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REASONABLE AND PRUDENT PARENTING ACTIVITIES GUIDE   
  

The Reasonable & Prudent Parenting Standard is a requirement for IV-E agencies per Federal Law PL 113-183 and it became SL 2015-135 
in North Carolina. The reasonable and prudent parent standard means the standard characterized by careful and sensible parental decisions 
that maintain the health, safety, and best interests of a child while at the same time encouraging the emotional and developmental growth of 
the child, that a caregiver shall use when determining whether to allow a child in foster care under the responsibility of North Carolina to 
participate in extracurricular, enrichment, cultural, and social activities. Normal childhood activities include, but are not limited to, 
extracurricular, enrichment, and social activities, and may include overnight activities outside the direct supervision of the caregiver for a 
period of over 24 hours and up to 72 hours.   
 
This tool is a guide to identify what activities caregivers have the authority (includes signing permissions/waivers) to give permission for a child 
or youth’s participation without the prior approval of their local child welfare agency or licensing agency. The first column in the table shows a 
category of activities, the second column identifies specific activities within that category that a caregiver has the authority to give permission 
(or sign whatever might be a part of the activity) without obtaining the agency’s approval. The third column identifies those activities that do 
require the agency’s or court’s approval.   
 
It is important to realize this is simply a guide as to who has the authority to provide permission. It does not automatically mean that every 
foster child or youth can participate in any of these activities. It does mean that a reasonable & prudent parent standard is applied in making 
the decision. The standard is applied to each child and youth individually, based on the totality of their situation. One tool that can be used by 
caregivers to help apply critical thinking in making these decisions is by applying the Reasonable & Prudent Parent Standard.    
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Child Activity Category Examples of normal Childhood Activities caregivers can 
approve independently 

Examples of childhood activities the local child 
welfare agency or licensing agency must approve 

or obtain a court order 

(Local child welfare agency or licensing agency approval or new court order is needed any time an activity 
is in conflict with any court order or supervision/safety plan) 

1. Family Recreation   • Movies  
• Community Events such as concert, fair, food truck 

rodeo  
• Family Events   
• Camping   
• Hiking  
• Biking using a helmet  
• Other sporting activities using appropriate protective 

gear  
• Amusement park  
• Fishing (must follow NC General Statute Chapter  

113: Any one over age 16 must have a license)  

• Any of these events or activities lasting over 72 
hours  

• Target Practice (gun, bow and arrow, cross bow 
at either formal range or private property) must 
have local child welfare agency approval and be 
supervised by adult age 18 or over, abiding by 
all laws.  

2.  Water Activities 
     (Children must be 

closely supervised and 
use appropriate safety 
equipment for water 
activities) 

• Structured water activities with trained professional 
guides and /or lifeguards: river tubing, river rafting, 
water amusement park, swimming at community 
recreation pool.  

• Unstructured water activities with adult supervision: 
boating wearing a life jacket, swimming. 

• Any of these events or activities lasting over 72 
hours  

 
 

https://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/ByArticle/Chapter_113/Article_21.pdf
https://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/ByArticle/Chapter_113/Article_21.pdf
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Child Activity Category Examples of normal Childhood Activities caregivers can 
approve independently 

Examples of childhood activities the local child 
welfare agency or licensing agency must approve 

or obtain a court order 

(Local child welfare agency or licensing agency approval or new court order is needed any time an activity  
is in conflict with any court order or supervision/safety plan) 

3. Hunting (using gun, bow 
and arrow)  

  Must have local child welfare agency approval, 
should have biological parent approval and would 
require the following:  
• Child/youth must take the NC Hunter’s Safety 

Class.  
• Supervision by a person at least 18 years old or 

over, who has also taken the above safety 
course.  

• Documentation that the requirements are met 
are provided to the local child welfare agency in 
advance.  

4.Social/Extra-curricular 
activities 

• Camps  
• Field Trips  
• School related activities such as football games, 

dances  
• Church activities that are social  
• Youth Organization activities such as Scouts  
• Participating in sports activities  
• Community activities  
• Social activities with peers such as dating, 

skateboarding, playing in a band, etc. 

• Target Practice (gun, bow and arrow, cross bow 
at either formal range or private property) must 
have local child welfare agency approval and be 
supervised by adult age 18 or over, abiding by 
all laws.  

 

4a. Overnight activities • Spending the night away from the caregiver • Any of these events or activities lasting 24 
hours or more consecutively  
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Child Activity Category Examples of normal Childhood Activities caregivers can 
approve independently 

Examples of childhood activities the local child 
welfare agency or licensing agency must approve 

or obtain a court order 

(Local child welfare agency or licensing agency approval or new court order is needed any time an activity  
is in conflict with any court order or supervision/safety plan) 

5. Motorized Activities   Children and caregivers must comply with all laws and use 
appropriate protective/safety gear.  Any safety courses 
that are required or available to operate any of the  
vehicles/equipment listed must be taken.  
 
