investigative Assessment. 

Additional requirements are contained in “Jurisdiction” in Cross Function Topics in the  

NC Child Welfare manual. 

REPORTS INVOLVING CHILDREN LIVING IN AN INSTITUTIONAL SETTING WHERE A CHILD 

HAS DIED DUE TO SUSPECTED MALTREATMENT 

 

When a report of a juvenile's death, because of suspected maltreatment in an 

institutional setting, such as a residential child care facility or residential educational 

facility is received: 

● The local county child welfare agency must immediately determine if other 

juveniles remaining in the facility are subject to the alleged perpetrator's care or 

supervision; and 

● If so, assess the circumstances of those juveniles to determine whether they 

require protective services or whether immediate removal of those juveniles from 

the facility is necessary for their protection (N.C.G.S. §7B-302(b)).   

If a report is received and the person alleged to have 

abused or neglected the juvenile is an employee that 

is not entrusted with the child’s care such as the cook, 

the janitor, the groundskeeper, etc., the report would 

not be accepted for CPS Assessment but reported to 

law enforcement. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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MULTIPLE REPORTS INVOLVING THE SAME CHILD OR FAMILY 

If a CPS report is received that describes maltreatment allegations and the 

incident is currently being assessed through an open CPS Assessment: 

● The information must be on the Screening and Response Tool in the 

PATH NC System, screened-in, and merged with the current open 

assessment.  

● The report may not require a new initiation; therefore, a 

determination of the response timeframe is unnecessary.  

A new CPS Intake must be created when new maltreatment allegations that 

meet the legal definition of abuse, neglect, and or dependency are received 

from the public while there is an open CPS Assessment (i.e., not uncovered 

by the Intake caseworker as a part of the initiation in an open Assessment). 

The new information is considered a new report and must be responded to 

within time frames determined in the Screening and Response Tool. There 

must be one assessment and one case decision that addresses every 

screened in allegation regardless of whether there are multiple reports.  

 

There are times when a local county child welfare agency may receive 

a report describing maltreatment and incidents that were previously 

assessed during a CPS Assessment that has closed. The agency should 

consider all new information in making its screening decision. If there 

is information that has not been assessed and meets the statutory 

definition, the report should be screened in.  

Information that an Intake caseworker obtains from a collateral 

contact during an open CPS Assessment related to the allegations 

presented in the report do not constitute a new report or obligate the 

local county child welfare agency to send a reporter notification letter 

to that individual. Information that an Intake caseworker obtains from 

a collateral contact during an open CPS Assessment regarding a new 

incident or information outside of the allegations presented in the 

report that meet the statutory definition of abuse, neglect, and/or 

dependency must be screened using the Screening and Response Tool 

and responded to based on the determined timeframe.  

 

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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REPORTS INVOLVING OPEN CPS IN-HOME SERVICES CASES 

Any new maltreatment and/or incident that meets the legal definitions of abuse, 

neglect, and/or dependency received at any time during a CPS In-Home Services case 

must result in the creation of a new CPS Intake and a prompt and thorough 

assessment of the allegations.  

The county with the open CPS In-Home Services case must be the county responsible 

for conducting the assessment of any new screened in reports, unless there has been 

a change in residence.  

Refer to “New Assessment on Open In-Home Case” in In-Home in the NC Child 

Welfare manual. 

 

This includes information from collaterals involved with the 

family who provide the information to the current 

caseworker providing In-Home services. A collateral should 

not be expected to know the difference between making a 

report to the caseworker involved with the family and a 

formal call to the Intake line for the agency.  

 

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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The family’s (child’s) county of residence is responsible for conducting the 

CPS Assessment, except in cases where there is a Conflict of Interest (COI) 

present. When there is a COI, another local county child welfare agency 

must conduct the assessment.  

The narrative information must be collected by the local county child welfare 

agency that receives the report and then the report must be sent in the 

PATH NC System to the local county child welfare agency conducting the CPS 

Assessment for screening in the Screening and Response Tool. Verbal 

confirmation must be obtained by the local county child welfare agency 

sending the report for screening.  

Transition into the PATH NC System: When a county that is in the PATH NC 
System receives a report that is a COI the local county child welfare agency 
must take the information from the reporter and put it in the PATH NC 
System. If the county receiving the COI report is in PATH NC System, then the 
information gathered must be sent in the system for screening and response 
by the receiving county.  
 
If the county receiving the COI is not in the PATH NC System, then 
information gathered from the reporter must be printed out and immediate 
notification made to the county receiving the report. The sending county 
must ensure that it is received and then the receiving county must screen 
the report and if accepted determine the assessment track and response 
time based on the CPS Intake policy.  
 
When a county that has not transitioned into the PATH NC System receives a 
report that is a COI the local county child welfare must take the information 
on the current DSS-1402, make immediate notification to the other county 
regardless of whether they are in the PATH NC System or not. The 
information gathered from the reporter will be sent to the county receiving 
the COI for a screening decision and, if warranted, an assessment track and 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As all 100 counties transition into the PATH NC System there will be 

counties that are in the system and counties that have not 

transitioned yet. This means that counties will be operating under two 

different screening and response processes. For counties that have not 

transitioned into the system they will continue use the DSS-1402 and 

CPS Intake Policy to make screening and response decisions. Counties 

that have entered in PATH NC System will use the Structured Decision-

Making (SDM) Tool that is a part of the system for screening and 

response and the SDM Intake Policy. 

 

When additional information is needed to complete the screening 

process, the reporter can be contacted by the receiving county when 

available. In cases where the reporter is unavailable the Intake 

caseworker will make a screening and response decision based on the 

information that they received. 

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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response time determination. The county sending the information must 
ensure that it is received.  
 
If the county is in the PATH NC System the information must be entered into 
the system and use the SDM Screening and Response Tool. 
 
The county completing the conflict of interest must make a screening 

decision and, if accepted, determine the assessment track and response 

time UNLESS the information provided in the report is urgent and requires 

an immediate response by the agency receiving the report. Verbal 

notification must also be made informing the county of the child’s location 

and that initiation has begun by the county receiving the report. 

See “Conflict of Interest” in the Cross Function manual in the NC Child 

Welfare manual for further information regarding a local county child 

welfare agency’s responsibility when there is a conflict of interest. 

 

 

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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SCREENING AND RESPONSE  TOOL 

Use of the Screening and Response tool: 

● Must occur for every CPS report: 

o Regarding a child under the age of 18, and 

o Alleging abuse, neglect, and/or dependency by a parent or caretaker, and/or 

human trafficking  

● Provides for accurate, consistent, and equitable screening across the state; and   

● Determines whether the allegations meet the legal definitions of abuse, neglect 

and/or dependency.   

● Determines a Response Time based on the urgency with which the local county child 

welfare agency needs to respond.   

 

Intake caseworkers must have a current knowledge of statutory guidelines to identify and 

categorize child abuse, neglect and/or dependency allegations. They must also be able to 

interview a reporter in a way that elicits the reporter’s concern. Intake caseworkers must 

consider the child’s age, developmental status, other child vulnerabilities, and current family 

life events. The local county child welfare agency has the authority to intervene only when 

the allegation, if true, would meet the legal definitions. The appropriate maltreatment must 

be selected based on the maltreatment screening tools. 

 

The first progress tab in the Screening and Response Tool is the Screening and Connecting 

Maltreatments. There are three maltreatment allegation screening criteria: Abuse, Neglect 

and Dependency. The Intake caseworker must select each maltreatment allegation subtype 

that corresponds to the reporter’s concern and the documented referral narrative.  

 

The Intake caseworker must connect the participants to the maltreatment types chosen 

prior to moving to the next section. 

 

 

 

The CPS Intake Tool (DSS-1402) is an information 

gathering tool. NCDHHS, Division of Social Services 

partnered with Evident Change to develop a 

Structured Decision Making (SDM) Tool to assist 

Intake caseworkers in making accurate, consistent, 

and equitable decisions regarding reports of abuse, 

neglect, and/or dependency are received.  The 

Screening and Response Tool has been built into the 

PATH NC system. 

 

The Abuse criteria includes Human Trafficking, 

Physical Abuse, Sexual Abuse, Emotional 

Abuse/Mental Injury, Moral Turpitude. The 

Abandonment criteria covers a child of any age who 

has been abandoned. The Neglect criteria includes 

Death of a child when maltreatment is suspected 

and other children are remaining in the home, 

Physical Neglect, Medical Neglect, Educational 

Neglect, Illegal Transfer of Custody, and Parent 

Request to Dismiss Safe Surrender. The Dependency 

criteria covers Caretakers' Incapacity and Safe 

Surrender Infants.  
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DETERMINATION OF COUNTY OR STATE ASSIGNMENT 

The intake decision determines if there is a valid Child Protective Services (CPS) 

report, how quickly the agency needs to respond, and which local county child 

welfare agency is responsible for conducting the CPS Assessment. 

 

COUNTY ASSIGNMENT 

The Intake caseworker and supervisor managing the CPS Intake must: 

● Screen the report; 

● Determine if the maltreatment alleged in the report is sufficient to warrant 

intervention based on suspected abuse, neglect, and/or dependency;  

● Determine how quickly the agency needs to respond; 

● Determine which local county child welfare agency is responsible for 

conducting the CPS Assessment; and  

● Send the reporter notification letter. 

