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Central Registry 

I. INTRODUCTION  
  

North Carolina General Statue § 7B-311 (http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-
311.html) requires the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) to maintain a Central Registry of child abuse and neglect 
cases. DHHS shall also maintain in the Central Registry dependency cases and child fatalities that are the result of alleged 
maltreatment. This statute makes it mandatory for the director of the county child welfare agency to report to the Central Registry 
all cases of child abuse, neglect, and/or dependency accepted for CPS Assessment as discussed in Assessments in the NC Child 
Welfare manual. Because they do not meet the definition of abuse, neglect, and/or dependency, reports not accepted for CPS 
Assessment are currently exempt from the Central Registry reporting requirement. The statute also requires that reports in the 
Central Registry be kept confidential under North Carolina Administrative Rule (10A NCAC 70A .0102).  

http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-%20children's%20services/subchapter%20a/10a%20ncac%2070a%20.0102.pdf
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-%20children's%20services/subchapter%20a/10a%20ncac%2070a%20.0102.pdf
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II. PURPOSE  
  

The Central Registry is intended to serve the following purposes:  

  
A. To gather historical and statistical data on children who have been abused, neglected, and/or rendered dependent.  As part 

of a thorough assessment of allegations of abuse, neglect, and/or dependency, county child welfare agencies are required 
to conduct a search of the Central Registry. Central Registry checks are not necessary when the agency has conducted such 
a check within the previous 60 days or when the agency is providing continuous Child Protective Services.  

  
Once the county child welfare agency accepts a report for CPS Assessment, each alleged victim child’s name must be 
checked against the Central Registry to determine if any prior reports of abuse, neglect, and/or dependency have been 
made.  

This is important because it provides information that will help the county child welfare worker determine if the allegations 
represent a pattern of abuse, neglect, and/or dependency.  When assessing a family to determine the most appropriate 
services, the county child welfare worker must consider the history of abuse, neglect, and/or dependency, as well as the 
present incident or circumstances. The Central Registry can clarify patterns of abuse, neglect, and/or dependency for 
families who move from county to county within the State. Therefore, the Central Registry may offer additional history not 
contained in agency records.  

  
B. To gather historical and statistical data on parents, guardians, caretakers, and custodians identified as being responsible for 

abuse or serious neglect. This information will be contained in the RIL sub-system. Information from the RIL is available only 
to authorized persons for the sole purpose of determining current or prospective employability or fitness to care for (foster 
parent) or adopt children. Access to the Central Registry continues to be limited by North Carolina Laws and Administrative 
Rule and does not change as a result of the RIL.  At no time shall the Central Registry be used for determining employability.  

 Only individuals identified by the North Carolina Division of Social Services (Division) and county child welfare agencies will 
have direct access to the RIL.  

  
C. To gather historical and statistical data regarding child fatalities that result from alleged maltreatment.   
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The Central Registry sub-system was created to track information on children in North Carolina who died because of abuse, 
neglect, and/or dependency, regardless of CPS involvement. The Central Registry lists all children identified on the child 
fatality intake form-- not just the child who died. The Central Registry will identify each child as either a  
“fatality” or a “survivor”. This information is derived from reports made by county child welfare agencies according to the 
Child Fatality Protocol and entered in the Central Registry by the Division.  

  
The county child welfare agency may accept a report for CPS Assessment when, the parent(s) of the alleged victim had 
another child who died previously as a result of abuse, neglect, and/or dependency. If the previous fatality occurred prior 
to the birth of the child currently alleged to be abused, neglected, and/or dependent and there were no other children in 
the home at the time of the fatality, there would not have been a CPS Assessment.  

  
In this situation, the Central Registry will list the fatality via the child fatality subsystem, if reported to the Division. As a 
part of a thorough CPS Assessment of the current allegations, the county child welfare agency conducts a Central Registry 
check, and the names of the children involved in the earlier child fatality are displayed. The agency conducting the CPS 
Assessment will need to contact the county child welfare agency in the county where the fatality occurred to receive more 
information.    

  
D. The gathering of data to enable research to be done on the nature and extent of child abuse, neglect, and dependency and 

for other appropriate disclosure.  

  
E. The gathering of data to enable the system to produce statistics and management reports for county child welfare 

agencies, and for use in making program decisions about protective services from the State.  

      
III. REPORTING TO THE CENTRAL REGISTRY  
  

County child welfare agencies make the required reports to the Central Registry by use of the Report to the Central Registry/CPS 
Application, Form DSS-5104 (http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf) and the Responsible Individuals List Form, 
DSS-5104a (http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf).  

  
Form DSS-5104 is a dual-purpose form.   

  

http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
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A. The DSS-5104 is used as the application for Child Protective Services. It documents the receipt of a report of abuse, 
neglect, and/or dependency. The original form must be placed in the client's file and is subject to the confidentiality 
requirements for Child  

Protective Services as set forth in North Carolina General Statutes § 7B-302 
(http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B -302.html) and 10A NCAC 70A 
.0102. A copy of the form must be used for data entry.  

  
B. On-Line Data Entry allows county child welfare agency staff to enter Central Registry data directly into the system. Data 

entered by the agency fulfils the statutory responsibility to file a report in the Central Registry on abuse, neglect, and/or 
dependency reports received and assessed by the agency (NCGS § 7B-311) 
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B311.html). Data is to be entered 
within ten working days after a case decision is made as to whether abuse, neglect, and/or dependency is found.  

  
    After a CPS Assessment has been completed, a DSS-5104 paper form must be completed, unless direct entry is permitted 

according to county discretion. Once completed, the information from the form is keyed into the Central Registry 
System. The DSS-5104 has 41 fields. Fields 1-9 have general information pertaining to the CPS Assessment and must 
always be completed one per form number.  

  
    Fields 10-32 have information pertaining to the victim. The DSS-5104 paper form has space for one victim.  If the CPS 

Assessment has more than one victim, complete fields 10-32 on a DSS-5104c. Complete as many as needed. To enter 
more than one child, select the F8 key and proceed to enter the information regarding that child.   

  
Each victim must have a copy of a completed DSS-5104 paper form in his or her case record. Although there may be 
multiple DSS-5104 paper forms for one CPS Assessment, there is only one form number per CPS Assessment. The 
Central Registry allows for up to 20 victims and 10 perpetrators per DSS-5104. Do not enter multiple children from the 
same CPS Assessment under different form numbers for the DSS-5104. For additional information on this topic please 
refer to Assessments in the NC Child Welfare manual. 

  
    Fields 33-40 have information pertaining to the perpetrator. The DSS-5104 paper form has space for 2 perpetrators. If 

the CPS Assessment determines there are more than two perpetrators, a DSS-5104p should be used, but use the same 

http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-302.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-302.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-302.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-302.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-302.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
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http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss5104c.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss5104c.pdf
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https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss
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form number for each sheet. To enter more than one perpetrator select the F8 key and proceed to enter the 
information regarding that perpetrator.  

  
    Once the DSS-5104 paper form has been completed and sent to Data Entry, the information is then entered into the 

Central Registry. Instructions for completing form DSS-5104 and all accompanying codes are in this section.  

  
The DSS-5104a is used only in cases of substantiated abuse and/or serious neglect when the identified responsible 
individual is to be placed on the Responsible Individuals List. For information on the use and purpose of the DSS-5104a, 
refer to Cross Function Topics in the NC Child Welfare manual.    

  
IV. CONFIDENTIALITY OF THE CENTRAL REGISTRY  
  

A. LEGAL BASIS  
  

Information submitted by county child welfare agencies to the Central Registry is confidential (NCGS § 7B-311 
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B311.html). Non-identifying 
statistical information and general information about the scope, nature, and extent of the child abuse, neglect, and 
dependency issue in North Carolina is not subject to this rule of confidentiality. The Division publishes an annual report of 
statistics which is made available on the Division’s web site.  

  
Information submitted by county child welfare agencies to the RIL sub-system of the Central Registry is subject to broader 
disclosure than the Central Registry (North Carolina General Statute § 7B-311(b) 
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B311.html). Please refer to 
Responsible Individuals List in Cross Function Topics for more information.  

  
B. REQUESTS FOR INFORMATION FROM THE CENTRAL REGISTRY  

  
The release of information from the Central Registry is restricted except as identified below:   

  
1. For guidance on the release of confidential information as it relates to the  delivery of services to protect a 

child(ren), refer to the NC Child Welfare manual for more about Confidentiality and Release of Information.   

http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/modified-manual-1/cross-function-2.pdf
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/modified-manual-1/cross-function-2.pdf
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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2. For guidance on the release of information from the RIL, refer to the NC Child Welfare manual.   

  
3. Although states are required to provide child abuse and neglect information to other states requesting information 

for the purposes of approving foster and adoptive applications, information from the Central Registry shall not be 
provided for this purpose. In accordance with North Carolina Administrative Rule (10A NCAC 70A .0102), the RIL is to 
be used for this purpose.   

  
C. ACCESS RESTRICTIONS  
  

Access to the Central Registry is restricted to:  

  
1. Staff of the Division and staff of the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services who require access 

while performing duties pertinent to management, maintenance, and evaluation of the Central Registry and 
evaluation of and research into abuse, neglect and dependency cases reported in accordance with North Carolina 
General Statute § 7B-311. Management of the Central Registry includes provision of information on cases to 
county child welfare agencies. Such information shall be shared to assure that Child Protective Services will be 
made available to children and families as quickly as possible.  

  
2. The county director in order to identify:  

  
a. Whether a child who is the subject of a current CPS Assessment has been previously reported as abused, 

neglected, and/or dependent;  

  
b. Whether a child is a member of a family in which a child fatality has occurred previously and there is 

suspicion that the death was due to abuse, neglect, and/or dependency;  

  
c. Whether an adult suspected of current abuse, neglect, and/or dependency has had previous 

substantiations for abuse, neglect, and/or dependency; and/or  

  

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-%20children's%20services/subchapter%20a/10a%20ncac%2070a%20.0102.pdf
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-%20children's%20services/subchapter%20a/10a%20ncac%2070a%20.0102.pdf
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/G%20S_7B-311.html
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d. Whether an adult is appropriate to be a Temporary Safety Provider during a current CPS Assessment.  

  
The Central Registry may only be accessed for use of a Temporary Safety Provider during a current (open) CPS 
Assessment. Once a case decision has been made, further assessments of relative or fictive kin for placement must 
request information from the RIL or internal agency records--not the Central Registry.  

  
3. When giving or receiving assistance with a case, the county director shall share information from the Central 

Registry with law enforcement, licensed physicians, or licensed physician extenders when receiving assistance from 
these professionals, during an open CPS Assessment, to provide Child Protective Services to children and their 
families in accordance with 10A NCAC 70A .0102. For this purpose, information shared from the Central Registry 
will be limited to:  

  
a. The child's name, date of birth, sex and race  
b. The county that assessed the report(s)  
c. The type of maltreatment reported,   
d. The case decision,   
e. The date of the case decision,   
f. The type of maltreatment found, and   
g. The relationship of the perpetrator to the victim child.   

 
4. The Chief Medical Examiner's office and law enforcement, in the event of a child fatality when there is a need to 

determine if their investigation or evaluation should consider child abuse, neglect, and/or dependency as a factor 
in the death. Information will be limited to that outlined above in accordance with 10A NCAC 70A .0102.  

  
D. RESEARCH - USING DATA FROM THE CENTRAL REGISTRY  

  
Individuals may receive approval in accordance with 10A NCAC 70A .0102 to conduct studies and research using data from 
the Central Registry.  

  
1. Such approval must be requested in writing to the Director of the Division of Social Services. The written request 

will specify and be approved based on:  
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a. An explanation of how the findings of the study have potential for expanding knowledge and improving 
professional practices in the area of prevention and identification of child abuse, neglect, and dependency.  

  
b. A description of how the study will be conducted and how the findings will be used.  

  
c. A presentation of the individual's credentials in the area of critical investigation.  

  
d. A description of how the individual will safeguard information.  

  
2. Access will be denied when, in the judgment of the Director, the study will have minimal impact on either 

knowledge or practice in accordance with 10A NCAC 70A .0102.  

  
V. CENTRAL REGISTRY - DESIGN AND FUNCTION  
  

This section is written for the county child welfare worker completing the Report to the Central Registry/CPS Application (DSS-
5104) paper form and/or Data Entry staff entering the data from the DSS-5104 paper form into the CPS Central Registry automated 
state system.  

  
A. CONFIDENTIALITY  

  
North Carolina General Statute § 7B-311 states that information contained in the Central Registry is confidential. The 
statute also requires that information in the Central Registry be kept confidential under  

North Carolina Administrative Rule (10A NCAC 70A.0102).  Any violations of confidentiality are considered a Class 3 
Misdemeanor.    

  
County child welfare agencies have the responsibility for ensuring that unauthorized use is prohibited. For this reason, 
security procedures have been established. Once access to the Central Registry has been secured, it is the responsibility of 
each user to maintain confidentiality.  

 

  

http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B311.html
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-%20children's%20services/subchapter%20a/10a%20ncac%2070a%20.0102.pdf
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-%20children's%20services/subchapter%20a/10a%20ncac%2070a%20.0102.pdf
https://www.nccourts.gov/assets/documents/publications/Misdemeanor-list-2017.pdf/#page=62
https://www.nccourts.gov/assets/documents/publications/Misdemeanor-list-2017.pdf/#page=62
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B. SECURITY  
  
The DHHS and the Information Technology Services (ITS) have implemented the Resource Access Control Facility (RACF) to 
help protect automated data at ITS. RACF controls overall access to the Division’s automated systems which supports 
programs supervised by the Division. RACF does not replace security already established for individual systems. With RACF, 
each individual user is identified and verified by a unique ID and a self-assigned password.  

  
Each county security control officer is responsible for assigning generic RACF IDs and passwords provided by the Division’s 
security administrators. Each user then selects an individual password. RACF IDs and passwords are confidential, and all 
users must sign a memorandum of understanding when assigned security clearance. All users are instructed that RACF IDs 
and passwords are for “Official Use Only”.  

  
Passwords must begin with an alpha character and must be six to eight characters (can be letters, numbers, or a 
combination of both). A password and RACF ID are revoked if not used in 45 days, entered incorrectly five times in a row, 
or not changed within the required timeframe (90 days). Should a user’s access be revoked, the user must contact the 
security officer for that county. If a user forgets a password, the county security officer would need to be contacted.   

  
C. TERMINAL MESSAGES  

  
A CW Listserv has been established to deliver terminal messages via email.  Terminal messages are used to communicate 
system related issues, updates, or changes.   

  
1. To Subscribe:  

Go to the website http://lists.ncmail.net/mailman/listinfo/cwlistserv and complete the registration.  An email will 
be received when access has been approved.  

  
2. To Unsubscribe:  

Go to the website http://lists.ncmail.net/mailman/listinfo/cwlistserv  and at the bottom of the page there is an 
option to unsubscribe.   

  

http://lists.ncmail.net/mailman/listinfo/cwlistserv
http://lists.ncmail.net/mailman/listinfo/cwlistserv
http://lists.ncmail.net/mailman/listinfo/cwlistserv
http://lists.ncmail.net/mailman/listinfo/cwlistserv
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D. TURNAROUNDS  
  
For each DSS-5104 keyed and processed in the nightly update, a DSS-5104 turnaround is automatically created and mailed 
to the county.   

  
E. LINK TO SIS AND RIL  

  
When a CPS report is accepted on a child, the SIS system shall be checked to determine if the child has an existing SIS 
number in the county receiving the report. If the child has an existing SIS number in the county, do not request a new SIS 
number. Instead the county child welfare worker is required to update the existing DSS-5027 for that child by opening 
Service Code 210 (CPS Assessment) and submitting it for data entry.   

  
The county child welfare worker will complete the DSS-5104 at the conclusion of the CPS Assessment. If the child already 
has a SIS number, items #10 through #19 on the DSS5104 should be left blank, as this information is already in the SIS 
system. Data entry of the DSS-5104 is required within ten working days after a case decision is made.  If the report is 
“Substantiated” or found “Services Needed” and Service Code 215 (CPS In-Home Services) is to be opened, the county child 
welfare worker updates the existing DSS-5027 to open Service Code 215 and any other services to be added and to close 
210 services.  

  
If the child does not already have a record in the SIS system, a DSS-5027 will have to be completed, as well as the DSS-5104. 
If the information on federal tribe, language preference, special education status, race and ethnicity declined are not 
available when keying the new SIS ID number, the DSS-5104 cannot be saved.   
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Additional services should be added to the DSS-5027 turnaround form as needed.   

  
The DSS-5104 is also associated with the DSS-5104a, the Responsible Individuals List (RIL).    

F.    LOGON AND LOGOFF PROCEDURES  

  
   1.        LOGON  

  
From the banner screen that shows the message “IS CONNECTED TO THE  

STATE NETWORK,” key “CICSNC16” in the application field, and press ENTER.    
  

The next screen will be the CICS sign on screen.  
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From the CICS sign on screen enter in the Userid (RACF ID), bill code (bill-code), and password and press ENTER.   
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The next screen will be a blank screen. From this blank screen, key ‘sy01’ and press ENTER. The following Central 
Registry Menu will be displayed:  

  

    
  

2.        LOGOFF  
  

To logoff, press the “F3” key twice. At the blank screen key in “logoff” and press enter (for return to the main state 
banner screen).  

  
     G.   KEYING FUNCTIONS (F KEYS)   
  
            Once logged into the State system, the following is a list of function keys that are used.  The system often displays messages 

regarding these function keys at the bottom of the screen.  Read these messages carefully before proceeding to the next 
screen.   

  
KEY  FUNCTION  

Enter  The system edits the screen and displays messages when an error is found or when 
the form updates successfully  

PF3  To exit the screen and return to the Central Registry Selection menu.  
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PF7  To scroll back to the previous screen.  
PF8  To scroll forward to the next screen (DSS-5104c and DSS-5104p)  
PF9  To add/update when displayed on the screen being keyed.  
PF10  To cancel data keyed on a current screen  

  
  H.   CENTRAL REGISTRY MAIN MENU   

    
 1.  DSS-5104 INITIAL ENTRY   

  
  To enter information on a new DSS-5104 key in “1” in the selection field and press ENTER. The system will not 

generate a form id number until the entire form has been keyed. The next screen will show a blank DSS-5104 and 
information can be entered and saved.  