Children riding in a motorized vehicle with an adult 
properly licensed if required including but not limited to:  

• Snowmobile  
• All-terrain vehicle  
• Jet ski  
• Tractor  
• Golf cart  
• Scooter  
• Go-carts  
• Utility vehicle  
• Motorcycle  
 

State laws must be followed regarding operating 
motorized equipment or vehicle including but not limited 
to:  
• Snowmobile  
• All-terrain vehicle (must be 8 years of age to 

operate and anyone less than 12 years of age may 
not operate an engine capacity of 70 cubic 
centimeter displacement or greater; no one less 
than 16 may operate an engine capacity of 90 
cubic centimeter displacement or greater and NO  

• Children may not be passengers on a 
lawnmower.  
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Child Activity Category Examples of normal Childhood Activities caregivers can 
approve independently 

Examples of childhood activities the local child 
welfare agency or licensing agency must approve 

or obtain a court order 

(Local child welfare agency or licensing agency approval or new court order is needed any time an activity  
is in conflict with any court order or supervision/safety plan) 

5. Motorized Activities 
(continued) 

ONE under 16 may operate unless they are under 
the continuous visual supervision of a person 18 
years or older per  NC § 20- 
171.15)  

• Jet ski (may be 14 years of age with boating safety 
certification, otherwise must be 16 or older-NC § 
75A-13.3)  

• Tractor (must be 15 to operate NC § 20-10)  
• Golf cart (must be 16 to operate NC § 153A-245)  
• Scooter/Moped (No one under age 16 may operate 

a moped and no license is required NC  
• § 20-10.1)  
• Go-carts  
• Utility vehicle  
• Lawn mower may not be operated by anyone 

below age 12  
• Motorcycle (No one under 16 may acquire a 

license or learner’s permit.  No one less than 18 
may drive a motorcycle with a passenger. NC § 20-
7) 

  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_20/GS_20-171.15.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_20/GS_20-171.15.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_20/GS_20-171.15.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_75A/GS_75A-13.3.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_75A/GS_75A-13.3.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_75A/GS_75A-13.3.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_20/GS_20-10.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_20/GS_20-10.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_153A/GS_153A-245.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_153A/GS_153A-245.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_20/GS_20-10.1.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_20/GS_20-10.1.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_20/GS_20-10.1.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_20/GS_20-10.1.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_20/GS_20-7.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_20/GS_20-7.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_20/GS_20-7.html
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Child Activity Category Examples of normal Childhood Activities caregivers can 
approve independently 

Examples of childhood activities the local child 
welfare agency or licensing agency must approve 

or obtain a court order 

(Local child welfare agency or licensing agency approval or new court order is needed any time an activity  
is in conflict with any court order or supervision/safety plan) 

6. Driving  The following persons can be the required second 
signature for a youth’s permit or license:  

• Youth’s parent or guardian.  
• A person approved by the parent or guardian.  
• A person approved by the Division.  
• Specifically for children in custody: Guardian ad 

litem or attorney advocate; a case worker; or 
someone else identified by the court of jurisdiction.  

  
The youth who is 16 or older may acquire insurance and is 
responsible for the premium and any damages caused by 
the youth’s negligence.  This does not preclude a foster 
parent from adding a youth to their insurance.  
  
A driver’s permit is required to  
“practice” driving in NC and cannot be obtained prior to 
age 15.  

 

7. Travel  All travel within the United States less than 72 hours  • All travel more than 72 hours  
• All travel outside the country  

8. Leaving child home 
alone  

  • The issue of being left alone (in any situation) 
needs to be discussed and agreed upon in CFT.  
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Child Activity Category Examples of normal Childhood Activities caregivers can 

approve independently 
Examples of childhood activities the local child 

welfare agency or licensing agency must approve 
or obtain a court order 

(Local child welfare agency or licensing agency approval or new court order is needed any time an activity  
is in conflict with any court order or supervision/safety plan) 

9. Employment/Babysitting  Youth 14 years and older and following NC § 95-25.5.  
• Interview for employment  
• Continuation of current employment  
• Does not interfere with school  

  
*Sexually aggressive and physically assaultive youth may 
not babysit other children.  

Youth is 13 years or younger  

  
10. Religious Participation  Attend or not attend a religious service of the child’s 

choice  
Notify worker when the child and the biological 
parent and/or foster parent choices are in conflict.  

11. Cell Phone    This is a collaborative decision between the 
placement provider, the local child welfare agency 
worker, and the youth.  

12. Child’s Appearance  • Interventions requiring medical   
   treatment for lice and ring worm  

• When the child and biological parent choices are 
in conflict such as with perms, color, style, 
relaxers, etc.  

• Ear piercings must include biological parent in 
decision.  

• Permanent or significant changes including but 
not limited to:   
o Piercing (Per NC § 14-400 it is illegal for 

anyone under 18 to receive a piercing 
(other than the ears) without consent of 
custodial parent or guardian.  

o Tattoos (Per NC § 14-400 it is illegal for 
anyone under 18 to receive a tattoo.)  

   
*Adapted from Washington State Caregiver Guidelines for Foster Childhood Activities    

http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_95/GS_95-25.5.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_95/GS_95-25.5.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_14/GS_14-400.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_14/GS_14-400.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_14/GS_14-400.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_14/GS_14-400.html