● Send all other required notifications (i.e. Law Enforcement, DA, DCDEE, DHSR, 

Military, RAMS)  

 

When a reporter contacts a county where the child does not reside, the county 

receiving the report must still take all the information from the reporter and make 

verbal notification to the county where the child resides.  The county where the child 

resides must make a screening decision and, if accepted, determine the assessment 

track and response time UNLESS the information provided in the report is urgent and 

requires an immediate response by the agency receiving the report. Verbal 

notification must also be made informing the county of the child’s location and that 

initiation has begun by the county receiving the report. 

Additional requirements are contained in the “Conflict of Interest” section in the 

Cross Function manual of the NC Child Welfare manual. 

The Intake caseworker should gather the demographic and 

narrative information, current location of the child as well as 

any other information needed to make an accurate screening 

decision.  When the Intake caseworker determines there is a 

conflict of interest or that the child does not reside in their 

county, the Intake caseworker must send the information in 

the system to the county that is responsible for assessing the 

report to complete the Screening and Response Tool in the 

system. The county with the conflict of interest must make 

verbal notification and receive confirmation from the 

receiving county so that a timely assessment can be initiated. 

The Intake caseworker should not expect the caller to find 

the correct number to call or make the call to another DSS 

agency. The caller should be advised that their name and 

information will be referred to another agency and that, if 

necessary, this agency may call the reporter seeking more 

information. The caller should also be advised that this 

agency will also send them a five-day notification letter.   

The process of referring the report shall be immediate. The 

timeframe for initiation begins with the first contact with the 

reporter. The responsibility for ensuring that the transfer of 

information occurred lies with the county screening the 

report. 
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DETERMINATION OF ASSESSMENT APPROACH AND RESPONSE PRIORITY  

After completing the Screening Criteria, if one of the maltreatment types is 

selected, the Intake caseworker will be guided by the system to complete 

the Assessment Track and Response Time. PATH NC is designed to support 

consistency in the Response Time and Assessment Track by selecting based 

on the maltreatment types and allegation characteristics chosen.  

The Response Time and Track progress tab determines the time frame for 

the response for all reports accepted for a CPS Assessment (Immediate—8 

hours, within 24 hours, or within 72 hours) and track (Family Assessment or 

Investigative Assessment). Intake caseworkers will be directed to the 

appropriate response matrix, based on the allegation type.   

The first matrix includes allegations of abuse and certain identified neglect 

cases: child fatality, near fatality, human trafficking, abuse (physical, sexual, 

emotional, moral), or abandonment. 

The second matrix includes allegations of neglect and/or dependency 

allegations only. 

If the report includes allegations on both response matrices, the Intake 

caseworker will complete the first matrix (abuse, abandonment, child 

fatality, near fatality, human trafficking).  

All reports that are screened “in” must be assigned for response according to 

the allegation characteristics selected in the Response Time and Assessment 

Track progress tab. This will be auto populated based on completion of the 

tool. 

 

Supervisory Override: An agency may always respond more quickly 

than the indicated time if there are circumstances or lack of 

information that indicate the child is possibly at greater risk than 

indicated by the Response Tool. An agency may not choose a response 

time that is longer than the indicated response time.  

 
 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/


CPS INTAKE 

Intake Decision Making 

CPS Intake Policy, Protocol, and Guidance (March 2025) Page 40 
NC CHILD WELFARE MANUAL Return to Intake TOC Return to Manual TOC 

Protocol – What you must do Guidance – How you should do it 

DEFINITIONS OF FAMILY ASSESSMENT AND INVESTIGATIVE ASSESSMENT 

FAMILY ASSESSMENT RESPONSE  

A response that is: 

● Family-centered; 

● Protection- and prevention-oriented; and 

● Evaluates the strengths and needs of the juvenile’s family, as well as the condition of the juvenile. 

 

The Family Assessment response is appropriate for reports that contain allegations meeting the statutory 

definitions of neglect and/or dependency and does not meet the following allegation characteristics: 

• Child exposed to methamphetamine lab/fentanyl;  

• Medical neglect of an infant with life-threatening condition;  

• Child is in custody of child welfare, family foster home or residential facility;  

• Physician or law enforcement has taken emergency custody;  

• A hospitalized child due to suspected neglect; 

•  or OTHER reason described.  

 

INVESTIGATIVE ASSESSMENT RESPONSE  

A response to reports of child abuse and selected reports of child neglect and dependency that is a formal 

information gathering process to determine whether a juvenile is abused, neglected, or dependent. 

The Investigative Assessment response is appropriate when reports include an allegation of child fatality, near 

fatality, human trafficking, abuse, or abandonment (physical, sexual, emotional, moral).  

If response track for neglect or dependency includes any of the following, the response must be changed to 

Investigative Assessment: 

• Child exposed to methamphetamine lab/fentanyl;  

• Medical neglect of an infant with life-threatening condition;  

• Child is in custody of child welfare, foster care or residential care;  

• Physician or law enforcement has taken emergency custody;  

•  or OTHER reason described. 

 

Family centered is not the same as 

family friendly. The primary role of 

Child Protective Services is to ensure 

the safety of children. Being family 

centered requires caseworkers to 

focus on solutions that allow 

children to remain safely with their 

families BUT does not negate the 

statutory requirement to remove 

children from unsafe situations 

when there are no other options at 

the expense of getting along with 

the family.  
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ASSIGNMENT OF ASSESSMENT APPROACH  

Regardless of the assignment to either CPS Assessment response, when the local county child welfare agency 

receives a valid CPS report, the agency must act to ensure the safety of the child through the provision of 

protective services. 

As the timeframe for responding to reports of abuse, neglect, and/or dependency begins at the time the 

reporter contacts the local county child welfare agency, assignment of the report for assessment must occur 

as soon as the Screening and Response tool is completed. 

 

 

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/


CPS INTAKE 

Intake Decision Making 

CPS Intake Policy, Protocol, and Guidance (March 2025) Page 42 
NC CHILD WELFARE MANUAL Return to Intake TOC Return to Manual TOC 

Protocol – What you must do Guidance – How you should do it 

TWO-LEVEL DECISION CONSULTATION 

Two-level decisions must occur on every CPS Intake completed. The 

screening decision(s) must include a discussion between the Intake 

caseworker and a supervisor (or other management position) about Step 1 

and Step 2 of the Screening and Response Tool. 

  

All persons participating in the screening decision must sign or approve the 

Screening and Response Tool where indicated. 

 

 

Two-level decisions for CPS Intake reports should involve the assigned 

caseworker and that worker’s supervisor. However, there may be 

circumstances that require another Intake caseworker or another 

supervisor or a higher-level manager in the agency to participate in a 

review or the decision making.  

When a supervisor does not have access to a higher-level manager for 

a 2nd level review when screening an Intake report, the supervisor may 

send to another supervisor for the 2nd level review. 
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DISTRICT ATTORNEY / LAW ENFORCEMENT NOTIFICATION 

 

REPORTS OF ABUSE 

Reports of abuse by a parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker that may meet the criminal 

definitions of child abuse must result in a notification to the District Attorney and Law 

Enforcement.  

G.S §7B-307 directs that when there is evidence that  

 

• the child may have been abused as defined by G.S. § 7B-101 by the parent, 

guardian, custodian or caretaker,  

 

The local county child welfare agency must:  

a) Give immediate verbal notifications to the District Attorney or designee;  

b) Send subsequent written notification to the District Attorney within 48 hours  

c) Give immediate verbal notification to the appropriate local law enforcement 

agency; and  

d) Send subsequent written notification to the appropriate local law enforcement 

agency within 48 hours. 

e) Notification to the appropriate military authority that there is evidence of abuse 

of a juvenile by a parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker with that military 

affiliation. 

 

REPORTS OF NEGELCT (Unsafe Discipline) 

In instances of parental child neglect/unsafe discipline where the injuries amount to   
misdemeanor child abuse according to statute, the local county child welfare agency must: 

• Give immediate verbal notification to the appropriate local law enforcement 
agency; and 

• Send subsequent written notification to the appropriate local law enforcement 
agency within 48 hours  

 

 

 

 

The receipt of a report is considered evidence of 

abuse and or violation criminal misdemeanor or 

felony child abuse.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Notification to the military authority of the alleged 

perpetrator only takes place there is evidence of 

abuse of a juvenile by a parent, guardian, custodian, 

or caretaker with that military affiliation. 

 

 

 

Examples of situations in which non-caretaker reports 

are to be made to the District Attorney and Law 

Enforcement include reports alleging assault on a child 

by educational personnel; reports alleging sexual 

molestation of a child by a stranger; reports alleging 
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NON-CARETAKER REPORTS 

G.S. §14-318.6 requires that any person 18 years of age or older who knows or should have 

reasonably known that a child has been or is the victim of criminal misdemeanor child abuse 

defined under G.S. 14-318.2 or felony child abuse §14-318.4 must notify the local law 

enforcement agency.  

In instances of physical harm to a child that violates any criminal statute by a Non-

Caretaker, including instances of unsafe discipline that amount to misdemeanor child abuse, 

the local child welfare agency must: 

• Give immediate verbal notification to the appropriate local law enforcement 

agency; and  

• Send subsequent written notification to the appropriate local law enforcement 

agency within 48 hours  

• Give immediate verbal notifications to the District Attorney or designee;  

•  Send subsequent written notification to the District Attorney within 48 hours 

Notification Requirements:  

• Juvenile Victim:  Name, Age, Address, Current whereabouts 

• Parent, Guardian, Custodian, Caretaker: Name, Address 

• Alleged Offender:  Name, Age, Address 

• Other Juveniles present or in danger: Name and Age 

• Nature, extent or conditions of offense 

 

Definitions in Criminal statutes: 

Misdemeanor child abuse (§14-318.2) is defined as any person (caretaker and non-

caretaker) who: inflicts, allows to be inflicted creates a substantial risk of physical injury by 

non-accidental means. Failure to report crimes against juveniles carries a penalty of Class 1 

misdemeanor. 

maltreatment of a child by staff of an acute physical 

care hospital.  