  
 2.  DSS-5104 INQUIRY   
  

  The inquiry function allows users to view previously keyed DSS-5104s. To view the DSS-5104, key “2”, as the 
selection and key in the form number and press enter. This will display the DSS-5104. Since this is an inquiry, 
changes will not be allowed.   

   
3.         DSS-5104 CHANGES  

  
  When making changes to the DSS-5104, each change (and reason) should be thoroughly documented, along with 

the appropriate authorization by the county child welfare agency director or his or her designee, as indicated, in 
the child's file. The corrected paper DSS-5104 form should be placed in the child's file.    

  
  From the Central Registry Selection Menu, key “3” as the selection then key the form number to be corrected. This 

will display the DSS-5104 screen. This screen allows data entry staff to make the appropriate changes.  

  
  There are certain fields that are protected, and information cannot be re-keyed.  These fields are highlighted when 

this occurs.  In most cases, the cursor does not stop in these fields.  If information is attempted to be keyed in a 
protected field, the system displays the “Not Allowed” symbol in the lower left corner of the screen.  
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This symbol is an “X” next to a stick figure with arrows, seen below. To remove this error symbol, press the ESC key.  

  

  
  

  
   

           4.  DSS-5104 DELETIONS  
              

If a DSS-5104 has been entered with an error, the form must be deleted. To   request that a DSS-5104 be deleted 
from the state system a written request must be submitted to the Division via the DSS-5104d.  Requests must be 
submitted to:  

                  NC Division of Social Services  
      Performance Management, Reporting and Evaluation Section     

                820 S. Boylan Ave    

                2415 Mail Service Center  
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                Raleigh, NC 27699-2415  

                   Or by fax to (919) 334-1052.  

 
  

              Appropriate deletion requests include:  

  
a. Incorrectly entered each child on a separate DSS-5104 and need to be combined onto one form,  

b. Entered children on form that were not a part of the CPS Assessment,  

c. Child’s SIS ID number is incorrect, and it cannot be corrected by doing a SIS  

ID Merge, or  

d. Duplicate entry (entered DSS-5104 multiple times)  

  
 5.   VICTIM NAME DISPLAY/SOUNDEX VICTIM NAME DISPLAY (SEARCH)   

   
a.  VICTIM NAME DISPLAY  
  

This option is used to search to see if a child has had a DSS-5104 entered as a result of prior reports.  Key a 
“4” in the selection field and then in the “key” field enter the last name and the first name separated by a 
comma and a space after the comma, then enter. Only exact matches to the name entered will be 
displayed.  

  
  It is also possible to search for a child using the “*” (wildcard) option. To do so, key in as many letters of the 

last name as possible, followed by an “*”, and then as many letters of the first name as possible followed 
by an “*”. This option locates all children whose names contain the letters keyed. For example, if searching 
for John Doe, but unsure of the spelling of the name, key in “Do*, Jo*” and all children whose first names 
begin with “Jo” and last names begin with “Do” will be listed.  

  
  To view the record of a name that is displayed, key an “I” next to the name, press F9 to see the perpetrator 

information of the Central Registry.   
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b.       SOUNDEX VICTIM NAME DISPLAY  

  
This option is used to search to see if a child has a previous DSS-5104 entered because of a prior report. Key a “5” 
in the selection field and the name in the “key field, then enter. Note that the last and first name are to be 
separated by a comma and a space after the comma. For this option, the child’s last name and at least the first 
letter of the first name is needed. This option will display all names that match and are similar to the name 
entered.  

  
6.        PERPETRATOR NAME DISPLAY (SEARCH)  
  

This option is used to search to see if an alleged perpetrator already exists in the Central Registry as a result of a 
prior report. Key a “6” in the selection field and in the “key” field enter the last name, first name of the alleged 
perpetrator. Note that the last and first name are to be separated by a comma and a space after the comma.  

  
The search results will only return results that have an exact match.   

  
To view the record of a name that is displayed, key an “I” next to the name, then F9 to see the perpetrator 
information of the Central Registry.   

  
7.        ADMINISTRATIVE MENU  

  
From the Central Registry Selection menu, key “7” in the selection field. Press ENTER. This menu is available only 
for the State Administrator.   

  
8.          FATALITIES MENU   

  
From the Central Registry Selection menu, key “8” in the selection field. Press ENTER. This menu is available only 
for State staff.   
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9.          RIL MENU  
  

This option is used to access the RIL menu.  From the Central Registry Selection menu, key “9” in the selection field. 
Press ENTER. For more information please see Responsible Individuals List in Cross Function Topics.   

  
VI. DSS-5104 FORM FIELDS AND CODES  

  
Unless otherwise noted, to have the information that is keyed from a DSS-5104 entered in the system, press enter.   

  
 FIELD 1 - COUNTY NAME              [ENTRY REQUIRED]  

  
Enter the two-digit code that identifies the county conducting the CPS Assessment.  In cases where there is a partner county child 
welfare agency assisting with the CPS Assessment, the resident county child welfare agency is responsible for completing the DSS-
5104. The resident county child welfare agency's two-digit county code is to be entered.  

  

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/modified-manual-1/cross-function-2.pdf


NC DSS 
CPS Data Collection (Non-NC FAST)                                 January 2024 
Appendix 1  
 

19 

Co. #  Co. Name  Co. #  Co. Name  Co. #  Co. Name  Co.#  Co. Name  
01  Alamance  26  Cumberland  51  Johnston  76  Randolph  
02  Alexander  27  Currituck  52  Jones  77  Richmond  
03  Alleghany  28  Dare  53  Lee  78  Robeson  
04  Anson  29  Davidson  54  Lenoir  79  Rockingham  
05  Ashe  30  Davie  55  Lincoln  80  Rowan  
06  Avery  31  Duplin  56  Macon  81  Rutherford  
07  Beaufort  32  Durham  57  Madison  82  Sampson  
08  Bertie  33  Edgecombe  58  Martin  83  Scotland  
09  Bladen  34  Forsyth  59  McDowell  84  Stanly  
10  Brunswick  35  Franklin  60  Mecklenburg  85  Stokes  
11  Buncombe  36  Gaston  61  Mitchell  86  Surry  
12  Burke  37  Gates  62  Montgomery  87  Swain  
13  Cabarrus  38  Graham  63  Moore  88  Transylvania  
14  Caldwell  39  Granville  64  Nash  89  Tyrrell  
15  Camden  40  Greene  65  New Hanover  90  Union  
16  Carteret  41  Guilford  66  Northampton  91  Vance  
17  Caswell  42  Halifax  67  Onslow  92  Wake  
18  Catawba  43  Harnett  68  Orange  93  Warren  
19  Chatham  44  Haywood  69  Pamlico  94  Washington  
20  Cherokee  45  Henderson  70  Pasquotank  95  Watauga  
21  Chowan  46  Hertford  71  Pender  96  Wayne  
22  Clay  47  Hoke  72  Perquimans  97  Wilkes  
23  Cleveland  48  Hyde  73  Person  98  Wilson  
24  Columbus  49  Iredell  74  Pitt  99  Yadkin  
25  Craven  50  Jackson  75  Polk  00  Yancey  
  
FIELD 2 - COUNTY CASE NUMBER           [ENTRY REQUIRED]  

  
Enter the county's Child Protective Services case number: up to 6 numeric digits.  
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FIELD 3 - CASE MANAGER NAME            [ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE]   
  
Entry is not required if a valid county child welfare worker case manager number from FIELD 4 is entered.  Otherwise enter the last 
name, first initial, and middle initial of the case manager.  

  
FIELD 4 - CASE MANAGER NUMBER          [ENTRY REQUIRED]   
  
Enter the county case manager/worker ID number (up to 9 numeric digits).   

  
FIELD 5 - DATE OF INITIAL REPORT           [ENTRY REQUIRED]  
  
Enter the month, day, and year. Use a leading zero for any month or day less than ten that the report of abuse/neglect/dependency 
was made to the county child welfare agency in the format of MMDDYYYY.  If subsequent reports are received before the 
completion of the CPS Assessment, enter the date of the first report that led to the opening of the CPS Assessment.   

  
FIELD 6 - DATE CPS ASSESSMENT INITIATED         [ENTRY REQUIRED]   
  
Enter the month, day, and year (use a leading zero for any month or day less than ten) that the CPS Assessment was initiated in the 
format of MMDDYYYY.  

 FIELD 6A – DILIGENT EFFORT REASON [ENTRY REQUIRED] 
 

Enter a one-digit code indicating if the CPS assessment initiation is timely or untimely. 
 

CODE DEFINITION 
0 Timely Assessment 
1 Unable to Initiate Timely Despite Daily Diligent Efforts, through a variety of methods 
2 Unable to Initiate Timely, Diligent Efforts not met 
3 Unable to Initiate Timely Despite Daily Diligent Efforts, due to family out of State 
4 Unable to Initiate Timely Due to Natural Disaster 
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FIELD 7 - DATE CASE DECISION                [ENTRY REQUIRED]   
  
Enter the month, day, and year [use a leading zero for any month or day less than ten] that the CPS Assessment was completed in 
the format MMDDYYYY.  

  
All information gathered during the CPS Assessment process shall be incorporated into one case decision and one DSS-5104. If 
more than one DSS-5104 is entered per CPS Assessment, this will impact the identification of repeat maltreatment.  

  
Even if there are multiple children, multiple perpetrators, and/or multiple maltreatment types, submit the information into the 
Central Registry under only one DSS-5104 Form Number.  

  
Information entered in Fields 5, 6, and 7 is relevant to safety outcomes, the timeliness of initiating CPS Assessments of reports of 
child maltreatment and repeat maltreatment.   

  
FIELD 8 - RISK ASSESSMENT RATING          [ENTRY REQUIRED]   
  
Enter the one-digit code indicating the over-all risk rating as determined by the Family Risk Assessment (DSS-5230, 
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/DSS-5230-ia.pdf) for each case. A Family Risk Assessment is not required for a case 
involving group home or institutional settings, in which case select “N/A” on the DSS-5104.    

  
CODE  DEFINITION  

L  Low  
M  Medium  
H  High  
N  Not Applicable  

  
  
FIELD 9 - REQUEST FOR ASSISTANCE   [ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE]   
  
Enter the two-digit numeric code that corresponds to the county that provided assistance during the CPS Assessment. Up to three 
county codes may be entered. Refer to Field 1 for a listing of the county codes.   

http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/DSS-5230-ia.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/DSS-5230-ia.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/DSS-5230-ia.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/DSS-5230-ia.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/DSS-5230-ia.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/DSS-5230-ia.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/DSS-5230-ia.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/DSS-5230-ia.pdf
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FIELD 10 - CHILD ID     [ENTRY REQUIRED]  
  
If the alleged victim child already has a SIS number, enter the current SIS Client ID on the form. If, following the completion of a 
name search, the alleged victim child does not already have a SIS number, obtain a new SIS Client ID and enter it on the form.  

  
FIELD 11 - CHILD NAME   [ENTRY REQUIRED]   
  
If the alleged victim child already has a SIS number, enter the last name, first name, and middle initial as it appears in the SIS 
system. This name will be verified at data entry when the SIS Client ID is keyed.  

  
If, following the completion of a name search, the alleged victim child does not already have a SIS number, the user will be 
automatically redirected to the SIS screen. When the user has typed in information shown in the screen show below and presses 
“ENTER”,   

  

  
  
The user will be redirected to the SIS system to complete additional required fields to establish this child’s SIS record.   
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If the child does not already have a SIS number, enter the following fields in SIS--NOT Central Registry: Last Name, First Name, 
Middle Initial, Social Security Number, Date of Birth, Sex, Race, Ethnicity, School, Grade, Language, and Specials.   

  
For the child involved in a Safe Surrender, enter the last name as SURRENDER, the first name as SAFE COUNTY NAME.  (Example: 
SURRENDER, SAFE ALAMANCE) Once a legal name has been obtained, update the DSS-5027 to update SIS.  For additional 
information on Safe Surrender policy, refer to the NC Child Welfare manual.   

  
FIELD 12 - CHILD SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER       [ENTRY REQUIRED]   
  
If the alleged victim child already has a SIS number, leave blank, this will be populated by information in SIS. If, following the 
completion of a name search, the child does not have a SIS number, enter the following Fields in SIS, not Central Registry: Last 
Name, First Name, MI, SSN, DOB, Sex, Race, Ethnicity, School, Grade, LA, and Specials.   

  
If the child does not have a Social Security Number or if the number is unknown, enter all “0s”. Once the victim child’s Social 
Security Number has been attained, complete a DSS-5027 to update the Social Security Number in the SIS system.    

  
FIELD 13 - DATE OF BIRTH          [ENTRY REQUIRED]   
  
If the alleged victim child already has a SIS number, leave blank. This will be populated by information in SIS. If, following the 
completion of a name search, the child does not have a SIS number, enter the following Fields in SIS, NOT Central Registry: Last 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
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Name, First Name, Middle Initial, Social Security Number, Date of Birth, Sex, Race, Ethnicity, School, Grade, Language, and Specials. 
Enter the month, day, and year. [Use a leading zero for any month or day less than ten] in the format MMDDYYYY.    

  
FIELD 14 - SEX          [ENTRY REQUIRED]  
  
If the alleged victim child already has a SIS number, leave blank. This will be populated by information in SIS.  If, following the 
completion of a name search, the child does not have a SIS number, enter the following Fields in SIS, NOT Central Registry: Last 
Name, First Name, Middle Initial, Social Security Number, Date of Birth, Sex, Race, Ethnicity, School, Grade, Language, and Specials.   

  
 
  

CODE  DEFINITION  
1  Male  
2  Female  
3 Gender Non-

Conforming 
  
  
FIELD 15 - RACE/ETHNICITY             [ENTRY REQUIRED]  
  
If the alleged victim child already has a SIS number, leave blank. This will be populated by information in SIS.  If, following the 
completion of a name search, the alleged victim child does not have a SIS number, enter the following Fields in SIS, not Central 
Registry: Last Name, First Name, Middle Initial, Social Security Number, Date of Birth, Sex, Race, Ethnicity, School, Grade, Language, 
and Specials.   

  
Assumptions or guesses shall not be made regarding a child’s race and ethnicity based on appearances. Rather, it is critical that the 
county child welfare agency engages the family in a discussion around the child’s race and ethnicity that the family most identifies 
for the child.  If such a discussion is not able to take place, the agency shall use code “11” – Unable to Determine.   

  
For the Safe Surrender child, if no parent is available to indicate the race and ethnicity use code “11” or “12”– Unable to Determine.   
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CODE  DEFINITION  
01    White Native (Non-Hispanic or Latino)   
02    White (Hispanic or Latino)  
03    Black (Non-Hispanic or Latino)  
04    Black (Hispanic or Latino)  
05    American Indian or Alaskan Native (Non-Hispanic or Latino)  
06    American Indian or Alaskan Native (Hispanic or Latino)  
07    Asian (Non-Hispanic or Latino)  
08   Asian (Hispanic or Latino)  
09    Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non-Hispanic or Latino)  
10  Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)  
11    Unable to Determine (Non-Hispanic or Latino)  
12    Unable to Determine (Hispanic)  
13    White/Black (Non-Hispanic or Latino)  
14    White/Black (Hispanic or Latino)  
15    White/American Indian or Alaskan Native (Non-Hispanic or Latino)  
16    White/American Indian or Alaskan Native (Hispanic or Latino)  
17    White/Asian (Non-Hispanic or Latino)  
18    White/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)  
19    White/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non-Hispanic or Latino)  
20    White/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)  
21    Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native (Non-Hispanic or Latino)  
22    Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native (Hispanic or Latino)  
23    Black/Asian (Non-Hispanic or Latino)  
24    Black/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)  
25    Black Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non-Hispanic or Latino)  
26    Black/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)   
27    American Indian or Alaskan Native/Asian (Non-Hispanic or Latino)  
28    American Indian or Alaskan Native/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)  
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CODE  DEFINITION  
29    American Indian or Alaskan Native/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non-Hispanic 

or Latino)  
30    American Indian or Alaskan Native/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or 

Latino)  
31    Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non-Hispanic or Latino)  
32    Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)  
33  White/Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native (Non-Hispanic or Latino)  
34    White/Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native (Hispanic or Latino)  
35    White/Black/Asian (Non-Hispanic or Latino)  
36    White/Black/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)  
37    White/Black/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non-Hispanic or Latino  
38    White/Black/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)  
39  White/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Asian (Non-Hispanic or Latino)  
40    White/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)  
41    White/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non-

Hispanic or Latino)  
42    White/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 

(Hispanic or Latino)  
43   White/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non-Hispanic or Latino)  
44    White/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)  
45   Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Asian (Non-Hispanic or Latino)  
46    Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)  

47    Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Native Hawaiian (Non-Hispanic or Latino)  
48    Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Native Hawaiian (Hispanic or Latino)  
49    Black/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non-Hispanic or Latino)  
50    Black/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)  
51    American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non-Hispanic or  

Latino  
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CODE  DEFINITION  
52    American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)  

53  White/Black/American Indian/Asian (Non-Hispanic or Latino)  
54   White/Black/American Indian/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)  
55    White/Black/American Indian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non-Hispanic or 

Latino)  
56    White/Black/American Indian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or  

Latino)  
57    White/Black/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non-Hispanic or  

Latino)  
58     White/Black/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)   
59     White/American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non-Hispanic or 

Latino)  
60     White/American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or  

Latino)   
61  Black/American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non-Hispanic or 

Latino)   
62   Black/American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or  

Latino)   
63   White/Black/American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non-Hispanic 

or Latino)   
64    White/Black/American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or 

Latino)  
  

 
FIELD 16 IN SCHOOL     [ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE] 
  
If the alleged victim child already has a SIS number, leave this field blank. This will be populated by information in SIS. This field may 
need to be updated with the alleged victim child’s current status. If so, update this field in SIS.  
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If, following the completion of a name search, enter the following Fields in SIS, not Central Registry: Last Name, First Name, Middle 
Initial, Social Security Number, Date of Birth, Sex, Race, Ethnicity, School, Grade, Language, and Specials.   

