
The North Carolina Division of Social Services does not discriminate against any person on the basis of race, color, national origin, 
disability, sex, or age in the admission, treatment, or participation in its programs, services and activities, or in employment. 
 
DSS- 5294 (rev. 05/13) 
Economic and Family Services  

NOTICE OF DECISION ON HARDSHIP EXEMPTION REQUEST 
     County Name_____________________ 
 
 
                                                                        

 Case ID: ________________ 
 
 
On ____________ the __________________ County Board of Social Services, or its designee, 

 (Date) 
heard your appeal for hardship exemption for your family in order to receive additional months of Work First 
Family Assistance. 
 
Your request for hardship exemption is     _.  

     (Approved/Denied) 
The reason for this action is:             
               
               
                
The state regulations requiring this action are found in Section 105 of the Work First Manual.     
 
APPEALS If you are not satisfied with this decision, you have a right to request a hearing.  This hearing will 
establish whether this action was correct and give you benefits if it is wrong.  You can have a hearing before 
an impartial official of the State Division of Social Services.  You must ask the county department of social 
services, either orally or in writing, to get your hearing.  You must request this hearing within 15 days of the 
date of this notice. 
 
YOUR RIGHT TO BE REPRESENTED  You may have someone speak for you at your hearings such as a 
relative or an attorney obtained at your expense.  Free legal services may be available in your community.  
Contact your worker for information or call DHHS Customer Service Center, toll free, at 1-800-662-7030. 
 
YOUR RIGHT TO SEE YOUR RECORD  If you ask, your worker will show you and the person speaking for 
you your Work First record before your hearing.  You may also see any other information to be used at the 
hearing, if you ask.  You can get free copies of this information.  You may see this information again at your 
hearing. 
 
DO YOU UNDERSTAND YOUR RIGHTS?  Do you understand how to get a hearing?  Do you understand how 
to keep receiving your benefits until your first hearing is decided?  If you have any questions or need further 
information, please contact your worker as soon as possible. 

 



  

 
BEWARE OF FRAUD!  REPORT CHANGES WITHIN 10 DAYS  You must report all changes to your county 
department of social services within 10 days.  The General Statutes of North Carolina state that anyone who 
gets or tries to get assistance for himself or someone else by intentionally saying something that is untrue, or 
intentionally misrepresenting something as untrue, or intentionally not giving necessary information may be 
guilty of a misdemeanor or felony.  Be Careful!  If you do not know whether a change is important, ask your 
worker. 
 
NOTICE TO WORK FIRST CLIENTS WHOSE BENEFITS HAVE STOPPED You will continue to receive child 
support services for the first five (5) months after your Work First payment has stopped.  After the five (5) 
month period, you can choose the services you want.  If you choose to stop services at the end of the five (5) 
month period but later reapply for services within thirty (30) days, you will not be charged an application fee.  
Contact your county department of social services for the name and telephone number of the Child Support 
Enforcement Agency in your county. 
 
 
_____________________________________            ___________________________ 

Signature       Date 
 
 

________________________________________________________ 
Telephone  
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