 

 

In some cases, local law enforcement may be 

investigating the actions of the person who is 

reported to be directly responsible for the harm to the 

child while the local county child welfare agency 

assesses the parent or caretaker's behavior that 

contributed to the alleged abuse or neglect. Other 

situations are clearly the responsibility of law 

enforcement as far as investigation and court action 

are concerned.  
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Felony child abuse (§14-318.4) 

• Serious bodily injury (G.S. §14-318.4(d)(1) Bodily injury that creates a substantial risk 

of death or that causes serious permanent disfigurement, coma, a permanent or 

protracted condition that causes extreme pain, or permanent or protracted loss or 

impairment of the function of any bodily member or organ, or that results in 

prolonged hospitalization. 

• Serious physical injury (G.S. §14-318.4(d)(2) Physical injury that causes great pain 

and suffering. The term includes serious mental injury.  

• Sexually Violent Offense (G.S. §14-208.6(5)) This also includes the following: an 

attempt, solicitation, or conspiracy to commit any of these offenses; aiding and 

abetting any of these offenses.  

• Violent Offense (G.S. 14-318.6(5)) any offense that inflicts upon the juvenile serious 

bodily injury or serious physical injury by other than accidental means. This term 

also includes the following: an attempt, solicitation, or conspiracy to commit any of 

these offenses: aiding and abetting any of these offenses. 

REPORTER NOTIFICATION 

For all CPS Intake reports, there must be documentation that: 

a) Written notice was sent to the person making the report within  

5 working days after receipt of the report;  

b) The person making the report waived their right to notice; or 

c) The person making the report refused to provide identifying information. 

The notice to the reporter must include: 

a) A statement about whether the report was accepted for CPS Assessment based on 

statutory definitions and citing the relevant statutes, and identify the type of CPS 

Assessment that includes a brief description  

b) The date the report was made; 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The requirement for written notification does not 

negate the local county child welfare agency’s ability 

to share the screening decision with the reporter 

through other means prior to receipt of the 5-day 

letter if the inquiry is an effort to provide protective 

services to the family. Examples of such situations 

include a hospital social worker wanting to know the 

screening decision prior to a child’s discharge, or a 

police officer who is waiting for an initiating 

caseworker to arrive on the scene.  

 

Reference G.S. 7B-309 for specific information about 

the immunity of persons reporting and cooperating in 
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c) The identity of the alleged victim child; for instance, if the reporter specifically 

identifies the name of a child, use that name; however, if the name is unknown, use 

the descriptor given by the reporter; 

d) Information regarding the process by which the reporter may obtain a review of the 

agency’s decision not to accept the report for CPS Assessment; 

e) A statement about whether the report was referred to the appropriate state or local 

law enforcement agency; 

f) The identity of the county responsible for conducting the CPS Assessment, if 

different than the county that received the Intake; 

g) Information and resources on human trafficking, if the report is screened out;  
h) A statement that encourages the reporter to contact the agency if more information 

or concerns regarding the child or family surfaces; and 

i) The name and contact information for the assigned caseworker, the supervisor, or 

other identified person. 

If a reporter describes the exact same allegations and incidents that are currently being 

assessed, the local county child welfare agency must still provide the notification, even if 

they may not have been the initial reporter.   

 

NOTIFICATIONS INVOLVING OUT-OF-HOME PLACEMENTS 

Refer to “Conflict of Interest” in Cross Function Topics in the NC Child Welfare manual for 

notifications required for out-of-home placements.  

an assessment. This can be found in the policy and 

legal basis section of the CPS Intake Manual.  

 

 

 

 

 

Appropriate information and resources to the 

reporter may include, but are not limited to: 

• National Human Trafficking Hotline Number 
(1-888-373-7888); 

• Contact information for local agencies serving 
survivors of human trafficking; and, 

• Contact information for statewide agencies 
serving survivors of human trafficking. 
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MALTREATMENT TYPE  

Each maltreatment type is listed below and includes when a report must 

be accepted. Any subtypes that match the narrative information 

provided by the reporter must be checked in the system. 

 

ABUSE 

Human Trafficking 

A report regarding a child being directly or indirectly given, promised, or 

received in exchange for anything regardless of whether the child is used 

for labor or sex, or to satisfy a debt must be screened for assessment. All 

reports with allegations of human trafficking must be screened for 

assessment regardless of the perpetrator’s status as a caretaker. Human 

trafficking does not require the perpetrator to be a caretaker. 

 

Child Sex Trafficking: A child who has been or is at risk of being recruited, 

harbored, transported, provided, solicited, patronized, or obtained for 

the purpose of sex acts, for anything given or received by any person. 

This does not require an act of force, fraud, or coercion. 

 

Child Labor Trafficking (involuntary servitude of a child): A child who has 

been allowed, forced, or coerced into performing labor in settings or 

activities that typically require employment. This can also include 

children working long hours for little to no pay and working in places or 

engaging in activities that are illegal for children to perform.  

 

Child Trafficking: A child exchanged for anything or as settlement for a 

debt. This does not have to include the child being used for labor or sex.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Human Trafficking 

In cases where the perpetrator is not a caretaker, it is critical that the Intake 

caseworker obtain as much information as the reporter has regarding the 

caretaker and their knowledge of the situation 
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Physical Abuse 

Serious Physical Injury 

Any report received where the allegations are serious physical injury 
inflicted or allowed to be inflicted on a child by a caretaker or a 
caretaker allowing others to inflict serious physical injury must be 
accepted for assessment. Serious physical injury can be an intense, acute 
injury OR characterized by the child suffering lasting pain. Injuries may 
be current or in different stages of healing. Serious physical injury 
examples include: 

 
• Bruising, lacerations, welts, bites, or swelling on the head, face, eyes, 

throat, chest, belly/abdomen, genitalia, or other sensitive and 
vulnerable areas of the body;  

• Extensive bruising, welts, bites, or swelling and any lacerations on 
legs, arms, back, or buttocks;  

• Fractured/broken bones;  
• Injuries requiring medical attention, even if medical attention has 

not been sought; and  
• Patterns of burns consistent with maltreatment (e.g., cigarette 

burns, immersion burns).  
 

The injuries listed above are not intended to be an all-inclusive list but 
are an indication of information that does warrant an Investigative 
Assessment. Any allegations that result in the injuries listed above 
regardless of the caretakers’ intent must be screened in as Abuse under 
Severe Physical Injury.  

 
Unexplained Physical Injury 
Allegations received that include a serious physical injury to a child, 
consistent with the definition above, that is not explained, or the 
explanation is not plausible or consistent with the injury, or the 
perpetrator is unknown must be accepted for assessment under this 
item. This item must also be selected when any injury to a non-cruising 
child that is not explained, or the explanation is not plausible or 

 

Serious Physical Injury 

Serious Physical Injury includes corporal punishment and injuries to the 
child as a result of domestic violence. There may be circumstances where a 
child has bruises that do not rise to the level of abuse but are considered 
unsafe discipline (refer to the Unsafe Discipline Maltreatment Screening 
Tool), as well as situations where there may be bruising and there is no 
abuse or neglect. Gathering all the information the reporter has will be 
important to making the correct screening decision. For reports of 
discipline that do not result in serious physical injury and that have 
harmed the child or present a risk of harm, including reports of children 
three or younger subject to corporal punishment, review Physical abuse – 
Excessive or cruel punishment and Neglect – Unsafe discipline.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unexplained Physical Injury 
These reports may come from a healthcare provider stating that the injury 
is consistent with non-accidental injuries, or an injury observed by the 
reporter where the child and caretaker are unable to provide an 
explanation for how the injury occurred. It is also important to consider 
the child’s age, developmental and activity level. 
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consistent with the injury is reported no matter how minor. This is called 

a Sentinel injury.  

 
A Sentinel injury is a visible, poorly explained small injury such as a 
bruise on any part of the body or intraoral (mouth) injury in a pre-
cruising child often from abuse and can precede more serious abuse. 
“Cruising” means the child can pull to a stand and take a few steps 
holding onto something. Children typically learn to do this between 8 
and 11 months of age. A child with a small bruise from abuse may have 
severe internal injuries, so additional medical screening is necessary.  
 
Excessive or Cruel Punishment 
This includes any child who is three years old or younger, non-verbal, or 
limited by developmental, behavioral, or physical disabilities with any 
marks or injuries as a result of physical discipline/corporal punishment. 
Use of any of the following discipline must be accepted for assessment: 

• Actions that cause injury or pain  

• Forced ingestion of non-food items or dangerous amounts of food 
or water 

• Use of ropes, duct tape, blankets or other restraints that restricts 
the child’s movement. This does not include placing a child in a 
room or chair for a short period. 

• Forced actions of the child such as extensive running, lifting, or 
physical chores that are beyond the child’s reasonable ability 

• Actively and intentionally withholding or restricting access to basic 
needs such as food, clean drinking water, clothing, shelter, toilet 
and hygiene facilities to the extent that the child endures pain, 
illness, or injury. 