  
CODE  DEFINITION  
P  Yes – child is enrolled in a public school.  
R  Yes – child is enrolled in a private school.  
H  Yes – child is enrolled in home school.  
N  No – child is not enrolled in school.  

  
  

 FIELD 17 - GRADE          [ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE]  
  
If the alleged victim child already has a SIS number, leave blank. This field will be populated by information in SIS.  This field may need to 
be updated with the alleged victim child’s current status in the SIS system.   

  
If, following the completion of a name search, enter the following Fields in SIS, not Central Registry: Last Name, First Name, Middle 
Initial, Social Security Number, Date of Birth, Sex, Race, Ethnicity, School, Grade, Language, and Specials.   

 

  
CODE  DEFINITION  

P  Preschool  
01-20  To identify either the highest grade attained if the individual is no longer in school, or the 

last grade attended or the current grade if the individual is still in school.  
98  GED Status  
99  Unknown  

  
  

 FIELD 18 LIVING ARRANGEMENT  [ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE] 
  
If the alleged victim child already has a SIS number, leave blank. This will be populated by information in SIS. For the safe surrender 
child, enter code “99 – Unknown.”   
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If, following the completion of a name search, the alleged victim child does not have a SIS number, continued entry will be re-directed to 
the SIS system to create a SIS ID for the child.    

  
CODE  DEFINITION  
01  Living Alone - An independent living arrangement where the individual resides either alone, 

or with others where the relationship is not characterized by intimacy, continuity or 
commitment, as in a rooming house or shared housing.  

02  Living with Family or Other Significant Individual(s) - A home occupied by two or more 
people who are related by blood, marriage, adoption or who have a commitment to care 
for one another.  

03  Family Care Home - A licensed domiciliary home having a capacity of two to six residents.  

04  Home for the Aged- A licensed domiciliary home has a capacity of seven or more residents.  

05  Group Home for Developmentally Disabled Adults - A licensed DDS group home housing 
residents with developmental disability, regardless of which county/state agency has 
licensing monitoring or certification responsibilities.  

06  Nursing/Combination Home - A licensing facility which provides nursing or convalescent 
care for three or more persons.  

07  Treatment/Rehabilitation Facility/Home - A 24-hour facility/home which provides 
treatment or rehabilitation, services for medical, psychosocial, or psychiatric needs (e.g. 
medical or psychiatric hospital, State Mental Retardation Center, mental health group 
home for persons with mental illness). Not included in this definition are nursing homes, 
maternity homes, and group homes for developmentally disabled adults.  

08  Maternity Home - A 24-hour residential program whose primary purpose is to provide care, 
support and other services for pregnant females.  

09  Jail, Lockup, Detention - A jail or a facility administered by the Department of Corrections or 
Division of Youth Services.  

10  Battered Women’s Shelter - A 24-hour residential program whose primary purpose is to 
offer protection, food, shelter, support and other services to battered women and their 
children.  
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CODE  DEFINITION  
11  Shelter for the Homeless - An overnight shelter for people without homes.  

97  Child Placement System (DSS-5094 
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss5094.pdf) - When the client is a child for 
whom the county child welfare agency has custody or placement authority, the living 
arrangement will be tracked through the Child Placement and Payment System. This code 
should remain unchanged in this system for as long as the DSS-5094 record remains open. 
If the client remains a service client after the DSS-5094 record is closed, this field will have 
to be updated on the DSS-5027 to reflect the actual living arrangement.  

98  Other - A living arrangement which is known to the agency but does not fit the above 
definitions.  

99  Unknown  
  
 FIELD 19 SPECIAL AREAS   [ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE] 

  
If the alleged victim child already has a SIS number, leave blank. This will be populated by information in SIS.   

  
If, following the completion of a name search, the alleged victim child does not have a SIS number, enter the following Fields in SIS, not 
Central Registry: Last Name, First Name, Middle Initial, Social Security Number, Date of Birth, Sex, Race, Ethnicity, School, Grade, 
Language, and Specials.   

  
For more information on this field please refer to the Services Information System (SIS) Manual 
(http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/manuals/dss/rim-01/man/).  

  
CODE  DEFINITION  
01  Developmental Disabilities- Having a severe, chronic mental or physical disability resulting 

in substantial limitations in three or more of the following areas of major life activity: self-
care, receptive and expressive language, capacity for independent living, learning, 
mobility, self-direction, and economic self-sufficiency and reflecting the person’s need for 
a combination of special inter-disciplinary care or treatment of a lifelong or extended 
duration, manifested before age 22, unless caused by a head injury.  

http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5094.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5094.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5094.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5094.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5094.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/manuals/dss/rim-01/man/
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/manuals/dss/rim-01/man/
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/manuals/dss/rim-01/man/
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/manuals/dss/rim-01/man/
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/manuals/dss/rim-01/man/
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02  Blind or Visually Impaired- Having visual impairment that, in the child welfare worker’s 
judgment, may significantly affect day-to-day functioning.  

03  Deaf or Hard of Hearing- Having a hearing impairment, whether permanent or fluctuating 
which may in the child welfare worker’s judgment, adversely affect day-to-day 
functioning, a communication disorder such as stuttering, impaired articulator, or 
language impairment that adversely affects functioning.  

04  Physically Disabled- Having a physical condition that may, in the child welfare worker’s 
judgment, adversely affect the individual’s day-to-day or intermittent functioning.  

05  Emotionally Disturbed- Having mental or emotional problems exhibited in a wide range of 
important social and personal contexts and causing significant impairment in social, 
educational, or occupational functioning.  

06  Learning Disability- Having a disorder in one or more of the basic psychological processes 
involved in understanding or using language, spoken or written, that may manifest itself in 
an imperfect ability to listen, think, speak, read, write, spell or to use mathematical 
calculations.  An example of a learning disability would be dyslexia.  

07  Medical Condition- Having any apparently disabling physical condition other than those 
listed above which has been diagnosed by a licensed physician and requires medical 
attention.  

08  HIV and AIDS- Having a syndrome, or a disease complex in which the natural immune 
system is suppressed so significantly those individuals gradually die from vulnerability to a 
variety of unusual infections and concerns (opportunistic infections) that would not 
ordinarily pose a threat to an immunologically healthy person.  

09  Substance Abuse- Using alcohol or other drugs to a degree which creates a risk of harm to 
self or others, or impairs social, educational or occupational functioning.  

CODE  DEFINITION  
11  Undisciplined Child- A child who is an adjudicated undisciplined child under  

N.C.G.S. § 7B-1501(27)  
(http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/G 
S_7B-1501.html).  

12  Delinquent Child- A child who is an adjudicated delinquent child under N.C.G.S. § 7B-
1501(7).  

http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-1501.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-1501.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-1501.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-1501.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-1501.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-1501.html
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13  Homeless Person- A person who does not have what society defines as a normal place of 
his/her own to live.  

14  Alzheimer's Disease and Related Dementias- Having an organic mental disorder, in which 
intellectual function is progressively impaired in a previously well adult, usually 
accompanied by memory loss, disorientation, impaired judgment, and personality change.  

  
             FIELD 20 - SOURCE OF REFERRAL           [ENTRY REQUIRED]  

  
Enter the two-digit code for the source of referral. There are spaces for up to three sources of referral to allow for subsequent reports 
that may come in during the CPS Assessment.  If more than one source of referral is listed, list the initial source first and the subsequent 
sources in order of receipt.   

  
CODE  DEFINITION  

01  Anonymous - An anonymous reporter is a person who deliberately chooses to remain 
unknown.  

02  Child Care Provider - This category includes baby sitters, personnel in day care 
arrangements, and head start center personnel.  

03  Educational Personnel - This category includes teachers, principals, school nurses, learning 
aides, school librarians, or other individuals who report the maltreatment as a result of 
their involvement in a school setting.   

04  Law Enforcement or Court Personnel - This category includes police, courts, attorneys, 
parole and probation officers, and sheriff's deputies.  

05  Medical Personnel - This category includes private physicians, clinic or hospital physicians, 
dentists, emergency room personnel, nurses, X-ray technicians, and the staff of a physician 
in private practice, optometrists, and paramedics  

06  Relative - A member of the child and/or caretaker's immediate or extended family who is 
not covered by another category.  

07  Non-Relative - A person not related to the child's family or to the child (i.e. friend, neighbor, 
and foster parent).  
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CODE  DEFINITION  
08  Human Service Personnel – This category includes child welfare workers, social workers, 

mental health workers (psychiatrist, psychologist, psychiatric or clinical social workers), and 
the staff of social services agencies and institutions.  
  

09  Victim – The child who is alleged to be neglected and/or abused.  
10  Parent – The biological, adoptive, or stepparent of the child.  

  

 FIELD 20A – NEAR FATALITIES  [ENTRY  REQUIRED] 
 

Enter the appropriate code if at least one source of referral is Medical Personnel and has at least one contributory factor as Child – 
Other Medical Condition from Field 27. 

 
CODE DEFINITION 

Y Yes 

N  No 
 
FIELD 21 - PETITION FILED WITH JUVENILE COURT [ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE]  
  
Enter the appropriate two-digit code if a petition has been filed in juvenile court in relation to the situation of abuse, neglect, 
and/or dependency.  

  
 CODE  DEFINITION  

1   Yes  

2   No  
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FIELD 22 - CRIMINAL CHARGES FILE                         [ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE]  
  
Enter the appropriate two-digit code if criminal charges related to the reported abuse and/or neglect has been filed.   

  
 CODE  DEFINITION  

1   Yes  

2   No  

  
FIELD 23 - PERPETRATOR RELATIONSHIP CODE    [ENTRY REQUIRED FOR SUBSTANTIATED CASES ONLY]  
  
This field is used to show the sex of the perpetrator and his or her relationship to the victim. Although more than one perpetrator in 
Field 33 can be entered, for the purposes of Field 23 only one Perpetrator Relationship Code can be entered.  If there is more than one 
perpetrator for the given victim, list the perpetrator code that defines the relationship of the perpetrator who had the most 
responsibility for action causing the greatest harm or risk of harm to the child. Do not enter more than one DSS-5104 form number for 
multiple perpetrators. Codes beginning with the number one indicate a female relationship to the child. Codes beginning with the 
number two indicate a male relationship to the child.  

  
FEMALE  MALE  DEFINITION  
10  20  Natural Parent – Biological mother or father of the child.  
11  21  Adoptive Parent – Parent who is not the child’s natural parent but who 

has completed the legal procedures for adoption of the child.  
12  22  Stepparent – Father’s spouse or mother’s spouse, when the spouse is not 

the natural parent, and when the stepparent has not adopted the child.  

13  23  Foster Parent – An individual who lives in a private residence and who is 
licensed by the Division of Social Services to provide continuing, full-time 
24-hour foster care or therapeutic care to children.  

14  24  Grandparent – A parent of the child’s mother or father.  
15  25  Step Grandparent – A parent of the child’s stepfather or stepmother.  
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16  26  Other Relatives – A relative other than parents or grandparents (aunts, 
uncles, cousins, nieces, siblings, nephews, etc.).  

FEMALE  MALE  DEFINITION  
17  27  Employee of an Institution/Group Home – An institution/group home is 

any public or private agency, group, organization, corporation or 
partnership employing, directing, assisting, or providing its facilities to 
persons who, as a part of their association with the institution, give 24-
hour residential care and services to children less than 18 years of age. 
An employee of  
Institution/Group homes includes house parents, cottage parents, or 
other persons supervising a juvenile in a child-care facility. This code is 
also to be used for any on-site administrator found to be responsible for 
the neglect or abuse of a child.  

18  28  Employee of a Child Care Facility/Plan – Child care is a child care 
arrangement for a child under 13 years of age in a child care facility or 
plan as defined in Article 7 of Chapter 110 of the NC General Statutes. An 
employee of a Child Care Facility/Plan includes any person who has 
responsibility for care of a juvenile in a child care arrangement as defined 
in Article 7 of Chapter 110 of the NC General Statutes or any person who 
has approval of the care provider to assume responsibility for the 
juveniles under the care of the care provider. This code is to be used also 
for any owner/operator found to be responsible for the neglect and/or 
abuse of a child.  

19  29  Other Caretaker – Any person other than those listed above including an 
adult member of the juvenile’s household.  

00   Unknown Perpetrator – This code is to be used when abuse (1), neglect 
(2), abuse and neglect (3), abuse and serious neglect (3S), serious neglect 
(2S), or neglect and serious neglect (2N) have been substantiated but the 
specific perpetrator cannot be identified. Use of this code will require an 
entry of “05” in Field 31.   
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               FIELD 24 – SERVICES PROVIDED            [ENTRY REQUIRED]  
  
Enter the two-digit code for any services that were referred or provided to the family as a result of the CPS Assessment to reported 
allegations. Services may have either been provided directly by the county child welfare agency or by another agency. There is space to 
enter up to three two-digit codes for Services Provided.  If more than three services were provided, enter the codes for the three most 
critical services identified to meet the child and family needs. If a family was referred to services, but those services had not yet been 
initiated at the time of case decision, place code “12” (Information and Referral Services).  “No Services Referred or Provided” code (00) 
is used for cases with Type Found of “Unsubstantiated,” “Services Recommended” or “Services Not Recommended.”   

CODE  DEFINITION  

00  No Services Referred or Provided  

01  Adoption Services – Services or activities provided to assist in bringing about the 
adoption of a child.  

02 Case Management Services - Services or activities for the arrangement, 
coordination, and monitoring of services to meet the needs of children and 
their families. This would include NC’s service code 215, CPS In-Home 
Services.  

03 Counselling Services - Activities that apply the therapeutic processes to 
personal, family, situational or occupational problems in order to bring 
about a positive resolution of the problem or improved individual or family 
functioning or circumstances.  

04 Child Care Services - Services or activities provided in a setting that meet applicable 
standards of State and local law, in a center or in a home, for a portion of a 24-hour 
day. 

05 Educational and Training Services - Activities provided to improve knowledge or daily 
living skills and to enhance cultural opportunities. 

06 Employment Services - Activities provided to assist individuals in securing 
employment or acquiring of skills that promote opportunities for employment. 

07 Family Planning Services - Educational, medical, or social service activities that 
enable individuals, including minors, to determine freely the number and spacing of 
their children and to select the means by which this may be achieved. 

08 Health-Related and Home Health Services - Activities provided to attain and maintain 
a favorable condition of health. 
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CODE  DEFINITION  

09 Home-Based Services - In-home activities provided to individuals or families to assist 
with household or personal care that improve or maintain family wellbeing. Includes 
in-home aides, home maintenance and household management services. 

10 Housing Services - Activities designed to assist individuals or families in locating, 
obtaining, or retaining suitable housing. 

11 Independent and Transitional Living Services (LINKS) - Activities designed to help 
older youth in foster care or homeless youth make the transition to independent 
living. 

12 Information and Referral Services - Resources or activities designed to provide facts 
about services made available by public and private providers, after a brief 
assessment of client needs (but not a diagnosis and evaluation) to facilitate 
appropriate referral to these community resources. 

13 Legal Services - Activities provided by a lawyer, or other person(s) under the 
supervision of a lawyer, to assist individuals in seeking or obtaining legal help in civil 
matters such as housing, divorce, child support, guardianship, paternity and legal 
separation. 

14 Mental Health Services - Activities which aim to overcome issues involving emotional 
disturbance or maladaptive adversely affecting socialization, learning, or 
development. Usually provided by public or private mental health agencies and 
includes both residential and non-residential activities 

15  Pregnancy/Parenting Services for Young Parents - Activities for married or unmarried 
adolescent parents and their families to assist them in coping with social, emotional, 
and economic problems related to pregnancy and to plan for the future.  

16  Respite Care Services - Activities involving the temporary care of the children in order 
to provide relief to the caretaker. May involve care of the children outside of the 
caretaker’s own home for a brief period of time, such as overnight or for a weekend. 
Not considered by the State to be foster care or other placement.  

17  Special Services - Disabled - Activities for persons with developmental, physical, 
emotional, visual or auditory impairments that are intended to help maximize their 
potential alleviate the effects of their disabilities, and to enable these persons to live 
in the least restrictive environment possible.  
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CODE  DEFINITION  

18  Special Services / Juvenile Delinquent - Activities for youth (and their families) who 
are, or who may become, involved with the juvenile justice system.  

19  Substance Abuse Services – Activities designed to deter, reduce, or eliminate 
substance abuse or chemical dependency for the child or the child’s family as a result 
of the CPS response to reported allegations, or to the child himself.  

20  Transportation Services - Activities that provide or arrange for travel, including travel 
costs of individuals, in order to access services, or obtain medical care or 
employment.  

21  Other Services - Activities that have been provided to the child and/or family, but 
which are not included in the services listed above.  
  

22  Court Appointed Representative – A person appointed by the court to represent or 
advocate for a child in a neglect and/or abuse proceeding. May be an attorney or a 
court-appointed Special Advocate (or both) and is often referred to as a Guardian ad 
Litem.   

23  Family Preservation Services – Activities designed to help families alleviate crises that 
might lead to out-of-home placement of children, maintain the safety of children in 
their own homes, support families preparing to reunify or adopt, and assist families in 
obtaining services and other supports necessary to address their multiple needs in a 
culturally sensitive manner.  

24  Family Support Services – Community-based preventative activities designed to 
alleviate stress and promote parental competencies and behaviors that will increase 
the ability of families to successfully nurture their children, enable families to use 
other resources and opportunities available in the community, and create supportive 
networks to enhance child-rearing abilities of parents.  