 
Substantial Risk of Physical Harm 
When a report is received with allegations that the caretaker is engaging 
in dangerous behavior toward or near the child and the behavior could 
cause serious physical injury the report must be accepted for 
assessment. This includes: 

 
 
 
Examples of Sentinel injuries include: 

 

• Bruises, regardless of size or color of bruise, anywhere on the body  

• Injuries inside and outside of the mouth (e.g., bruising to tongue, cuts 
in mouth)  

• Broken blood vessels or red spots in the eyes (e.g., subconjunctival 
hemorrhages) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Substantial risk of physical harm should also be considered in situations 
where caretakers are providing drugs or alcohol to children. The Intake 
caseworker should consider the age and what substance was given to the 
child as well the outcome of providing the substance to the child.  
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• A punch to the head, stomach genitals, or other vulnerable body 
area that leaves no visible injury 

• Choking, smothering, or disruption of a child’s airway 

• Driving a vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol (illegal, 
prescription or over the counter) with the child in the vehicle. This 
does not require a criminal charge or an accident to have occurred 
for acceptance of a new report. The act alone is abuse because it 
“allows to be created” without their being a negative outcome.  

 
This item also includes when a caretaker makes a credible threat of 
serious physical harm to the child that would be accepted for child abuse 
if carried out. A credible threat would include an articulated plan that is 
likely to occur without intervention. A caretaker who is preoccupied with 
thoughts or who describes situations in which they think about harming 
a child should be screened in for assessment.  
 
When a reporter expresses concerns about abuse occurring if a 
caretaker is left unsupervised, a report must be accepted. A report must 
also be accepted if there is credible information that a current caretaker 
is responsible for the death or serious injury of a child due to abuse and 
there is now another child living in the home. This also includes 
situations when the caretaker knows that the environment has a 
substantial risk for serious non-accidental abuse or injury and allows the 
child to remain in the environment. 

 

Sexual Abuse 
Sexual Act on a Child by an Adult Caretaker or Other Adult in the 
Household 
Sexual abuse includes rape, intercourse, sodomy, fondling, oral sex, 
incest, or sexual penetration-digital, penile, or foreign objects.  Any 
report that includes a child’s disclosure, medical evidence, and/or a 
credible witnessed act of sexual contact by a caretaker or other adult in 
the home on a child must be accepted. This could include: 

 
In cases where the parent is withholding a medication child welfare should 
also assess the substantial risk of physical harm when a medication is 
being withheld and what impact the refusal has on the child.  

  

When there are allegations of a parent’s provision of drugs or alcohol or 

withholding of a medication and the behavior does not meet the statutory 

threshold for abuse, neglect, Unsafe Supervision should be considered.  

  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Sexual Abuse 
For reports that include child on child sexual behavior to include siblings 
engaging in sexual activity, unsafe supervision should be reviewed for a 
screening decision. 
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• Physical contact with the child’s breasts, buttocks, or genitals, or 
with other parts of the child’s body in a sexualized manner. 

• Directing, coercing, encouraging, allowing and/or forcing contact 
between the child and the caretaker’s breasts, buttocks, genitals, or 
other parts of the caretaker’s body in a sexualized manner. 
 

Physical or Behavioral Indicators Consistent with Sexual Abuse 
When there are concerns that a child has been harmed sexually, the 
perpetrator is unknown, and the caretaker or adult household member 
cannot be ruled out a report must be accepted for assessment. Some 
indicators include:  

• A pre-adolescent child that has a sexually transmitted infection, 
symptoms of a sexually transmitted infection, or otherwise 
unexplained injuries to the child’s genital or anal area.  

• A child that has initiated or participated in sex acts that are outside 
the realm of developmentally normal preadolescent exploration 
and adolescent behavior. It may occur with caretakers, family 
members, or peers. Consider the child’s age, developmental status, 
and any power or age differential when assessing this item. 

• A child that has initiated sexual acts or activities with caretakers, 
family members, or any other adult in their life.  

• A child that complains of pain in the genital or anal area with no 
physical explanations for the pain. 
 

Exposure to Sexually Explicit Conduct or Materials 
The caretaker or other adult in the household knowingly permits or 
provides child access to pornographic or harmful sexual material or the 
witnessing of sexual acts must be accepted for an assessment. This 
includes a caretaker or adult household member sending sexually 
explicit photos or videos of themselves, “sexting,” and engaging in 
sexually explicit phone calls (phone sex), video calls, or conversations 
with a child. This does not include incidents that are accidental or 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
When the report for maltreatment includes a suspicion of a Sexually 
Transmitted Infection (STI), it is important to clarify the specific type of 
infection and the recommended treatment needs.  
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inadvertent unless the report indicates that the behavior is persistent or 
frequently occurring.  
 
Sexual Exploitation 

Any caretaker who photographs, films, or depicts a child in a sexually 
suggestive or explicit way, including live streaming must be assessed. 
This includes caretakers who allow, permit, or encourage a child in their 
care to be used in a sexually suggestive or explicit way for the purpose of 
photographing, filming, recording (audio, visual, or both), or live 
performance or video. Caretakers who allow, permit, or encourage the 
child to engage in sharing photos, videos, or live stream of themselves in 
a sexually suggestive or explicit way must also be screened in for 
assessment. If any of these activities involves the exchange of anything 
for the activities listed above, the child sex trafficking item must also be 
selected.  
 
Knowingly Allowing a Person with a History of Sexual Offenses Against 
Minors to Have Unsupervised and/or Unrestricted Access to the Child 
In situations where there is unsupervised access or the concern for it to 
exist with a child and an individual with a record of sexual crimes toward 
children, or for whom credible evidence suggests there is a history of 
child sexual abuse perpetration without a criminal record must be 
accepted for abuse. This does not have to be a caretaker and can include 

family members, neighbors, or friends of the caretaker who do not live 
in the home and have unrestricted access to the home.  Allegations can 
include a knowing caretaker or one who should reasonably know the 
history of the sexual offender. Reports should be accepted regardless of 
whether the reporter is aware of the caretakers’ knowledge or not.  
 
Substantial Risk of Sexual Abuse 
When the report includes allegations that the caretaker’s behavior 
causes a concern that the child is at substantial risk of sexual abuse a 
report must be accepted. This includes but is not limited: 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Intake caseworker must assess the totality of the allegations being 
presented when determining if there is grooming taking place. It is 
inappropriate to screen in a report when favoritism is the only thing being 
reported. 
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• Grooming: verbal, written, or physical behavior not overtly sexual 
but likely designed to prepare a child for future sexual abuse. This 
could look like a deliberate and escalating pattern of actions taken 
to lower a child’s inhibitions (e.g., treating the child as “more 
special” than other children, talking about sexual topics that are age 
inappropriate, commenting on physical traits/changes of the child, 
escalating touching from innocent to inappropriate, and 
“accidental” self-exposure by the adult).   

• A caretaker who views or possesses child pornography. 
 
Emotional Abuse, Mental Injury 

Reports must be accepted when there are allegations that the 
caretaker’s action or inaction has led to a child’s severe anxiety, 
depression, withdrawal, or aggressive behavior towards themselves or 
others. There may be single incidents or a pattern of behavior that 
would be of lesser concern if it was a single incident. Examples include, 
but are not limited to:  

• A caretaker who rejects or refuses to acknowledge the child’s worth 

and the legitimacy of the child’s needs by singling out one child to 

criticize or punish, belittling the child, or shaming the child.  

• A caretaker who threatens the child with being sent away or tells 

the child he/she is unwanted.  

• A caretaker who treats the child differently from other children in 

the home, does not allow the child the same food as the rest of the 

family and withholds other provisions provided to the rest of the 

household, and/or physically separates the child from the family.  

• A caretaker who publicly humiliates the child in the guise of 

discipline (e.g., making an older child wear a diaper for bedwetting, 

forcing the child to wear soiled clothes to school, removing the 

child’s hair).  
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Emotional abuse also includes a caretaker terrorizing and/or creating a 

climate of fear by verbally assaulting or bullying the child with the 

intention of causing the child to experience extreme fear. Actions could 

include but are not limited to:  

• A caretaker who harms and/or threatens harm to self, child, or 
loved ones, including pets.  

• A caretaker who harms animals in front of the child and/or places 
the child in dangerous situations.  

• A caretaker who makes credible threats or there are previous 
situations and/or examples of the caretaker carrying out acts that 
produce fear in the child that it will happen again.  

• A child who is experiencing reasonable fears of retribution or 
retaliation from the caretaker.  

• A child’s fearful response escalates at the mention of home, people, 
and/or circumstances associated with reported incidents.  

 
When a caretaker uses isolation and ignoring in an extreme manner that 
is to the detriment of the child, it must be assessed for emotional abuse. 
This would be a caretaker who limits interactions, deprives the child of 
essential stimulation and responses, or cuts the child off from normal 
opportunities for social or cultural interaction, preventing the child from 
forming familial bonds or friendships and making the child believe that 
he/she is alone in the world. This would not include limited planned 
ignoring of behaviors or time out.  

 
Allegations must be screened if a caretaker tells the child to go ahead 
and harm themself when the child threatens suicide.  
 
Moral Turpitude, Encouraging and Enabling Delinquent Offense 
Reports that include allegations that the caretaker encourages, 
condones, or approves the commission of delinquent acts by the child 
must be accepted. Acts include any activity by the child that would be 
criminal for an adult, AND the commission of the acts is shown to be the 
result of the encouragement and/or approval of the caretaker. This also 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Moral Turpitude, Encouraging and Enabling Delinquent Offense 
When a caretaker supports or encourages smoking, consuming alcohol, 
disregarding curfew laws, or other offenses that apply to juveniles (i.e., 
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includes a caretaker that places the burden of criminal activity on the 
child. Some examples include but are not limited to a caretaker who has 
the child carry illegal drugs and/or participate in drug selling and/or 
forcing, encouraging, or enabling a child to steal from individuals or 
businesses. Please note: When the allegation involves sex trafficking 
and exploitation, select the child sex trafficking allegation. 
 A report must also be accepted for moral turpitude in situations where 
the caretaker has knowledge that the child is engaging in illegal activities 
and responds by encouraging it to continue.  

 
 

status offenses) they should be considered under neglect, unsafe 
supervision, or other neglect allegations. 
When making screening decisions about emotional abuse, it is important 

to question the reporter about the child’s mental and physical status.  

 

It is concerning for possible emotional abuse if the parent/caretaker sees 

the child as responsible for their problems. This could be a situation where 

one child has been identified as the scapegoat of the family, and the child 

bears the blame for anything that goes wrong within the family system.  
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NEGLECT 

Death of a Child  

A report received regarding a child fatality AND concerns for abuse or neglect 

by a caretaker caused or contributed to the death of a child AND other 

children reside in the home must be screened for assessment. It is important 

to consider the information the reporter provides even if the reporter does 

not raise suspicion. The report must be accepted if the safety of the children 

who continue to reside in the home is at risk based on the information 

presented.  

 

A report accepted for death of child must be assigned to the Investigative 

Assessment Track with an Immediate Response Time.  

 

 

 

Physical Neglect 

All reports that allege a caretaker is not providing proper care, supervision, 

discipline, or necessary medical and/or remedial care must be accepted for 

assessment. This must be determined based on the needs of the child.  

 

 

 

 

 

Unsafe Living Conditions 

When information is received by the local county child welfare that a child’s 

physical living condition is harmful and/or contains hazards that have led or could 

lead to the child’s injury or illness if not resolved. The allegations must be 

considered in relation to the child’s age, developmental and physical concerns. 

Some examples to consider (this is not an all-inclusive list) include a home:  

 

Death of a Child 

Additional questions that can be asked to assist with determining 

whether to accept a report include:  

• Did an otherwise healthy child die of unknown causes? 

• Was the caretaker co-sleeping with the child while under the 

influence? 

• Did the child suffer a fatal gunshot wound unsupervised? 

• Did the child overdose on any substance while unsupervised?  

• Did the child drown in any type of body of water while they were 

without supervision? 

• Was there an unexplained or suspicious head trauma or internal 

injury? 

 

Physical Neglect 

The necessary care of some children may exceed what is commonly 

considered normal. This may be the result of medical or mental health 

conditions, developmental delays, and/or other child characteristics. In 

cases where the child’s baseline requires additional care that the caretaker 

is not providing should be assessed for the impact on the safety of the 

child. This should include resources and services that the family is 

connected with to assist the child.  

 

Unsafe Living Conditions 

When considering whether a child has adequate shelter it is important to 

consider whether the family has a shelter regardless of the temporary 

nature of that space. It is also critical to consider the space itself and 

whether the physical structure itself is safe. The state of the shelter is also 

important in determining its safety.  

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/


CPS INTAKE 

Maltreatment Types       Attachment A 

CPS Intake Policy, Protocol, and Guidance (March 2025) Page 57 
NC CHILD WELFARE MANUAL Return to Intake TOC Return to Manual TOC 

Protocol-What you must do Guidance-What you should do 

• That has been condemned or is a fire hazard. 

• With exposed heaters, gas fumes, or faulty wiring 

• With no access to fresh water, sanitary waste-management conditions 

• With broken windows or stairs that pose a danger to children 

• With human or animal excrement 

• With insect or vermin infestations 

• With unsecured/inappropriately stored and easily accessible firearms 

• With exposure to fentanyl and/or methamphetamine or other drug 

manufacturing lab (A screened in case for fentanyl and/or 

methamphetamine or other drug manufacturing lab must receive an 

Investigative Assessment response)  

• That includes persistent unsafe sleeping conditions especially for infants 

younger than one year old 

• With heavy traffic due to substance use or criminal activity. 

• Where another child was the victim of abuse or neglect. 
 

An assessment of unsafe living conditions must also include situations when a 

child is exposed to the elements. The caretaker must ensure that the child has 

adequate shelter.  

 

Unsafe Clothing and Hygiene 

Reports that include allegations that a caretaker is not meeting a child’s basic 

needs for clothing and/or hygiene and it is impacting the child’s daily 

activities or will be adversely impacted without intervention must be 

accepted. This can be demonstrated by a child developing or suffering 

worsening of an injury or illness (e.g., sores, infection, tooth pain or loss, 

severe diaper rash, physical illness, hypothermia, or frostbite).  

 

 

 

Please Note: Substance use is no longer a separate maltreatment 
type. The use of substances alone, regardless of its legal status or 
whether it is taken as directed, is not considered neglect.  
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Unsafe Food/Nutrition 

The report should be screened in when a caretaker is not providing sufficient 

food or hydration to meet minimal nutritional requirements for the child. 

When the only information available is that there is no food in the home, the 

report must be accepted for assessment. The Intake caseworker must include 

any diagnosis or indicators of non-organic failure to thrive made by a qualified 

medical professional. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Unsafe Supervision 

When allegations include that the child is left alone or inadequately 
supervised and the child has been injured or the child could have been 
injured due to the caretaker’s lack of attention or supervision must be 
accepted for assessment. This includes situations in which the caretaker is 
physically present, but unable or unwilling to meet the child’s supervision 
needs. Examples include but must not be limited to the following: 
 

• A child younger than 8 years old has been left alone.  

• A child of any age that has been left unsupervised with 
responsibilities beyond the child’s capabilities.  

• A child in the care of an older sibling or minor babysitter who cannot 
or will not provide adequate care and supervision.  

Unsafe Food/Nutrition 

A child that experiences significant lack of food or hunger due to lack 

of food should be considered for screen in, but the Intake caseworker 

should consider statements from the reporter about what food is in 

the home as well as access to food through schools, family, and 

neighbors’ homes where the children spend significant time. 

Consideration should be given to community resources such as meal 

programs and food distribution that the family has accessed to meet 

their needs.  

 

The parent/caretaker needs to provide sufficient food for the child to 

prevent nutritional deficiencies. A report would be accepted in 

situations where adequate food has not been provided for a 

timeframe that interferes with the health needs of the child based on 

age and other conditions. A CPS Assessment to determine whether 

food neglect exists must occur when a child shows symptoms of 

malnutrition, dehydration, or food poisoning. 

 

Unsafe Supervision 

The Intake caseworker should gather additional information about any 
child that has been left unsupervised to include whether there are 
measures in place including a support system, ability and knowledge of 
the child to make contact in the case of an emergency. These things 
should be considered in relation to the child’s age, developmental 
ability, and mental health. This consideration should also include the 
location of the child and the length of time alone and the time of day. 
When the babysitter or older sibling providing supervision is a minor 
their age, developmental ability, and mental health should also be 
considered in regard to whether they are capable of providing care to 
others. If a caretaker is aware of a child’s previous behaviors that 
indicated that they needed a more structured supervision plan and the 
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• The adult caretaker is not meeting the child’s needs for supervision, 
considering the child’s age and developmental status.  

• Child-on-child sexual abuse occurs or continues due to lack of 
supervision.  
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Unsafe Discipline 

Children who are four and older who receive reports that include physical 

discipline that results in minor bruises, welts, or other soft-tissue injuries on the 

buttocks, back, legs, and/or arms that do not require medical attention must be 

accepted for assessment.  

 

This is not the appropriate screening decision for children of any age with 

allegations that include choking, blocking the child’s airway and/or punching or 

kicking in the head, stomach, or vulnerable areas, regardless of whether an injury 

is visible. These allegations must be screened as physical abuse.  

 

Children three years old and younger should not be subject to corporal 

punishment. Any allegations of marks on a child three years old or younger 

because of physical discipline must be screened for Physical Abuse-Excessive or 

Cruel Punishment. 

 

 

caretaker failed to put one in place, a report should be considered 
based on the safety of that child with the past behaviors.   

It is important to get sufficient information at Intake regarding the 
behavior of the parent(s), as well as the behavior of the minor 
child(ren). When the parent has no knowledge of the child’s sexual 
activity, the child’s age, behaviors, and developmental level as well as 
any power and control dynamics between the children impact whether 
a CPS Assessment should be accepted.  

In situations where a caretaker is consuming alcohol/drugs with the 
child, unsafe supervision should be considered as the parent may not 
be providing adequate supervision. 

Unsafe Discipline 
The Intake caseworker should consider the totality of the 
circumstances, including severity of discipline, child’s age, any 
developmental delays, and whether the child is medically fragile or 
otherwise more vulnerable when determining if the punishment is 
screened as neglect or abuse. It may be necessary to review Physical 
Abuse – Serious physical injury inflicted by action of caretaker or 
Physical Abuse – Excessive or cruel punishment to make the correct 
screening decision. 
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Exposure to Violence in the Home/Injurious Environment 

In situations where a child has been exposed to or is aware of violence and 
there is a lack of attention to the impact it has on the child’s welfare must be 
accepted for assessment. This item also includes an environment that is 
injurious to the child. Examples include but must not be limited to: 

• A child in a household where an adult is the victim of physical assault, 
sexual assault, or mental injury by an intimate partner. 

• A child who has seen, heard, tried to intervene in, or is aware of 
physical altercations, verbal threats of violence, or intimidation 
between adults in the home. This could be a single incident that 
resulted in injury to or arrest of a caretaker or involve the use of a 
weapon. This could also be a pattern of behavior that would be of 
lesser concern if it was a single incident.  