 25 Plan of Safe Care – A case plan that is developed for Substance Affected Infants (SAI) 
with the family that identifies the needs of the child and family. Should only be used if 
there is a Contributory Factor of Caretaker-Drug Abuse and/or Child Drug problem with 
a Substance Affected Infant selection and the drug of use is identified. 
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 FIELD 25 - FAILURE TO REPORT SOURCE         [ENTRY REQUIRED]  
  
This field is completed when, during the course of the CPS Assessment, sources were found to know of the allegations but failed to 
report them. Use the code that best describes the source. If there is more than one source identified that failed to report the 
allegations, please record the first source identified.  Enter the two-digit code for the source of failure to report.  

   
CODE  DEFINITION  
01  Anonymous - An anonymous reporter is a person who deliberately chooses to 

remain anonymous.  
02   Childcare Provider - This category includes baby sitters, personnel in childcare 

arrangements, Smart Start or Head Start agency personnel.  
03   Educational Personnel - This category includes teachers, principals, school nurses, 

learning aids, school librarians, or other individuals who report the maltreatment as 
a result of their involvement in a school setting.  

04   Law Enforcement or Court Personnel - This category includes police, courts, 
attorney, parole and probation officers, and sheriff’s deputies.  

05   Medical Personnel - This category includes private physicians, clinic or hospital 
physicians, dentists, emergency room personnel, nurses, X-ray technicians, the staff 
of a physician in private practice, optometrists, and paramedics.  

06   Relative - A member of the child’s and/or caretaker’s immediate or extended family-
who that is not covered by another category.  

07  Non-Relative - A person who is not related to the child’s family or to the child. 
Example: friend, neighbor, or foster parent.  

08   Human Service Personnel - This is category includes child welfare workers, social 
workers, mental health workers (psychiatrist, psychologist, psychiatric or clinical 
social workers), and the staff of social service agencies and institutions.  

09   Victim - The child who is alleged to be neglected and/or abused.  
10  Parent -The biological, adoptive, or stepparent of the child.  
11  N/A - During the course of the CPS assessment there was no failure to report found.  

  



NC DSS 
CPS Data Collection (Non-NC FAST)                                 January 2024 
Appendix 1  
 

40 

FIELD 26 - FAILURE TO REPORT REASON            [REQUIRED IF CODE 01-10 IS ENTERED IN FIELD 24]  
  
If code 01-10 has been selected for Field 24, at least one of the following reasons must be selected.  Enter an “X” by the appropriate 
failure to report reasons.  Select as many reasons that apply.  

  
• Did not want to get involved/family matters/religious beliefs  

• Thought DSS would not respond  

• Fear of retaliation/financial distress  

• Did not know how to report  

• Thought someone else would report it/better handled by other resources or services  

• Thought it would be a breach of confidentiality  

• Did not consider actions inappropriate/disbelief of possible allegations  

• Other/Refused to Say/Unknown  

  
FIELD 27 - CONTRIBUTORY FACTORS        [REQUIRED IF SUBSTANTIATED OR FOUND SERVICES NEEDED]  
  
The tables below list three categories of Contributory Factors that may have led to the need for Child Protective Services intervention: 
conditions attributed to the caretaker, conditions attributed to the child, and conditions attributed to the household. Within each 
category (caretaker, child, and household), select as many factors as applicable and rank each factor based on priority.    

  
For Contributory Factors associated with either the caretaker or the child, rank each factor from 01 to 09 (where 01 indicates the highest 
priority and 09 is the lowest). For Contributory Factors associated with the household, rank each factor based on the priority from 01 to 
04 (where 01 indicates the highest priority and 04 is the lowest).    

  
Caretaker, Child, and Household Contributory Factors are prioritized separately. The priority must be a two-digit number.  Complete this 
section on the DSS-5104 for each child.  At least one contributory factor from one of these three tables must be identified if the CPS 
Assessment finding is “Substantiated” or “Services Needed.”  
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If none of the caretaker, child or household factors apply enter “00” in the box label “None of These Apply for This Child”. If “00” is 
entered no other entries are allowed.   

  
These Contributory Factors are derived directly from the federal definitions used to report to the National Child Abuse and Neglect Data 
System (NCANDS) data collection and analysis system.  As such, some definitions are based upon but have a broader definition than that 
found in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM).   

For Caretaker-Drug Abuse and Child-Drug Problem Contributory Factors, there are additional fields associated with Substance 
Affected Infant (SAI) who may have been exposed to substances during pregnancy. If SAI is indicated for either of these 
contributory factors, the two-digit drug of use code must be entered. A list of the valid drug codes is listed at the end of the 
tables of contributory factors. 

 
CARETAKER CONTRIBUTORY 

FACTOR  DEFINITION  

Alcohol Abuse – Caretaker  The principal caretaker(s)’ compulsive use of alcohol that is 
not of a temporary nature.  

Drug Abuse – Caretaker  The principal caretaker(s)’ compulsive use of drugs that is 
not of a temporary nature.  

Mental Retardation – Caretaker  Significant sub-average general cognitive and motor 
functioning existing concurrently with deficits in adaptive 
that adversely affect socialization and learning. This 
condition must be clinically diagnosed.  

Emotionally Disturbed – 
Caretaker  
  

A condition exhibiting one or more of the following 
characteristics over a long period of time and to a marked 
degree: an inability to build or maintain satisfactory 
interpersonal relationships, inappropriate types of or feeling 
under normal circumstances, a general pervasive mood of 
unhappiness or depression, or a tendency to develop 
physical symptoms or fears associated with personal 
problems.  The term includes persons who are schizophrenic 
or autistic. The term does not include persons who are 
socially maladjusted, unless it is determined that they are 
also seriously emotionally disturbed. This condition must be 
clinically diagnosed. The diagnosis is based on the 
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CARETAKER CONTRIBUTORY 
FACTOR  DEFINITION  

Diagnostics and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (the 
most recent edition of DSM).  

Visually or Hearing Impaired – 
Caretaker  

A clinically diagnosed handicapping condition of the 
principal caretaker(s) related to visual impairment or 
permanent or fluctuating hearing or speech impairment 
that may significantly affect functioning or development.  

Learning Disability – Caretaker  A disorder of one or more of the principal caretaker(s) basic 
psychological processes involved in understanding or using 
language, spoken or written, that may manifest itself in an 
imperfect ability to listen, think, speak, read, write, spell, or 
to use mathematical calculations.  This item includes 
conditions such as perceptual disability, brain injury, 
minimal brain dysfunction, dyslexia, and developmental 
aphasia.   
This condition must be clinically diagnosed.  

Physically Disabled – Caretaker  A physical condition that adversely affects the caretaker(s)’ 
day-to-day motor functioning, such as cerebral palsy, spinal 
bifida, multiple sclerosis, impairments, and other physical 
disabilities.  This condition must be clinically diagnosed.  

Other Medical Condition – 
Caretaker  

A medical condition other than mental retardation, visual or 
hearing impairment, physical disability, or being emotionally 
disturbed, that significantly affects the functioning or 
development of the primary caretaker(s) and their ability to 
provide a suitable child care environment.  This condition 
must be clinically diagnosed.  

Lack of Child Development 
Knowledge – Caretaker  

Limited knowledge of what can be reasonably expected of a 
child at various stages of development.  

 
 



NC DSS 
CPS Data Collection (Non-NC FAST)                                 January 2024 
Appendix 1  
 

43 

CHILD CONTRIBUTORY FACTOR  DEFINITION  

Alcohol Problem – Child  A compulsive use of or need for alcohol.  This includes 
infants addicted at birth or who are victims of Fetal Alcohol 
Syndrome, or who may suffer other disabilities due to the 
use of alcohol during pregnancy.  

Drug Problem – Child  A compulsive use of or need for narcotics.  This includes 
infants addicted at birth.  

Mental Retardation – Child  Significant sub-average general cognitive and motor 
functioning existing concurrently with deficits in adaptive 
behavior manifested during the developmental period that 
adversely affect a  
child’s/youth’s socialization and learning. This condition 
must be clinically diagnosed.  

Emotionally Disturbed – Child  A condition exhibiting one or more of the following 
characteristics over a long period of time and to a marked 
degree: an inability to build or maintain satisfactory 
interpersonal relationships, inappropriate types of or feeling 
under normal circumstances, a general pervasive mood of 
unhappiness or depression or a tendency to develop 
physical symptoms or fears associated with personal 
problems.  The term includes persons who are schizophrenic 
or autistic.  The term does not include persons who are 
socially maladjusted, unless it is determined that they are 
also seriously emotionally disturbed. This condition must be 
clinically diagnosed. The diagnosis is based on the 
Diagnostics and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (the 
most recent edition of DSM).  

Visually or Hearing Impaired – 
Child  

A clinically diagnosed handicapping condition of the child 
related to visual impairment or permanent or fluctuating 
hearing or speech impairment that may significantly affect 
functioning or development.  



NC DSS 
CPS Data Collection (Non-NC FAST)                                 January 2024 
Appendix 1  
 

44 

CHILD CONTRIBUTORY FACTOR  DEFINITION  

Learning Disability – Child  A disorder in one or more of the child’s basic psychological 
processes involved in understanding or using language, 
spoken or written, that may manifest itself in an imperfect 
ability to listen, think, speak, read, write, spell, or to use 
mathematical calculations. This item includes conditions 
such as perceptual disability, brain injury, minimal brain 
dysfunction, dyslexia, and developmental aphasia.    

Physically Disabled – Child  A physical condition that adversely affects the child’s day-
to-day motor functioning, such as cerebral palsy, spinal 
bifida, multiple sclerosis, impairments, and other physical 
disabilities.  

Behavior Problem- Child  Behavior in the school and/or community that adversely 
affects socialization, learning, growth, and moral 
development.  These may include adjudicated or non-
adjudicated child behavior problems.  This would include 
the child’s running away from home or a placement.  

Other Medical Condition – Child  A medical condition other than mental retardation, visual 
or hearing impairment, physical disability, or being 
emotionally disturbed, that significantly affects the 
functioning or development the child or requires special 
medical care such as chronic illnesses.  This includes Near 
Fatality cases.  

Included are children diagnosed as HIV positive or with AIDS.    
    

HOUSEHOLD CONTRIBUTORY 
FACTOR  

DEFINITION  

Domestic Violence  Incidents of inter-spousal physical or emotional abuse 
perpetrated by one of the spouses or parent figures upon 
the other spouse or parent figure in the child’s home 
environment.  
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HOUSEHOLD CONTRIBUTORY 
FACTOR  

DEFINITION  

Inadequate Housing  A risk factor related to substandard, overcrowded, unsafe, 
or otherwise inadequate housing conditions, including 
homelessness.  

Financial Problem  A risk factor related to the family’s inability to provide 
sufficient financial resources to meet minimum needs.  

Public Assistance  Any one or combination of the following welfare or social 
services programs: TANF (Work First), General Assistance, 
Medicaid, SSI, Food, Nutrition and Assistance (formerly 
Food Stamps), etc.  

 Note: If Substance Affected Infant (SAI) has been selected with contributory factor Caretaker-Drug Abuse and/or Child Drug 
Problem, at least one of the following Drug of Use (DOU) codes must be entered.  Enter the two-digit code for the appropriate 
DOU identified. 

 

Code Description 
01 Tobacco 
02 Marijuana 
03 Cocaine 
04 Other Opiated (non-prescription) 
05 Heroin 
06 Methamphetamine 
07 Other Amphetamine 
08 Other Stimulus 
09 Benzodiazepines 
10 Other Tranquilizers 
11 Oxycodone 
12 Barbiturates 
13 Other Sedatives 
14 MDMA/Ecstasy 
15 PCP 
16 Other Hallucinogens 
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17 Inhalants 
18 OTC (Over the Counter Meds) 

 
FIELD 28 - TYPE REPORTED         [ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE]  
  
Enter the one-digit code to identify the type of report accepted for a CPS Assessment.    

  
For the child where the only allegation is Safe Surrender, type “4” should be selected. For additional information on Safe Surrender 
policy, refer to CPS Assessments found in the Child Welfare Manual.   

  
Note: When there are multiple children involved in a CPS assessment, if all children do not have allegations of maltreatment, the first 
child listed on the DSS-5104 must have a valid Type  

Reported (Type 1-4). Type 5, no allegations of maltreatment against this child, may be selected for any subsequent children as 
appropriate.  

  
CODE  TYPE OF REPORT  DEFINITION  
1  Abuse   An allegation that a juvenile’s parent, guardian, custodian, or 

caretaker inflicts or allows to be inflicted, creates or allows to 
be created a substantial risk of serious physical injury by other 
than accidental means, or uses or allows to be used upon the 
juvenile cruel or grossly inappropriate procedures or cruel or 
grossly inappropriate devices to modify, or commits, permits, 
or encourages the commission of any sexual offense by, with, 
or upon the juvenile in violation of the law,  promotes the 
prostitution of the juvenile, or creates or allows to be created 
serious emotional damage to the juvenile, or encourages, 
directs or approves of delinquent acts involving moral 
turpitude committed by the juvenile, commits or allows to be 
committed a human trafficking offense.   

chrome-extension://efaidnbmnnnibpcajpcglclefindmkaj/https:/policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/cps-assessments
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CODE  TYPE OF REPORT  DEFINITION  
2  Neglect  An allegation that a juvenile does not receive proper care, 

supervision, or discipline from the juvenile’s parent, guardian, 
custodian or caretaker, or who has been abandoned, or who is 
not provided necessary medical care, or who is not provided 
necessary remedial care, or who lives in an environment 
injurious to the juvenile’s welfare, or who has been placed for 
care or adoption in violation of the law or a victim of Human 
Trafficking. In determining whether to accept a report that a 
juvenile may be neglected, it is relevant whether that juvenile 
lives in a home where another juvenile has died as a result of 
abuse and/or neglect or lives in a home where another 
juvenile has been subjected to sexual abuse or severe physical 
abuse by an adult who regularly lives in the home.  

3  Abuse and Neglect  An allegation that both abuse and neglect occurred.   
4  Dependency  An allegation that a juvenile is in need of assistance or 

placement because he has no parent, guardian, or custodian 
responsible for the juvenile’s care or supervision or whose 
parent, guardian, or custodian, due to physical or mental 
incapacity and the absence of an appropriate alternative child 
care arrangement, is unable to provide for the juvenile’s care 
or supervision.  

5  No Allegation of 
Maltreatment  

This code may only be used for subsequent children when the 
first child listed on the DSS-5104 has a Type Reported of 1-4. 
Indicates that there is no allegation of maltreatment against 
that particular child.  

  
FIELD 29 - MALTREATMENT TYPE REPORTED [ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE]   
  
At the time that the CPS report was accepted, select what type of maltreatment is alleged by the reporting source.  

  
If type reported code is “1” for abuse, place as many priority codes as applicable.  Up to four priority codes (where 01 indicates the 
highest priority and 04 is the lowest) may be placed next to the abuse allegation options.    
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If type reported is “2” for neglect, place as many priority codes as applicable. Up to ten priority codes (where 01 indicates the 
highest priority and 10 is the lowest) may be placed next to the neglect allegation items.    

  
If type reported code is “3” for abuse and neglect, place as many priority codes as applicable.  Up to fourteen priority codes (where 01 
indicates the highest priority and 14 is the lowest) may be placed, next to both the abuse and neglect allegation items.    

  
If type reported code is “4”, for dependency, this field may be left blank.  

  
For the Child Protective Services referral that has been identified by the agency as a Safe Surrender, select Safe Surrender.  

  
If there is no alleged maltreatment for this child, enter code “00”.  This option is only to be used if there is more than one child and the 
first child has a valid maltreatment type entered. This code may only be selected if the value in Field 28 for this child is “5” (no alleged 
maltreatment) and no other entries are allowed.    

  
ABUSE RELATED 

MALTREATMENT TYPE  
DEFINITION  

Abuse – Physical   Non-accidental, serious, physical injury or risk of serious physical 
injury caused or allowed to be caused by the parent, guardian, 
custodian, or caretaker.  The parent, guardian, custodian, or 
caretaker used or allowed the use of cruel or grossly 
inappropriate procedures or cruel or grossly inappropriate 
devices to modify behavior.  

Abuse – Emotional   Severe emotional damage to the juvenile created or allowed to 
be created by the parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker as 
evidenced by a juvenile’s severe anxiety, depression, withdrawal 
or aggressive behavior toward himself or others.  
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ABUSE RELATED 
MALTREATMENT TYPE  

DEFINITION  

Abuse – Sexual   Any sexual act with, by or upon a juvenile in violation of the law, 
committed or allowed to be committed by the parent, guardian, 
custodian, or caretaker. This includes prostitution with or by the 
child.  Also included are pornographic filming and picture 
taking.  

Delinquent Acts Involving 
Moral Turpitude  

Delinquent acts committed by the juvenile with the 
encouragement, direction or approval of the parent or 
caretaker.  

Human Trafficking - Sexual  
  

The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker sold or attempted 
to sell the juvenile, subjected or maintained the juvenile in 
sexual servitude, or recruits, entices, harbors, transports, 
provides, or obtains by any means the juvenile with the intent 
that the juvenile be held in sexual servitude.  

Human Trafficking - Labor  
  

The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker sold or attempted 
to sell the juvenile, held the juvenile in involuntary servitude, or 
recruits, entices, harbors, transports, provides, or obtains by any 
means the juvenile with the intent that the juvenile be held in 
involuntary servitude.  

  
SERIOUS  

NEGLECT/NEGLECT  
RELATED  

MALTREATMENT TYPE   

DEFINITION  

Improper Supervision  The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker did not 
provide proper supervision.  

Improper Care  The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker did not 
provide proper care.  

Unsafe Discipline (No Physical 
Injuries)  

The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker did not provide 
safe discipline.  
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Unsafe Discipline (Injuries)  The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker providing 
improper discipline resulting in physical injuries.  

Injurious Environment  Lives in an environment injurious to the juvenile’s welfare 
other than substance abuse or domestic violence.  

Injurious Environment (DV)  Evidence of Domestic Violence.  

Injurious Environment (SA)  Evidence of Substance Abuse.  