 
In reports where allegations include a child who has been injured or 
threatened with injury, Physical Abuse must also be screened. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Substance Affected Infant 
Any infant born exposed to substances that are not attributed to medical 
treatment to include medication-assisted treatment, and exposure is 
indicated by any of the following: 

• Infant's positive toxicology screen for drugs or alcohol, other than 
prescribed AND  

Exposure to Violence in the Home/Injurious Environment 

For the purposes of child welfare, the Intake caseworker should consider 
Domestic Violence(DV) as violent or abusive behavior or threats of 
violence by someone to gain and maintain power over, control, and/or 
harm a member of their family or someone with whom they have or 
have had an intimate relationship. These relationships include but are 
not limited to current and former spouses; common-law or dating 
partners; and immediate or extended family members by blood or 
marriage, such as grandparents or stepparents. These may be 
relationships between any genders, including same-sex partnerships. 
This does not include violence between a caretaker and a minor child. 
 
Intimate Partner Violence (IPV), previously referred to as domestic 
violence, is a pattern of coercive control against one or more intimate 
partners. This pattern of behavior may continue after the end of a 
relationship or when the partners no longer live together. The 
perpetrator’s actions can directly involve, target, and impact children 
in the family.  
 
If there is an allegation of abuse directly related to IPV and the alleged 
perpetrator is a caretaker, the allegations should be considered for 
acceptance. The adult victim of IPV should not be identified as a 
perpetrator unless the allegations include them playing an active role 
in the safety concerns of the child.  
 

 

Substance Affected Infant 

Medication-assisted treatment means the use of pharmacological 

medications administered, dispensed, and prescribed in a Substance 

Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)– 
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• a medical impact to the child (i.e. hospitalization as a direct 
result of withdrawal or medical condition that requires ongoing 
medical care that is directly attributed to the drugs or alcohol in 
the child's system); OR 

• demonstrating behavioral impact on the parent's ability to care 
for the infant; OR  

• there are other maltreatment concerns, including the parent’s 
ability to care for the infant OR a pattern of substantiations or 
findings. 

• A mother’s positive toxicology screen at delivery for drugs or alcohol, 
other than as prescribed AND there is the demonstration of a 
behavioral impact on mother’s ability to care for the infant;  

• A mother’s positive toxicology screen at delivery for drugs or alcohol, 
other than as prescribed AND a pattern of substantiations, findings, 
or services for substance use;  

• An infant has one of the following diagnoses: fetal alcohol syndrome 
(FAS), partial FAS, neurobehavioral disorder associated with prenatal 
alcohol exposure, alcohol-related birth defects, or alcohol-related 
neurodevelopmental disorder.  
 

If a report alleges that an infant had a positive drug toxicology screen or is 
experiencing withdrawal symptoms AND it is known that the drug is a 
medication prescribed to the mother that is being used appropriately (as 
prescribed by the provider), then the report should not be accepted on this 
basis alone. This includes medication-assisted treatment of opioid use 
disorders.  
 
 
 
Parent, Guardian, or Custodian Has Refused to Follow the 
Recommendations of the Juvenile and Family Team 
Any reports where the parent, guardian, or custodian is refusing to follow the 
recommendations of the Juvenile and Family Team, AND this refusal causes 

accredited and certified opioid treatment program or by a certified 

practitioner licensed in North Carolina to practice medicine, in 

combination with counseling and behavior therapies to promote a 

whole-patient approach to the treatment of substance use disorder. 

 

During the screening process, a child welfare agency may share 
confidential information with public and private agencies that are 
providing or facilitating protective services.  To comply with 
confidentiality laws and to ensure that a plan of safe care can be 
created for every infant, it is important that the CMARC referral be 
made during the screening of the report and prior to deciding to the 
screening decision. The timing of the referral is critical because 
confidentiality laws will prohibit a child welfare agency from making 
the referral to CMARC if the report has already been screened out and 
child protective services are no longer being provided.    

Please Note: Substance use is no longer a separate maltreatment 
type. The use of substances alone, regardless of its legal status or 
whether it is taken as directed, is not considered neglect. It becomes 
problematic when the substance use rises to the level that the 
caretaker is willing to place their needs to satisfy the addiction above 
providing proper care to the child. The Intake caseworker should 
gather as much information as possible about the caretaker’s use and 
its impact on the safety of the child. The Intake caseworker should 
consider whether the behaviors should be accepted under one of the 
other maltreatment types and document the substance use in the 
narrative box. 

Parent, Guardian, or Custodian Has Refused to Follow the 
Recommendations of the Juvenile and Family Team 
All allegations should be considered and may require the Intake 
caseworker to review other Maltreatment types. The Intake 
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abuse, neglect and/or dependency or puts the juvenile at substantial risk of 
harm must be accepted for assessment. There must be abuse, neglect, and/or 
dependency or a substantial risk of harm to the child as a result of non-
compliance for a report to be accepted for assessment.  
 
Juvenile and Family Team is a component of Juvenile Justice specifically 
designed to develop court-ordered recommendations for services and 
compliance for vulnerable juveniles, defined as “any juvenile who, while less 
than 10 years of age but at least 6 years of age, commits a crime or infraction 
under State law or under an ordinance of local government, including 
violation of the motor vehicle laws, and is not a delinquent juvenile.” 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Medical Neglect 
Physical Health 
When allegations include a caretaker delaying, refusing, or failing to seek, 
obtain, and/or maintain necessary medical, dental, hearing, and/or vision 
care and the caretaker knows or should have known that the decision would 
adversely impact the child must be accepted for report.  
 
This item includes a caretaker missing or not scheduling appointments, 
rehabilitative therapies, or other necessary medical, dental, hearing, or vision 
care and this resulted in the child’s deteriorating health, lingering illness, or 
exacerbating an injury. 
 
 
 
 

caseworker should gather as much information as possible regarding 
the impact the non-compliance of the parent is having on the safety of 
the child. 
 

The juvenile court counselor serves the vulnerable juvenile through 
case management services for up to nine months. Article 27A includes 
the following list of services that can be recommended: 

• Attend all scheduled meetings with the juvenile court 
counselor. 

• Attend all parental responsibility classes. 

• Obtain medical, surgical, psychiatric, or psychological 
evaluation or treatment for the vulnerable juvenile or 
parent/guardian/custodian. 

• Comply with recommendations of the juvenile court 
counselor. 

 
 
 
Medical Neglect 
Physical Health 
If the child has exceptional needs, such as being medically fragile, which 
the parent/caretaker does not or cannot meet, a CPS Assessment may 
be warranted. Such actions may include but are not limited to the 
following: 

• Withholding or failing to obtain or maintain medically 
necessary treatment for a child with acute or chronic medical 
conditions that impact quality of life or are life threatening.  

• Failing to provide comfort measures to infants and children 
with a life-threatening condition.  
 

Failure to provide the child with immunizations or routine well child 
visits in and of itself does not constitute neglect. A parental decision 
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Mental Health 
A report should be accepted when a caretaker delays, refuses, or fails to seek, 
obtain, and/or maintain necessary mental health and substance use 
treatment and the caretaker knows or should have known that the decision 
would adversely impact the child.  
 
This item includes a caretaker: 

• Missing appointments, therapies, or other mental/behavioral health 
care for a child with a diagnosed mental/behavioral health condition. 

• Withholding or failing to obtain or maintain necessary treatment for 
a child with life-threatening, acute, or chronic mental/behavioral 
health conditions. 

• Failing to obtain or withholding substance use treatment for a child 
with a known substance use concern.  

 
 
Educational Neglect 
Any caretaker that fails to ensure that their school-age child (ages seven 
through 15, or age of enrollment if younger than seven) is provided with an 
education must be assessed for educational neglect.  
  
Some additional examples of allegations that must be accepted include:   
 

not to provide a child with behavior modification medication in and of 
itself does not constitute neglect. 
 
An allegation of neglect based solely on a child having head lice is not 
appropriate for CPS Assessment. This condition could arise in any 
number of ways and is not, in and of itself, an indicator of neglect. 
Collecting information regarding the parent/caretaker’s attempts 
towards treating head lice, as well as, whether public health has 
intervened is important. 
 
Mental Health 
Mental health conditions include serious depression, anxiety, and 
substance use concerns with behaviors such as:  
 

• Suicidal/homicidal ideation, action, or attempts  

• Self-harm  

• Overdose/near overdose 
 
A situation in which a child refusing to attend their scheduled 
appointments with a therapist while the caretaker is making every 
effort to support and encourage the child to keep the appointment is 
not sufficient information to accept a report. A parental decision to 
decline behavior modification medication does not necessarily 
constitute neglect. 
 
 
Educational Neglect 
In North Carolina, children between the ages of seven and sixteen 

must be enrolled in a public school or an equivalent or receive private 

instruction through home schooling. This includes children under the 

age of seven who have been enrolled in school (i.e. a five year old who 

has been enrolled in Kindergarten) Educational neglect may take the 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/


CPS INTAKE 

Maltreatment Types       Attachment A 

CPS Intake Policy, Protocol, and Guidance (March 2025) Page 64 
NC CHILD WELFARE MANUAL Return to Intake TOC Return to Manual TOC 

Protocol-What you must do Guidance-What you should do 

• A child between the ages of seven through 15 (school-age child) who 
is not enrolled in school AND is not registered in a homeschooling 
program with the Division of Non-Public Education.  

• A reporting source that is not school personnel and has no details 
about the school’s action to engage the caretaker with concerns that 
a school-age child has excessive unexcused absences during the 
academic year that are negatively impacting the child.  

• A reporting source that is not school personnel and has no details 
about the school’s action to engage the caretaker with concerns that 
a school-age child is not receiving a sanctioned education.  

• A caretaker who refuses to allow or fails to obtain recommended 
special education or remedial education services for a school-age 
child.  

• A school-age child who has excessive unexcused absences this 
academic year, and despite formal intervention by the school, the 
school reports that the caretaker has been unable to be contacted, 
has been uncooperative with school officials, or cannot provide an 
appropriate explanation for the child’s absences. Intervention by DSS 
must occur only after the school's efforts have proven to be unable to 
ensure the child's attendance. 

• Other situations in which the information provided indicates that the 
caretaker refuses to allow or appears unable to support the child in 
attending school, including allegations that child is working or caring 
for other family members rather than meeting minimal schooling 
requirements or school attendance.  

 
Transfer of Custody (Illegal Placement/Adoption) 
When a report includes allegations that a caretaker transferred the physical 

custody of the child in violation of an adoption, court order, or lawful 

authorization to an individual that does not have a substantial relationship 

with the child AND is not a relative must be accepted for assessment. This 

includes:  

form of failure to home school, to register, or to enroll a child of 

mandatory school age. Educational neglect may take the form of 

permitted chronic truancy, failure to enroll or provide alternative 

education, or inattention to special education needs.   

 
When a report is made by school personnel, the Intake caseworker 
should gather additional information regarding the school’s 
engagement with the family and any attempts to engage the 
caretaker. N.C.G.S. §115C-378 describes a school principal's 
responsibilities with regards to children who are repeatedly absent 
and the circumstances in which a principal must notify DSS regarding 
unlawful absences. The allegation of chronic truancy does not pertain 
to children who willfully refuse to attend school. When the report is 
from the school, they should report a completion of the entire court 
process and the disposition prior to the acceptance of a report for 
educational neglect. 
 

The North Carolina Court of Appeals found neglect where a father 

refused to send his mentally handicapped child to public school, and 

its special education programs, because the father insisted on 

educating his children at home. In re Devone, 86 N.C. App. 57 (1987) 

the court noted that the child needed additional stimulation outside 

the home and that denial of the remedial care available in the public 

schools constituted neglect and lack of proper care.   

 

Transfer of Custody (Illegal Placement/Adoption) 

An adoptive parent, or their designee may pay medical expenses, 

counseling services expenses, and/ or reasonable or actual expenses 

for ordinary living expenses, etc. for a mother. 
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• A caretaker was paid or accepted an offer of payment (it does not 
have to be monetary) for the placement or adoption of a child.  

• A caretaker who places a child with an alternate caregiver without the 
authority to do so.  

• A child placed in violation of the Interstate Compact on the Placement 
of Children. 
 

PARENT REQUESTS TO DISMISS SAFE SURRENDER  
A parent who safely surrendered their infant and has contacted the agency to 
regain custody of the infant must be accepted for assessment. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

ICPC is a legally and administratively sound means of placing children 

across state lines with the same safeguards and services that are 

available when they are placed within their own state. Placements 

across state lines require the cooperation of agencies in ensuring that 

potential placements are evaluated for suitability and that supervision 

will be provided for the time necessary to determine that the 

placement is in the child's best interest. 

 
PARENT REQUESTS TO DISMISS SAFE SURRENDER  
This can only be selected in circumstances in which the agency 

determined that the infant’s surrender met criteria for Safe Surrender 

infant, and the person requesting custody can demonstrate, or there is 

reason to believe, they are a parent that safely surrendered the infant. 

Please see § 7B-527.  Rights of surrendering parent for additional 

information.  

 

The Intake caseworker should accept the report for Family Assessment as 

long as there are no other contributing factors or additional maltreatment 

allegations that would require an Investigative Assessment. 

 ABANDONMENT 

A report must be accepted when the reporter alleges that the parent is not willing 

to provide care for the child and the non-legal caretaker no longer wishes or is no 

longer able to continue. This includes the parent/caretaker: 

• Establishing a new residence without the child. 

• Leaving the child longer than the planned time without communication or 

support for the child 

• Has deserted the child without a plan for return. 

• Refuses to accept the child back home AND has not participated in finding 

an alternative placement. 

ABANDONMENT 

Abandonment is a conscious decision made by the parent/caretaker 

to leave the child and a clear demonstration that the 

parent/caretaker does not intend to resume parental responsibilities 

for the child. In reports where there are no safety concerns and the 

person providing care is seeking a legal arrangement to continue 

providing care for the child, they should be directed to the appropriate 

county resources rather than accepting it for assessment. It may be 

necessary for the Intake caseworker to consult with their legal counsel for 

the appropriate county resources.  
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• Removed the child from the home and/or refuses access and has not 

provided a suitable alternative.  

 

NCGS § 7B-302(a) requires workers to send a request to law enforcement to 

investigate through the North Carolina Center for Missing Persons and other 

National and State resources to determine whether the child has been reported 

missing when the report alleges abandonment. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DEPENDENCY 

When a caretaker is unable to care for a child as a result of incarceration, 

hospitalization, physical or mental incapacity AND there is no safe alternative a 

report must be accepted. Dependency also includes when a caretaker’s ability is 

substantially impaired to the extent that they are unable to meet the child’s basic 

needs. This could be due to a prescribed medication, physical illness, or emotional 

state that affects alertness, availability, and decision making.  A report for 

dependency should be accepted in cases where a child is being discharged from a 

hospital or facility and the caretaker has communicated that they are unable to 

In cases where there are no safety issues and the person providing care is 

having trouble enrolling the child in school, the Intake caseworker should 

refer them to NCGS § 115C-366.  

 

The Intake caseworker should elicit additional information in cases 

involving a mental health or medical facility who is reporting that a 

caretaker is refusing to come and get a child. If the caretaker is unable to 

provide care for the child safely in the home, then a dependency 

screening decision should be reviewed.  

 

Informal caretakers are placements made by the parent, custodian or 
legal guardian outside of child welfare input. In cases where informal 
caretakers who do not have a legal arrangement are seeking 
assistance in achieving a legal arrangement; and there are no safety 
concern, should be directed to appropriate county resources rather 
than screening in the referral for abandonment. A Intake caseworker 
should consult with their legal counsel on the appropriate county 
resources to assist the informal caretaker with accessing legal 
custody.  
 

DEPENDENCY 

If the caretaker has made a care plan for the child with a safe adult or 
is otherwise able to safely mitigate the impact of their incapacity on 
the child, this item should not be selected. 
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meet the needs for the child safely in the home AND has participated in 

attempting to find an appropriate placement.   

 

SAFE SURRENDER INFANT 

A report for dependency must be accepted for all infants less than 30 days old 

who are safely surrendered by a parent voluntarily delivering the infant to one of 

the safe persons listed below and does not express an intent to return for the 

infant. 

• A health care provider, as defined under G.S 90-21.11, who is on duty or 

at a hospital or at a local or district health department or at a nonprofit 

community health center. 

• A first responder who is on duty, including a law enforcement officer, a 

certified emergency medical services worker, or a firefighter. 

• A social services worker who is on duty or at a local department of social 

services 

 

If, after the infant has been safely surrendered, the parent returns for the child the 

report must be accepted for a family assessment to ensure the safety of the 

home.  

 

 

 

SAFE SURRENDER INFANT 

It is important to note that in North Carolina the infant must be safely 

surrendered to a person. While there are instances listed in statute that 

identify places, the requirement is that the child be given to one of the 

identified “safe” persons.  

 

NCGS 7B-522 states that any of the safe persons listed who takes an 

infant into temporary custody must perform any act necessary to protect 

the physical health and well-being of the infant and immediately notify 

the department of social services in the county where the infant is 

surrendered. If the child the child is surrendered to any of the safe 

persons the individual may inquire as to the parents' identities, the date 

of birth of the infant, any relevant medical history, and the parents' 

marital status and may advise the parent that if the parent provides that 

information, it may facilitate the adoption of the child. However, the 

parent must also be notified that they are not required to provide the 

information. The individual, if practical, shall provide the surrendering 

parent with written information regarding the next steps. 

 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/


CPS INTAKE 

Response Time and Track Attachment B 

CPS Intake Policy, Protocol, and Guidance (March 2025) Page 68 
NC CHILD WELFARE MANUAL Return to Intake TOC Return to Manual TOC 

The purpose of the response matrix is to provide structure for the determination of how quickly the CPS Assessment must be initiated. The response 

matrix will be introduced in the CWS for all reports accepted for assessment. Intake caseworkers will be directed to the appropriate response matrix, 

based on allegation type. If the report includes allegations on both response matrices, the Intake caseworker will complete Matrix A (Child Fatality, Near 

Fatality, Human Trafficking, Abuse, and Abandonment Allegations) before moving to Matrix B if additional allegations exist. The Intake caseworker 

should select all conditions that apply. 

Consider child’s age and developmental status, allegation severity, access of alleged perpetrator, and presence in the response criteria. After choosing 

the correct criteria the matrix will provide the appropriate response time (immediate—8 hours, within 24-hours, or within 72-hours). For an immediate 

response, initiation must occur at once, immediately after completion of the Intake report. The response should never exceed 24 hours for a report 

alleging physical or sexual abuse. The response should never exceed 72 hours for a report alleging neglect or dependency.  

The responsibility to ensure safety begins at Intake. If the local county child welfare agency selects an initiation timeframe other than what the 

corresponding Response Matrix indicates, the decision must be documented and approved by a supervisor or higher management level. A report 

response time may be changed to initiate sooner, but CWS will not allow a report to be initiated at a later time.  