Abandonment  Child has been abandoned by parent, guardian, custodian, 
or caretaker, other than under the Safe Surrender law  

Safe Surrender  Child has been identified as a Safe Surrender where the age 
of the child is 30 days or less. 

Improper Med Care/Rem Care  The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker did not 
provide necessary medical care or other remedial care.  

Adoption Law Violation  Placed for adoption in violation of law.  
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 FIELD 30 - TYPE FOUND            [ENTRY REQUIRED]   
  
Enter the one-digit code to indicate the findings of the CPS Assessment. These codes may be different for each alleged victim child 
in the report.  Select the appropriate type found for each alleged victim child in the report.  

  
CODE  TYPE FOUND  DEFINITION  

0  Unsubstantiated  A situation that abuse, neglect, or dependency was not 
found.  

1  Abuse Substantiated  A situation in which a juvenile’s parent, guardian, 
custodian, or caretaker inflicts or allows to be inflicted, 
creates or allows to be created a substantial risk of 
serious physical injury by other than accidental means, 
or uses or allows to be used upon the juvenile cruel or 
grossly inappropriate procedures or cruel or grossly 
inappropriate devices to modify behavior, or commits, 
permits, or encourages the commission of any sexual 
offense by, with, or upon the juvenile in violation of the 
law,  promotes the prostitution of the juvenile, or 
creates or allows to be created serious emotional 
damage to the juvenile, encourages, directs or approves 
of delinquent acts involving moral turpitude committed 
by the juvenile, or commits or allows to be committed 
an offense under G.S. § 14-43.11 (human trafficking), 
G.S. § 14-43.12 (involuntary servitude), or G.S. § 14-
43.13 (sexual servitude) against the child.  
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CODE  TYPE FOUND  DEFINITION  
2  Neglect Substantiated  A situation in which a juvenile does not receive proper 

care, supervision, or discipline from the juvenile’s 
parent, guardian, custodian or caretaker, or who has 
been abandoned, or who is not provided necessary 
medical care, or who is not provided necessary remedial 
care, or who lives in an environment injurious to the 
juvenile’s welfare, or who has been placed for care or 
adoption in violation of the law. In determining whether 
a juvenile is a neglected juvenile, it is relevant whether 
that juvenile lives in a home where another juvenile has 
died as a result of abuse and/or neglect or lives in a 
home where another juvenile has been subjected to 
sexual abuse or severe physical abuse by an adult who 
regularly lives in the home.  

2S  Serious Neglect 
Substantiated  

Conduct, behaviors, or inaction of the juvenile’s parent, 
guardian, custodian, or caretaker that evidences a 
disregard of consequences of such magnitude that the 
conduct, behavior, or inaction constitutes an 
unequivocal danger to the juvenile’s health, welfare, or 
safety, but does not constitute abuse. 

2N  Serious Neglect and 
Neglect Substantiated  

A situation in which both Serious Neglect and neglect 
are found.  

3  Abuse and Neglect 
Substantiated  

A situation in which both abuse and neglect are found.  
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CODE  TYPE FOUND  DEFINITION  
3S  Abuse and Serious  

Neglect Substantiated  
A situation in which both abuse and Serious Neglect are 
found.   

4  Dependency 
Substantiated  

A situation in which a juvenile is in need of assistance or 
placement because the juvenile has no parent, guardian, 
or custodian responsible for the juvenile’s care or 
supervision or whose parent, guardian, or custodian, 
due to physical or mental incapacity and the absence of 
an appropriate alternative child care arrangement, is 
unable to provide for the juvenile’s care or supervision.  

5  Child Protective Services 
Needed  

Involuntary CPS services to ensure the safety of the 
child. These are situations in which the safety and/or risk 
of harm is so great that the agency cannot ensure the 
safety of the children without either providing necessary 
services or monitoring those provided by another 
agency or provider.  

7  Child Protective Services 
Not Recommended  

A situation in which a Family Assessment has been 
completed on CPS reports of neglect (with the exception 
of abandonment and the special types of reports) and 
dependency, and not only is the safety of a child not an 
issue and there is no concern for the future risk of harm, 
but also, the family has no need for other non-safety 
related services.  

8  Services Provided,  
Child Protective  
Services No Longer  
Needed 

A situation in which a Family Assessment has been 
completed on CPS reports of neglect (with the exception 
of abandonment and the special types of reports) and 
dependency, and the safety of a child and future risk of 
harm were high enough to qualify for involuntary 
services BUT are no longer issues because the agency 
had been successful in “frontloading” necessary services 
during the Family Assessment.  These are cases in which 
continued involuntary CPS supervision is no longer 
needed to ensure the child’s safety.  This finding is not 
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CODE  TYPE FOUND  DEFINITION  
appropriate for cases in which the agency feels it needs 
to ensure safety due to ongoing concerns for safety or 
future risk of harm if the recommendations are not 
followed. 

 
  

FIELD 31- FINDINGS REASON         [ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE]  
  
If type found code in Field 30 is “Unsubstantiated” (0) or “Services Not Recommended” (7), enter in a two-digit reason code for finding.   

  
If type found code in Field 30 is “Abuse” (1), “Neglect” (2),”Abuse and neglect” (3), “Abuse and Serious Neglect” (3S), “Serious Neglect” 
(2S), or “Neglect and Serious Neglect” (2N) and the code in Field 23, Perpetrator Relationship is “Unknown Perpetrator” (00), then code 
“05” must be entered in this field.  

  
For the Safe Surrender child, this field should be left blank.   

    
CODE  VALUE  DEFINITION  

01  Allegations could 
not be proven  

At the time of case decision, no evidence could be found to 
prove allegations occurred.  

02  Isolated Incident  Accidental incident that did not pose a serious physical 
injury, risk of serious physical injury, or risk of severe 
emotional damage.  

03  Lack of Severity  Incident is not of a serious nature to be defined as abuse or 
neglect.  

04  No Lack of 
Safety/No 
protection issue  

At the time of case decision, incident did not pose any 
immediate or future safety protection issues.  

05  Cannot Identify 
Perpetrator  

At the time of case decision, protection of child from the 
perpetrator was not an issue OR the identity of the 
perpetrator was not able to be determined.  
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06  Perpetrator is not a 
caretaker  

Perpetrator is not a parent, guardian, or custodian or 
caretaker.  

  
  

FIELD 32 - MALTREATMENT TYPE FOUND [ENTRY REQUIRED FOR SUBSTANTIATED CASES OF ABUSE, NEGLECT, OR ABUSE AND 
NEGLECT ONLY]  
  
At the conclusion of the CPS Assessment, if the case is “Substantiated”, select the appropriate maltreatment type found.   

  
Do not complete this field if a family assessment finding (Codes 5, 6, 7, or 8) is recorded in Field 30 (Type Found).  Do not complete if 
dependency (Code 4) is recorded in Field 30 (Type Found) unless it is a Safe Surrender (it must meet the requirements for a Safe 
Surrender under the law-Please refer to the policy found in the Assessments manual regarding Safe Surrender) and then the box for Safe 
Surrender should be checked.  

This field allows more than one type of maltreatment to be selected. Each maltreatment type must be assigned a priority code. The 
priority code is based on what level of priority is given to the maltreatment type with “01” being the highest priority. The priority code 
must be at least two-digits.  

The maltreatment type is based on the case finding (Type Found) in Field 30.  

If the case finding code is “1” then prioritize as many abuse maltreatment types as applicable, up to four. If the case finding code is “2” 
then prioritize as many neglect maltreatment types as applicable, up to ten. If the case finding code is “3”, then prioritize as many abuse 
and neglect maltreatment types as apply, up to fourteen.  

For all neglect maltreatment types that are prioritized, the “Serious” box may be selected.    

  
ABUSE RELATED 

MALTREATMENT TYPE  
DEFINITION  

Abuse – Physical   Non-accidental, serious, physical injury or risk of serious 
physical injury caused or allowed to be caused by the 
parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker.  The parent, 
guardian, custodian, or caretaker used or allowed the use 
of cruel or grossly inappropriate procedures or cruel or 
grossly inappropriate devices to modify behavior.  

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/cps-assessments
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Abuse – Emotional   Severe emotional damage to the juvenile created or 
allowed to be created by the parent, guardian, custodian, 
or caretaker as evidenced by a juvenile’s severe anxiety, 
depression, withdrawal or aggressive behavior toward 
himself or others.  

Abuse – Sexual   Any sexual act with, by or upon a juvenile in violation of 
the law, committed or allowed to be committed by the 
parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker. This includes 
prostitution with or by the child.  Also included are 
pornographic filming and picture taking.  

Delinquent Acts Involving Moral 
Turpitude  

Delinquent acts committed by the juvenile with the 
encouragement, direction or approval of the parent or 
caretaker.  

ABUSE RELATED 
MALTREATMENT TYPE  

  
DEFINITION  

Human Trafficking - Sexual  
  

The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker sold or 
attempted to sell the juvenile, subjected or maintained the 
juvenile in sexual servitude, or recruits, entices, harbors, 
transports, provides, or obtains by any means the juvenile 
with the intent that the juvenile be held in sexual 
servitude.  

Human Trafficking - Labor  
  

The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker sold or 
attempted to sell the juvenile, held the juvenile in 
involuntary servitude, or recruits, entices, harbors, 
transports, provides, or obtains by any means the juvenile 
with the intent that the juvenile be held in involuntary 
servitude.  

   
SERIOUS NEGLECT  

RELATED  
MALTREATMENT TYPE  

DEFINITION  

Improper Supervision  The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker did not 
provide proper supervision.  
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SERIOUS NEGLECT  
RELATED  

MALTREATMENT TYPE  
DEFINITION  

Improper Care  The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker did not 
provide proper care.  

Neglect Related  
Maltreatment Type  

Definition  

Unsafe Discipline (No Physical 
Injuries)  

The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker did not 
provide safe discipline.  

Unsafe Discipline (Physical 
Injuries)  

The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker providing 
unsafe discipline resulting in physical injuries.  

Injurious Environment  Lives in an environment injurious to the juvenile’s welfare 
other than substance abuse or domestic violence.  

Injurious Environment (DV)  Evidence of Domestic Violence.  

Injurious Environment (SA)  Evidence of Substance Abuse.  

Abandonment  Child has been abandoned by parent, guardian, custodian, 
or caretaker, other than under the Safe Surrender law.  

Safe Surrender  Child has been identified as a Safe Surrender where the 
age of the child is 30 days or less. 

Improper Medical  
Care/Remedial Care  

The parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker did not 
provide necessary medical care or other remedial care.  

Adoption Law Violation  Placed for adoption in violation of law.  
  
  

FIELD 33 - PERPETRATOR NAME  [ENTRY REQUIRED FOR CASES SUBSTANTIATED FOR ABUSE AND/OR NEGLECT ONLY]  
  

No perpetrator information is entered when the type found in Field 30 is dependency (4), or for any of the family assessment findings (5, 
6, 7, or 8).  
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If the code in Field 31, Findings Reason, is 05, “the identity of the perpetrator was not able to be determined”, the Perpetrator Fields 
(33-40) will be left blank.  

  
There are sections on the DSS-5104 for up to two perpetrators.  At data entry, there are sections in the system for up to ten 
perpetrators.  Therefore, if there are more than two perpetrators in a report, complete the DSS-5104p 
(http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104p.pdf).   

  
If any perpetrator is an employee of a group home or institution, enter the required information for the specific perpetrator and write 
the name of that group home or institution in Field 41, labelled  

“GROUP HOME/INSTITUTION” of the DSS-5104.   

  
If the case decision is that the owner/operator or administrator of a group home or institution was responsible for the abuse and/or 
neglect of a child, that individual’s name should be listed as a perpetrator.  If the case decision concludes that there is no specific 
employee of a group home or institution who can be identified as a perpetrator in the incident being substantiated, enter unknown as 
the perpetrator and enter the name of that child care arrangement, group home, or institution in the field labelled “GROUP 
HOME/INSTITUTION” of the paper DSS-5104 form. If the situation involves a child care home, the child care provider’s name may be 
used in this field.  

  
If a family assessment was conducted or if the case was substantiated for dependency, there is no perpetrator, and therefore, nothing is 
entered in Fields 33 - 38.  

  
To enter perpetrator information in the State system, press F9.  To enter additional perpetrator information, press F8 to scroll to 
the next perpetrator screen.  

  
Enter the name of each parent or other caretaker identified as a perpetrator.  The individual perpetrator’s name is entered with the 
last name, first name, and the middle initial in the middle initial block.    

  
FIELD 34 - DATE OF BIRTH  [ENTRY REQUIRED FOR CASES SUBSTANTIATED FOR ABUSE, SERIOUS NEGLECT AND/OR NEGLECT ONLY]  
  

http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104p.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104p.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104p.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104p.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104p.pdf
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Enter the month, day, and year [use a leading zero for any month or day less than ten] for each perpetrator’s date of birth in the format 
MMDDYYYY. If the exact date of birth is unknown or cannot be obtained, leave this field blank and go to Field 35. The Central Registry 
system will list an estimated date of birth based on the age listed in Field 35 and the date of the report.  The fact that the date of birth is 
estimated will be marked in the Central Registry system.  

  
FIELD 35 – AGE  [ENTRY REQUIRED FOR CASES SUBSTANTIATED FOR  ABUSE, SERIOUS NEGLECT AND/OR NEGLECT ONLY]  
  
If the perpetrator’s date of birth is unknown and cannot be obtained, enter the two-digit code that indicates the perpetrator’s age in 
years. If the exact age is unknown, approximate the age. DO NOT CODE A “99” FOR UNKNOWN. Do not complete this field when the 
date of birth was entered in Field 34. The Central Registry system will compute the age automatically.  

  
FIELD 36 – RACE and ETHNICITY [ENTRY REQUIRED FOR CASES SUBSTANTIATED FOR  ABUSE, SERIOUS NEGLECT AND/OR NEGLECT ONLY] 
  
Enter the appropriate two-digit code to indicate the primary racial group of which the perpetrator is a member.   

  
CODE  DEFINITION  

01    White Native (Non Hispanic or Latino)   
02    White (Hispanic or Latino)  
03    Black (Non Hispanic or Latino)  
04    Black (Hispanic or Latino)  
05    American Indian or Alaskan Native (Non Hispanic or Latino)  
06    American Indian or Alaskan Native (Hispanic or Latino)  
07    Asian (Non Hispanic or Latino)  
08    Asian (Hispanic or Latino)  
09    Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or Latino)  
10    Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)  
11    Unable to Determine (Non Hispanic or Latino)  
12    Unable to Determine (Hispanic or Latino)  
13    White/Black (Non Hispanic or Latino)  
14    White/Black (Hispanic or Latino)  
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CODE  DEFINITION  
15    White/American Indian or Alaskan Native (Non Hispanic or Latino)  
16    White/American Indian or Alaskan Native (Hispanic or Latino)  
17    White/Asian (Non Hispanic or Latino)  
18    White/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)  
19    White/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or Latino)  
20    White/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)  
21    Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native (Non Hispanic or Latino)  
22    Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native (Hispanic or Latino)  
23    Black/Asian (Non Hispanic or Latino)  
24    Black/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)  
25    Black Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or Latino)  
26    Black/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)   
27    American Indian or Alaskan Native/Asian (Non Hispanic or Latino)  
28    American Indian or Alaskan Native/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)  
29    American Indian or Alaskan Native/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non 

Hispanic or Latino)  
30    American Indian or Alaskan Native/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 

(Hispanic or Latino)  
31    Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or Latino)  
32    Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)  
33    White/Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native (Non Hispanic or Latino)  
34    White/Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native (Hispanic or Latino)  
35    White/Black/Asian (Non Hispanic or Latino)  
36    White/Black/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)  
37   White/Black/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or Latino)  
38    White/Black/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)  
39    White/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Asian (Non Hispanic or Latino)  
40    White/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)  
41    White/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific 

Islander (Non Hispanic or Latino)  
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CODE  DEFINITION  
42    White/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific 

Islander (Hispanic or Latino)  
43   White/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or Latino)  
44    White/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)  
45    Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Asian (Non Hispanic or Latino)  
46    Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)  
47    Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Native Hawaiian (Non Hispanic or Latino)  
48    Black/American Indian or Alaskan Native/Native Hawaiian (Hispanic or Latino)  
49    Black/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or Latino)  
50    Black/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)  
51    American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non   
  Hispanic or Latino)  
52    American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or 

Latino)  
53    White/Black/American Indian/Asian (Non Hispanic or Latino)  
54   White/Black/American Indian/Asian (Hispanic or Latino)  
55    White/Black/American Indian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non 

Hispanic or Latino)  
56    White/Black/American Indian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic 

or Latino)  
57    White/Black/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non Hispanic or 

Latino)  
58    White/Black/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic or Latino)  
59    White/American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non 

Hispanic or Latino)  
60    White/American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic 

or Latino)  
61    Black/American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Non 

Hispanic or Latino)  
62    Black/American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (Hispanic 

or Latino)  
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CODE  DEFINITION  
63    White/Black/American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 

(Non Hispanic or Latino)  
64  White/Black/American Indian/Asian/Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 

(Hispanic or Latino)  
 

  
FIELD 37 – SEX [ENTRY REQUIRED ON CASES SUBSTANTIATED FOR ABUSE, SERIOUS NEGLECT AND/OR NEGLECT ONLY]  
  
Enter the appropriate one-digit code to indicate the sex of the perpetrator.  

  
CODE  DEFINITION  
1  Male  
2  Female  
3 Gender Non-

Conforming 
  
 
 
 
FIELD 38 - SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER [ENTRY REQUIRED ON CASES SUBSTANTIATED FOR ABUSE AND/OR NEGLECT ONLY]  

  
Enter the Social Security Number for the perpetrator. If the Social Security Number is unknown and cannot be obtained, enter all 
“0s” in this field.  

  
FIELD 39 - RESPONSIBLE INDIVIDUALS LIST INDICATOR [ENTRY REQUIRED ON CASES SUBSTANTIATED FOR ABUSE AND/OR NEGLECT ONLY]  
  
The code in this field is automatically “00” until a DSS-5104a is completed.  The RIL indicator will automatically be updated based on the 
information keyed in the RIL.    