 

Protocol-What you must do Guidance-What you should do 

DETERMINING RESPONSE TRACKS 

All reports accepted for assessment for child fatality, near fatality, human 
trafficking, abuse, and abandonment must be screened in as an Investigative 
Assessment.  
 
Reports accepted for neglect or dependency are Family Assessments except 
when they include any of the following, the response type must be changed to 
an Investigative Assessment and responded to immediately or within 24 hours 
depending on the characteristics: 
 

• A child is exposed to a methamphetamine lab  

• Medical neglect of a disabled infant with a life-threatening condition  

• A child is in the custody of child welfare or placed in foster care, group 
home, or residential care  

• A physician or law enforcement officer has taken emergency custody  

• A child is admitted to the hospital due to suspected abuse or neglect  
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DETERMINING RESPONSE TIMES 

Immediate 

The situation is currently unsafe/harmful or will deteriorate to unsafe/harmful 

within the next 24 hours. Consider the child’s age and developmental status, 

allegation severity, access of alleged perpetrator, and presence or absence of 

other responsible adults. 

 

 

An injury to a child age 3 years or younger. 
 
 
 
A child is afraid to go home and/or has a credible fear of experiencing abuse in 
the care of the alleged perpetrator within the next 24 hours.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

It is critical to assess the information available regarding the current 

situation and expected safety or lack of safety for children who are 

limited by disability or are 5 years of age or younger. This includes 

but is not limited to a life-threatening situation in the next 24 hours, 

a perpetrator who will have access in the next 24 hours and whether 

there is a high risk of harm, and access to weapons, illegal drugs, etc. 

 

Child is exhibiting behavioral indicators of fear, and this fear is 
attributable to an allegation and/or the reporter provides credible 
evidence of a threat to the child’s immediate safety. Child’s fear of 
parental response or discipline due to poor grades or behavior must 
reach the level of concern for child safety. Children express fear 
through different, sometimes contradictory, behaviors. These may 
include:  
 

• Kicking, screaming, biting, spitting, throwing things;  

• Shaking, quivering, crying uncontrollably;  

• Running away, hiding, trying to escape the predicted 
dismissal or departure time;  

• Zoning out, emotionally distancing from others;  

• Hypervigilance/exaggerated response to doors opening, 
phones ringing, cars approaching;  

• Physically distancing self from others. Finding a space (under 
table, desk, bed where visual and auditory input are 
decreased) and avoiding being touched or making eye 
contact;  

• Covering ears, closing eyes, and tucking in arms and legs as 
much as possible; and  

• Seeking protection behind an adult, under the adult’s desk, 
or in the corner of an adult’s office/home.  
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A child needs urgent or emergent medical or mental health care for illness or 
injury due to alleged abuse.  
 
 
 
 
 
A family may leave their current location and CPS may not be able to find 
them.  
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Forensic considerations would be compromised with a slower response.  
 
 
No food in the home or otherwise available to the children. 
 
A child under the age of 8 is currently alone.  
 
A child 12 years or younger who self-reports to the county DSS agency.  
 
A Safe Surrender Infant 
 
When abuse allegations do not meet immediate response criteria then they 
should be given a 24-hour response. 
 

The child requires immediate medical attention due to serious 
condition or injury. If attention is not provided, the child’s health 
and well-being will be permanently affected. This includes injury 
treatment and/or evaluation that is needed or currently in progress, 
including dental care. Do not include medical examination 
completed solely for forensic purposes.  
 

Information shared by the reporter indicates the family may flee, the 
child may become inaccessible, or Intake caseworkers will be unable 
to locate the family. Examples include but are not limited to the 
following: 
 

• The caretaker and/or child threaten to flee or have a history 
of fleeing from CPS or police.  

• Home address is unknown, and caretaker and/or child is 
currently at school, hospital, police station, or other known 
location.  

• The family is known to be homeless and is currently at a 
non-shelter facility open for limited hours (e.g., library, 
recreation center, meal distribution/foodbank center).  

 
Physical evidence would be compromised OR there is reason to 
believe statements will be altered if the response does not begin 
immediately.  
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Within 24 hours 

A child has visible injuries due to neglect that do not require urgent or 
emergency medical care.  

 
The situation is currently unsafe/harmful or will deteriorate to unsafe/harmful 
within the next 72 hours. Consider the child’s age and developmental status, 
allegation severity, and presence or absence of other responsible adults. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
A child needs urgent or emergent medical or mental health care for an illness 
or injury due to alleged neglect. 
  
 
 
 
 
 
Within 72 hours 
When neglect allegations do not meet the criteria for a response within 24 
hours then they should be given a 72-hour response. 
 

 

 
It is critical to assess the information available regarding the current 
situation and expected safety or lack of safety for children who are 5 
years or younger or limited by disability. This includes but is not 
limited to the following:  
 

• A suicidal child whose caretaker is unable/unwilling to take 
protective action  

• A substance-exposed newborn who has been or will be 
discharged in next 24 hours  

• Medical neglect of a disabled infant who is hospitalized and 
will be discharged in the next 24 hours  

• A child who is hospitalized due to concerns of abuse or 
neglect and will be discharged in the next 24 hours  

• A child has access to weapons, illegal drugs, dangerous 
chemicals  

• Leaking gas from a stove or a heating unit  

• Lack of food in the home and information that the child has 
not been fed  

• Excessive garbage, human, and/or animal waste that 
threatens the child’s health  

 

The child requires immediate medical attention due to serious 
condition or injury. If not provided, the child’s health and well-being 
will be permanently affected. This includes injury treatment and/or 
evaluation that is needed or currently in progress, including dental 
care.  Do not include medical examination completed solely for 
forensic purposes.  
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NEGLECT AND DEPENDENCY ALLEGATIONS 

When the report includes neglect and/or dependency allegations only, the 

screener will be directed to this matrix, which identifies criteria for both 

response time (immediate—8 hours, within 24 hours, within 72 hours) and 

response track (Investigative Assessment or Family Assessment).  

 

If response track for neglect or dependency includes any of the following, the 

response must be changed to investigative assessment response: 

 

• A child exposed to a methamphetamine lab  

• Medical neglect of a disabled infant with a life-threatening condition  

• A child is in the custody of child welfare or placed in foster care, a 
group home, or residential care  

• A physician or law enforcement officer has taken emergency custody  

• A child is admitted to the hospital due to suspected abuse or neglect  

 

 

 

 

 

 

Investigative Assessment 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Allegations that do not meet criteria for an Investigative Assessment.  
 

Family Assessment 
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Allegation Characteristics Response Time 

CHILD FATALITY, NEAR FATALITY, HUMAN TRAFFICKING, ABUSE, AND ABANDONMENT ALLEGATIONS  
When the report includes an allegation of child fatality, near fatality, human trafficking, abuse, or abandonment 

(physical, sexual, emotional, moral), the Intake caseworker will be directed to this decision matrix. This should be 

checked when the report includes one of the criteria below:  

 

• A child fatality with concerns that abuse or neglect contributed, and other children are in the home 
• Near fatality of a child 
• Abandonment of a child 
• The situation is currently unsafe/harmful or will deteriorate to unsafe/harmful within the next 24 

hours. Consider child’s age and developmental status, allegation severity, access of alleged 
perpetrator, and presence or absence of other responsible adults. 

• Child is afraid to go home and/or has a credible fear of experiencing abuse in the care of the alleged 
perpetrator within the next 24 hours. 

• A child needs urgent or emergent medical or mental health care for illness or injury due to alleged 
abuse. 

• A family may leave their current location and CPS may not be able to find them. 
• Forensic considerations would be compromised with a slower response. 
• A child under the age of 8 who is currently alone. 

• A child 12 years or younger who self-reports to the county DSS agency 

Immediate 
 
Initiation must occur at once, 

immediately after completion of 

the intake report. 

 

 

The system will allow the Intake 

caseworker and/or supervisor to 

check “other” but there must be a 

reason included for a faster 

response time. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Any abuse allegations that do not meet immediate response criteria above. 
 

Within 24 hours 
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Allegation Characteristics Response Time 

This should be checked when the report includes one of the criteria below:  

• A Safe Surrender infant  

• The situation is currently unsafe/harmful or will deteriorate to unsafe/harmful within the next 24 hours. 
Consider child’s age and developmental status, allegation severity, and presence or absence of other 
responsible adults.  

• A child needs urgent or emergent medical or mental health care for illness or injury due to alleged 
neglect.  

• A child is afraid to go home and/or has a credible fear of experiencing abuse in the care of the alleged 
perpetrator within the next 24 hours. 

• A family may leave their current location and CPS may not be able to find them.  

• A child under the age of 8 who is currently alone.  

• Forensic considerations would be compromised with a slower response.  

• A child 12 years or younger self-reports to the county DSS agency.  
 

 

Immediate 

 

Initiation must occur at once, 

immediately after completion of 

the intake report. 

 

 

• A child has visible injuries due to neglect that do not require urgent or emergent medical care.  

• The situation will likely deteriorate to an unsafe/harmful situation within the next 72 hours. Consider the 
child’s age and developmental status, allegation severity, access of alleged perpetrator, and presence or 
absence of other responsible adults.  

• Investigative assessments not already identified as immediate or within 24 hours  
 

 

Within 24 hours 

Allegations that do not meet the criteria for an immediate response or a response within 24 hours.  
 

Within 72 hours 

 

 

END OF CPS INTAKE POLICY, PROTOCOL, & GUIDANCE SECTION 
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