 Codes ending with a “J” indicate that the individual was placed on the RIL as the result of a Judicial Review.  

CODE  DEFINITION  RIL PLACEMENT STATUS  
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00  Dismissed / Adjudication No RIL Placement / No 
Adjudication  

No  

1J  Abuse / RIL Placement  Yes  
2J  Serious Neglect / RIL Placement  Yes  
3J  Abuse and Serious Neglect / RIL Placement  Yes  
4J  Abuse and Neglect/ RIL Placement  Yes  
5J  Serious Neglect and Neglect/ RIL Placement  Yes  

  
     

Codes ending with an “A” indicate that the individual was placed on the RIL as the result of a Juvenile Petition.  

Note: As of October 1, 2013, these codes were no longer used for new RIL placements, however they are valid codes for Petitions 
prior to October 1, 2013.   

  
CODE  DEFINITION  RIL PLACEMENT STATUS  

00  Dismissed / Adjudication No RIL Placement / No 
Adjudication  

No  

1A  Abuse / RIL Placement  Yes  
2A  Serious Neglect / RIL Placement  Yes  
3A  Abuse and Serious Neglect / RIL Placement  Yes  
4A  Abuse and Neglect/RIL Placement  Yes  
5A  Serious Neglect and Neglect/ RIL Placement  Yes  

  
Code 9A refers to the Judicial Petition adjudication of abuse, serious neglect, abuse and neglect, abuse and serious neglect, serious 
neglect and neglect, neglect, and/or dependency without the placement of the individual on the RIL.  

  
Codes ending with a “D” indicate that the individual was placed on the RIL as the result of the original case decision.  

  
CODE  DEFINITION  RIL PLACEMENT STATUS  

1D  Abuse / RIL Placement  Yes  
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2D  Serious Neglect / RIL Placement  Yes  
3D  Abuse and Serious Neglect / RIL Placement  Yes  

4D  Abuse and/or Neglect and Other Finding / RIL 
Placement  

Yes  

5D  Serious Neglect and Neglect/ RIL Placement   Yes  

  
Although uncommon, cases have occurred where the individual is criminally convicted prior to the county child welfare case decision 
being made. The following codes will automatically populate to this field only if the individuals is not currently on the RIL and if other 
data keyed on the same DSS-5104 does not place the name on the RIL.  

  
CODE  DEFINITION  RIL PLACEMENT STATUS  

1C  Abuse  Yes  
2C  Serious Neglect  Yes  
3C  Abuse and Serious Neglect  Yes  
4C  Abuse and/or Neglect  Yes  
5C  Serious Neglect and Neglect  Yes  

  
FIELD 40 - MILITARY AFFILIATION                                              [ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE]    

Please indicate if the perpetrator is a member of the military, enter the two-digit code that corresponds to the branch of service 
with which that individual is affiliated.   

  
CODE  DEFINITION  
00  Not Applicable  
01  Army  
02  Navy  
03  Air Force  
04  Marines  
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05  Coast Guard  
06  Reserves- Active Duty  
07  National Guard – Active Duty  
08  Reserves – Inactive  
09  National Guard – Inactive  
10  Unknown  

  
FIELD 41 - GROUP HOME/INSTITUTION NAME                                                           [ENTRY REQUIRED SUBSTANTIATED CASES INVOLVING   

CHILD CARE, GROUP HOME AND INSTITUTION SETTINGS]  
  
If the perpetrator relationship code in Field 23 is coded as “17”, “27”, “18”, or “28”, enter the group home or institution name involved.   
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Responsible Individuals List 

 I. INTRODUCTION    
  

The development of the Responsible Individuals List (RIL) is a direct result of federal requirements under the Child Abuse Prevention and 
Treatment Act (CAPTA) (http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/PLAW-111publ320/pdf/PLAW-111publ320.pdf), Section 106(a). The CAPTA 
grant requires each state to establish procedures for individuals found to have abused or neglected a juvenile to appeal that decision. 
Non-compliance with this requirement directly impacts the receipt of CAPTA funds.   

  

This policy outlines procedures regarding notice to an alleged responsible individual and the procedures for a judicial review of the 
county child welfare agency’s decision to substantiate abuse and/or serious neglect and identify the individual as a responsible 
individual.   

 II. DEFINITIONS  
  

Session Law 2019-33 ( https://www.ncleg.gov/Sessions/2019/Bills/House/PDF/H301v4.pdf) amended the definition of Responsible 
Individual found in G.S. § 7B-101 
(http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B101.html) The definition reads:    

 (18a) Responsible Individual – A parent, guardian, custodian, caretaker, or individual responsible for subjecting a juvenile to human 
trafficking under G.S. 14-43.11, 14-43.12, or 14-43.13 who abuses or seriously neglects a juvenile.  

 (19a) Serious Neglect – Conduct, behavior, or inaction of the juvenile’s parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker that evidences a 
disregard of consequences of such magnitude that the conduct, behavior, or inaction constitutes an unequivocal danger to the juvenile’s 
health, welfare, or safety, but does not constitute abuse.   

 Administrative Rule 10A NCAC 70A .0104 (http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-
%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20- 

%20children's%20services/subchapter%20a/10a%20ncac%2070a%20.0104.html) contains additional definitions that impact the RIL. 
These definitions read:  

 "Authorized persons” means persons authorized to receive data from the Responsible Individuals List. Individuals authorized to receive 
information from the Responsible Individuals List are individuals whose job functions include administration of the Responsible 
Individuals List and provision of information from the List to other authorized persons, as identified by the Director of the North Carolina 
Division of Social Services:  

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/PLAW-111publ320/pdf/PLAW-111publ320.pdf
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/PLAW-111publ320/pdf/PLAW-111publ320.pdf
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/PLAW-111publ320/pdf/PLAW-111publ320.pdf
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/PLAW-111publ320/pdf/PLAW-111publ320.pdf
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/PLAW-111publ320/pdf/PLAW-111publ320.pdf
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/PLAW-111publ320/pdf/PLAW-111publ320.pdf
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/PLAW-111publ320/pdf/PLAW-111publ320.pdf
https://www.ncleg.gov/Sessions/2019/Bills/House/PDF/H301v4.pdf
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-101.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-101.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-101.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-101.html
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-%20children's%20services/subchapter%20a/10a%20ncac%2070a%20.0104.html
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-%20children's%20services/subchapter%20a/10a%20ncac%2070a%20.0104.html
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-%20children's%20services/subchapter%20a/10a%20ncac%2070a%20.0104.html
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-%20children's%20services/subchapter%20a/10a%20ncac%2070a%20.0104.html
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-%20children's%20services/subchapter%20a/10a%20ncac%2070a%20.0104.html
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-%20children's%20services/subchapter%20a/10a%20ncac%2070a%20.0104.html
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-%20children's%20services/subchapter%20a/10a%20ncac%2070a%20.0104.html
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-%20children's%20services/subchapter%20a/10a%20ncac%2070a%20.0104.html
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(A) Individuals as identified by the directors of county child welfare agencies,  

  
(B) Individuals as identified by the Director of the Division of Child Development for child caring institutions,  

  
(C) Any Executive Director or program administrator of a child placing agency licensed by the State of North 

Carolina or another state or that state's agency,  
  

(D) Individuals as identified by the Director of the Division of Health Service Regulation for group home facilities,  
  

(E) Any Executive Director or program administrator of other providers of foster care, child care and adoption 
services determined by the Department of Health and Human Services,  

  
(F) The Administrator for the State Guardian Ad Litem program, and  

  
(G) Any Executive Director or program administrator of other private or nonprofit agencies that care for children.  

  
(2) "Personal written notice" means delivery in person of the case decision to the responsible individual by the social 

worker.  
  

(3) "Serious neglect" means conduct, behavior, or inaction that evidences a disregard of consequences of such magnitude 
as to constitute an unequivocal danger to a child's health, welfare or safety.   

  

III. RESPONSIBLE INDIVIDUALS LIST STATUTE (NCGS § 7B-311)   
 DHHS is required to establish a list of individuals responsible for the abuse and/or serious neglect of a juvenile and is required to 
establish due process procedures for the alleged responsible individual to request a judicial review of the abuse and/or serious neglect 
decision and the placement of his or her name on the RIL. The case decision can also include other findings in any combination provided 
at least one of the findings is abuse or serious neglect.  
  

The RIL is used to identify parents, guardians, caretakers, or custodians that have been named as responsible individuals in all 
substantiated cases of abuse and/or serious neglect. Thus, only case decisions made as a result of an Investigative Assessment can result 
in RIL placement.   

 Placement on the RIL occurs only after one of the following has occurred:   
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1. The responsible individual is properly notified of his or her right to request a judicial review and fails to file a petition for 

judicial review in a timely manner,  
  

2. The court determines that the individual is a responsible individual as a result of a hearing on the individual’s petition for 
judicial review, or   

  
3. The individual is criminally convicted as a result of the same incident involved in the Investigative Assessment. The district 

attorney shall inform the director of the result of a criminal proceeding. Each county child welfare agency shall develop 
policies and procedures with its district attorney regarding the notification to the agency of the criminal conviction.  

  
Requests for information, by authorized users other than county child welfare agencies, from the RIL shall be directed to the North 
Carolina Division of Social Services (NCDSS) using the Request for Information from the Responsible Individuals List form 
(http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5268-ia.pdf). Authorized individuals on staff at county child welfare agencies will have 
direct access to the RIL.    

NCGS § 7B-311(b) only authorizes the use of the RIL “to determine the fitness of individuals to care for or adopt children.” The RIL may 
not be used as part of the employment process unless the employee will have the responsibility of caring for children, either on a 
temporary or permanent basis. RIL checks are mandated for foster parent and adoptive applicants and kinship care providers.   

 With the exception of searches conducted by the county child welfare agencies, all requests for searches of the Responsible Individuals 
List will be submitted in writing to the Division of Social Services by “authorized persons,” as defined in Section II above, who are 
strongly considering the responsible individual for employment or volunteer services that involve the care of or adoption of children. In 
order to conduct a search, the Division requires that the requests include the potential responsible individual’s date of birth, sex, and 
Social Security Number, as well as an acknowledgement by the potential responsible individual that he or she has been informed that 
the Division of Social Services will disclose to the authorized person whether his or her name appears on the Responsible Individuals List.   

 In contrast, the Central Registry is used to gather historical and statistical data on children who have been alleged or identified as 
victims of abuse, neglect, and/or dependency. It is also used to gather historical and statistical data on parents, guardians, caretakers, 
and custodians identified as perpetrators of abuse or neglect. Access to the Central Registry is limited by North Carolina Laws and 
Administrative Rules, and that access does not change as a result of the Responsible Individuals List. At no time shall the Central Registry 
be used for determining employability or fitness of an individual (including a volunteer) to provide care to or adopt a child.   

 Because the RIL could affect the individual’s employment or ability to foster or adopt, information maintained on the RIL should be 
current and updated within the timeframes established.   

http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5268-ia.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5268-ia.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5268-ia.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5268-ia.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5268-ia.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5268-ia.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5268-ia.pdf
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 The RIL is subject to strict confidentiality rules. Therefore, it is unlawful for any public official or public employee to knowingly and 
willfully release information from the Central Registry or the RIL to an unauthorized person. It is unlawful for any person who is 
authorized to receive the information to release it to an unauthorized person, and it is unlawful for any person who is not authorized to 
receive information to access or attempt to access it. A person who commits such an offense described is guilty of a Class 3 
Misdemeanor.  

 IV. OUT-OF-STATE SITUATIONS  
    

There are instances when a report is received but the incident occurred out-of-state, or the alleged responsible individual lives out-of-
state. The following scenarios detail actions to be taken related to the RIL:  

  
A. Child and parent/caretaker reside in NC: maltreatment is out-of-state:  

  
When the report indicates that the residence of both the child and the parents or caretakers is in North Carolina, but the location of the 
alleged maltreatment is out-of-state, the county of residence shall conduct the CPS Assessment, but if substantiated for abuse and/or 
serious neglect, the named perpetrator is not eligible for the judicial review process which must take place in the county where the 
abuse or neglect report arose, and thus may not have their name placed on the RIL.   

  
B. Child resident of NC, parent/caretaker non-NC resident, maltreatment out-of-state:  

  
If maltreatment is alleged to have occurred to a North Carolina child while out-of-state by an individual who is not a resident of North 
Carolina, the agency should refer that report to the state where the alleged maltreatment occurred. If that state refuses to accept the 
report, North Carolina should conduct the CPS Assessment with assistance from the other state, but if substantiated for abuse and/or 
serious neglect, the named perpetrator is not eligible for the judicial review process which must take place in the county where the 
abuse or neglect report arose, and thus may not have their name placed on the RIL.   

  
C. Child resident of NC, parent/caretaker non-NC resident, maltreatment in NC:  

  
If a report alleges that a North Carolina child was maltreated in North Carolina by a parent or caretaker who is not a North Carolina 
resident, it is the responsibility of the county child welfare agency to conduct the CPS Assessment with the other state’s assistance. If 
the case decision results in a substantiation of abuse and/or serious neglect, the alleged responsible individual is eligible for the judicial 
review process and, if appropriate, to have their name placed on the RIL.   
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V. JUDICIAL REVIEW   
  

The judicial review process is a district court level hearing on a petition, initiated by the alleged responsible individual for a review of the 
director’s decision to identify the individual as a responsible individual and to place their name on the RIL. The judicial review process is 
established by NCGS § 7B-323 and NCGS § 7B-324.  

  
The Judicial Review Petition, AOC-J-131 (http://www.nccourts.org/Forms/Documents/951.pdf), must be filed within 15 days of receipt 
of the case decision notification in the district in which the abuse and/or serious neglect arose.  Should that timeframe expire, the right 
to request a judicial review is forfeited, and the individual’s name will be placed on the RIL, unless the district court in that county allows 
a judicial review petition filed outside of that 15-day timeframe to be heard because it serves the interest of justice or for extraordinary 
circumstances, as per G.S. § 7B323(e).  

  A.  CASE DECISION ISSUES & SWITCHING ASSESSMENT TRACKS   
  

Existing policy states that upon completion of either a family assessment or an investigative assessment, the county child welfare worker 
is required to notify the parties involved of the case decision. However, only investigative assessment findings of abuse and/or serious 
neglect are eligible to have the name of the alleged responsible individual placed on the RIL. The case decision can also include other 
findings in any combination provided at least one of the findings is abuse or serious neglect. The name shall be placed on the RIL only 
after one of the three criteria outlined earlier in this section is satisfied. Specific requirements for case decision notification in RIL cases 
are discussed below.   

Current child welfare policy allows county child welfare agencies to switch CPS Assessment responses between an investigative 
assessment and family assessment during the actual assessment. Switching responses during a CPS Assessment should not be done 
frequently or without a thorough discussion of the case by the county child welfare worker and the county child welfare supervisor. All 
decisions to change the CPS Assessment response must be done with supervisory approval. Documentation in the file should also clearly 
show why such a decision was made and how it helped ensure the safety of the child.  

 Note: While cases of abuse may only be assigned as investigative assessments, cases alleging neglect may initially be assigned as a 
family assessment. County child welfare agencies must insure that neglect allegations that will result in a finding of serious neglect and 
that have initially been assigned as family assessments are reassigned as investigative assessments prior to case decision. Additionally, 
prior to case decision, the family shall be notified by the agency that the family assessment process is ending and that the case is being 
reassigned as an investigative assessment. The county child welfare agency shall also review with the family the differences between 
family and investigative assessments, including the potential for RIL placement.  

http://www.nccourts.org/Forms/Documents/951.pdf
http://www.nccourts.org/Forms/Documents/951.pdf
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 Regardless of the response under which the report was accepted, if the case decision is to substantiate abuse and/or serious neglect 
after an investigative assessment, the name(s) of the perpetrator(s) is/are to be entered on the Report to the Central Registry, DSS-
5104, (http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf).   

  
When completing a family assessment, the finding will be reported to the Central Registry with no perpetrator information entered, 
therefore the RIL process is not available.   

 North Carolina Administrative Code 10A NCAC 70A .0102 (http://ncrules.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20- specifies that county child 
welfare agencies continue to be responsible for the delivery of protective services and for ensuring the safety of children during the 
judicial review process. While this rule references the former RIL expunction process, it should be interpreted to be applicable to the 
current judicial review process. If the county child welfare agency determines that the family is unwilling to accept critically needed 
services, or despite the agency’s efforts to provide or arrange for those services, the parents have made no progress toward providing 
adequate care sufficient to ensure the safety of the child, the agency maintains the ability to file a juvenile petition alleging abuse, 
neglect, and/or dependency.  

 During the judicial review process, if the county child welfare agency determines that protective services are no longer necessary and 
case closure is appropriate, nothing in the judicial review process should prevent the closure of the case.   

   
 B.  CASE DECISION NOTIFICATION (G.S. § 7B-320)   
  

G.S. § 7B-320(a) (http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-302.html) states, 
“after the completion of an investigative assessment that results in a determination of abuse or serious neglect and the identification of 
a responsible individual, the director shall personally deliver written notice of the determination to the identified individual.” Thus, after 
a case decision is made to substantiate any combination of abuse and/or serious neglect which identifies an alleged responsible 
individual, that individual must receive notice in an expeditious manner, regarding the RIL. In other words, placement on the RIL is not 
discretionary.   

The county child welfare worker shall make face-to-face contact with the alleged responsible individual after the case decision to explain 
the reason for the substantiation and to provide written notice of the potential for his or her name to be placed on the RIL. It is 
permissible for a county child welfare worker other than the county child welfare worker who conducted the CPS Assessment to deliver 
the case decision / RIL placement notice. In addition to documentation in the file, when possible, it is recommended that the notice 
include an acknowledgement by the alleged responsible individual that they received the case decision / RIL placement notice and the 
date received.   

If it is not possible to make face-to-face contact with the alleged responsible individual to deliver the written notice expeditiously, the 
county child welfare worker shall make diligent and persistent efforts to make contact. However, if the county child welfare worker is 

http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://ncrules.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-%20children's%20services/subchapter%20a/10a%20ncac%2070a%20.0114.pdf
http://ncrules.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-%20children's%20services/subchapter%20a/10a%20ncac%2070a%20.0114.pdf
http://ncrules.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-%20children's%20services/subchapter%20a/10a%20ncac%2070a%20.0114.pdf
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-302.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-302.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-302.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-302.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-302.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-302.html
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unsuccessful in contacting the alleged responsible individual to provide personal written notice within 15 days of the case decision, the 
notice shall be sent by registered or certified mail, return receipt requested, and addressed to the individual at the individual’s last 
known address.  

If the case decision / RIL placement notice is returned as undeliverable or signed by someone other than the alleged responsible 
individual, the individual’s name shall not be placed on the RIL, unless the procedures of NCGS 7B-320(a1) are used. If the director 
cannot show that the individual has received actual notice, the director shall not place the individual on the RIL until an ex parte hearing 
is held at which a district court judge determines that the director made diligent efforts to find the individual. A finding that the 
individual is evading service is relevant to the determination that the director made diligent efforts.   

Note: If there is a lack of identifying information for the alleged responsible individual, such as a date of birth or Social Security Number 
(SSN), but the individual did receive the notice, it is permissible to place the name on the RIL provided that there is at least one 
identifier. However, if the notice is undeliverable and there is no identifying information, the name shall not go on the RIL.   

  
NCGS § 7B-320(c) specifies that the personal written notice to the responsible individual shall contain the following:    

1. A thorough, detailed statement summarizing the substantial evidence supporting the decision to substantiate abuse 
and/or serious neglect (without identifying the reporter or collateral contacts) and that the individual has been 
identified as the responsible individual. The case decision can also include other findings in any combination provided 
at least one of the findings is abuse or serious neglect. When this occurs, the notice to the individual shall also 
include language that indicates the agency will continue to work with the family on an involuntary basis  

  
2. A statement, in accordance with NCGS § 7B-320(c)(3), informing the individual that unless the individual petitions for 

a judicial review within the specified timeframe (15 days), their name will be placed on the RIL, and that NC DHHS 
may provide information from that list to child caring institutions, child placing agencies, group home facilities, and 
other providers of foster care, child care, or adoption services (including Guardian ad Litem) that need to determine 
the fitness of individuals to care for or adopt children as permitted by NCGS § 7B-311.   

  
3. A clear description of the actions the individual must take to request a judicial review to prevent the placement of 

their name on the RIL. These instructions shall include a copy of the Petition for Judicial Review.   

 An example of a case decision letter is provided. However, the letter may be altered to individualize it. The letter may read:    
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Date  
Name  
Address  
City, State, ZIP   
Dear______________________,  
This agency has completed a Child Protective Services (CPS) Investigative Assessment based on the allegations of:  
_____________________________________________________________________________________________.  
 This Child Protective Services (CPS) Assessment has been substantiated based on the following:  
___________________________________________________________________________________________.   
As a result, a case decision to substantiate (or find) abuse and/or serious neglect has been made. In addition, the case decision also found neglect and/ or 
dependency (Optional). This substantiation also identifies you as a person responsible for the abuse and/or serious neglect and with that comes the 
potential for your name to be placed on the Responsible Individuals List (RIL).   
  
The RIL is a list of individuals determined to be responsible for the abuse and/or serious neglect of a juvenile. Information from this list may be released to 
certain employers (G.S. § 7B-311(b)) such as: child caring institutions, child placing agencies, group home facilities, and other providers of foster care, child 
care, or adoption services (including the Guardian Ad Litem). Information released shall be used to determine fitness to care for or adopt children.  
  
To request that a district court judge review the case decision identifying you as a person responsible for abuse and/or serious neglect, a Petition for 
Judicial Review: Responsible Individuals List (AOC-J-131) must be filed.  North Carolina law (G.S. § 7B-323) states that this Petition must be filed within 15 
days from your receipt of this letter. This Petition for Judicial Review should be filed with the clerk of court in _________ County. Should you choose to file 
a Petition for Judicial Review, your name will not be placed on the RIL unless the court finds you are an individual responsible for the abuse and/or serious 
neglect of a child.  If you chose not to file a Petition for Judicial Review within 15 days, your name will automatically be placed on the RIL.     
  
G.S. § 7B-320(b) provides that, at the judicial review hearing, the director shall have the burden of proving by a preponderance of the evidence the abuse 
or serious neglect and the identification of the individual seeking judicial review as a responsible individual. The hearing shall be before a judge without a 
jury, and the rules of evidence applicable to civil cases shall apply. However, the court in its discretion may permit the admission of any reliable and 
relevant evidence if the general purposes of the rules of evidence and the interests of justice will best be served by its admission.   
  
G.S. § 7B-323(c) further provides that the parties have the right to present relevant sworn evidence, law, or rules, the right to represent themselves or 
obtain the services of an attorney at their own expense, and the right to subpoena witnesses, cross examine witnesses of the other party and make a 
closing argument.    
  
In the event that there are extraordinary circumstances that prevent you from filing for a judicial review with 15 days, NCGS § 7B-323(e) allows you to file 
a Petition for Judicial Review and a district court judge in  ______________ County has discretion to determine whether the judicial review hearing should 
be held.   
  
Should you have further questions regarding the placement of your name on the RIL, please contact: 
___________________at_______________________.  
  
Sincerely,   
  

http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-311.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-323.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-323.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-323.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-323.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-323.html
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_____________________  
Child Welfare Worker  
  
_____________________  
Child Welfare Supervisor  
  
Alleged Responsible Individual signature/initial     ________________________  Date_______________________  
  
This acknowledges only the receipt of this letter, not agreement with the finding of abuse and/or serious neglect.  

  
C. PETITION FOR JUDICIAL REVIEW (NCGS § 7B-323)  
  

A Petition for Judicial Review must be filed within 15 days of the receipt of the case decision/RIL placement notice by the alleged 
responsible individual. The Petition for Judicial Review must be filed with the district court in the county where the abuse and/or serious 
neglect arose. Upon filing, the clerk of court will calendar the case for hearing within 45 days. The county child welfare director who 
made the determination to identify the alleged responsible individual, and the petitioner, will be sent a Notice of Hearing. If the 
individual fails to file the Petition for Judicial Review within 15 days of receipt of the case decision/RIL placement notice, the right to 
request a judicial review is waived, unless the individual utilizes the provisions of NCGS § 7B-323(e) described above. This failure to 
request a judicial review will result in the placement of the alleged responsible individual’s name on the RIL.    

  
 1.  DIRECTOR’S REVIEW AND DETERMINATION   
  

Once notified that a judicial review has been calendared, the director shall review all records, reports, and other information gathered 
and used during the CPS Assessment case decision process. If, after reviewing the information gathered, the director determines that 
there is not sufficient evidence to support a determination that the individual abused and/or seriously neglected the juvenile and is a 
responsible individual, the director shall prepare a written statement of the director’s determination and deliver it to the responsible 
individual. It is permissible for the director’s designee to deliver the letter. The letter may also be sent by first class mail. The individual’s 
name may not be placed on the RIL.  

Note: If a determination is made that there was not sufficient evidence to support a determination of abuse and/or serious neglect, but 
that a finding of neglect and/or dependency was properly made as a part of the original case decision, the statement provided to the 
individual and the clerk of court shall include language that indicates the agency will continue to work with the family on an involuntary 
basis without the individual being placed on the RIL.   
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NCGS 7B-323(b1) provides that the clerk of court, upon receipt of the director’s letter finding no abuse or serious neglect, will cancel the 
judicial review hearing with notice of cancellation given to the petitioner.   

  
 2.          CONFLICT OF INTEREST   

  
When another county, as a result of a conflict of interest, conducts the CPS Assessment, the request for judicial review following 
notification of an alleged responsible individual must still be made to the district court in the county where the abuse and/or serious 
neglect arose (where the incident occurred). However, it is the director of the county that made the case decision of abuse and/or 
serious neglect and responsible individual determination who is responsible for reviewing that case decision upon notification of a 
pending judicial review and for presenting evidence in the judicial review held in the county where the report arose.   

  
3.        PERSONS INELIGIBILE FOR JUDICIAL REVIEW    

  
NCGS § 7B-324(a) provides that an individual identified by a director as a responsible individual is not eligible for judicial review if any of 
the following apply:  

  
• The individual is criminally convicted because of the same incident. The district attorney shall inform the 

director of the result of the criminal proceeding, or  
• NCGS 7B-324(a1) further provides that if the individual is criminally convicted as a result of the same incident 

after the petition for judicial review is filed, the court shall dismiss the petition for judicial review with 
prejudice. 

Note: when a case is dismissed with prejudice it means that it is dismissed permanently and can’t be brought back to court.  
  

• After proper notice, the individual fails to file for judicial review with the district court in a timely manner.  
  

This same statute provides that if, at any time during the judicial review process, the individual seeking the judicial review is named as a 
respondent in a juvenile court case or a defendant in a criminal court case resulting from the same incident, the court may stay the 
judicial review process. The juvenile court action may no longer be consolidated with the RIL judicial review.  

  
 
 D.  JUDICIAL REVIEW PROCESS   
  

Throughout the judicial review process, the following shall apply:   

http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-324.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-324.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-324.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-324.html
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• The rules of civil procedure    
• The right to present sworn evidence, law, or rules  
• The right of responsible individuals to represent themselves or obtain the services of an attorney at their own expense   
• The right to subpoena witnesses, cross-examine witnesses of the other party, and make a closing argument.   

 
However, upon request of a party, the court shall close the hearing to all persons, except court officers, the parties, their witnesses of 
the alleged responsible individual, and law enforcement investigating the same allegations. The director has the burden of proving by a 
preponderance of the evidence that the case decision of abuse and/or serious neglect and placement of the person’s name on the RIL is 
correct.   

The rules of evidence in civil cases apply. However, upon judicial determination, other reliable and relevant evidence may be admissible; 
such as child medical evaluations reports, child and family evaluation reports and/or other reports that the director relied upon to make 
the determination of abuse or serious neglect. Because of the nature of this hearing, the county child welfare social worker should be 
prepared to give personal testimony and/or to provide the case file if requested. This hearing shall be before a judge without a jury. The 
alleged responsible individual and the director are parties to the action. The judicial review process does not provide for the 
involvement of a Guardian Ad Litem, as per NCGS § 7B-601 
(http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/G S_7B-601.html).   

  
JUDICIAL DETERMINATION (NCGS § 7B-323(d))   

  
NCGS § 7B-323(d) provides that within 30 calendar days of the conclusion of the judicial review hearing, the court shall sign and enter a 
written order containing findings of fact and conclusions of law.   

  

http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-601.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-601.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-601.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-601.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-601.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-601.html
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That statute further provides that if the court concludes that the director has established by a preponderance of the evidence abuse or 
serious neglect and the identification of the individual seeking judicial review as the responsible individual, the court shall order the 
director to place the individual’s name on the RIL.  
  
If the court concludes that the director has not established by a preponderance of the evidence abuse or serious neglect or the 
identification of the responsible individual, the court shall reverse the director’s determination and order the director not to place the 
individual’s name on the RIL.   
  
If the court determines only that there was insufficient evidence to establish that the alleged responsible individual was the person 
responsible for abuse or serious neglect of a child, the individual’s name may not go on the RIL. However, the status of the child as 
abused or seriously neglected is unchanged.  
  
In this instance, the county child welfare agency would need to decide whether this family requires ongoing, involuntary services to 
protect the child. While the court did not make a determination about the agency’s case decision, the court’s findings may affect its 
ability to continue providing ongoing, involuntary services.   

  
The agency may still have grounds to petition the court to adjudicate the child as abused, neglected, and/or dependent without a 
responsible individual finding.   
  
The responsible individual or the director may appeal the district court’s decision. Notice of Appeal of the District Court’s order will not 
prohibit the director from placing that responsible individual’s name on the RIL.   
  
If the Court of Appeals reverses the district court’s finding and orders that an individual’s name be removed from the RIL, the director 
will notify NC DSS and request that individual’s name be removed.    
 

VI. DSS-5104a FORM COMPLETION: FIELDS AND CODES   
  

All CPS Assessments utilizing the investigative assessment track shall include a discussion with the family that, as a part of the 
investigative assessment, a case decision to substantiate abuse and/or serious neglect carries with it the potential for the responsible 
individual’s name to be placed on the RIL. The Responsible Individual’s List form, DSS-5104a 
(http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf), is the mechanism by which the placement of the responsible individual’s 
name on the RIL occurs.   

  

http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
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If the director is notified that a Petition for Judicial Review has been filed, staff will enter the information regarding the judicial review at 
the conclusion of the judicial review hearing via the DSS-5104a, (Fields 13-18). The name of the responsible individual is only placed 
upon the RIL if the court makes that determination. If the determination of the court is that the name is to be placed on the RIL, the 
Central Registry will automatically be updated to reflect the decision of the court on the Petition for Judicial Review once the DSS-5104a 
is entered.   
 
If the alleged responsible individual fails to file a Petition for Judicial Review within the timeframe allowed (15 days), the original 
decision of the director stands, and staff will enter information regarding the original decision of the director to identify the perpetrator 
as a responsible individual (Fields 24-26). The Central Registry will automatically be updated to reflect the decision of the director when 
the DSS-5104a is entered.    
 
When the DSS-5104a is initially opened for data entry, Fields 1-11 will be auto-populated from the case in the Report to Central Registry. 
The remaining fields document the process of placing the name of the alleged responsible individual on the RIL. The form is meant to 
provide as accurate a timeline as possible and track events that occurred. The form is updated as needed and data entered once the 
appropriate processes are complete.   
  
Due to system requirements, the agency will not be able to enter information as it becomes available but must wait until each process is 
complete before keying. For instance, in cases where a Petition for Judicial Review is filed, the date the AOC-J-131 is filed (Field 13) 
cannot be keyed until the information for Date of Judicial Review (Field 14), Director Determination (Field 15), JR Determination (Field 
16), and Date Judicial Review Signed (Field 18) is also available.  
 
The single exception is in cases where the director is responsible for placing someone on the RIL. Fields 24 (RIL Code) and 25 (Date of RIL 
Placement) should be keyed as soon as possible and not be held until the Responsible Individual has been criminally convicted, if 
applicable. The system will allow the Date of Criminal Conviction (Field 28) to be keyed at a later time.   
  

    

http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
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A.         RESPONSIBLE INDIVIDUALS LIST FUNCTIONS   
 The RIL can be accessed through the Central Registry system main menu by selecting Option 9.  

  
  

The RIL menu has 7 functions:   
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 1.  Menu Options  
  

• DSS-5104a Inquiry: allows the RIL form number to be entered to view the RIL entry.  
  

Key “1” as the selection followed by the RIL form number. This will display the DSS-5104a record. The Inquiry function displays a view-
only screen and no changes or updates may be made.  

  
  

• DSS-5104a Update: This field allows for the updating of the RIL record.  
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Key “2” as the selection followed by the RIL form number. This will display the DSS-5104a record. Only those fields that do not have a 
value entered may be updated. Fields with values displayed in blue are locked and may not be changed.   

  

  
  

If data is entered incorrectly or in error, a DSS-5104d (https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/info/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104d-ia.pdf) must be 
submitted to the Division for the appropriate modification or deletion.  

  
• DSS-5104a Entry: allows for the initial entry of a DSS-5104a.  

  
Key “3” as the selection and the corresponding DSS-5104 (Central Registry/CYA) number.   

  
A screen will appear listing all perpetrators associated with the DSS-5104. Users will be able to select which perpetrator(s) to enter the 
DSS-5104a.   

  

http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/info/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104d-ia.pdf
https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/info/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104d-ia.pdf
https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/info/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104d-ia.pdf
https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/info/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104d-ia.pdf
https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/info/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104d-ia.pdf
https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/info/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104d-ia.pdf
https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/info/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104d-ia.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/dss-5104a.pdf
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Once a perpetrator has been selected, the DSS-5104a screen will display with Fields 1-12 auto populated from the Central Registry. The 
RIL form number will be displayed at the top left of the screen.  

  

  
  

When all of the information regarding the perpetrator has been entered the message “DSS-5104 VALIDATED. PF9 ADD TO RIL OR PF10 
CANCEL RIL.” will display at the bottom of the screen. The user will be returned to the RIL entry  
screen and the message “FORM PROCESSED.PERP(S) IN GREEN. ENTER NEW CYA FORM OR PF3 EXIT” will be displayed.  
  
If there are additional perpetrators from the DSS-5104 that should be added to the  
RIL, they may be selected and added. If all perpetrators that are Responsible Individuals have been added, press PF3 to return to the 
main menu. When all perpetrators on the DSS-5104 have had a DSS-5104a entered, the message “ALL PERPETRATORS OF THIS FORM 
HAVE BEEN ADDED” will be displayed.   
  
Not all perpetrators on a particular DSS-5104 should necessarily have an associated DSS-5104a. There should only be one DSS-5104 
entered for the assessment which should include all perpetrators. However, some perpetrators may not be appropriate for placement 
on the RIL. In that case, simply do not key a DSS-5104a for those perpetrators, and they will continue to show in white.  
  
Only those DSS-5104s that have at least one type found of “1” Abuse, “2S” Serious Neglect, “3” Abuse and Neglect “3S” Abuse and 
Serious Neglect, or “2N’ Serious Neglect and Neglect are eligible for entry in RIL.  If none of these values are present an error message 
“FORM DOES NOT PERMIT RIL ENTRY” will appear.   
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• SSN Search: This option is used to search for a responsible individual by their social security number.   
  

i. Key “4” as the selection then the SSN as the key.   
  

   
ii. Results will display as shown below. Users may select a specific record for Inquiry “I” or Update “U”, 

depending on their access level.  
  

  
  

• Name Search: This option is used to search for a responsible individual by name.  
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i. Key “5” as the selection then the individual’s last name, first name, first initial as the key. Do not leave spaces between the names. 
Wildcard searches may also be performed by entering a partial name and an asterisk (*), as shown below.  

ii.  

   
 

iii. Results will be shown as below. Users may select a specific record for Inquiry “I” or Update “U”, depending 
on their access level.    

  

  
  

• Administrative Menu: allows for functions not available to all users.  
  

• Return to Central Registry: Key “7” to return to the Central Registry.   
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• Log off: allows the user to logoff. When “F3” is pressed twice, a blank screen will show and the user then types 
“logoff” and press enter. The screen will then return to the main state banner screen.   

  
  

V.  RESPONSIBLE INDIVIDUALS’ INFORMATION (FIELDS 1 THROUGH 11)  
  

Fields 1-6 contain information regarding the identity of the responsible individual when the type found code entered into the DSS 5104 
is a “1” (Abuse), “3” (Abuse and Neglect), “3S” (Abuse and Serious Neglect), “2N” (Serious Neglect and Neglect) or a “2S” (Serious 
Neglect).    
  
Fields 7-11 contain addition information regarding the CPS Assessment. These fields are auto-populated from the Report to Central 
Registry (DSS-5104) and cannot be changed.   
  
FIELD 1 - RESPONSIBLE INDIVIDUAL NAME   
(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 33)  

  
The name will display exactly as it appears in the Central Registry.   

  
FIELD 2 - DATE OF BIRTH   
(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 34)  
  
The date of birth will appear exactly as it appears in the Central Registry. Without a date of birth or SSN, the name shall not be placed on 
the RIL.   
  
FIELD 3 – AGE   
(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 35)  
  
The age of the individual will be calculated from the entry in Field 2. Should the date of birth be unknown, an “E” will appear indicating 
the age as estimated.   
  
FIELD 4 – RACE and ETHNICITY   
(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 36)  
  
FIELD 5 - SEX   
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(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 37)  
  
The responsible individual’s sex will be displayed using one of the following one-digit codes:   

  
Code  Value  

1  Male  
2  Female  
3 Gender Non-

Conforming 
  

FIELD 6 - SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER  
(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 38)   
  
Without a date of birth or SSN, the name shall not be placed on the RIL.  
  
FIELD 7 - COUNTY   
            (Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 1)   

  

Co. #  County 
Name  Co. #  County Name  Co. #  County Name  Co. #  County Name  

01  Alamance  26  Cumberland  51  Johnston  76  Randolph  
02  Alexander  27  Currituck  52  Jones  77  Richmond  
03  Alleghany  28  Dare  53  Lee  78  Robeson  
04  Anson  29  Davidson  54  Lenoir  79  Rockingham  
05  Ashe  30  Davie  55  Lincoln  80  Rowan  
06  Avery  31  Duplin  56  Macon  81  Rutherford  
07  Beaufort  32  Durham  57  Madison  82  Sampson  
08  Bertie  33  Edgecombe  58  Martin  83  Scotland  
09  Bladen  34  Forsyth  59  McDowell  84  Stanly  
10  Brunswick  35  Franklin  60  Mecklenburg  85  Stokes  
11  Buncombe  36  Gaston  61  Mitchell  86  Surry  
12  Burke  37  Gates  62  Montgomery  87  Swain  
13  Cabarrus  38  Graham  63  Moore  88  Transylvania  
14  Caldwell  39  Granville  64  Nash  89  Tyrrell  
15  Camden  40  Greene  65  New Hanover  90  Union  



NC DSS 
CPS Data Collection (Non-NC FAST)                                 January 2024 
Appendix 1  
 

87 

16  Carteret  41  Guilford  66  Northampton  91  Vance  
17  Caswell  42  Halifax  67  Onslow  92  Wake  
18  Catawba  43  Harnett  68  Orange  93  Warren  
19  Chatham  44  Haywood  69  Pamlico  94  Washington  
20  Cherokee  45  Henderson  70  Pasquotank  95  Watauga  
21  Chowan  46  Hertford  71  Pender  96  Wayne  
22  Clay  47  Hoke  72  Perquimans  97  Wilkes  
23  Cleveland  48  Hyde  73  Person  98  Wilson  
24  Columbus  49  Iredell  74  Pitt  99  Yadkin  
25  Craven  50  Jackson  75  Polk  00  Yancey  

  
Field 8 - Central Registry Form Number   
(The DSS-5104 number assigned to the record when created in the Central Registry.)  
  
Field 9 - Date of Initial Report   
(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 5)  
  
Field 10 – Date of Case Decision  
(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 7)   
  
Field 11 – RIL Indicator Status   
(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 39)  
  
This field will initially show as “00” to reflect at the time of entry this individual is not on the RIL. No entry in this field is allowed.   
  
When the DSS-5104a is completed, this field will automatically update based on the entry in Fields 16, 22 and 24 which populate Field 
39 on the DSS-5104.   
  

Field 12 - Date Notice to the Responsible Individual Delivered / ex parte order entered  [ENTRY REQUIRED] 
 

Enter the date (in the eight-digit numeric MMDDYYYY format) that the notice to the responsible individual was delivered. This 
date cannot precede the Date of Case Decision listed in Field 10 on the DSS-5104. If the responsible individual is unable to be 
located, enter the date a judge ordered an ex parte. 
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Enter the date (in the eight-digit numeric MMDDYYYY format) that the notice to the responsible individual was delivered. This date 
cannot precede the Date of Case Decision listed in Field 10 on the DSS-5104.  
  
 
 
VI. JUDICIAL REVIEW HEARING - FIELDS 13 THROUGH 18  
  
The alleged responsible individual has 15 days from the delivery date of the case decision notice to file a petition requesting a judicial 
review. Fields 13-18 will document the decision of the court and whether the alleged responsible individual’s name will appear on the 
RIL.   
  
Field 13 - Date AOC-J-131 Filed  
(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE)  
  
Enter the date (in the eight-digit numeric MMDDYYYY format) that the Petition for Judicial Review was filed by the alleged responsible 
individual. This date cannot be earlier than the date in Field 12. Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot be modified or changed by 
county users. A modification to this field requires the submission of a DSS-5104d to  
NCDSS.  
  
Field 14 - Date of Judicial Review   
(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE)  
  
If there is a value entered in Field 13, this is a required field.   
  
Enter the date (in the eight-digit numeric MMDDYYYY format) that the judicial review hearing was held. Once there is an entry for this 
field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the submission of a DSS-5104d to  
NCDSS.  
  
Field 15 - Director Determination   
(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE)  
  
If there is a value entered in Field 13, this is a required field.   
  

http://www.nccourts.org/Forms/Documents/951.pdf
http://www.nccourts.org/Forms/Documents/951.pdf
http://www.nccourts.org/Forms/Documents/951.pdf
http://www.nccourts.org/Forms/Documents/951.pdf
http://www.nccourts.org/Forms/Documents/951.pdf
http://www.nccourts.org/Forms/Documents/951.pdf
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Enter the appropriate two-digit code regarding the director’s determination regarding the appropriateness of the case decision using 
one of the following codes:   
  

Code  Value  
01  The Director determined the name should be on the RIL  
02  The Director determined that the name should not be on the RIL  

  
Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the 
submission of a DSS-5104d to NCDSS.  
  
Field 16 - Judicial Review Determination   
(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE)  
  
If there is a value in Field 13, this field is required.   
  
Enter the two-digit code regarding the court’s determination using one of the following codes:  

 
Code  Value  RIL Placement?  

0J  No RIL finding/No serious neglect or abuse  No  
1J  Abuse / RIL Placement  Yes  
2J  Serious Neglect / RIL Placement  Yes  
3J  Abuse and Serious Neglect / RIL Placement  Yes  
4J  Abuse and Neglect / RIL Placement  Yes  
5J  Serious Neglect and Neglect / RIL Placement  Yes  

  
The use of Code 0J reflects those situations where the district court has determined, after a judicial review, that the director did not 
meet the burden to show that the case decision of abuse and/or serious neglect was correct or determined that the named individual 
was not shown to be the individual responsible for that abuse and/or serious neglect.  

  
Once there is an entry into this field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the 
submission of a DSS-5104d to the NCDSS.  

  
Field 17 – Reserved for Future Use   
(NO ENTRY)  
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Field 18 - Date of Judicial Review Signed   
(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE)  
  
If there is a value in Field 13, this field is required.   

  
Enter the date (in the eight-digit numeric MMDDYYYY format) that the presiding judge signed the court order placing the name on the 
RIL.   
  
This date cannot precede the date of the judicial review listed in Field 14.  Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot be modified or 
changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the submission of a DSS-5104d to NCDSS.  

  
VII.  JUVENILE PETITION - FIELDS 19 THROUGH 23  
  
As of October 1, 2013, Juvenile Petitions will no longer be used to determine an Individual’s placement on the RIL. Fields 19-23 will now be 
“reserved” for future needs.   
  
VIII.  DIRECTOR DETERMINATION - FIELDS 24 THROUGH 29  
  

Fields 24 and 25 must be completed when the perpetrator is identified as a responsible individual and fails to file a Petition for a Judicial 
Review.   
  
Field 24 - RIL Code  
(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE)  
  
Enter the appropriate two-digit code regarding the director’s determination using one of the following codes:   

  
Code  Value  RIL Placement?  

1D  Abuse / RIL Placement  Yes  
2D  Serious Neglect / RIL Placement  Yes  
3D  Abuse and Serious Neglect / RIL Placement  Yes  
4D  Abuse and/or Neglect and Other Finding/RIL Placement  Yes  
5D  Serious Neglect and Neglect / RIL Placement   Yes  
1D  Abuse / RIL Placement  Yes  
2D  Serious Neglect / RIL Placement  Yes  
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The director’s determination may be different than the type found of the case decision. Therefore, the dates in Fields 11 (Type Found) 
and 24 (RIL Code) are not required to mirror each other.   

  
Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the 
submission of a DSS-5104d to NCDSS.  

  
Field 25 - Date of RIL Placement   
(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLCABLE)  
  
If there is a value in Field 24, this field is required.   
  
Enter the date in the eight-digit numeric MMDDYYYY format.  This date must be a minimum of 15 days past the case decision date (DSS-
5104, Field 7).   
  
Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the 
submission of a DSS-5104d to NCDSS.  
  
Field 26 - Reserved for Future Use   
(NO ENTRY)  
  
Field 27 - Reserved for Future Use  
(NO ENTRY)  
  
Field 28 - Date Criminal Order Signed  
(THIS FIELD IS NOT REQUIRED UNLESS THERE IS AN ENTRY IN FIELD 29)  
  
Enter the date (in the eight-digit numeric MMDDYYYY format) that the alleged responsible individual was criminally convicted as a result 
of the same incident that led the county child welfare agency to its Child Protective Services involvement, if applicable. This date cannot 
be earlier than the date in Field 10 (Date of Case Decision). A value may be entered after the agency has entered its initial DSS-5104a. 
However, information on the date of the criminal conviction must be entered no later than 7 days from the date the county child 
welfare agency receives notice of the criminal conviction.  
  
Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the 
submission of a DSS-5104d to NCDSS. No entry is allowed unless there is an entry is Field 29.  
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 Field 29 - Criminal Code     

(THIS FIELD IS NOT REQUIRED UNLESS THERE IS AN ENTRY IN FIELD 28)  
  

This code will automatically populate to Field 39 on the DSS-5104 (RIL Indicator) only if the individuals is not currently on the RIL and if 
other data keyed on the same DSS-5104 does not place the name on the RIL. If the person is already on the RIL, entry of data in this field 
will not have any effect on any other fields.   

  
Only the following codes are permitted:   

  
Code  Value  RIL Placement?  

1C  Abuse  Yes  
2C  Serious Neglect  Yes  
3C  Abuse and Serious Neglect  Yes  
4C  Abuse and/or Neglect  Yes  
5C  Serious Neglect and Neglect  Yes  
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	i. Key “5” as the selection then the individual’s last name, first name, first initial as the key. Do not leave spaces between the names. Wildcard searches may also be performed by entering a partial name and an asterisk (*), as shown below.
	ii.
	V.  RESPONSIBLE INDIVIDUALS’ INFORMATION (FIELDS 1 THROUGH 11)
	Fields 1-6 contain information regarding the identity of the responsible individual when the type found code entered into the DSS 5104 is a “1” (Abuse), “3” (Abuse and Neglect), “3S” (Abuse and Serious Neglect), “2N” (Serious Neglect and Neglect) or a...
	Fields 7-11 contain addition information regarding the CPS Assessment. These fields are auto-populated from the Report to Central Registry (DSS-5104) and cannot be changed.
	FIELD 1 - RESPONSIBLE INDIVIDUAL NAME
	(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 33)
	The name will display exactly as it appears in the Central Registry.
	FIELD 2 - DATE OF BIRTH
	(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 34)
	The date of birth will appear exactly as it appears in the Central Registry. Without a date of birth or SSN, the name shall not be placed on the RIL.
	FIELD 3 – AGE
	(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 35)
	The age of the individual will be calculated from the entry in Field 2. Should the date of birth be unknown, an “E” will appear indicating the age as estimated.
	FIELD 4 – RACE and ETHNICITY
	(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 36)
	FIELD 5 - SEX
	(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 37)
	The responsible individual’s sex will be displayed using one of the following one-digit codes:
	FIELD 6 - SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER
	(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 38)
	Without a date of birth or SSN, the name shall not be placed on the RIL.
	FIELD 7 - COUNTY
	(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 1)
	Field 8 - Central Registry Form Number
	(The DSS-5104 number assigned to the record when created in the Central Registry.)
	Field 9 - Date of Initial Report
	(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 5)
	Field 10 – Date of Case Decision
	(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 7)
	Field 11 – RIL Indicator Status
	(Automatically populated from the Central Registry’s Field 39)
	This field will initially show as “00” to reflect at the time of entry this individual is not on the RIL. No entry in this field is allowed.
	When the DSS-5104a is completed, this field will automatically update based on the entry in Fields 16, 22 and 24 which populate Field 39 on the DSS-5104.
	Enter the date (in the eight-digit numeric MMDDYYYY format) that the notice to the responsible individual was delivered. This date cannot precede the Date of Case Decision listed in Field 10 on the DSS-5104.
	VI. JUDICIAL REVIEW HEARING - FIELDS 13 THROUGH 18
	The alleged responsible individual has 15 days from the delivery date of the case decision notice to file a petition requesting a judicial review. Fields 13-18 will document the decision of the court and whether the alleged responsible individual’s na...
	Field 13 - Date AOC-J-131 Filed
	(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE)
	Enter the date (in the eight-digit numeric MMDDYYYY format) that the Petition for Judicial Review was filed by the alleged responsible individual. This date cannot be earlier than the date in Field 12. Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot ...
	NCDSS.
	Field 14 - Date of Judicial Review
	(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE)
	If there is a value entered in Field 13, this is a required field.
	Enter the date (in the eight-digit numeric MMDDYYYY format) that the judicial review hearing was held. Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the submission of a D...
	NCDSS.
	Field 15 - Director Determination
	(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE)
	If there is a value entered in Field 13, this is a required field.
	Enter the appropriate two-digit code regarding the director’s determination regarding the appropriateness of the case decision using one of the following codes:
	Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the submission of a DSS-5104d to NCDSS.
	Field 16 - Judicial Review Determination
	(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE)
	If there is a value in Field 13, this field is required.
	Enter the two-digit code regarding the court’s determination using one of the following codes:
	The use of Code 0J reflects those situations where the district court has determined, after a judicial review, that the director did not meet the burden to show that the case decision of abuse and/or serious neglect was correct or determined that the ...
	Once there is an entry into this field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the submission of a DSS-5104d to the NCDSS.
	Field 17 – Reserved for Future Use
	(NO ENTRY)
	Field 18 - Date of Judicial Review Signed
	(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE)
	If there is a value in Field 13, this field is required.
	Enter the date (in the eight-digit numeric MMDDYYYY format) that the presiding judge signed the court order placing the name on the RIL.
	This date cannot precede the date of the judicial review listed in Field 14.  Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the submission of a DSS-5104d to NCDSS.
	Fields 24 and 25 must be completed when the perpetrator is identified as a responsible individual and fails to file a Petition for a Judicial Review.
	Field 24 - RIL Code
	(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLICABLE)
	Enter the appropriate two-digit code regarding the director’s determination using one of the following codes:
	The director’s determination may be different than the type found of the case decision. Therefore, the dates in Fields 11 (Type Found) and 24 (RIL Code) are not required to mirror each other.
	Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the submission of a DSS-5104d to NCDSS.
	Field 25 - Date of RIL Placement
	(ENTRY REQUIRED IF APPLCABLE)
	If there is a value in Field 24, this field is required.
	Enter the date in the eight-digit numeric MMDDYYYY format.  This date must be a minimum of 15 days past the case decision date (DSS-5104, Field 7).
	Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the submission of a DSS-5104d to NCDSS.
	Field 26 - Reserved for Future Use
	(NO ENTRY)
	Field 27 - Reserved for Future Use
	(NO ENTRY)
	Field 28 - Date Criminal Order Signed
	(THIS FIELD IS NOT REQUIRED UNLESS THERE IS AN ENTRY IN FIELD 29)
	Enter the date (in the eight-digit numeric MMDDYYYY format) that the alleged responsible individual was criminally convicted as a result of the same incident that led the county child welfare agency to its Child Protective Services involvement, if app...
	Once there is an entry for this field, it cannot be modified or changed by county users. A modification to this field requires the submission of a DSS-5104d to NCDSS. No entry is allowed unless there is an entry is Field 29.
	Field 29 - Criminal Code
	(THIS FIELD IS NOT REQUIRED UNLESS THERE IS AN ENTRY IN FIELD 28)
	This code will automatically populate to Field 39 on the DSS-5104 (RIL Indicator) only if the individuals is not currently on the RIL and if other data keyed on the same DSS-5104 does not place the name on the RIL. If the person is already on the RIL,...
	Only the following codes are permitted:

