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North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services 

North Carolina Medicaid 

Division of Health Benefits 

FAMILY AND CHILDREN’S MEDICAID MANUAL MA-3535 
 

  BENEFICIARY FRAUD AND ABUSE POLICY AND PROCEDURES  

REVISED 02/10/2021 - CHANGE NO. 04-21 

 
 Current Change Notice: 04-21 

• General language/terminology throughout MA-3535 has been revised to replace/add: 

o Recipient to beneficiary.  

o References to County Department of Social Services/local DSS with local agency/agency.  

o Division of Medical Assistance to Division of Health Benefits (DHB).  

o References to legacy EIS and EPICS terminology with NC Fast terminology.  

o OVS included to all references for Online Verification System (OLV).  

o Division of Medical Assistance Program Integrity Coordinator with DHB Program 

Integrity Beneficiary Fraud Consultant.  

o Office of Compliance and Program Integrity telephone and fax numbers.  

o Family Planning Waiver with Family Planning Program.  

o References for all PI forms from DMA to DHB  

o PI report references from FRD to EPI. 

• The following sections of MA-3535 have been amended: 

o II.C., corrects NC Administrative Code 10A NCAC 22F.0706.  

o III.D.1., adds the reference 108A-25 to Statutes Governing Confidentiality.  

o III.D.3, corrects the federal reference Section 1137(5)(A), 435.940ff.  

o V, V.A.1., V.A.3., and V.A.4.g., adds to the policy the various applications types.  

o V.A.2., adds the fraud prevention requirement to examine the case history and 

documentation prior to conducting a review.  

o VI.D. adds SCUBI, The Work Number and Asset Verification System (AVS) to computer 

matches.  

o VI.D.2, VII., and XIV., defines date of discovery for referrals, sets a time requirement for 

completion of investigations and claim establishments to within 180 days from the date of 

discover. For court case claims, 30 days from the court disposition.  

o VII.B. and VII.C., adds requirements to place all investigative documentation and 

evidence on the Investigative Case (IC) in NC Fast.  

o VIII.A.3.a., clarifies Earned/Unearned income reporting.  

o VIII.B.10 and VIII.B.11.c., clarifies FPP policy to include all ineligible individuals must 

be evaluated for FPP and provided an example for clarification.  

o VIII.D. removes reference to Work First Money Payment case.  

o VIII.A.12., removes reference to Buy-In for Part A and B.  

o IX.B.3., updates NCHC overpayment example.  

o VIII.C., introduces Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI).  

o IX.A.B.3., updates calculation of NCHC overpayments example.  

o X.F.1., adds requirement for the DHB-7058 (Investigative Summary) to be attached to the 

NC Fast IC for unsubstantiated cases or the NC Fast Product Liability Case (PLC) for 

substantiated cases.  

o XI.1.b., adds requirement for the manual DHB-7059 (Notice of Change in Overpayment 

for Medical Assistance) to be attached to the NC Fast PLC.  

o XII., adds policy for Voluntary Repayment Agreement negotiations to be repaid in full 

within 36-60 months. Also, adds hardship clarification.  

o XVI.E(3).b., updates valid statuses for the NC Debt Setoff/Intercept screen.  

o XVIII.A. clarifies the purpose of the beneficiary profile.  

o XVIII.A.3., removes reference to Profiles prior to July 1, 2010.  

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/family-and-childrens-medicaid/change-notices/2021/cn-04-21-fc-signed.pdf
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o XVIII.B.2.b., updates policy to include when and where beneficiary profiles requested for 

fraud cases are available in NCTRACKS.  

o XVIII.D.1.c., adds reference to the Payment Summary page of profile and what is listed 

on the page.  

o XVIII.D.2., updates policy to reflect NCTRACKS retains claims history for 10 years from 

the date of payment for most claims.  

o XVIII.D.3., updates policy to reflect claims information included on the beneficiary 

profile.  

o XVIII., updates the Claim Page Header Descriptions, Claim Types, Claim Status and 

Medicaid Service Codes. Also adds examples for Provider Summary Information, 

Payment Summary, and Date of Service Summary.  

o XVIII.F.3., updates made to examples for Provider Summary Information, Payment 

Summary, Date of Service Summary.  

o XVI.F.6., adds Cross Reference ID Summary and example.  

o XVII., corrects federal citation for Social Security Act 1137, 435.940ff. 

• Program Integrity forms have been updated as follows: 

o All forms are interactive.  

o Replaces terminology for EIS or EPICS with NC Fast terminology.  

o Replaces recipient with beneficiary.  

o Changes references for County Department of Social Services to local agency/agency.  

o Makes all PI forms begin with DHB instead of DMA.  

o DHB-7059 (Notice of Change in Medicaid Overpayment), includes additional reasons for 

a change in the overpayment amount and/or period.  

o DHB-7063 (Medicaid/ NCHC Beneficiary Profile Request), provides current contact 

information for DHB OCPI.  

o DHB-7097 (Beneficiary Request and Authorization to Disclose Health Information), adds 

Beneficiary to the title of form.  

o DHB-7098 (Local Agency Request and Authorization to Disclose Health Information), 

adds Local Agency to the title of form. 
 

I. PURPOSE 

 

This section provides procedures to comply with Federal and State Medicaid 
requirements regarding potential fraud and misrepresentation that results in medical 

assistance overpayments. Although methods for handling cases may vary between local 
agency, disposition and reporting of these cases must be consistent. 

 

II. LEGAL RESPONSIBILITY AND REFERENCES 

 

Both the state and the local agency have a legal obligation to assure proper 
administration of public funds and an obligation to take necessary legal steps in cases of 

fraud or misrepresentation. This obligation rests on the efficiency, thoroughness and 

integrity of the processes by which initial and continuing eligibility are determined. 

 
A. Social Security Act, Title XIX, Section 1909 and the implementing Federal 

Regulations 42 CFR Part 455 entitled "Program Integrity-Medicaid” set forth 

the requirements for the control of fraud and abuse in the Medicaid program 

by the state Medicaid agency, the Division of Health Benefits (DHB). 

 

B. North Carolina Administrative Code 10 NCAC 22F.0103 sets forth the 

procedures to prevent, detect, investigate, report, identify and collect all 

improper payments, and to impose administrative measures for the control of 

fraud, abuse and over-utilization practices by providers and recipients. 
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C. North Carolina Administrative Code 10A NCAC 22F.0706 contains procedures 

established by DHB regarding recipient fraud and abuse. This Section contains 

requirements for the prevention, detection, investigation, referral, prosecution, 

and recoupment of overpayments, and for the reporting of fraud, abuse and 

over-utilization. These procedures are supervised by DHB and administered by 

each local agency. Also included are the procedures for the equitable 

distribution of overpayments collected in cases involving overpayments in more 

than one assistance program. 
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III. NORTH CAROLINA GENERAL STATUTES 

 

Following are the General Statutes Applicable to Medical Assistance Fraud/Abuse: 

 

A. North Carolina General Statue 108A-64, Medical Assistance Recipient Fraud. This 

statute should be used when prosecuting fraud in the Medicaid program. It shall be 

unlawful for any person to knowingly and willfully and with intent to defraud make or 

cause to be made a false statement or representation of a material fact in an application 

for assistance under this part or intended for use in determining entitlement to such 

assistance. 

 
It shall be unlawful for any applicant, recipient or person acting on behalf of such applicant 

or recipient to knowingly and willfully and with intent to defraud, conceal or fail to disclose 

any condition, fact or event affecting such applicant's or recipient's initial or continued 
entitlement to receive assistance under this part. 

 
It is unlawful for any person knowingly, willingly, and with intent to defraud, to obtain or 

attempt to obtain, or to assist, aid, or abet another person, either directly or indirectly, to 

obtain money, services, or any other thing of value to which the person is not entitled as a 
recipient under this Part, or otherwise to deliberately misuse a Medicaid identification card. 

This misuse includes the sale, alteration, or lending of the Medicaid identification card to 
others for services and the use of the card by someone other than the recipient to receive or 

attempt to receive Medicaid program coverage for services rendered to that individual. 

 
Proof of intent to defraud does not require proof of intent to defraud any particular person. 

 

1. Felony: A person who violates a provision of this section shall be guilty of a Class I 
felony if the value of the assistance wrongfully obtained is more than four hundred 

dollars ($400.00). 

 

2. Misdemeanor: A person who violates a provision of this section shall be guilty of a 
misdemeanor if the value of the assistance wrongfully obtained is four hundred 
dollars ($400.00) or less. 

 
For the purposes of this section the word "person" includes any natural person, association, 
consortium, corporation, body politic, partnership, or the group, entity or organization. 

B. North Carolina General Statue 108A-70.28, Fraudulent Misrepresentation, can be used 

when prosecuting fraud cases for the North Carolina Health Choice (NCHC) program. 

It shall be unlawful for any person to knowingly and willfully, and with intent to 

defraud, make or cause to be made a false statement or representation of a material 

fact in an application for coverage under this Part or intended for use in determining 

eligibility for coverage. It should be noted that prosecution under this statute are 

felonies regardless of the amount involved. 
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It shall be unlawful for any applicant, recipient, or person acting on behalf of the applicant 

or recipient to knowingly and willfully, and with intent to defraud, conceal, or fail to 
disclose any condition, fact, or event affecting the applicant's or recipient's initial or 

continued eligibility to receive coverage or benefits under this part. 

 
It is unlawful for any person knowingly, willingly, and with intent to defraud, to obtain or 

attempt to obtain, or to assist, aid, or abet another person, either directly or indirectly, to 
obtain money, services, or any other thing of value to which the person is not entitled as a 

recipient under this part, or otherwise to deliberately misuse a NCHC identification card. 
This misuse includes the sale, alteration, or lending of the NCHC identification card to 

others for services and the use of the card by someone other than the recipient to receive or 

attempt to receive NCHC program coverage for services rendered to that individual. 

 
Proof of intent to defraud does not require proof of intent to defraud any particular person. 
A person who violates a provision of this section shall be guilty of a Class I felony. 

 
For purposes of this section the word "person" includes any natural person, association, 
consortium, corporation, body politic, partnership, or other group, entity, or organization. 

 
C. North Carolina General Statue 14-100 Obtaining Property by False Pretense can be 

used when prosecuting fraud cases in all social services programs. It should be noted 

that cases prosecuted under this statute are felonies regardless of the amount involved. 

 
If any person shall knowingly and designedly by means of any kind of false pretense 
whatsoever, whether the false pretenses of a past or subsisting fact or of a future fulfillment 

or event, obtains or attempts to obtain from any person within this state any money, goods, 
property, services, chose in action, or anything of value with intent to cheat or defraud any 

person of such money, goods property, services, chose in action or other thing of value, 

Provided, that if, on the trial of anyone indicted for such crime, it shall be provided that he 

obtained the property in such manner as to amount to larceny or embezzlement, the jury 
shall have submitted to them such other felony proved; and no person tried for such felony 

shall be liable to be afterwards prosecuted for larceny or embezzlement upon the same facts: 
 

Provided further that it shall be sufficient in any indictment for obtaining or attempting to 

obtain any such money, goods, property, services, chose in action, or other thing of value by 

false pretenses to allege that the party accused did the act with intent to defraud, without 

alleging an intent to defraud any particular person, and without alleging any ownership of the 

money, goods, property, services, chose in action or other thing of value; and upon the trial of 

any such indictment, it shall not be necessary to prove either an intent to defraud any 

particular person or that the person to whom the false pretense was made was the person 

defrauded, but it shall be sufficient to allege and prove that the party accused made the false 

pretense charged with an intent to defraud. If the value of the money, goods, property, 

services, chose in action, or other thing of value is one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) 

or more, a violation of this section is a Class C felony. If the value of the money, goods, 

property, services, chose in action, or other thing of value is less than one hundred thousand 

dollars ($100,000), a violation of this section is a Class H felony. 
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Evidence of non-fulfillment of a contract obligation standing alone shall not establish the 
essential element of intent to defraud. 

 

D. Statutes of Limitations 
 

When referring cases for prosecution in either criminal or civil court, the local agency must 
be aware of the statutes of limitations that apply to these cases. These statutes affect the 

amount of overpayment presented in court and the specific charges brought against the 
beneficiary. 

 

1. Criminal Statute - North Carolina General Statue 15-1 is the statute of 
limitations for criminal misdemeanors. This statute allows prosecution action of 
misdemeanors to be taken no later than two years after the fraudulent act occurred. 

 

A misdemeanor under the current North Carolina General Statue 108A-64, 
are cases involving $400.00 or less. 

 

2. There is no statute of limitations for felonies, that is, cases involving over $400.00. 

However, prior to July 1, 1977, all fraud cases against the Medical Assistance program 

were misdemeanors. Therefore, for cases in which a fraudulent act was committed prior 

to July 1, 1977, the criminal statute of limitations has expired regardless of the amount 

of the overpayment for that 

act. The North Carolina Attorney General's Office has rendered the opinion that an act 

is determined as the initial false statement, misrepresentation, and/or omission of fact, 
running to the next recertification or contact with the client at which time false 

statement, misrepresentation, and/or omission of fact could have been corrected. Each 
certification period or period between contacts, thereafter, during which time the 

recertification, misrepresentation, and/or omission of fact is perpetuated, is considered 
a separate offense. 

 
Therefore, in cases involving overpayments made prior to July 1, 1977, if a 

recertification period began prior to July 1, 1977, and continued after that date, that 
specific recertification period would not be prosecutable in criminal court regardless 

of the amount as the statute of limitations has expired. 

 
3. Civil Statute - The civil statute of limitations, North Carolina General Statue 

1-52, runs for three years from the date the act is discovered, or should have been 
discovered through the exercise of reasonable care. 

 
If the recipient has signed a repayment agreement containing the word "Seal" next to 

the signature, the civil statute of limitations for enforcement of collection is ten years 

from the date the document was signed. However, the client must circle the word 

“Seal.” The investigator should contact the local agency attorney for further 

information regarding this point. 
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E. Statutes Governing Confidentiality 

 

1. General Statute 108A-80, 143B-153, 108A-25 requires each local agency is 

responsible for developing a confidentiality policy that is consistent with state law. 
(See MA-3500, Confidentiality.) According to the Attorney General's office, 

investigators are bound by the same rules of confidentiality as are other staff 

members of the agency. Therefore, it is necessary for each investigator to have 
discussed these statutes with their agency’s county or agency legal counsel. 

 
2. Section 1902(a)(7) of the Social Security Act requires a State plan that provides 

safeguards to restrict the use or disclosure of information concerning applicants and 
beneficiaries to purposes directly connected with the administration of the plan. This 

subpart specifies State plan requirements, the type of information to be safeguarded, 

the conditions for the release of safeguarded information and restrictions of the 
distribution of other information. 

 
3. Section 1137(5)(A), 435.940ff of the Act, which requires agencies to exchange 

information in order to verify income and eligibility of applicants and beneficiaries, 

also requires State agencies to have adequate safeguards to assure that: 

 
a. Information exchanged by the State agencies is made available only to the extent 

necessary to assist in the valid administrative needs of the program receiving the 

information, and information received under section 6103(l) of the Internal Revenue 

Code of 1954 is exchanged only with agencies authorized to receive that information 

under that section of the Code, and 

 
b. The information is adequately stored and processed so that it is protected against 

unauthorized disclosure for other purposes. 

 

Source: As re-designated, 44 FR 17926 (March 23, 1979) and amended at 51 FR 
7178 (February 28, 1986, effective May 29, 1986) 

 

4. 42 CFR 431.301 State Plan Requirements 

 
A State Plan must provide, under a State statute that imposes legal sanctions, 
safeguards meeting the requirements of this subpart that restrict the use or disclosure 

of information concerning applicants and beneficiaries to purposes directly connected 

with the administration of the plan. 

 

Source: As re-designated, 44 FR 17926 (March 23, 1979) 

 
5. 42 CFR 431.302 Purposes directly related to State Plan administration 

include: 

 

a. Establishing eligibility 

 

b. Determining the amount of medical assistance 

 

c. Providing services for beneficiaries 

http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/manuals/dma/fcm/man/MA3500.htm#TopOfPage
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d. Conducting or assisting an investigation, prosecution or civil or criminal 
proceeding related to the administration of the plan. 

 

Source: As re-designated, 44 FR 17926 (March 23, 1979) 

 

6. 42 CFR 431.303 State Authority for Safeguarding Information 

 
The Medicaid agency must have authority to implement and enforce the 

provisions specified in this subpart for safeguarding information about 
applicants and beneficiaries. 

 

Source: As re-designated, 44 FR 17926 (March 23, 1979) 

7. 42 CFR 431.304 Publicizing Safeguarding Requirements 

 
The agency must publicize provisions governing the confidential nature of 

information about applicants and beneficiaries, including legal sanctions imposed 
for improper disclosure and use. 

 
The agency must provide copies of these provisions to applicants and beneficiaries 
and to other persons and agencies to which information is disclosed. 

 

Source: As re-designated, 44 FR 17926 (March 23, 1979) 

 

8. 42 CFR 431.305 Types of Information to Be Safeguarded 

 
The agency must have criteria that govern the types of information about applicants 

and beneficiaries that are safeguarded. This information must include at least: 

 

a. Names and addresses 

 

b. Medical services provided 

 

c. Social and economic conditions or circumstances 

 

d. Agency evaluation of personal information 

 
e. Any information received for verifying income eligibility and amount of 

medical assistance payments (see 435.940 ff). Income information received 
from SSA or IRS must be safeguarded according to the requirements of the 

agency that furnished the data. 

 

9. Legal Restrictions 

 

The Privacy Act permits a beneficiary to have some control over the accuracy and 

disclosures of records maintained by Federal Agencies. However, the Privacy Act of 
1947 (P.L. 93-579) Section 552b (7) allows a fraud investigator to obtain information 

necessary to conduct a civil or criminal investigation. 
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The beneficiary and legal counsel have the legal right to view and have a copy of the 
information in the eligibility or services record at any time with the exception of: 

a. Information that the local agency is required to keep confidential by state or 
federal statute or regulation. 

 

b. Confidential information originating from another source. 

 
c. Information that would breach another third party’s right to confidentiality. 

(Reference: 10 NCAC.24B .0306 and 20 NCAC.32S 

.0306) 

 

d. Investigative records. 

 

IV. FRAUD VS. MISREPRESENTATION 

 

A. General 

 

Although fraud is a question for the courts to determine, the agency must determine whether 

there is a basis for belief that fraud may have been committed. In making this decision, intent 

and the mental competency of the beneficiary must be considered. Also, a clear distinction, 
based on verified facts, must be made between misrepresentation with intent to defraud and 

misstatements due to the misunderstanding of eligibility requirements or of the responsibility 
for providing the agency with information. 

 
It is also important to distinguish between intent to defraud and omission, neglect, or error 
by the agency in helping a beneficiary to understand his responsibilities and in securing and 
recording pertinent information. 

 

B. Fraud vs. Misrepresentation 

 

1. Fraud 

 
Fraud is, by law, a crime against society that can only be determined in a 
criminal court. It is the willful and intentional act that creates the crime, rather 
than the resulting overpayment. 

 
a. For Medicaid purposes the following definition of “client” applies 

throughout this policy. 

 

Client – The beneficiary, parents and/or financially responsible adults of a minor 
child, legal spouse of a beneficiary, or a representative acting in behalf of a 
beneficiary. They may all be debtors except a minor child. 

 
All debtors are jointly and separately liable for the medical assistance 
overpayment. 

 
b. A client is suspected of fraud when the client willfully and knowingly and with 

the intent to deceive: 



10  

(1) Makes a false statement or misrepresentation; or 

 

(2) Fails to disclose a material fact; or 

 
(3) Does not report changes in income or other eligibility factors that affect 

the benefit; and 

 
(4) As a result, obtains, attempts to obtain or continues to receive 

assistance. 

 

2. Misrepresentation 

 
Misrepresentation causes monetary loss as a result of a client’s action or 
inaction. Misrepresentation can be intentional or unintentional. 

 
a. Intentional misrepresentation - The client gives incorrect or misleading 

information in response to either oral or written questions. The information is 

provided with the knowledge that it is incorrect, misleading or incomplete. This is 

suspected fraud until decided by a court of law. If the court determines that the 

recipient is guilty of an Intention Program Violation (IPV) claim would be 

established in the NC FAST Program Integrity (PI) Portal. 

 
b. Unintentional misrepresentation - There is no proof that the client acted willfully 

and intentionally to obtain more benefits than those to which he was entitled. The 

client gives incomplete, incorrect or misleading information because he does not 

understand the eligibility requirements or his responsibilities to provide the local 

agency with required information. For these situations, an Inadvertent Household 

Error (IHE) claim would be established in the NC FAST PI portal. 

 

3. Criteria for Fraud 

 
To have a cause for action for fraud in public assistance cases, there must be proof of 
a statement made by the client, and the following conditions must be found with 
regard to such statement: 

a. The statement is false; and 

 
b. The client knows that the statement is false, or the client makes the 

statement recklessly and with knowledge of the truth or falsity of the 
statement; and 

 
c. The statement is made by the client, with the intent that it will be relied on by the 

local agency, and that it will induce the agency to authorize assistance to which 

the recipient is not entitled or to assistance greater than that to which the recipient 
is entitled; and 

 
d. The agency does in fact rely upon the statement given by the client, and awards 

assistance to which the applicant/beneficiary is not entitled or assistance 
greater than the applicant/beneficiary is entitled; and 



11  

e. The agency has informed the client, of the law relating to fraud and appropriate 

information has been entered in the agency record; and 

 

f. The applicant/beneficiary has signed a statement that all information given by 
the applicant/beneficiary and/or their representative pertaining to their 
eligibility is correct and true to the best of their knowledge. 

 
V. PREVENTION 

 

A. Interviewing 

 

1. A key to fraud prevention is skillful interviewing during the face to face or telephone 
application process. It is also important to use fraud prevention methods found in this 
section during the evaluation of mail-in, faxed and online applications, at reviews and 
when changes in situation are reported. 

 
2. Prior to conducting a review, examine the case history and documentation. Take 

note of previous work history, income, prior reserve (such as bank accounts, 
insurance policies, etc.) and other eligibility factors. 

 
3. The face to face interview or telephone contact involves two-way communication. 

Be specific and thorough in the questions asked. Phrase questions in a way the 

applicant will understand. Give the applicant a chance to respond in their own words. 

Listen carefully to the applicant’s responses. Ask specific follow up questions, 

evaluate their reaction and document the responses. 

4. Follow these steps at interviews: 

 
a. Explain to the applicant his obligation to report all changes in situation within ten 

(10) calendar days after they occur. 

 
b. Inform the applicant of the consequences of failure to report changes. Stress the 

penalties for fraud and misrepresentation. 

 
c. Explain to the applicant how to report changes and the required time frame for 

reporting changes. 

 
d. Inform the applicant about computer matches in which the local agency 

participates. 

 
e. Explain the meaning of fraud. Give the applicant a copy of the fraud form, 

DSS-8627. 
 

f. If the applicant living standards appear to exceed their income, question the 
applicant regarding unreported income. 

 
g. If conducting a face to face or telephone review, ask the beneficiary about any 

changes that have occurred since application or the last review. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/forms
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B. Documentation and Verification 

 

Thorough documentation and verification provide the caseworker necessary information 

for the next review or for a possible fraud case and avoids erroneous eligibility decisions 
and undetected cases of fraud. The following procedures are recommended at all 

applications and reviews as a method of fraud prevention: 

 

1. Complete an Online Verification System/Online Verification (OVS/OLV) inquiry 
to ensure each applicant/beneficiary does not already receive assistance in your 
local agency or another agency. Document the results of the inquiry. 

 
2. Complete all available on-line inquiries, using all social security numbers 

provided. Check all matches. 

 

3. Document and verify all eligibility factors as required in policy. 

 

4. When a change is anticipated, flag the case for review. 

C. Other Preventive Measures 

 

1. Intra-agency 

 
a. Establish communications among the various units in the local agency. Fraud 

prevention is the responsibility of the entire agency, so developing a 
systematic way to report changes and exchange information is key. 

 
b. It is advised that the Program Integrity team conduct periodic training to 

educate agency employees who work in benefits eligibility, and in services, 

regarding what Program Integrity does. Training should include the following: 

 

(1) Interviewing skills and techniques. 

 

(2) What constitutes misrepresentation and/or fraud. 

 
(3) How to report suspected fraud and/or misrepresentation to Program 

Integrity staff. 

 

(4) The difference between a front-end referral and a regular referral. 

 
(5) An overview of what steps the investigator takes when 

investigating a referral. 

 
c. It is also recommended that each agency devise a plan to ensure that every 

caseworker and social worker involved with a beneficiary/ family 

communicate changes in the situation to each other in an effort to prevent 

agency responsible errors. 
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2. Inter-agency 

 
To obtain prompt and accurate information needed to determine eligibility, it is 

important to establish a good working relationship with other agencies, employers and 
institutions. Inform them of the program requirements and the importance of 

receiving prompt and accurate information. 

3. Public awareness 

 
Informing the public about your local agency attempts to prevent fraud and abuse is 

important, both as a deterrent and as a public relations measure. Information 
regarding court actions, amount of recoupments, etc., should be made public. 

Publicize the phone number to call to report cases of possible fraud and abuse, 

stressing that such reports are confidential. If the public realizes they will be 
supported in their efforts, the agency may be able to obtain much more information 

and cooperation. 

 

VI. DETECTION 

 

Referrals for investigations are received from the following: 

 

A. State Office Referrals 

 

Any leads received by DHB will be referred to the agency in writing for investigation. The 

agency’s PI investigator should enter a pending referral in NC FAST within seven days of 

the referral. If an IPV or an IHE is established; create a claim in NC FAST to agree with the 

findings. Follow the instructions in the NC FAST job aids, PI-Create Referrals/Investigation 

Cases and PI-Establish a Claim/Product Liability Case. 

 

Regardless of the results of the investigation, the agency must provide the referring DHB 

Program Integrity Beneficiary Fraud Consultant with a copy of the Investigative Summary 

(DHB-7058), of the investigation within 60 days from the date of the referral letter. 
 

B. Quality Assurance Reviews 

 

During their regular review, DHB Office of Compliance and Program Integrity/Quality 

Assurance staff sometimes detects possible fraud or misrepresentation. Cases found suspected 

of fraud or misrepresentation will be referred to the agency’s PI Unit by the assigned DHB PI 

Beneficiary Fraud Consultant for further investigation. 

 

The PI Unit must enter a pending Medicaid referral in the NC FAST PI portal within seven 

days of date of the referral. A copy of the DHB-7058, Investigative Summary, of the 

investigation must be sent to the referring DHB PI Beneficiary Fraud Consultant within 60 

days from the date of the referral letter. 

 

C. Private Sector and Other Agencies 

 
If you receive information from other agencies, institutions, providers, other beneficiaries or 
private citizens, you are required to investigate the lead. Emphasize that such reporting will 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms
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be kept confidential. Some people may be reluctant to report suspected cases of fraud if they 

feel their names will be disclosed. 

D. Local Agency Staff 

 

During the application and review processes, the local agency’s staff may discover cases of 

possible fraud, abuse, or misrepresentation that need to be evaluated and/or investigated for a 
possible overpayment. At this point a PI referral should be keyed in NC FAST using the job 

aid, PI-Create Referrals/Investigation Cases. There are two types of in-house referrals: 

 
1. Front-end Referral: This referral is made during the application or recertification 

process prior to disposition/recertifying. It is made to prevent the release of 
erroneous issuance due to potential fraud. Usually the investigator has five 

workdays to complete this investigation and instruct the worker on their findings. 
 

2. Regular Referral: This referral is made at any time other than during the initial 

application/recertification process. When a case is in active status; however, 
consideration should be given to cases still currently potentially ineligible to 

prevent further overpayments. The Investigator has 180 days from the date of 
referral to complete. 

 

E. Other sources include but are not limited to: 

 

1. Computer matches in OVS/OLV such as NC FAST, ACTS, SOLQ, ESC/SCUBI, 
SDX, BENDEX, NEW HIRE, The Work Number, Asset Verification System (AVS), 
etc. Also check FRR (Financial Resource Report), BEER (Beneficiary Earnings 
Exchange Report) and the Veteran's Affairs matches. 

 

2. Tax records (unreported personal property, automobiles, farm equipment) 

 
3. Register of Deeds, and Clerk of Court records (marriage, transfers of 

property) 

 

4. Social Security records (increases, lump sum payments, dual benefits) 

 
5. Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) records (vehicle license check, 

unreported registered vehicles, address) 

 

6. Court records (support agreements, divorce decrees, prior convictions) 

 
7. Department of Public Safety (DOC/NC DPS) records (incarceration, parole, 

probation, work release) 

 

8. HUD records (household composition, reported income) 

9. School records (address, household composition, responsible party) 

 

10. Utility company records (address, responsible party) 
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11. Collateral contacts (Landlords, neighbors, relatives) 

 

12. Newspaper reports (births, deaths, marriages and transfers of property) 

 

VII. INVESTIGATIONS 

 

Local agencies must take prompt action to address all complaints of suspected Medicaid fraud the 

agency receives and recover any established overpayments. 

 

The date of discovery is the day that PI receives the referral. All investigations and 

establishment of claims should be completed within 180 days of the date of discovery. 

Claims for court cases must be established within 30 days of the court’s decision. 
 

A. Preliminary Investigation 

 

When a referral for possible Medicaid fraud or misrepresentation is received from any source 
or when there is an indication a beneficiary may have received benefits to which he was not 

entitled, the local agency must conduct a preliminary investigation to assess whether 
eligibility has been correctly determined and documented according to policy regulations. 

They must also establish a pending claim in NC FAST. Follow the instructions using the job 

aid, PI – Creating Referrals/Investigations Case. 

 
1. Review all agency benefits case records and systems (OVS/OLV, etc.) for the 

beneficiary, including Medicaid (MA), Work First Family Assistance (WFFA), and 

Food and Nutrition Services (FNS), Child Care, etc. These records should furnish 
basic information and clearly show the findings on all eligibility factors. Talk to any 

Service Workers to determine if there was any information reported to them that 

would have affected eligibility. 

 
2. It is necessary to ensure that the beneficiary understood and accepted responsibility 

for reporting changes in circumstances to the agency in a timely manner. 

 
a. Determine from documentation and verification documents that adequate 

explanations were provided to the beneficiary regarding his rights and 
responsibilities. 

 
b. Determine whether the beneficiary was offered assistance with obtaining 

requested verifications at each contact with the local agency during the 
application or recertification process. This is necessary to ensure that the 

beneficiary understood and accepted responsibility for reporting changes to the 
agency in a timely manner. 

 
c. If the agency did not meet their obligation, any resulting overpayment is 

deemed an agency error and cannot be collected from the beneficiary. 

3. Determine from the case if the information is already known to the agency. 
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a. Information reported in a timely manner to any agency’s staff is 
considered information known to the agency. 

 

An overpayment resulting from information known to the agency, 
but not communicated to the appropriate case workers is deemed an 
Agency Error (AE) and cannot be recouped from the beneficiary. 

An AE claim should NOT be created claim in NC FAST. 
 

b. Caseworkers that worked the case during the period in question are invaluable 

assets when conducting the investigation. Discussion with them may clarify 
documentation and/or other critical points. 

 
4. If the preliminary investigation establishes the beneficiary’s continuing 

eligibility, no further investigation is required. 

 
Example: A private citizen calls to report that a beneficiary’s husband is employed. A 
review of the case indicates that his income was reported and considered in 

determining her eligibility, or the change in income did not affect the family’s 
eligibility. 

 
5. If the preliminary investigation gives the agency reason to believe fraud or 

misrepresentation has occurred, create an Investigative Case in NC FAST and 
conduct a full investigation. Refer to the NC FAST job aid, PI-Creating 
Referrals/Investigation Cases for instructions. 

 

B. Verification of Reported Information 

 

Continue a full investigation until legal action is initiated, the case is resolved by 
seeking recoupment of the overpayment, or the case is closed due to insufficient 
evidence to support the allegations, or for other reasons. 

 
1. Verify the reported information to establish whether fraud/misrepresentation exists. 

Obtain the verifications by written or verbal contact with the beneficiary, employers, 
financial institutions, other agencies, and collaterals, etc. 

 
2. Document all actions on the Notes tab of the NC Fast Investigative Case (IC). 

Include complete names and dates. 

 
3. If you are unable to substantiate the allegations, document your findings on the 

Notes tab of the IC and close the investigation as unsubstantiated. Refer to the 

job aid, PI-Creating Referrals/Investigation Cases for instructions. 

 
4. If verifications substantiate that fraud/misrepresentation exists, schedule an 

interview with the beneficiary. 

 
C. Building the Investigative Case 

 

To build an investigative case (IC), clearly document each step taken in the 
application/authorization process on the Notes tab of the IC. 
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Certain information needs to be attached to the IC when available, including, but not limited 
to the following: 

 

1. All application and recertification paper copies or NC FAST attachments. 

 

2. All narratives pertaining to the overpayment from the paper eligibility file and/or 

those listed on the NC FAST Insurance Affordability case, Income Support case, 

Income Support case, and PDC(s). 

 

3. Calculations of benefits. 

 

4. All supporting verifications to include, but not limited to the following: 

 

a. Wage stubs and/or affidavits 

 

b. Bank records, and court documents 

 

c. Collateral statements, postal letters 

 

d. All computer matches 

 
5. An investigative narrative should be kept on the NC FAST IC of every contact with 

the beneficiary and on any action taken on the case. Record the date of contact on the 

entry if not entered the same day. Use full sentences and quote what was actually 
stated whenever possible. Do not enter any opinions. 

 

6. Be sure you have reviewed all benefit cases (paper and electronic) in your agency to 

determine what information the beneficiary provided, and what was verified. Also, 
communicate with Service Workers. 

 

Remember, if the beneficiary reported something to anyone within the local 
agency, it is considered as "known to the agency". If the agency failed to follow up 

in a timely manner, any resulting overpayment is considered an agency error. 
Medicaid policy prohibits collecting these types of overpayments from the 

beneficiary. 

 

D. Investigative Interview 

 

1. Conduct an interview with the beneficiary and/or representative if a case appears to 
be beneficiary responsible fraud or misrepresentation. 

 
2. The investigative interview with a beneficiary suspected of fraud or misrepresentation 

can be the most important element of the investigation. It is important to employ 
techniques of skillful interviewing. 

 
a. Interview the beneficiary and/or representative in an area where you will have 

privacy. Inform the beneficiary they are free to leave at any time. 
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b. Inform the beneficiary and/or representative you are investigating for possible 
overpayments. Ask the beneficiary and/or representative if there is anything, they 
wish to tell you that they have not previously revealed to the agency. 

 
c. Discuss the subject of fraud. Explain the beneficiary’s and/or representative’s rights 

and responsibilities to determine if the beneficiary understands the concept of fraud. 

Ask the beneficiary and/or representative to explain their rights and responsibilities 

in their own words. 

 

d. Review the case record with the beneficiary and/or representative. Cover the 

eligibility points in question. Confirm that the beneficiary and/or representative 

made an application and did in fact make the statements documented on the 

signed form(s). 

 
e. Ask again if the beneficiary and or representative wishes to change any of the 

statements made or if they have any new information to report. 

 
f. Use open-ended questions and mirror questions. Allow the beneficiary or 

representative as much time as needed to answer. 

 
Example: "How did you say you disposed of the property?" "Help me understand 
your statement about your income and why you did not report it." 

 
3. When the beneficiary and/or representative continues to affirm that all statements 

previously made are true, confront the beneficiary and/or representative with the 
known facts. 

 
a. If the beneficiary and/or representative makes a statement that is known to be 

false, present the known facts as well as any evidence gathered to substantiate 

them. 

 

b. If the beneficiary and/or representative admits wrongdoing and wishes to 
acknowledge the truth, take a written statement and have the beneficiary and/or 

representative sign and date it. It is recommended that a witness also sign the 
statement. Also, review the case record and have the beneficiary and/or 

representative identify those statements that are false. 

 

4. Document the interview thoroughly. 

 

VIII. CALCULATING OVERPAYMENTS 

 

This section provides rules for establishing overpayments and is applicable to all Families and 

Children coverage groups. To properly determine an overpayment, the investigator must have full 
knowledge of all Medicaid programs and must have access to present and past eligibility policy. 
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A. General Rules 

 

1. Based on the verified unreported information, determine the period(s) of ineligibility 

for each assistance unit (a.u.) member. The period of ineligible may encompass a 

whole or partial certification period (c.p.). Children receiving MIC/NC Health choice 

are entitled to continuous eligibility for one year, changes in income do not affect 

their eligibility. 

 

2. Redetermine eligibility as if all verified information had been reported timely by the 
beneficiary. 

 

3. Allow time changes: 

 
a. Earned income changes must be reported within 10 calendar days of 

beginning the changed employment or earnings. 
 

b. Unearned income changes must be reported within 10 calendar days of receipt 
of the changed income. 

c. Allow another 10 workdays for the Timely Notice (DMA-8110) to the 

client of the change in eligibility. 

4. Use the appropriate income/resource limits in effect at the time of the period of 

ineligibility. 

a. For cases with unreported/changed resources verify available resources for each 
month of the c.p. 

b. For cases with unreported/changed income, compute eligibility separately for 

each certification period, using the verified base period income, and project it 
over the remainder of the c.p. as if the income had been reported timely by the 

beneficiary. 

c. If multiple changes occur, re-budget each change in the order in which it 
occurred. Refer to MA-3300 Income for an explanation of what constitutes a 
change in income. 

 

5. Evaluate for Job Bonus. 
 

Do not evaluate for Job Bonus after January 1, 2014. 

 

6. Always evaluate eligibility according to the policy requirements for Extended 
Medicaid before establishing an overpayment. Extended Medicaid includes 
Transitional Medicaid. 

 

7. If any a.u. member is determined ineligible under the original coverage group, 
determine if the a.u. member could have been eligible under any other coverage 
group if the information had been reported correctly and timely. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/forms/dss-8627-a-serious-crime-public-assistance-fraud
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/family-and-childrens-medicaid/family-and-childrens-medicaid/ma-3300-income
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Example: A a.u. member who is ineligible as Categorically Needy (CN) may be 
eligible as Medically Needy (MN) with a deductible. 

 
Example: A a.u. member who is ineligible for MAF may be eligible for MPW or 
FPP. 

8. Evaluating a Medicaid case for NCHC eligibility will not prevent an overpayment 
for Medicaid since each program has a separate federal funding source. 

Example: A a.u. member who is ineligible for MIC-N may be eligible for 
MIC1/NCHC; however, he will still have a Medicaid overpayment. 

9. Evaluating a NCHC case for Medicaid eligibility will not prevent an overpayment 
for NCHC since each program has a separate federal funding source. 

Example: A a.u. member who is not eligible for NCHC may be eligible for MAF-M; 
however, he will still have an NCHC overpayment. 

10. Family Planning Program 

 

Beneficiaries who are ineligible for full Medicaid or other limited coverage 
Medicaid must be evaluated for FPP and meet all financial and non-financial 
eligibility requirements. The beneficiary cannot have been pregnant during the 
period of ineligibility. 

 

11. For Medicaid cases, once the verified period of ineligibility is established, request a 
Medicaid/NCHC Beneficiary Profile from Division of Health Benefits (DHB) on 
the DHB-7063, in order to establish the overpayment amount. 

 

Complete the required information for each ineligible beneficiary. (For instructions 
on how to order Medicaid/NCHC Beneficiary Profiles, refer to XVIII. below.) 

 

a. It is not necessary to request a profile for long-term care cases with an 
understated liability. 

 

b. Do not order a Medicaid/NCHC Beneficiary Profile for NCHC claims prior to 
July 1, 2010. Refer to XVIII. below, for instructions regarding the overpayment 
procedures for NCHC claims. 

 

c. For a MAF-C/N beneficiary who is found eligible for FPP, check the FPP block 

and indicate the dates of eligibility on the profile. DHB staff will identify which 

claims are for FPP services and the amount to exclude from the total claims paid 
for Medicaid services during the period of ineligibility. 

Example: A beneficiary is found ineligible for MAF-C during the period 1/2019 

– 12/2019, but eligible for FPP (MAF-D) coverage. An FPP profile is 
requested. Total claims paid were $5,000. Per the letter from DHB, there were 

$545 in FPP services received during the period requested. The FPP services 
are excluded from the total claims paid. The total overpayment is $5,000 - $545 
=$4,455. 
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B. Overpayment Methodology for New or Additional Deductible Due to Excess Income 
 

1. When unreported income is discovered, it may result in the beneficiary having to meet 
a new or additional deductible. Refer to section MA-3315 Medicaid Deductible, to 
determine which medical expenses can be applied towards the deductible. Children 
receiving MIC/NC Health choice are entitled to continuous eligibility for one year, 
changes in income do not affect their eligibility. 

 

2. Determine the period(s) in which the beneficiary was ineligible for CN coverage due 
to income that exceeded the income limit. 

 

a. The period of ineligibility for may encompass a whole or partial c.p., several 
contiguous c.p.’s, or in the case of multiple changes in income, there may be 
non-contiguous periods of ineligibility. 

 

b. In determining the point of beginning ineligibility, allow adequate time for 
changes to have been reported, and for appropriate action to have been taken by 
the local agency. 

3. Change in Current Certification Period 
 

a. Verify and project changed, or unreported income based on policy 
requirements. 

 

b. If the beneficiary is currently on a deductible that has not been met, send a 
timely notice to increase the deductible. As there has been no authorization, 

there is no overpayment. 
 

c. If the beneficiary is authorized because there is no current deductible or the 

current deductible has been met, and there is time in the current certification 
period (c.p.) to take action to revise the deductible, send timely notice to 

increase the deductible. 
 

(1) If the beneficiary incurs enough medical expenses to meet the 
additional deductible prior to the end of the c.p. (including old bills), 
there is no overpayment. 

 
(2) If the beneficiary does not incur enough medical expenses to meet the 

additional deductible, apply all allowable expenses to the additional 

deductible to determine the amount of the unmet deductible. 

(3) Request a Medicaid/NCHC Beneficiary Profile for the period authorized. 
 

Refer to section XVIII. below, for instructions on how to read 
Medicaid/NCHC Beneficiary Profiles and determine the amount of claims 

paid on behalf of the client during the period of ineligibility. 
 

(4) If a beneficiary is eligible for FPP coverage, subtract out all Family 

Planning services from the total claims paid to determine the total 
amount of expenses Medicaid paid. 
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(5) Compare the amount of the unmet deductible to the amount of expenses 
paid by Medicaid. The overpayment is the lesser of the two amounts. 

 

4. If the change is discovered after the c.p., or it is too late in the current c.p. to take 
action to revise the deductible, determine the overpayment as follows: 

 

a. Verify and project changed, or unreported income based on policy 
requirements. 

 

b. If the original deductible was never met and there was no authorization, there 
is no overpayment. 

 

c. If the original deductible was met or the beneficiary had no deductible, send a 
DSS-8110 giving the beneficiary 10 workdays notice of the additional or new 
deductible amount. 

 

(1) Allow the beneficiary the opportunity to provide any additional 
medical expenses to meet the deductible. 

 

(2) If the beneficiary meets the additional deductible, there is no 
overpayment. 

 

(3) If there is an unmet deductible, request a Medicaid/NCHC 

Beneficiary Profile for the period of ineligibility. 

(4) For a MAF-C/N or MAD-C/N beneficiary found eligible for FPP 

coverage, subtract out all Family Planning services from the total claims 
paid to determine the total amount of expenses paid. 

 
(5) Compare the amount of the unmet deductible to the amount of expenses 

paid by Medicaid during the period of ineligibility. The overpayment is 
the lesser of the two amounts. 

 

5. Income Example: 

 
1/17/18:  A 30-year-old applicant applied for Medicaid for herself and eight-year- 

old. She reported being on medical leave from Little Tikes since 12/10 

due to an injury she sustained at home. She provided a letter from her 

employer verifying she was on medical leave and her last pay received 

12/15. No other pay was expected. She indicated she did not know how 

long she would be on medical leave but has been assured she can return to 

work once she’s cleared by the doctor. She states no one pregnant or 

disabled. A/B stated she files taxes and expects to claim her child. She 

states no unpaid medical bills for household members, and no bank 

accounts. 

 

01/23/18: Application approved for MAF-C from 1/1 – 12/31 for applicant her and 

her child. A/B instructed by CW to report all changes within 10 days. 
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11/25/18: An Exparte review was completed. During OVS/OLV computer checks, 

CW noticed wages for 1st quarter 2018 for Little Tikes. These wages were 

not reported. Based on the information, the case is ineligible for MAF-C. 

She is eligible for MAF-D. A DSS-8110 was sent by the IMC to notify the 

beneficiary she will begin receiving MAF-D effective 1/1. A referral was 

sent to the PI unit for a possible overpayment. 

 

02/12/19: The employer verified that the beneficiary started back to work part-time 

2/15. It was also verified that she is paid $450 on the 15th and 30th. 

 

If the beneficiary had reported her return to work timely, she would have had a 

deductible, effective 3/1. Beneficiary is also ineligible for Transitional Medicaid. 

Prior to returning to work she had not received Medicaid in three of the six months 

immediately preceding the first month of ineligibility. Since the countable income 

exceeds the CN income limit of $472, eligibility must be evaluated for the MN with a 

deductible. 

 

Beneficiary is ineligible for MAF-C benefits received in April - December. The 

deductible would have been effective March 1st due to timely notice requirements. A 

DSS-8110 was sent by the Investigator requesting unpaid medical bills that could 

meet the deductible. During the interview, Beneficiary stated she had no unpaid 

medical bills to meet a deductible. Beneficiary did not respond to request for 

additional information. 

Calculate the overpayment using the following steps: 

Rule: Determine the beginning point of period(s) of ineligibility 
 

Change due:  2/15 

10 Calendar days to report: 2/25 

10 workdays for notice (being the day after 10th report date): 3/13 

First month of deductible: March 

First month of ineligibility: April 

 

Rule: Calculate budgets for each certification period separately 

using the verified base period income. See Family and Children’s Manual 

sections: MA-3305 MAF, MIC, HSF Budgeting and MA-3306 Modified 

Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI). 
 

Rule: Compare new budgeted income to the appropriate income 

levels for the period to determine eligibility. 

Rule: If the new income exceeds the income level, determine the 

deductible. 

 

Rule: Send a DSS-8110 to notify the beneficiary of the new or 

revised deductible, allowing the beneficiary time to 

provide unpaid medical bills to meet the deductible. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/family-and-childrens-medicaid/family-and-childrens-medicaid/ma-3305-maf-mic-hsf-budgeting
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/family-and-childrens-medicaid/family-and-childrens-medicaid/ma-3306-modified-adjusted-gross-income-magi
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/family-and-childrens-medicaid/family-and-childrens-medicaid/ma-3306-modified-adjusted-gross-income-magi
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/forms/dss-8110-notice-of-modification-termination-or-continuation-of-public-assistance
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Rule: Request a Medicaid Beneficiary Profile (DHB-7063) for 

the authorized overpayment period. 

 

Rule: Compare the amount paid by Medicaid to the amount of 

the unmet deductible. 

 
Calculating the Deductible: 

 

March 2018 – June 2018 July 2018 – December 2018 

Countable Monthly Income 
$900.00 – $68.58 = $831.42 

Countable Monthly Income 
$900.00 – $68.58 = $831.42 

Or Or 

$ 450 x 2 = $900.00 $ 450 x 2 = $900.00 

$ 900.00 Monthly income $ 900.00 Monthly income 

$ -90.00  Work Expense $ -90.00  Work Expense 

$ 810.00  Countable Income $ 810.00  Countable Income 

Income Exceeds C/N Income Limit 

of $569.00 

Income Exceeds C/N Income Limit 

of $569.00 

$ 810.00 Countable Monthly Income $ 810.00 Countable Monthly Income 

$ - 317.00 MN Maintenance $ - 317.00 MN Maintenance 

$ 493.00 Excess Income $ 493.00 Excess Income 

  X4 March – June 2018   X6 July – December 2018 
$ 1,972.00 Deductible $ 2,958.00 Deductible 

 

The deductible for 3/2018 through 6/18 is $1,972.00 

The deductible for 7/18 – 12/18 is $2,58.00 
 

Rule: Determine the amount of claims paid by Medicaid during the period of 

ineligibility. 

 

Rule: If the beneficiary received MAF-C or MAF-N and is eligible for FPP, 

subtract out the FPP services from the total claims paid. 

 
A Medicaid/NCHC Beneficiary Profile was ordered for the period of 
ineligibility, 04/18 through 12/18. The total expenses paid by Medicaid were: 

04/18 – 06/18 = $ 1,500.00 with no FPP services. 

04/18 – 06/18 = $ 1,500.00 in total claims 

07/18 – 12/18 = $ 1,200.00 with $400.00 in FPP services. 

07/18 - 12/18 = $ 1,200.00 - $400.00 = $800.00 in total claims. 

 

Rule: Compare the amount paid by Medicaid to the amount of the unmet deductible. 

The amount of the actual overpayment is the lesser of the two amounts. 
 

The deductible for March – June is $1,972.00. The total Medicaid claims paid 
during this period is $1,500.00. The claims amount for this period is the lesser of 
the two; therefore, $1,500 is the overpayment for April – June. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms/dma-7063-medicaid-nc-health-choice-recipient-profile-request-sheet
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The deductible for July – December is $2,958.00. The total Medicaid claims paid 
during this period is $800.00. The overpayment amount for this period is the lesser 
of the two; therefore, $800.00 is the overpayment for July - December. 

The total overpayment in this case is each period. 

$ 1,500.00 (January - June) + $ 800.00 (July – December) = $2,300.00. 

6. If ineligibility is the result of a beneficiary error in determining the amount of 
expenditures for medical care applied to the deductible, the amount of the 
overpayment is the lesser of: 

a. The amount of Medicaid payments made on behalf of the beneficiary, or 

b. The difference in the actual amount of incurred expenses and the amount 

of the deductible. 

Example: The deductible for May-October is $865. Based on the medical charges 
provided, the beneficiary was authorized effective June 2. It is later discovered that a 

$115 charge that had been applied to the deductible was incorrectly applied. (The 

beneficiary forged her name on the bill, but it was in fact for services rendered to an 

individual not in the b.u.) The profile shows that $1055 was paid for medical charges 

during the c.p. Subtract the actual amount of incurred expenses that could be applied 

to the deductible ($750) from the deductible amount ($865), and compare this amount 

($115) to the claims paid ($1055). The lesser amount ($115) is the overpayment 

amount. 

This is applicable only if the error was on the part of the beneficiary. If the local 

agency makes an error in applying expenses to the deductible, it is an agency error 
and cannot be recouped from the beneficiary. Therefore, no claim should be 

entered in NC FAST. 

C. Overpayment Methodology for Excess Resources 

 

1. Determine the period(s) in which the beneficiary was ineligible due to resources that 
exceeded the reserve limit. 

a. The period of ineligibility may encompass a whole or partial c.p., several 
contiguous c.p.'s, or in the case of reserve fluctuating above and below allowable 
limits, there may be non-contiguous periods of ineligibility. 

 

Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) methodology became effective 
4/1/2018. MAGI do not have Resource limits, only MAF-M groups in F&CH 
MA. 

 

b. In determining the point of beginning ineligibility, allow adequate time for 
changes to have been reported and for appropriate action to have been taken by 
the local agency. 

 

2. Determine excess reserve for each separate period of ineligibility. 

 
a. Verify all resources available to the beneficiary during each period of 

ineligibility. 
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b. Determine the dollar amount by which reserve most exceeded allowable limits 
during each period in question. 

(1) Verify the reserve amount for each month. 
 

(2) Compare the reserve for every month during the period of 
ineligibility. Use the largest amount in the overpayment 
calculation. 

 

c. Notify the beneficiary on the DSS-8110 of the amount of excess reserve in each 
period of ineligibility and request verification, if any, of reduction of reserve. 

 

3. Determine the amount paid by Medicaid during each separate period of 
ineligibility. 

 

a. Request a Medicaid/NCHC Beneficiary Profile via the DMA-7063 from 
DHB Office of Compliance and Program Integrity. 

 

Do not combine requests for NCHC and Medicaid claims on the same 
DMA 7063. 

 

b. If there is more than one period of ineligibility, request a Medicaid/NCHC 

Beneficiary Profile for each separate period of ineligibility under the heading 
entitled "Dates of Service." See MA 3535, XVIII. for complete instructions on 

requesting Medicaid/NCHC Beneficiary Profiles. 

4. Determine the amount of the overpayment. 

a. Determine the overpayment for each period of ineligibility separately. 
 

b. The amount of the overpayment for each period of ineligibility is either the 
amount paid by Medicaid during that period or the highest dollar amount by 
which reserve exceeded allowable limits, whichever is less. 

 

c. If there is more than one period of ineligibility, add together the 
overpayments from each period to get the total amount of the 
overpayment. 

 

e. If there are separate periods of ineligibility which are separated by gaps in 

authorization (not by periods of eligibility), there is only one overpayment based 

on either the maximum amount of excess resources for the periods or the amount 
paid by Medicaid for all the periods, whichever is less. 

Example: A beneficiary authorized May-April is terminated at the end of the c.p. 

due to failure to return information. The beneficiary re-applies and is authorized 

January-December. At the review at the end of the latter c.p., it is discovered that 
the beneficiary unreported IRA Distributions that caused excess resources during 

both c.p.'s. The maximum excess resources for May-April were $660 and for 
January-December were $720. The total amount of claims paid for both periods 

was $1,095. The overpayment amount is $720 (the lesser of $1,095 and $720). 

http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dma/dma-7063.pdf
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D. Evaluating Unreported Earned Income Cases 

1. Evaluate ineligible MAF-C cases with unreported earned income for Job Bonus, 

Earned Income Disregard under Extended Medicaid for Working Families, 
Transitional Medicaid, and continuous eligibility for children under age 19 before 

determining an overpayment. 

The Earned Income Disregard under the Extended Medicaid for Working 
Families applies only to the period of 11/01/99-8/31/03. Job Bonus is no 
longer applicable after 1/2014. 

2. Part of the eligibility evaluation for Medicaid includes assessing whether the 
beneficiary would have been eligible for Job Bonus, or Extended Medicaid for 

Working Families had the change in earned income been reported correctly and 
timely. 

3. Refer to the MA-3400, Four Month Transitional, MA-3405, Twelve Month 
Transitional Medicaid, and MA-3410, Termination and Deletions, for procedures 
for determining whether these continuations apply. 

a. First determine if a beneficiary under age 19 is entitled to continuous 
eligibility for the remainder of the certification period. 

b. Next evaluate first to see if the beneficiary would have been eligible for the Job 
Bonus. If eligible for the Job Bonus subtract those months from the ineligible 
period. 

c. Once the Job Bonus months have been exhausted, evaluate for 12 months 
Earned Income Disregard under Extended Medicaid for Working Family. 
Subtract those months from the ineligibility period. 

d. Once the 12 months of Earned Income Disregard has expired apply 
Transitional Medicaid guidelines to any remaining ineligible months. 

e. If 12 months transitional Medicaid does not apply, evaluate next for the 4 
months Transitional Benefits. 

f. If the 4 months Transitional Benefits does not apply, evaluate for the one-month 
Transitional Benefits. 

4. If any of the extensions apply, medical expenses for those months would not be part 

of an overpayment as the beneficiaries would have been Medicaid eligible. If there 

is a period of ineligibility, any benefits paid by Medicaid during those months 
would be part of an overpayment. 

F. Evaluating MAF-N and MAF-M Cases 

If a beneficiary is found ineligible for Medicaid under one coverage group, apply the 
following principles to determine if a Medicaid overpayment exists. 

1. Evaluate each beneficiary in the Medicaid case to determine if the beneficiary would 
be eligible under any other Medicaid coverage group. It is possible that some 

beneficiaries in the Medicaid case will have a Medicaid overpayment and some will 
not. 

http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/manuals/dma/fcm/man/MA3400-01.htm#P19_388
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/manuals/dma/fcm/man/MA3405-01.htm#P59_2913
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/manuals/dma/fcm/man/MA3405-01.htm#P59_2913
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/manuals/dma/fcm/man/MA3410-01.htm#P18_2198
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2. If this evaluation for eligibility indicates that all members of the case would have 

been ineligible for Medicaid under any coverage group, all payments made by 

Medicaid during the period of ineligibility are erroneous and should be considered 
an overpayment. 

 

Example: Ms. Penny and her daughter, Hetty age 19 were authorized for MAF-M 

7/01 after meeting a deductible using old bills. She is separated from her husband 
and receives alimony and works part-time. She has a deductible of $1,098 for 7/1 - 

12/31 that she met on 7/1 with an old bill of $1,300. 

In 11/18, the local agency learns that Ms. Penny's husband returned to the home on 
9/5 and is employed. Due to his countable monthly income of $850.00 the family has 

an increased deductible. The MAF-M case is terminated 11/30 as the client states she 
cannot meet the increased deductible. 

 

Neither Ms. Penny nor Hetty are eligible under any coverage group. Since they 

cannot meet the new MAF-M deductible, any claims paid for them between 10/1 
and 12/31 are an overpayment if less than the additional deductible. 

 

Mrs. Penny and Hetty are not eligible for Transitional Medicaid due to the MAF-M 
classification. 

 

G. Medicaid Transportation Overpayments 

 

Medical transportation overpayments occur when a beneficiary and/or provider of 

transportation requests transportation reimbursement for visits they never made to the 
medical provider as claimed. To determine the overpayment for a Medicaid transportation 

claim, the investigator will need to take the following steps: 

 
1. View local agency cases for the dates on which the beneficiary claimed a need for 

reimbursement for transportation and reimbursement was given, either to the 
beneficiary, or the provider of transportation services. 

 
2. Request a Medicaid/NCHC Beneficiary Profile for the dates of service in question. 

Compare the providers who billed Medicaid to the transportation reimbursement 
logs. 

 
3. It may be necessary to contact the medical provider if there is no Medicaid claim on 

file as providers have at least 12 months from the date of service to file claims. 

 
4. The overpayment will be the amount reimbursed the beneficiary and/or provider of 

transportation services for any dates medical services were not rendered to the 
beneficiary. 

 

5. Enter the claim in NC FAST using the Product Delivery Case number and program 
code the beneficiary was receiving at the time the overpayment occurred. The 

Medicaid service Code will be 71. 



29  

6. Depending on the circumstances, the debtor may be the beneficiary, the provider of 
transportation, or both. 

 

IX. NORTH CAROLINA HEALTH CHOICE OVERPAYMENTS 

 

A. Establishing the periods of ineligibility for North Carolina Health Choice (NCHC) is based 
on the same policies and guidelines that are used to establish the overpayment periods for 
Medicaid cases. 

 
1. Allow time for advance notice requirements for changes that must be reported to the 

county, such as acquisition of comprehensive health insurance and moving out of 
state. The guidelines can be found in MA-3255 NC Health Choice Carolina Health 
Choice. 

 
2. To determine when the beneficiary was notified of the major health insurance 

coverage it may be necessary to contact the health insurance provider, child 

support, the policyholder or the policyholder’s employer. 

 

3. If it is determined that the insurance information was reported to the agency, this 

includes child support, the overpayment cannot be collected from the beneficiary’s 

family. Agency responsible errors are not collectible and should never be entered into 
NC FAST. 

 

B. Calculating NCHC overpayments occurring on or after July 1, 2010 
 

Effective July 1, 2010, the Division of Medical Assistance eliminated the premium 

payments for NCHC. Overpayments for NCHC is based on the amount of claims paid 
during the period of ineligibility. 

 

1. When establishing NCHC beneficiary overpayment amount for potential fraud, 
there is no separate evaluation for Medicaid eligibility. 

 

2. Do not establish an overpayment for the enrollment fee on a beneficiary who was 

authorized under MIC-J but should have been authorized as MIC-K. 

3. Determine the amount paid by NCHC during the period of ineligibility: 
 

Request a Medicaid/NCHC Beneficiary profile via the DMA-7063 from DHB 
Quality Assurance. 

 

Do not combine requests for NCHC and Medicaid claims on the same DHB- 

7063. 

EXAMPLE: 

 

01/02/2018: Ima Lyon applies for Medicaid for her 8-year-old grandson, Tommy Thumb. 

She states her son, Thom Thumb, left his son in her care when he took an out 
of state assignment. She states the only income Tommy has is from Social 

Security (due to his mother being deceased) in the amount of $1,400/month. 
She states she receives no child support. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/family-and-childrens-medicaid/family-and-childrens-medicaid/ma-3255-nc-health-choice
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/manuals/dma/fcm/man/MA3255-03.htm#P387_23194
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/manuals/dma/fcm/man/MA3255-03.htm#P387_23194
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms/dma-7063-medicaid-nc-health-choice-recipient-profile-request-sheet
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms/dma-7063-medicaid-nc-health-choice-recipient-profile-request-sheet
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01/20/2018: Tommy Thumb approved for NCHC from January 2018-December 2018. 
 

11/30/2018: An Exparte review was completed by the caseworker. There were no 
reported by household, case recertified for NCHC January 2019-December 
2019. 

 

10/15/2019: The DHB PI Beneficiary Fraud Consultant received a call from Pretty Madd, 

ex-girlfriend of Thom Thumb. She stated she just learned his son was getting 
Medicaid. She stated she wanted to know how this could be since his father is 

in the home and working. She reported that he works for “On the Move 
Movers”, making $2,500/month. She knows this is true because she does the 

books for On the Move Movers. Additionally, he has Tommy on his health 
insurance. She states Thom went to live with his mother Ima Lyon and Tommy 

on November 25, 2018 when she kicked him out. She faxed DHB proof of the 
insurance and his pay. A referral was sent to the local agency’s PI office. 

 

01/06/2020:   An investigation was conducted, and it was determined that Thom Thumb was 

in the home and had been at the time of Ms. Lyons’ last review. The verification 

obtained reflected that Mr. Thumb’s salary with “On the Move Movers” was 

$2,500/month since he was employed as of 10/17/17. It also showed he paid for 
insurance for him and Tommy. The coverage with BCBS began 12/01/18. It was 

also determined that Mr. Thumb was not aware his mother was receiving NC 
Health Choice for his son. 

 

Calculate the overpayment using the following rules: 

 

Rule: Evaluate eligibility for all other coverage groups for each AU member. 
 

Rule: Determine the unreported countable income during the certification period(s). 

Rule: Re-compute the budget using the actual verified unreported income received during 
the overpayment base period. If there are multiple certification periods, re-compute 
budgets for each period separately. 

 

Tommy was eligible for NCHC from January - December. 
 

His father, Thom Thumb moved in with him and Ima Lyon on 11/25/2018. Ms. Lyon 

should have reported the change in household composition within ten days. When 
Thom’s income is added together with Tommy’s SSA income, Tommy is ineligible for 

NCHC effective with January 2019. 

 

The period of ineligible is from January 2019- December 2019 

Rule: Determine the overpayment amount. 

The overpayment for January -December is based on the actual services used. To 
determine this amount, a profile (DMA-7063) must be sent to DHB. 
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The profile is ordered, and it shows that $4,596.35 in services was used during January – 
December. 

 

Rule: Calculate the total overpayment. 

The total overpayment is based on the actual NCHC claims paid (January 2019-December 
2019), which is $ 4,596.35. 

 

X. CONCLUSIONS AND RECOMMENDATIONS 

 

A. Case Evaluation 

 

The purpose of a full case evaluation is to review and organize all the data gathered during 

the investigation to compare that data to all relevant regulations, policies and laws, and to 
weigh and prioritize the results. This leads to a decision as to the action to be taken on the 

case. 
 

The local agency must use specific standards for prioritizing cases and apply them in the 
same way to all cases to ensure that individuals are treated equitably. The 

standards are set by the agency in consultation with its local legal advisor. 

Consistency in application of these standards is imperative. 

B. Responsibility of Overpayment 

 

1. The PI investigator/caseworker must determine whether an existing overpayment is 
the result of suspected fraud, client error or agency error. 

 
2. If the overpayment was the result of an agency error take immediate action to correct 

current eligibility. An overpayment that is the result of agency error cannot be 
collected from the beneficiary. 

 
3. If a client error occurred, take immediate action to correct ongoing eligibility 

and refer the case to the agency’s PI unit for investigation. 

 
4. If fraud or misrepresentation is suspected, refer the case to the agency’s PI unit for 

investigation, making sure to give all information obtained to date. 

 

If the case remains the responsibility of the caseworker to determine fraud/abuse, 
the caseworker must follow all the steps outlined in this section and report the 
results. 

 

C. Determining Who the Debtor Is 

 

1. Debtors may include financially responsible adults, including parents of 

children, adult beneficiaries and legal spouses of beneficiaries, if they failed to 
report income and/or assets of any kind, or joined in the process of intentionally 

misrepresenting eligibility factors. 

 
a. Debtors may also be non-beneficiaries, such as the applicant’s representative, if 

they fail to report income and/or assets of the beneficiary. 
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b. Other non-beneficiaries may also be debtors if they use another 
beneficiary’s Medicaid card to obtain benefits. 

 
c. If the beneficiary “loaned” the Medicaid card to the non-beneficiary, they are 

co-debtors in the overpayment claim. 

Example: The beneficiary may be a victim of theft. If someone steals a 

beneficiary's Medicaid card and uses it to obtain Medicaid benefits, then the non- 

beneficiary is considered the debtor. In this case the beneficiary would not be 
included as a debtor. However, if there is proof that the beneficiary loaned the 

card to the non-beneficiary, then he is a co-debtor in the overpayment claim with 
the non-beneficiary. 

 

2. Under no circumstances would an individual who received benefits as a dependent 
child under age 18 be considered a debtor, even after the individual reaches age 18. 

 
a. Determine how old the beneficiary was at the time of the overpayment and who 

the financially responsible adult(s) was during the overpayment period. 

 
b. If a beneficiary is determined to be incompetent, he/she may not be considered a 

debtor. However, an overpayment can still exist. In this case, the representative, 
often the Power of Attorney (POA), may be found to be the debtor as the POA 

may be the person who benefited by the fraud/misrepresentation. Each situation 

should be evaluated based on its own merit. 

3. Beneficiaries age 18-21 who is receiving as a child: 
 

a. Can never be a debtor. 

 

b. Can be a debtor if he is receiving as an individual under age 21 living 

financially independent of his parents. (MA-3305, III., Financial 
Responsibility.) 

 

4. Below are examples of who would be considered financially responsible in certain 
cases: 

 
a. MAF individual living financially independent of the parent: If the parent(s) of 

the “child" aged 18-21 conspired to assist the "child" in obtaining benefits, by 
falsely claiming the child was financially independent, and the parent's income 

and/or resources made the "child" ineligible, then the adult child and the parent(s) 
are both debtors. If the parent was unaware of the situation, then the beneficiary 

receiving Medicaid under the false pretense of being financially independent of 
his parents will be the only debtor. 

 
b. MAF individual 18-21 still living in the home of his parent(s) or caretaker: If the 

parent/caretaker applies for the "child" they are considered financially responsible, 
and if there is misrepresentation, the parent/caretaker is the debtor. 

 

c. MIC: When both parents are in the home and either applies for their children, 

both would be debtors. If the 18-year-old applies for himself, and does not live 
with his parents, he is financially responsible for himself and could be the debtor. 

http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/manuals/dma/fcm/man/MA3305-02.htm#P51_2818
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However, if the child lives with a single parent, the parent who makes the 

application is the debtor. 

d. NCHC: When both parents are in the home, both would be debtors. However, if 
the child lives with a single parent, the parent who makes the application is the 
debtor. 

 

D. Guidelines for creating claims in NC FAST when the case head is not the debtor or is 
not the only debtor. 

 

1. Create the claim in NC FAST in the case head's name, since the claim must be tied 
to the correct Product Delivery Case or Case ID (legacy EIS cases only) and 
authorization period(s) for the Medicaid program. 

 

2. If the debtor non-beneficiary debtor does not have an CNDS ID, create one in NC 

FAST using the instructions in the Job Aid, Registering Persons. Once the CNDS 

ID has been created, add the debtor to the PLC. 
 

E. Combining Legacy EIS Cases on a PLC in NC FAST 
 

1. A legacy EIS case may have more than one Medicaid overpayment. Combine 
multiple overpayment periods for a case into one claim in NC FAST as long as the 
overpayment periods are within the same Medicaid program category (i.e., MAF, 
MIC, MPW) unless one of the overpayment periods is based on a court order 

and the other is not. 
 

2. Use the case ID for the most recent overpayment period. Enter each overpayment 
period in the overpayment field on the claim detail screen. Refer to the job aid, PI- 
Establish a Claim/Product Liability Case. 

 

3. Do not combine NCHC or the Breast and Cervical Cancer coverage with any other 
Medicaid overpayments in NC FAST. Establish a separate claim for each program 
in NC FAST since each program has a separate funding source. 

 

F. Investigative Summary 
 

1. Complete the DHB-7058, Investigative Summary upon completion of an 
investigation detailing all factors causing the overpayment, the overpayment period, 
and amount of the overpayment. Attach a copy to the Investigative Case 
(unsubstantiated cases) or the Claim (substantiated cases) in NC FAST. 

2. The summary should contain recommended action based upon the investigator's 
knowledge of the situation. Weigh the merits of the alternatives for that case to 
determine the case objectives. 

 

3. The overall objectives for any fraud investigation are punishment, restitution, 
deterrence, and the protection of society. 

 

4. Present the completed summary to the Local Agency’s Board of Social Services or 
it's designee for a decision on whether to refer for prosecution, or to use 

administrative procedures for collection. Follow your local agency’s procedures. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms
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5. All available options must be utilized to attempt collection on any debt owed to 
DHB. 

 

G. Referral to Local Agency Board of Social Services 

 

1. The Agency’s Board of Social Services or their designee is responsible for the 
review of the case circumstances and the final decision on whether to recommend 
referral for prosecution in accordance with state statutes. 

 

2. The following factors must be given consideration: 

 

a. Was there a violation of policy? 

 

b. Was the violation of policy against the law? 

 

c. Were the elements of criminal action present? 

 

d. Did a beneficiary willfully and knowingly, with intent to deceive: 

 

(1) Make a false statement or representation, 

 

(2) Fail to disclose a material fact, 

 
(3) And as a result, obtain, attempt to obtain or continued to receive 

Medicaid for himself or others? 

 

e. Mitigating factors 

 

(1) Prior/repeat offenses 

 

(2) Beneficiary's physical and/or mental state 

 
(3) Recommendation of County District Attorney 

 
(4) Any other factors pertinent to the case (such as the Statutes of 

Limitations) 
 

H. Guidelines for Criminal Prosecution 

 

If the Local Agency Board of Social Services determines that a case should be referred for 
prosecution, there are several actions that will help ensure the case is disposed of justly. 

1. Relationship with the Prosecuting Attorney 

 
a. The agency should establish a good working relationship with the 

District Attorney or County Attorney, whichever handles prosecution of fraud 

cases. The worker responsible for the case should ensure the attorney understands 

program requirements as they relate to the case. All case documentation should be 

provided to the attorney along with the investigative summary. The worker should 

be available to answer any questions that the attorney may have about any specific 
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case or about program policies, procedures and regulations. Do not schedule court 

proceedings until all documentation is in hand. 

 

b. The local agency should expect advice from the agency’s attorney on whether a 

case has enough evidence for prosecution, whether further evidence is required, 
and the type of information the attorney considers necessary for successful 

prosecution. 
 

c. The attorney should be expected to help the agency in such areas as issuing 
warrants, appearing as a witness in court, etc. 

 

d. Representatives from the agency should meet with the attorney to discuss such a 
relationship. Only by discussing expectations will a worthwhile effort towards 

prosecution evolve. 
 

2. Relationship with the Courts 
 

a. Take any opportunity that presents itself to speak with the judge who presides over 

prosecution of fraud cases in your county. Do not presume the judge needs to be 

educated in this area but use the opportunity to introduce those people who will 

regularly appear in the court in the cases. 

 

b. While you cannot presume to tell the judge, what sentence you wish rendered, 

you can inform the judge of certain program situations that may affect the 
sentence. 

 

(1) An example is the fact that providers have 12 months in which to file 
claims and the warrant may not reflect the total amount of the 
overpayment. 

 

(2) Another example is that CMS (the Center for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services) regulations do not allow for the compromise of Medicaid 
overpayment amounts. 

 

c. The judge may be able to advise you how to handle such situations. This does not 
suggest that you should meet with the judge or attempt to educate him on the law 
or influence his judgment in any way. 

 

3. Relationship with Law Enforcement 
 

a. It is important to maintain a good relationship with the law enforcement branch 
that serves warrants in cases that have been referred for prosecution. 

 

b. Provide them with clear directions to the beneficiary's home, hours the 

beneficiary may be home and any other information that might expedite the 
serving of the warrant. 

 

4. Appearing in Court 

 
a. When appearing in court in a possible fraud case, know the case thoroughly 

before taking the stand to testify. If you do not know the answer to a question, 
b. 
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state you do not know. However, if the answer can be found in the record, state 

this fact and look in the record. 

 
c. Only testimony from the record should be given to avoid violating 

confidentiality and to avoid giving opinions. For this reason, the Case 

Summary should be a complete history of the investigation and should include 
all documentary evidence. Do not give opinions. If you have fully developed 

your case, everything you need will be contained in the investigative summary. 

 
d. Answer all questions as concisely as possible. If you must organize your 

thoughts before answering a question, do so. Do not rush into an 
answer that is not carefully thought out to avoid giving unnecessary or 
confusing information. 

 

d. Remember the following: 

 
(1) Prepare and present the evidence as a professional; do not get 

personally involved in a case. 

 

(2) Always dress neatly and be well groomed. 

 
(3) Never chew gum; avoid nervous habits. Assume a comfortable 

position. 

 

(4) Be on time. 

 
(5) Always be completely honest. Speak clearly, slowly and loudly enough 

to be heard. 

 
(6) Address the judge as "Your Honor" in the courtroom. "Judge" is proper 

outside the courtroom. 

 
(7) If a court official addresses you when you are not in the witness stand, 

it is proper to stand before answering. 

 
(8) Stop your testimony immediately when there is an objection. Do not 

resume until the objection has been ruled on and you are instructed to 
continue or answer another question. 

 

(9) If you need witnesses or materials to prove your case, be sure they are 
available. 

 
(10) Call your witnesses the day before the court date to remind them of the 

time and place of the trial. 

 
(11) If you are disappointed with the disposition of the case, do not let it show 

in court. 



37  

XI. NOTICES & APPEALS 

 

A. Notices 

 

When a claim is established in NC FAST the following occurs: 

 
1. The DHB-8010/8010S, Notice of Overpayment for Medical Assistance, is 

generated for each debtor on the claim. The notice contains the initial 
overpayment amount and the period of ineligibility. The notice is produced 
based on the individual’s language preference located on the Person 
Page>Evidence Tab. 

 
a. The initial overpayment amount may change if additional claims are paid for 

medical expenses that were incurred during the period of ineligibility. The DHB- 

7059, Notice of Change in Overpayment for Medical Assistance, notifying each 
debtor of the change in the overpayment must be manually sent. 

 

b. Attach a copy of the manual DHB-7058 to the PLC. 
 

2. The notice is mailed the next business day after the claim is established. The 
date the notice is mailed is the date on the Letter of Overissuance (LOI) field. 

 

3. The DHB-8010 is mailed to the mailing address listed in NC FAST for each 
debtor. 

a. If an incorrect address is listed for the debtor on the Debtor Detail screen, NC 
FAST will send the DHB-8010 to the local agency address responsible for the 
referral. 

 
b. When the DHB-8010 is returned to the agency with no forwarding address, the 

Program Integrity Unit is responsible for searching all available resources for a 
mailing address and forwarding the notice to the debtor. 

c. If an address is located: 

 
(1) Update the notice mailing date, the mailing address, and the 60-day 

hearing date on the DHB-8010. 
 

(2) Forward the notice to the new address. File a copy of the revised notice 
in the case record and document the change. 

 
d. If no alternate address is located, file the DHB-8010 and documentation of all 

sources searched for an address in the case record. 

4. A report, EPI433 Letter of Over issuance, is produced daily. The report lists all 
debtors who were mailed a Notice of Overpayment. The report contains: 

 

a. The debtor’s SSN and name 
 

b. The Program Code 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms?b_start%3Aint=0
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms?b_start%3Aint=0
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms?b_start%3Aint=0
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dma/dma-7059.pdf
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms?b_start%3Aint=0
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms?b_start%3Aint=0
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms?b_start%3Aint=0
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms?b_start%3Aint=0
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms?b_start%3Aint=0
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms?b_start%3Aint=0
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c. Claim overpayment amount 
 

d. Investigative Case Reference number and PLC 
 

e. Date notice was mailed and the final hearing date (60th day) 
 

5. The notice instructs the debtor to contact the local agency’s Program Integrity 
Investigator to set up a voluntary repayment agreement if he has not 
previously made arrangements for full repayment of the debt. 

 

B. Appeals 

A beneficiary has the right to an appeal when benefits are modified or terminated. In the 
case of fraud/misinterpretation, the beneficiary may request an appeal of the corrected 
eligibility determination made during the investigation. 

1. If a timely notice is sent and the client requests a hearing within the notice period, he 
may elect to continue to receive benefits until a decision is rendered from the initial 

hearing. See MA-3430 Notice and Hearings Process. 

2. If the initial hearing decision upholds the local agency’s action, any benefits received 

by the beneficiary during the continuation of benefits period may be recovered by the 
state. The amount overpaid during this time should be added to any other verified 

overpayment when keying client responsible overpayments into NC FAST. 

3. The automated DHB-8010 “Notice of Overpayment for Medical Assistance” gives 
debtors 60 days to appeal the decision, or 90 days if they can show good cause for the 
delay. Follow the guidelines in MA-3430 for the Hearings process. 

 

4. If a debtor requests an appeal of the overpayment within the 60-day appeal period, or 
90 day period with good cause (Refer to MA-3430 for good cause definition): 

a. Send a request to the DHB PI Beneficiary Fraud Consultant to set the NC Debt 

Setoff indicator to “Hearing” in NC FAST. This indicates there is a pending 

hearing and will prevent a NC Tax Intercept until the hearing has been held, and a 
decision has been made. 

b. Contact the agency’s DHB PI Beneficiary Fraud Consultant to remove or 
change the indicator upon receiving the final hearing decision. 

 

XII. ADMINISTRATIVE COLLECTION PROCEDURES 

If the Local Agency’s Board or its designee chooses not to refer the case for prosecution, the 
following options are available: 

A. Voluntary Repayment Agreement 

1. The debtor must indicate willingness to repay and will be given the opportunity to 

repay the overpayment in a lump sum payment or a specified amount on a monthly 

basis. Use the DHB-7060, Voluntary Repayment Agreement (VRA). 

a. Negotiate full repayment between 36 - 60 months. Extensions over 60 months 

must be approved by DHB OPCI. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/family-and-childrens-medicaid/family-and-childrens-medicaid/ma-3430-notice-and-hearings-process
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/family-and-childrens-medicaid/family-and-childrens-medicaid/ma-3430-notice-and-hearings-process
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/family-and-childrens-medicaid/family-and-childrens-medicaid/ma-3430-notice-and-hearings-process
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms
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b. If a debtor is unable to repay the overpayment within 60 months, a hardship 

request must be faxed on county letterhead to the agency’s assigned DHB PI 

Beneficiary Fraud Consultant at (919) 800-3186 with the following: 

 

(1) Product Delivery Case 

 

(2) The proposed payment and number of months it will take to 

Repay the overpayment 

 

(3) Reason for the hardship 

 

(4) Signatures of the PI staff completing request and PI Supervisor 

 

Do not execute the VRA with the debtor until a response has been received 

from the DHB PI Beneficiary Fraud Consultant. 
 

2. Always have the VRA notarized and keep a copy in the file. Send copies to 
Medicaid and WF for their files. 

3. When a debtor fails to make the first payment of a VRA send a reminder letter. If a 
payment is not received within 30 days, take action to establish personal and/or 
telephone contact with the individual. 

a. If the debtor continues to refuse to repay, consider small claims court, civil court 
action or the set-off debt collection process. 

b. In the case of the death of a debtor with an outstanding debt, the local agency 

must file a claim against the deceased's estate for restitution. 

c. If the word “Seal” appears next to the debtor’s signature, this will guarantee the 

investigator a longer period of collection. The civil statute of limitations for 

enforcement of collection is ten years from the date the VRA was signed. 

However, make sure the word “Seal” has been circled by the debtor. If further 

information is needed, contact your agency’s attorney. 

B. Voluntary Wage Withholding 

1. Complete the DHB-7061, Voluntary Wage Withholding Agreement. Ensure that the 

wage withholding form has the word "Voluntary" on it and that all copies are 
notarized. Copies of the voluntary wage withholding form should be distributed as 

follows: 

a. Send the employer a copy via certified mail. 

b. Give the debtor a copy. 

c. Attach a copy to the NC FAST Product Liability Case (PLC). 

d. Send copies to Medicaid, and WF and FNS for their files. 

Always have the debtor sign a VRA as well as the Voluntary Wage Withholding 

agreement. Then, if the debtor quits a job, even though the voluntary wage 
withholding form is no longer valid, the agency still has the VRA. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms
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C. Civil Court 

1. Civil Court procedures are used solely for repayment. If the beneficiary is found 

liable, the court may enter a judgment against the beneficiary for the amount owed to 

the agency. Civil Court procedures may also be used when a beneficiary has failed to 

uphold a previously signed Voluntary Repayment Agreement. Consider the following 

factors: 

a. Proof of the overpayment amount 

b. Failure to repay the overpayment if a Voluntary Agreement was 
previously executed 

 

c. Court costs 

d. The likelihood of satisfying a judgment against the beneficiary given the 
allowable exemptions 

 
2. Information is available through each county Clerk of Court on procedures to follow 

for this type of action. It is recommended that this source be used. Civil Court 
procedures should also be initiated in cases in which criminal prosecution failed to 

yield restitution in full for overpayments. 

Example: A beneficiary found guilty of felonious fraudulent misrepresentation by the 
Superior Court is ordered to pay $1,385, is given a suspended sentence of four years 

in prison and is placed on four years’ probation. Payments received during the 

probationary period did not repay the entire amount owed and contact by the agency 
with the probation office produced no results. 

 

When the order terminating probation was established, it was ordered that the 

arrearage be remitted. In this situation, civil action could be pursued to recover the 

amount owed. The agency’s attorney may have to consult with the Attorney General's 
office, if needed. 

 
D. Delinquent Accounts 

Court Ordered Restitution - Upon notification of delinquent accounts, take the 
following actions: 

1. Probation Office: For debtors who fail to comply with the terms of court ordered 
restitution and are on probation, contact the probation office to determine appropriate 

follow-up action, such as tax intercept or wage garnishment. If the debtors are 
complying with the court order obligation, make sure the debtor’s taxes are not 

intercepted. 

2. Clerk of Court (COC): For debtors who fail to comply with the terms of court 
ordered restitution and are not on probation, contact the Clerk of Court (COC) to 
determine appropriate follow-up action, such as tax intercept, wage 
garnishment or non-compliance order. In some cases, the COC may issue an order 
for arrest for non-compliance. 
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Investigators are encouraged to seek permission from the Clerk of Court to issue 
non-compliance orders. 

E. Estate Recovery for Deceased Debtors 

1. A Medicaid overpayment can be recovered from a deceased debtor’s estate when a 

beneficiary owes DHB for claims paid by Medicaid on the decedent's behalf, but 
for which he was ineligible. This is separate from Third Party Recovery claims on 

LTC cases. 

2. If an overpayment is involved for a deceased debtor, the local agency should 
collect the overpayment amount first, as the agency receives a greater incentive 
for overpayment collections, than for regular Third-Party Estate recovery. 

3. It is very possible to discover the overpayment upon the death of the beneficiary 

through verification with the Clerk of Court regarding the existence of assets of 
which the agency was unaware. At the point the investigator verifies resources that 

created ineligibility for Medicaid a claim should be established in NC FAST. 

4. Request a Medicaid Profile via the DHB-7063 for the overpayment dates involved. 
Refer to section XVII, below, for instructions on how to determine the amount of 
ineligible claims that have been paid. 

5. It is vital to complete the formal letter, “Notice and Presentation of Claim Against 
Estate.” This letter must be completed and presented to the Clerk of 

Court and to the executor of the estate stating the amount of the overpayment. This 
establishes a claim against the estate on behalf of the agency. Contact your local 
county Clerk of Court to obtain the letter. 

 

F. Wage Garnishment 

1. General Overview 

Wage Garnishment is a legal summons to withhold wages to satisfy a debt resulting 
from fraudulently receiving benefits from the Medicaid Program. North Carolina 

General Statute 108A.25.3 allows the garnishment of wages to recoup fraudulent 

public assistance benefits. This law applies to civil actions filed on or after December 
1, 1997, regardless of the date the claim was established. A judge or jury in Criminal 

Court must determine the act of fraud. 

The garnishment process cannot be initiated to collect delinquent NCHC 
overpayments. 

2. Wage Garnishment Criteria: 

 
a. The garnishment process cannot be initiated until all administrative collection 

methods are exhausted. The agency must attempt to establish a cash repayment 

agreement. If the individual fails to meet the terms of the agreement, garnishment 
proceedings cannot be initiated until the account is 60 days delinquent. If the 

debtor makes a payment after the garnishment process begins, the garnishment 
procedure will continue. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms
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b. Garnishment is not an option if a debtor is required to pay restitution for 

fraudulently receiving Medicaid benefits pursuant to a criminal court order. 
However, if the debtor does not pay in accordance with the court order a separate 

civil action can be filed. This needs to be coordinated with the probation officer. 

 
c. The garnishment cannot exceed 20% of the monthly disposable income. 

Disposable income is defined as net income (wages, salary, commission, bonus, 
or other), or that which remains after any legally withheld deductions are made. 

Legally withheld deductions are those deductions required and not an option. 
These include Federal and State taxes, as well as Social Security. Retirement is 

also a required deduction with some employment. 
 

d. A civil judgment must be obtained against the debtor prior to completing an 
order for garnishment. The amount due is the amount of the fraudulent benefits 
and any applicable court costs. 

 
e. The order for garnishment may be entered 10 calendar days after the 

judgment is filed with the Clerk of Court. 

 
f. An order for garnishment may not be entered if the court finds that the order 

jeopardizes the debtor's ability to become or remain financially self-sufficient, 

resulting in the likelihood of increased or recurring dependency on public 
assistance, or an inability to secure basic necessities. 

g. The investigator will need to complete necessary budgets to determine if the 
garnishment would jeopardize the debtor's ability to remain self-sufficient. 

 

h. Once the fraudulent benefits and the costs of court are paid in full, it is the 

responsibility of the agency to have the judgment removed at the Clerk of Court. 

The local agency must remove the judgment within 30 days of full repayment of the 

fraudulent benefits and costs of court. 

Local agencies should obtain the North Carolina Rules of Civil Procedures 
from the Clerk of Court's Office if they do not already have one available. 

 
3. Wage Garnishment Procedures 

 

A judgment may be obtained after the civil court hearing is held or by default of the 

hearing. Default of the hearing occurs when the debtor fails to appear for the hearing 

or fails to make a plea regarding the matter. Once a judgment is entered, the local 
agency may petition the district court for an order of garnishment. The “Petition for 

Order of Garnishment”, must include the following: 

 

a. Indication that the person is a former/current beneficiary. 
 

b. An explanation of which public assistance programs are involved. 
 

c. The amount of the fraudulent overpayment. 
 

d. Circumstances surrounding the fraudulent benefit, and why it is 
fraudulent. 
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e. Information that all administrative means to collect the benefits have been 
exhausted unsuccessfully. 

 
f. Verification that local agency has obtained a judgment. A copy must be 

attached to the petition. 

 
g. The name and address of the garnishee. 

 
h. The debtor's verified monthly disposable income. Attempt to verify this 

through the employer or client. If this is not available, use the Division of 
Employment Security (DES) information as last resort. 

 

i. Verification that the proposed garnishment does not exceed 20% of the 
debtor's monthly disposable income. 

j. The Petition for an Order of Garnishment must be served on the debtor, and 
on the garnishee usually the current employer of the debtor. 

 
4. Instructions for Completing Petition for Order of Garnishment 

 
Contact your local Clerk of Court Office to obtain the “Petition for Order of 
Garnishment”. Instructions are listed according to paragraph numbers in the Petition. 

 

a. The petition may be brought by the agency. 

 
b. A district court judge in the county where the debtor resides or is found, or in 

the county where the overpayment occurred may enter an Order for 
Garnishment. One of these situations must be alleged in the petition. 

 

c. Orders for Garnishment may be obtained against debtors of public assistance. 

The petition must allege that the defendant is a past or current beneficiary. The 

allegation should explain what program of public assistance is involved (for 
these purposes, Medicaid). 

 

d. The petition must allege the amount of the fraudulent benefit(s). 

 
e. The petition must provide the court with facts and circumstances 

surrounding the fraudulent benefit. The petition must allege how the 
benefit(s) is fraudulent. 

 
f. The agency is required to exhaust all administrative remedies prior to pursuing 

garnishment. The petition should state that all administrative means have been 
exhausted unsuccessfully. 

 

g. The petition must indicate that the agency has obtained a judgment for a certain 
sum against the individual. A copy of the judgment should be attached to the 
petition. 



44  

h. The Garnishee must be identified, and the garnishee’s address must be given. 

 

i. The petition must give the debtor’s monthly disposable income. 

 

j. No more than twenty percent (20%) of the debtor’s monthly disposable 
income can be withheld. If the fraudulent benefit cannot be recovered in one 
payment, the petition must state the amount the agency wishes to be 
withheld from the debtor’s monthly disposable income. 

 

5. Time Restrictions for the Order of Garnishment 

 
The service must be in accordance with Rule 4 of the North Carolina Rules of Civil 
Procedure, which states that upon the filing of the complaint, a summons shall be 
issued within 5 days. 

 
a. The summons shall run in the name of the State and be dated and signed by the 

Clerk, Assistant Clerk, or Deputy Clerk in the county in which the action is 

commenced. 

 

b. The complaint and summons shall be delivered to the sheriff of the county where 
service is to be made or to some other person duly authorized by law to serve 

summons. 

 

c. Service must be made within 30 days after the issuance of the summons and 

returned immediately to the issuing clerk who issued it with notation of service. 

 
d. The debtor and the garnishee have 30 days from the date of service to respond to 

the petition in accordance with Rule 12 of the Rules of Civil Procedure. A hearing 

date is set regarding the petition and is heard before a district court judge. 
Following the hearing the judge may or may not enter an Order for Garnishment. 

 
e. The Order for Garnishment may be entered in the county where the debtor 

resides, or is found, or in the county where the overpayment occurred. 

 
f. If an order is entered, a copy must be served on the debtor, as well as the 

garnishee. The order must be served personally or by certified mail, with return 
receipt requested. 

 
g. The order must include sufficient findings of facts to support the action by the 

court and the amount to be garnished each pay period. 

 
h. The amount to be garnished is based on the debtor's verified monthly disposable 

income. The amount garnished each pay period may be increased by an 
additional $1.00, which is a processing fee, and retained by the garnishee 
(employer) for each payment under the order. The $1.00 processing fee is the 
responsibility of the garnishee. 

 
i. The order shall be subject to review for modification and dissolution upon filing 

of a motion in the cause. 
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j. A certified letter is also mailed to the garnishee advising him of his 
responsibilities regarding the Order of Garnishment. 

k. Upon receipt of the order of garnishment, the garnishee transmits without delay 

to the Clerk of Superior Court the amount ordered by the court to be garnished. 
The funds are disbursed to the local agency to recoup fraudulent benefits subject 

to the order of garnishment. 

l. A garnishee that violates the terms of an order of garnishment shall be subject 
to punishment for contempt. 

H. Liens and Recoveries 

The agency may place a lien against a debtor's property, both personal and real, because of 
claims paid or to be paid on behalf of that debtor following a court judgment which 

determined the benefits were incorrectly paid for that debtor. 

XIII. BANKRUPTCY 

A. General Overview 

Generally, bankruptcy means that a person has become unable to repay his debts in a timely 

manner due to a lack of funds in the foreseeable future. The debtor is seeking relief from all 

or part of his debt. According to a Supreme Court decision in 1934 the purpose of the 
bankruptcy law: 

“It gives the honest but unfortunate individual a new opportunity in life and a clear field for 
future effort, unhampered by the pressure and discouragement of preexisting debt.” 

Bankruptcy Law is federal statutory law and can be found in Title 11 of the United States 

Code. Based on the U.S. Constitution, only Congress can regulate bankruptcy. 

The individual States can only pass laws that govern other aspects of the debtor-creditor 
relationship. Since the federal government governs bankruptcy law, bankruptcy proceedings 

are supervised and litigated in the U.S. Bankruptcy courts, which are part of the District 

Court system of the United States. These proceedings are governed by the Bankruptcy Rules 
set by the U.S. Supreme Court under the authority of Congress. 

There are different chapters under which a debtor or business may file for bankruptcy, with 

different rules governing each. The following information is meant as an overview for the 

Fraud Investigator. Please remember that each case is unique. The local agency’s investigator 
must research each situation as it occurs. This is important in order to ensure the debtor pays 

as much of their debt to the agency (creditor), as the law will allow. Once you learn a debtor 
has filed for bankruptcy, it may be necessary to call on the county attorney or the agency 

attorney for advice on how to approach the Medicaid overpayment. 

B. Notification 

 

The first order of business should be that the agency is notified by the court that this debtor 
has filed for bankruptcy, and the agency has been named as a creditor from whom the debtor 

is seeking relief, either partially or fully, through the Bankruptcy court. 
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The agency may hear about the bankruptcy, but never receive official notification. This could 

happen if the debtor failed to list the agency as a creditor. In order to receive any distribution 
from the bankruptcy estate, the agency generally will need to file a proof of claim with the 

Bankruptcy Administrator. The necessity and advisability of filing a proof of claim may 
require evaluation by an attorney. 

 

C. The 341 Meeting 

 

At some point each creditor is notified of the “341 meeting”. Section 341 of the 

Bankruptcy Code requires a meeting be held at which the debtor(s) is questioned by the 

creditors. Depending upon the circumstances of the case, it might be advisable for a 

representative of the agency to attend this meeting. The agency may learn whether the debtor 
is seeking a full or partial discharge of the debt he owes. It is also a chance to hear what 

assets and disposable income this debtor is presenting to the court. The debtor is bound by 
law to be truthful, as concealing assets can lead to a dismissal of the Bankruptcy plan, if 

discovered at a later date. 

 

D. How Bankruptcy Affects the Creditor 

 

1. Bankruptcy is treated as a judgment and will stop most previous judgments. It also 

stops/prevents collectors/creditors from calling or contacting the party that filed the 

bankruptcy. Bankruptcy will be listed in credit reports for a period of up to 10 years. 

2. If the court has already ordered restitution as part of a criminal conviction, this debt 

cannot be discharged through bankruptcy. The debtor will remain responsible for all 
of it. The local agency may continue to collect in every way as in the past. 

 
3. Before the Bankruptcy Judge has confirmed a repayment plan, any creditor may 

object and seek full repayment according to certain specific exceptions to the 

bankruptcy discharge. There are time limits within which the objection must be made. 
This includes all creditors, even the agency. However, the Bankruptcy Judge makes 

the final decision. 

 
4. Take a close look at your case and take any necessary steps to ensure the agency is 

not violating bankruptcy law. Once the agency has been notified, or becomes aware 

the debtor has filed for bankruptcy, they should stop collection efforts on all current 
claims. If a creditor continues efforts to collect, they could face a stiff fine by the 

court. This includes tax intercept. Contact your State DHB PI Beneficiary Fraud 
Consultant for assistance. 

5. To prevent tax intercepts on a claim, send a request to DHB PI Beneficiary Fraud 
Consultant to add the bankruptcy indicator in NC FAST. This includes wage 
garnishment or wage withholding. Make sure to contact the employer to stop these 
actions. 

 
6. If local agency establishes a new claim which arises AFTER a bankruptcy plan is 

already in effect, this new debt may not be governed by the Bankruptcy plan already 

in effect. It may be necessary to file an administrative claim in the bankruptcy 
proceeding in order to collect such debt, or it might be permissible to pursue 
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collection outside of the bankruptcy proceeding. The advice of counsel may be 

necessary to assist with this evaluation. 

 
Exception: The debtor could request an Amendment to his Bankruptcy plan in order 
to add this new debt for discharge. Be aware that this could most likely happen in 
order to avoid tax intercept, or prosecution. 

 

E. Types of Bankruptcy 

 

Chapter 7: Entitled Liquidation. This is an orderly, court supervised procedure by which a 

trustee collects the assets of the debtor’s estate, liquidates them, and distributes the proceeds 
to creditors. This is of course subject to certain rights of the debtor to retain exempt property 

and is also subject to the rights of secured creditors. Usually there are no assets in a Chapter 

7. Also, under Chapter 7 a debtor can receive relief from dischargeable debts fairly quickly. 

He does not have to propose a repayment plan. For a creditor to receive anything from a 
Chapter 7 case, there needs to be assets, and the debtor must file a “proof of claim” with the 

bankruptcy court. 

 
Chapter 9: Entitled Adjustment of Debts of a Municipality. This provides for 

reorganization just as Chapter 11 does, except it is only for municipalities, which 
includes cities, towns, villages, counties, taxing districts, municipal utilities, and school 

districts. 

 
Chapter 11: Entitled Reorganization. This is usually used by commercial enterprises in 
order to continue operating a business while repaying creditors through a court-approved 
plan of reorganization. 

 
Chapter 12: Entitled Adjustment of Debts of a Family Farmer with Regular Annual 

Income. The difference between this and chapter 13 is that it allows a family farmer to 
continue to operate his farm while the repayment plan is being carried out. 

 
Chapter 13: Entitled Adjustment of Debts of an Individual with Regular Income. This is 
designed for those with regular source of income. It also may enable the debtor to keep a 

valuable asset such as a house. The debtor must propose a “plan” to repay his creditors over a 
period of time, usually three to five years, through a trustee. The plan must be based on the 

debtor’s anticipated income. The majority of Bankruptcy filings for individuals and couples 

are done under Chapter 13. 

 

F. Bankruptcy Terminology 

 
Below you will find widely used terminology relating to Bankruptcy procedures. Assume – 

An agreement to continue performing duties under a contract or lease. 

Automatic Stay – An injunction that automatically stops lawsuits, foreclosure, 
garnishments, and all collection activity against the debtor the moment a bankruptcy 
petition is filed. 
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Bankruptcy Administrator – An officer of the judiciary serving in the judicial 

districts of Alabama and North Carolina who, like the United States trustee, is 
responsible for supervising the administration of bankruptcy cases, estates, and 

trustees, monitoring plans and disclosure statements, monitoring creditors’ committees, 

monitoring fee applications, and performing other statutory duties. 

Bankruptcy Estate – All legal or equitable interests of the debtor in property at the time of 
the bankruptcy filing. (The estate includes all property in which the debtor has an interest, 
even if it is owned or held by another person.) 

Bankruptcy Petition – A formal request for the protection of the federal bankruptcy laws. 
(There is an official form for bankruptcy petitions.) 

Claim – A creditor’s assertion of a right to payment from a debtor or the debtor’s 
property. 

Complaint – The first or initiatory document in a lawsuit that notifies the court and the 

defendant of the grounds claimed by the plaintiff for an award of money or other relief 
against the defendant. 

Confirmation – Approval of a plan of reorganization by a bankruptcy judge. 

Creditor – A person to whom or business to which the debtor owes money, or that claims 
to be owed money, by the debtor. 

Debtor – A person who has filed a petition for relief under the bankruptcy laws. 

Discharge – A release of a debtor from personal liability for certain dischargeable debts. (A 
discharge releases a debtor from personal liability for certain debts known as dischargeable 

debts (defined below) and prevents the creditors owed those debts from taking any action 
against the debtor or the debtor’s property to collect the debts. The discharge also prohibits 

creditors from communicating with the debtor regarding the debt, including telephone calls, 
letters, and personal contact.) 

Equity – The value of a debtor’s interest in property that remains after liens and other 
creditors’ interests are considered. 

Exempt Property – Property or value in property that a debtor is allowed to retain, free 
from the claims of creditors who do not have liens. 

Fraudulent Transfer – A transfer of a debtor’s property made with intent to defraud creditors 

or for which the debtor receives less than the transferred property’s value. 

Lien – A charge upon specific property designed to secure payment of a debt or 
performance of an obligation. 

Liquidation – A sale of a debtor’s property with the proceeds to be used for the benefit 
of creditors. 

Liquidated Claim – A creditor’s claim for a fixed amount of money. 
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Motion to Lift Automatic Stay – A request by a creditor to allow the creditor to take an 
action against a debtor or the debtor’s property that would otherwise be prohibited by the 
automatic stay. 

 

Non-dischargeable Debt – A debt that cannot be eliminated in bankruptcy. 

 
Priority – The Bankruptcy Code’s statutory ranking of unsecured claims that determines 
the order in which they will be paid if there is not enough money to pay all of them in full. 

 
Proof of Claim – A written statement describing the reason a debtor owes a creditor 
money. (There is an official form for this purpose.) 

 
Secured Creditor – An individual or business holding a claim against the debtor that is 
secured by a lien on property of the estate or is subject to a right of setoff. 

Secured Debt – Debt backed by a mortgage, pledge of collateral, or other lien; debt for which 

the creditor has the right to pursue specific pledged property upon default. 

 
Schedules – Lists submitted by the debtor along with the petition (or shortly thereafter) 
showing the debtor’s assets, liabilities, and other financial information. (There are official 
forms a debtor must use.) 

 
Trustee – The representative of the bankruptcy who exercises statutory power, principally 

for the benefit of the unsecured creditors, under general supervision of the court and the 
direct supervision of the United States trustee or Bankruptcy Administrator. 

 
Unscheduled Debt – A debt that should have been listed by a debtor in the schedules filed 
with the court but was not. (Depending on the circumstances, an unscheduled debt may or 
may not be discharged.) 

 

XIV. DISTRIBUTION OF CASH REPAYMENT 

 

A. State law requires that in cases involving overpayments in more than one program, 

collections must be distributed equitably. This should be followed unless the debtor asks 
that a payment be applied to a particular claim. 

 

B. It is important that the investigator or collections clerk explain to the debtor that failure to 
distribute payments among all their claims could cause a claim to become delinquent. If a 

claim in NC FAST is delinquent, the debtor’s North Carolina tax refund will be intercepted 
and applied toward the overpayment claim in NC FAST. 

XV. NC FAST REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

 

DHB, Office of Compliance and Program Integrity/Quality Assurance is responsible for the 

administration of the Medicaid beneficiary investigations conducted by the local agencies. To 
comply with state and federal reporting requirements, each agency is responsible for entering 

all client responsible overpayment claims into NC FAST. Refer to the job aid, PI – Establish a 

Claim/Product Liability Case for instructions. 
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A. Local Agency Incentive Payments 

 

In an effort to offset the local agency’s administrative costs for program integrity activities 

and staff and provide cost savings through increased investigation and collection of 
Medicaid overpayments, the Division of Health Benefits (DHB) implemented an incentives 

program for collections of client responsible overpayments effective February 1, 1997. 

 
1. The agency receives monthly incentive payments from the DHB based on 

collections for client responsible overpayments. 

 
2. The calculation for agency’s incentive payments is based on one-half of the non- 

federal share of collections for client responsible medical assistance overpayments. 

 
3. The state, and federal reimbursement rates vary slightly from year to year. The 

agency’s incentive is based on the actual state and reimbursement rates that were in 

effect during the overpayment period captured in NC FAST. 

 
4. Incentive payments are based on collections keyed into NC FAST. Collections are 

passed from NC FAST to the Medicaid Accounting System and incentive 
payments are credited back to the agency through the monthly Medicaid 

Adjustment Register. 

 
B. State law requires the following actions regarding reporting the status of 

fraud/overpayment cases: 

 

1. The agency must enter a referral in NC FAST for each fraud complaint that is initiated 

or investigated. Also, agency is required to establish an overpayment claim within 180 

days from the date of discovery. The NC FAST PI Portal has been designated as the 

system to track the local agency’s Program Integrity activities and generate reports. 

2. Data in NC FAST on PI referrals, overpayment claims, and funds collected, on 

overpayments are available on reports generated in NCXPTR and NC FAST, as 

they are entered. Refer to the job aid, PI-Reports, for a list of reports accessible to 

the local agency. 

 

XVI. NC DEBT SETOFF (TAX INTERCEPT) CRITERIA FOR MEDICAID CLAIMS 

 

A. BACKGROUND 

 
1. The purpose of this section is to explain the procedures for North Carolina Debt Setoff 

Collection for Medicaid and NCHC claims in NC FAST. North Carolina General Statute 

105A establishes a policy that allows the Department of Health and Human Services 

(DHHS) to identify debtors who owe money to the Medicaid, Work First and/or Food & 

Nutrition Services (FNS) programs as the result of Intentional Program Violations (IPV) 

or Inadvertent Household Errors (IHE). 

 
This Statute allows DHHS agencies to collect the debt by intercepting income tax 

refunds through the North Carolina Department of Revenue (DOR). 
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2. General Statute 105A-12 requires programs within State agencies to register with 
DOR before they can participate in the NC Debt Setoff Collection Act. DOR then 

assigns an "Agency Code" to each program type on the date they register. 

Therefore, each program has priority for tax intercept based on the date each 
program registered with DOR. 

 
If a debtor who meets the criteria to have his taxes intercepted has claims in 
multiple DHHS programs that are submitted to DOR at the same time, the intercept 

of the tax refund is applied in the following order for each program type: 
 

Child Support Non-NC FAST 

Medicaid – Third Party Recovery (TPR) Non-NC FAST 

Food and Nutrition Services NC FAST 

Work First/AFDC NC FAST 

Medicaid/NC Health Choice NC FAST 

 

The Division of Heath Benefits applied for a second agency code for Medicaid since 

debtors are submitted to DOR separately for NC FAST and TPR. Since 80% of 
Medicaid's tax intercepts are for TPR Medicaid, NC FAST Medicaid was assigned 

the newest DOR agency code. 

 

B. NC DEBT SETOFF PROCESS IN NC FAST 

 

1. The NC FAST NC Debt Setoff process consists of three phases from the time of 

selection of eligible debtors until a tax refund is intercepted and the payment applied 
in NC FAST. The PI Investigator needs to maintain the data in NC FAST to assure 

debtors are not inappropriately selected for debt setoff. 

 

a. The selection process for NC Debt Setoff is evaluated separately for each 

program type: Medicaid/NCHC, FNS and Work First/AFDC. 

 

b. The entire process takes approximately seven weeks from start to finish. 

 
c. A new selection cycle starts each week as all claims in NC FAST are 

evaluated to determine if they meet the criteria for the debtor to be 
selected and submitted to DOR for possible tax intercept. 

 

2. The three phases of the NC Debt Setoff process are: 

 

Phase I - Selection of Eligible Claim Debtors and Submission of Files to 

DOR 

Phase II - Tax Intercept and Notice to Debtor 

Phase III - Application of Payments in NC FAST and/or Refunds to Debtors 

 

C. Phase I - Selection of Debtors and Submission of Files to DOR 

 

1. Each Medicaid claim is evaluated separately to determine if it meets the criteria for 

selection for NC Debt Setoff for Medicaid. To be selected a debtor’s claim(s) must 

meet the following criteria: 
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a. The debtor must have an SSN (non-duplicated) in NC FAST/CNDS. 

 
In the event a debtor is found to have the same SSN as a different person in 
CNDS, then the debtor will be rejected from the NC Debt Setoff selection 
process. 

 

b. The claim must be in Active collection status 

 

c. The claim type must be IPV or IHE. 

d. The claim must be delinquent. A claim is delinquent when the following 
conditions are met: 

 
(1) The claim Establishment Date must be greater than 60 days old. This 

calculation is made at the time the NC Debt Setoff Selection process runs 
using the 'current date' for comparison. 

 

(2) No cash payments have been made on the claim in more than 60 days. 

 
e. The total current claim balance for the debtor's eligible claim(s) must be at least 

$50. 

 
(1) If a debtor has one Medicaid or NCHC claim, the claim balance must 

be at least $50; or 

 
(2) If a debtor has two or more Medicaid and/or NCHC claims that meet all 

of the criteria for selection, then the total current balance for all eligible 
claims are combined into one amount and the total combined amount 

must be $50 or greater. 

 
2. The criteria listed above are evaluated for each program type and for each claim 

separately. This means the debtor may have multiple claims within a program type, 

such as Medicaid/NCHC, but some of the claims may not meet the criteria for 
intercept. The debtor may also have claims for more than one program type (i.e., 

Medicaid and FNS) but only claims for one program type may meet the criteria for 
intercept. It is possible for a debtor to be submitted for intercept for all three program 

types at the same time. 

 
3. Claims are evaluated every week to determine whether a debtor’s claim(s) meet all 

the criteria for the debtor to be selected for submission to DOR for possible intercept. 
This process means debtors are constantly being submitted to DOR for possible 

intercept of any refund due the debtor. 

 
4. Debtors are submitted to DOR based on the debtor's Social Security Number (SSN) 

that exists in NC FAST. 

 
If a debtor does not have a valid SSN in NC FAST/CNDS, the debtor cannot be 
submitted for tax intercept. In addition, if an invalid SSN is in NC FAST/CNDS, it 
is possible that a tax refund of another individual will be incorrectly intercepted. 
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D. Phase II – Tax Intercept And 30-Day Notice to Debtor (DSS-8653) 

 

1. Mailing Notice to DOR Address 

 
a. Once the tax intercept has occurred, DOR will forward a file to NC FAST for 

each program type with the individual debtor information for each successful 
intercept and the dollar amount that was intercepted for each debtor. 

 
b. The DSS-8653 Notice to Debtor, is mailed to the debtor’s last known mailing 

address reflected in NC FAST. 

 
(1) If the notice is returned to the local agency by the postal service, forward 

the notice to the mailing address shown in the agency’s 
file, if different. 

 
(2) If the notice cannot be successfully delivered by the postal service, file the 

returned notice in the case record. 

 
(3) The intercept will be processed since the notice was sent to the best 

available address known to the agency. 

 
(4) DOR notifies the debtor that their tax refund has been intercepted, in 

whole or in part using the address listed on the debtor’s tax return. 

 
c. The EPI431, NC Debt Setoff 30-Day Notice Report lists all debtors that were 

intercepted, and all information listed on notice. 

 

2. Content of Notice to Debtor 

 

The Notice to Debtor, DSS-8653, explains the agency’s basis for the claim to the 

debtor’s NC tax refund and the intent to apply the refund against the Medicaid, FNS, 

and or Work First/AFDC debt(s) owed to the agency. 

 

a. The Notice informs the debtor of his right to contest the tax intercept by filling a 

written Petition for a hearing with the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) 

within 30 calendar days from the date of the Notice to Debtor. 

 

(1) General Statue 105A-8 specifies that the debtor cannot contest the 

action if the debt has been previously litigated in a court proceeding. 

 
(2) Refer to E., below, for the specific criteria for debtors appealing to the 

intercept. 

 

b. The Notice specifies that failure to request a hearing by the 30th day results 
in setoff of the claim(s) with the intercepted tax refund. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/forms
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/forms
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c. The notice includes the last four digits of their social security number as it 
exists in NC FAST/CNDS, the debtor's name and the last known mailing 
address in NC FAST. 

 
This information, as well as the programs that received the 

intercepts, are provided on the EPI431-NC Debt Setoff 30-Day Notice 
Report. 

 
d. The Notice reports the current balance owed for the outstanding claim(s) that 

meets the requirements for NC Debt Setoff for FNS, AFDC/Work First, and/or 
Medicaid/NC Health Choice that is successfully intercepted. The totals shown are 

not the amount that is intercepted, but the amount of the eligible claim balance(s) 
owed to each program that was intercepted. 

 
(1) The amount owed is shown for each program type, as well as, the 

combined total amount owed if the debtor has eligible claims for more 
than one program type that is successfully intercepted. 

 
Example: The debtor has eligible delinquent claims for AFDC/Work First 
of $200 and Medicaid of $3,000. The tax refund that is intercepted is $500. 

The Notice will show the $200 amount for AFDC/Work First and the 
$3,000 amount for Medicaid since the tax refund was large enough to 
intercept an amount for both programs. 

(2) Only claim balances for the program type that is successfully 
intercepted is printed on the Notice to Debtor and the EPI431 NC Debt 
Setoff 30-Day Notice Report. 

 
Example: The debtor has eligible delinquent claims for FNS of $200 and 

Medicaid of $600. The tax refund that is intercepted is $100. The Notice 
will not show the $600 amount for Medicaid since the tax refund was not 

large enough to intercept an amount for the Medicaid claim. 

 
(3) Claims that do not meet the requirements for debt setoff are not 

included in the totals; therefore, the debtor's actual debt for the 
program type may be more than is reflected on this notice. 

 
e. The debtor is informed to contact the local agency’s Program Integrity 

Section as listed on the notice if they have questions concerning the intended 
action. 

 

3. Multiple Notices 

 
a. It is possible for a debtor to receive multiple copies of the Notice to Debtor if he 

has eligible claims with different local agencies that are successfully 
intercepted. 

 
b. Each Notice will provide the debtor with the agency’s address and telephone 

number for the agency with ownership for the claim(s) shown on the notice. 
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c. The 'balance eligible for intercept' for each program shown on the Notice is the 

cumulated balance(s) for the eligible claims for that agency only. It is possible 

for the cumulated balance shown for each program type to be less than $50 when 
there are multiple claims in different agencies for the same program type. 

 
Example: The debtor has eligible Medicaid claims of $30 in agency A and $35 
in agency B that were successfully intercepted. Although the amounts shown 

on the notice for each agency is less than $50, the combined total of the two 

claims is greater than $50. 

d. The EPI431 NC Debt Setoff 30-Day Notice Report lists the debtor has eligible 
claims that were successfully intercepted in multiple counties. Refer to d., below, 
for detailed information about this report. 

 

4. NC Dept Setoff 30 Day Notice Report (EPI431) 

 
The EPI431 lists the debtors whose taxes were successfully intercepted and were 
mailed the 30-Day Notice to Debtor. The report is produced for each Investigator 

within the local agency. The report is also a useful tool for answering questions 
from a debtor. 

 

E. Appeal Requests 

 

1. Appeal Requirements 

 
a. The debtor has 30 calendar days from the date of the Notice to Debtor to 

request a hearing to contest the tax intercept. 

 
b. The debtor must request a hearing by filing a written Petition with the 

Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) and meet all of the following 
requirements. 

 
(1) The request for a hearing must be mailed with postage prepaid and 

properly addressed or delivered by the 30th day after the date on the 
Notice. 

 
(2) The debtor must mail or deliver the original and one copy of the 

Petition requesting the hearing to OAH at the following address: 
 

Mailing Address: Physical Address: 

Office of Administrative Hearings Office of Administrative Hearings 

6714 Mail Service Center 1711 New Hope Church Road 

Raleigh, NC 27699-6714 Raleigh, North Carolina 27609 

(919) 431-3000 (919) 431-3000 

 

(3) The debtor must also mail or deliver a copy of the Petition to the 
agency named as the Respondent on the petition, which is the DHHS, 
listed on the Notice to Debtor. 
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(4) If the debtor does not request a hearing by the 30th day, the debtor has 

waived the opportunity to contest the action and the intercepted amount of 

the tax refund will be applied to the claim that is owed to the local agency 
on the 35th day. 

 

c. If the debtor waives their right to a hearing, send a request on agency’s letterhead 

to the DHB PI Beneficiary Fraud Consultant. The request should include the 
Debtor’s name, PDC number, balance and the tax intercept amount. Once the 

request is keyed, NC FAST will process the payment immediately. 

 
The debtor may wish to waive their right to the appeal if they agree with the intercept 

and their current outstanding balance is less than the intercepted amount since NC 

FAST will immediately process the payment and refund due to the debtor. This can 

occur if a payment was made to reduce or pay off the claim after it was submitted to 

DOR for the intercept. 

 

2. Debtor Calls Agency to Request a Hearing 

 
a. If the debtor wants to contest the tax intercept, the debtor must request the 

hearing through OAH by filing a Petition for the hearing. 
 

b. Inform the debtor that he must contact OAH at the address or telephone number 
shown above or shown on the Notice to Debtor that they received. OAH will 

provide the debtor with information regarding the specific requirements to 
request the hearing. 

 

c. The debtor is required to file an original and one copy of the petition with OAH 
and a copy must be served on the opposing party, which is the agency. 

 

d. See the "Petition for a Contested Case Hearing" and the OAH instructions for 
completing the form. 

 
e. Additional information regarding OAH is available at: 

https://www.oah.state.nc.us/hearings. 
 

3. Debtor Files a Petition for a Hearing 
 

a. The DHB PI Beneficiary Fraud Consultant will add the litigation 

indicator on the NC FAST Debtor’s Indicator tab upon receiving notification of a 
debtor’s Petition for a hearing from the agency or the Attorney General’s office. 

An entry will be made by the 35th day from the date of the Notice to Debtor if 
notification is received timely. 

If the litigation indicator is not keyed into NC FAST by the 35th day, the 
intercepted amount will be applied as a payment against the eligible claim(s). 

(1) When the litigation indicator is present on the NC FAST Debtor 
Indicators tab, a payment/refund cannot occur as the debtor is still in 
the 'Request Appeal” stage. 

https://www.oah.state.nc.us/hearings
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(2) The indicator will remain unchanged until the assigned DHB PI 
Beneficiary Fraud Consultant receives written notification of the 
tax appeal decision from the Attorney General’s Office. 

(3)  If the appeal is in favor of the debtor, the assigned DHB PI Beneficiary 
Fraud Consultant will immediately release the tax refund to begin the 

refund process as interest is accruing for every day the money is held 

until the intercepted funds are refunded to the debtor. 
 

b. The valid DOR Offset statuses for the NC Debt Setoff Intercepts 
screen are as follows: 

 

Pending Applicable to: 

- DOR offset pends for 35 days (normal process) 

- Litigation Hold (Offset pends until hearing conclusion). 

 

Posted Applies to: 

- DOR offset has been applied to claim(s) 

- Debtor waives right to a hearing and request offset post 

immediately. (PI staff must send formal request to 

State) 

- Litigation decision is in favor of County. Offset posts to 

claim(s) 

 

Refunded Displays for: 

- Refund is released to debtor 

- Refund can be generated by system or keyed manually 

by State staff 

 

4. Hearing Decision Reached 
 

Once a hearing decision is reached by OAH, the DHB PI Benefits Fraud 
Consultant will update the litigation indicator on the Debtor Indicators screen 
based on the decision. 

 

a. If the hearing decision is in favor of the local agency, NC FAST will process the 

payment/refund immediately and the is removed. 

 

b. If the hearing decision is in favor of the debtor, the refund process will begin once the 
litigation indicator is removed. The DHHS Controllers Office will issue a manual refund 
to the debtor, plus any interest accrued and possible collections fee. 

 
1. Since no payment is credited through NC FAST while there is a litigation indicator 

showing, the DHB PI Beneficiary Fraud Consultant must remove the indicator. 
 

2. Any debtor with a litigation indicator on the Debtor Indicator’s screen will not be 
eligible for DOR selection until the assigned DHB PI Beneficiary Fraud Consultant 

removes the block. The debtor will appear on the EPI429 Claims exempt from NC 

Debt Setoff Report until the indicator has been removed. 
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F. Phase III - Application of Payments in NC FAST and Refunds 

 

1. Schedule for Applying Payments 

 
The process for applying payments will run every business night searching for any 

intercepts that are eligible to be applied to claim balances. This will occur when the 
appeal process has completed. This process will occur after the 35th day if no appeal 

is requested or if the debtor has not waived their appeal rights or the hearing or NC 

FAST. 
 

2. How Payments Are Applied 

 
a. NC FAST receives three files from DOR, one for each program type: 

Medicaid/NC Health Choice, FNS and Work First/AFDC. Once the appeal 

process has been fulfilled, NC FAST applies the payment across all eligible claims 

that were initially selected for submission to DOR for each program type that has 
an intercept. 

 
(1) DOR intercepts money for one program type at a time for any given 

debtor's SSN based on the program's priority number. 

 
(2) If the tax refund available to be intercepted from DOR is larger than the 

debt owed for the eligible claim(s) for a single program type, then NC 

FAST can potentially receive an intercept for all three program types for 

any given debtor. 

 
Example: Amount available for intercept is $1,000. The debtor has eligible 
claims submitted to DOR for FNS for $400, WF for $200 and MA for 

$700. The first intercept is for FS. Since there is $600 still available for 

intercept, the next intercept is for WF. Since $400 remains to be 
intercepted, the next intercept is for MA. 

 

If the claim balances remain the same at the time the payments are applied 

in NC FAST, the FS and WF claims will each be paid in full. The current 
balance for the MA claim will be reduced to $300. 

 
(3) If the amount intercepted from DOR is for eligible claims for one program 

type only, then no portion of the amount can be applied to any additional 
claims for that program or to the claims for any other program type. 

 

Example: If an amount is intercepted for the Medicaid program and a 
portion of the refund must be refunded to the debtor, this excess amount 

cannot be applied to any additional Medicaid claims that were not 
eligible to be submitted for tax intercept. In 

addition, it cannot be applied to any Food Stamp or Work First claims. 

The excess amount must be refunded to the debtor. 
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b. The intercepted amount can be applied to one or more claims within a program 
type, provided the claims were originally selected for NC Debt Setoff. 

 
(1) When the payment for the intercepted amount is applied, the 

payment will be applied to the oldest claim first based on the 
Establishment Date of the claim. 

 
(2) The balance of the intercepted amount will be applied to the remaining 

claims based on the Establishment Date for each claim. 

 
(3) If there are two or more claims with the same Establishment Date, the 

payment will be randomly applied to one or more of the claims. 

 
c. If the claim is paid in full by the intercepted funds, the claim is closed in NC 

FAST. 

d. If the claim is not paid in full, the outstanding balance is reduced by the 
payment amount. 

 
e. The method of payment for all NC Debt Setoff payments will display as “DOR” 

on the Financial Screens. Refer to NC FAST Job Aid, PI-View a Payment on a 
Product Liability Case. 

 

3. NC Debt Setoff Indicators 

 
After the intercepted amount has been applied, refunded or both, all of the claims that 
were included in that particular intercept will have their NC Debt Setoff Indicator 

reset on the Debtor Indicator tab. This will allow the unpaid claims with an 
outstanding balance to be evaluated for future DOR selection. 

 

4. Refunds to Debtors 

 
a. The refund checks will be processed weekly. All refunds will appear on the 

EPI107, NC DEBT FIN RFD report. This report shows the amount that is to be 
sent to the debtor for DOR over collections, as well as the date the refund check 

will be written. 
 

Refund checks are written and mailed to the debtor by the DHHS Controllers 
Office. 

 
b. If the tax intercept amount exceeds the total amount owed by the debtor for the 

program type at the time the payment is applied to the eligible claim(s), the 
remainder of the intercepted amount must be refunded to the debtor. This will not 

occur unless a payment is made on the claim after it is submitted to DOR for 
intercept. 

 
c. If the status of the debtor's claim(s) changes after the claim is selected for 

intercept and submitted to DOR, the payment will still be applied to the selected 
claims if there is an outstanding balance. 
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(1) If the intercepted amount is greater than the amount of the debt at the time 

the payment is applied to the claim(s), the over-collected amount, as well as 

accrued interest, will be refunded to the debtor. 

 

(2) The collection fee will not be refunded to the debtor. 

 

d. There are exceptions that may come about between the time the debtor was 

intercepted by DOR and the time the application of payment actually occurs. 

These exceptions will appear on the Exception Log Report received by the State 
for further investigation. They include: 

 

(1) The debtor has been deleted. 

 

(2) The claim changes to Closed Status, "CL" (i.e. Balance gets paid off). 

 
(3) The claim changes to some other status (i.e. Transfer Status, "TR", 

applicable to FNS and WF). 

 

G. REPORTS FOR NC DEBT SETOFF 

 

There are several reports available in NC FAST that track claims as the debtors are 
selected for intercept of their North Carolina tax refunds. Relevant reports include the 

following: 

 

1. EPI429 Records Exempt from NC Debt Setoff 

 

2. EPI213 Claims Selected for NC Debt Setoff 

 

3. EPI431 NC Debt Setoff 30-Day Notice Report 

 

XVII. NORTH CAROLINA EDUCATIONAL LOTTERY INTERCEPTIONS 

 

A. Background 

 

The NC Educational Lottery (NCEL) interception is a process in which lottery winnings are 
intercepted to repay IHE and IPV claims. Lottery winnings must be at least $600.00 for an 

interception to take place. 

B. NCEL Intercept Requirements 

 

1. NCEL uses the same rules for selecting eligible debtors as the North Carolina 
Department of Revenue (DOR). It also applies the interception in the same order as 
that of DOR intercepts. Refer to XVII. 

2. The Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) provides a file to 

NCEL each week. Each weekly file replaces the previous week’s file. It reflects 

NC FAST latest claim balances and drops or adds claims depending on the current 
balance and selection criteria. 
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3. NC FAST sends a notice, DSS-8234 Notice to Debtor, to the debtor regarding the 

interception and the claim balance. The notice advises the household of one of the 

following: 

 

a. The amount intercepted, applied, and that the claim is paid in full or, 

 

b. The amount intercepted, applied, and the remaining balance of the claim or, 

 

c. The amount intercepted, applied, and the amount to be refunded. 

 
4. Unlike DOR interceptions, the debtor does not have a right to a hearing or appeal 

regarding the NCEL interception. 

 

XVIII. NORTH CAROLINA TITLE XIX MEDICAID/NCHC BENEFICIARY PROFILES 

 

A. Purpose of the Beneficiary Profiles 

 

The Medicaid/NC Health Choice Beneficiary Profile provides detailed claims information of 
medical expenditures and services Medicaid paid on behalf of the authorized beneficiary. 
This section contains the process to follow in requesting a beneficiary profile as well as a 
detailed explanation for the information listed. In compliance with HIPAA regulations, 
DHB will only release the beneficiary profile to individuals authorized to obtain the 
protected health information. 

B. Profile Requests for Client Responsible Overpayment 

 

1. Upon determining the period of ineligibility, request a Beneficiary Profile for each 
ineligible beneficiary to determine the amount of medical claims Medicaid paid. 

 
a. Complete a DHB-7063, Beneficiary Request Sheet for each NC FAST case. The 

form is located on the DHHS Policies and Manuals Website for Health 

Benefits/NC Medicaid. 
 

b. Instructions for completing the DHB-7063 are located on the back side of form. 
Mail or fax page 1 of the completed form to: 

 

Division of Health Benefits 

OCPI/Quality Assurance Section - 18 

2501 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC 27699-2501 

Fax 919-800-3186 

 
c. Profiles are normally available the Monday after the request is submitted to 

DHB. They are loaded within 2 weeks of the request to the local agency’s 

Secure folder in NCTRACKS under Report2Web. 

 

If the profile has not been received within 3 weeks of the original request, send 
an email to your agency’s DHB PI Beneficiary Fraud Consultant to check the 

status of your original request. Include the referral number, fax submission date 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/forms
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms
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and the service date(s) requested in the email. The Consultant will advise 

whether your request was received or if it needs to be resubmitted. 

2. Request for Family Planning Program (FPP) Profiles 

a. When the beneficiary is ineligible for the original Medicaid program category 

received, they may be found eligible for FPP. The investigator must request an 

FPP profile to exclude these charges from the overpayment. The FPP profile is 

requested using the DHB-7063 and marking the following: 
 

(1) Check the “YES” box by the question, “Is this request for Family 

Planning Program profiles?” 

(2) Check the FPP box next to the Dates of Service the profile is needed. 
 

DO NOT order an FPP profile if the original coverage was MAFD. 

 

b. The DHB PI Beneficiary Fraud Consultant will order the profile from 

NCTRACKS and review to determine which claims are FPP related services. 

The Consultant will prepare a letter to advise the investigator of the total 

amount of FPP claims. The FPP claims amount listed must be deducted from 

the total overpayment amount. 
 

3. Requests for Expedited Profile due to Excess Reserve Overpayments 

a. When termination is proposed for an authorized case due to excess reserve, it is 

critical that the investigator quickly verify any prior months of ineligibility and, 
if there is a period of ineligibility, to quickly establish the overpayment amount 

before the beneficiary reduces reserve on other expenditures. 

 
b. Paid claims information is viewable to DHB staff prior to generating a 

profile. 

 
c. Contact your county assigned DHB PI Beneficial Fraud Consultant to request the 

current amount of paid claims reflected in NCTRACKS for the overpayment 

period. There must be an open Medicaid referral in NC FAST for excess reserve 

to perform this request. The excess reserve case must meet the following criteria: 

 

(1) Termination is proposed due to excess reserve and the Investigator 
verifies there is a period of ineligibility for the time the beneficiary was 
authorized. 

 
(2) The Investigator needs to notify the beneficiary of the approximate 

overpayment amount before the beneficiary reduces reserve by spending it 
elsewhere. 

 

d. All telephone requests must be followed up with a DHB-7063 via mail or 
faxed to the DHB Office of Compliance & Program Integrity 
(OCPI)/Quality Assurance Section. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms
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Example: The caseworker verifies from the FRR that a MAF beneficiary is over 

reserve by $8,000 due to unreported assets. Timely notice is sent to propose 
termination for ongoing coverage. It is also verified that the beneficiary was 

ineligible for Medicaid for the prior five months of authorization due to excess 
reserve. There is a Medicaid overpayment if claims for medical expenses were 

paid during the period of ineligibility. 

The Investigator contacts DHB by telephone and quickly establishes $9,870 in 

claims paid to date for the period of ineligibility. The beneficiary is able to 
reduce reserve for ongoing coverage by paying the overpayment amount. If the 

beneficiary quickly spends the excess reserve for other purposes to avoid case 

termination, there may be no funds left with which to repay the overpayment. 

 

C. Request for Beneficiary Profiles other than to Collect Overpayments 

 

1. Guardian Ad Litem or GAL 

 
The guardian ad litem or GAL has the authority per NC G.S. 7B-601 to "obtain any 

information or reports, whether or not confidential, that may in the guardian ad 
litem's opinion be relevant to the case. No privilege other than the attorney-client 

privilege may be invoked to prevent the guardian ad litem and the court from 

obtaining such information. The confidentiality of the information or reports shall 
be respected by the guardian ad litem and no disclosure of any information or 

reports shall be made to anyone except by order of the Court or unless otherwise 
provided by law." 

 
To ensure confidentiality, the GAL should send an original "True Copy" of the GAL 

court order, the "Order to Appoint or Release Guardian Ad Litem and Attorney 
Advocate", to the attention of your DHB PI Beneficiary Fraud Consultant at: 

 

Division of Health Benefits 

OCPI/Quality Assurance Section - 18 

2501 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC 27699-2501 

 

Accompanying the GAL court order should be a letter from the GAL or the 

Attorney Advocate, specifically including the following: 

 
a. The names of the beneficiaries for whom Medicaid records are needed, their 

CNDS ID number and social security number without this information the request 
cannot be processed. 

b. The dates of service needed. 
 

c. Signature of GAL, along with a business phone number where s/he can be 
reached. 

d. DHB/OCPI will send the profile via certified mail to the GAL at the court in 
which they serve, or hand delivered requiring proof of identity upon delivery. 
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2. Social Workers 

Social workers may ask the PI investigator to order profiles for reasons other than 

for those allowed under confidentiality guidelines. These requests usually come 
from Protective Services Workers who may need the medical records to use in court 

to show neglect or abuse. To order these profiles: 

a. The social worker must complete DHB-7098 local agency Authorization to 

Disclose Health Information. The agency’s director or his designee must sign the 
form. 

b. Mail or fax the completed DHB-7098 to the: 

Division of Heath Benefits 

OCPI/Quality Assurance Section - Box 18 

2501 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC 27699-2501 

Fax (919) 800-3186 

3. Beneficiaries: 

When a beneficiary or his authorized representative requests the beneficiary’s 

Medicaid profile: 

a. Advise the beneficiary or his legal representative to contact the DHB Office of 

Compliance and Program Integrity Call Center at (919) 527-7749, or the local 

agency may assist with ordering the beneficiary’s profile. Instruct the 
beneficiary or authorized representative to complete and sign the DHB-7097, 

Beneficiary Authorization to Disclosure Health Information form. Fax the 

completed form to (919) 800-3186. 

b. DHB/OCPI/QA will process the request and forward the Medicaid/NCHC 
Beneficiary Profile to the local agency within three weeks. A letter will 
accompany the profile with instructions for beneficiary and/or their authorized 
representative. The beneficiary or their authorized representative must 
physically pick up the profiles. 

 

c. Prior to releasing the profile, the local agency must require proof of identity. 

d. If the beneficiary and/or their authorize representative does not pick up the 
profiles within 30 days from the agency’s contact, the agency should shred 
the profiles. 

 

4. Law Enforcement 

 
Local Law Enforcement officers may ask the fraud investigator for a beneficiary’s 

medical information for an investigation. Medical information may not be released 

without a court order. Refer these calls to NC DHHS, General Counsel’s Office at 
(919) 855-4890. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms
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5. Attorneys 

 
Attorneys may contact a local agency investigator to obtain information on medical 
claims Medicaid paid on behalf of a beneficiary. Refer the attorney to DHB’s Third 
Party Recovery section at (919) 527-7690. 

 

6. All Other Requests 

 
If other requests for profiles are received and this section does not address how to 
handle the requests, refer the requester to DHB’s Office of Compliance and Program 

Integrity’s Call Center at (919) 527-7749. 

 

D. Information Provided on the Medicaid/NCHC Beneficiary Profile 

 

1. A Medicaid Profile is produced for each CNDS ID number requested during the 
date range listed on the DHB-7063. 

 

a. It includes a description of the service rendered, the date of service, billing 

provider number, payment status, billed amount and the amount paid by 
Medicaid. 

 
b. The Provider Summary page lists the total claims paid to date for each 

provider during the overpayment period. 
 

c. The Payment Summary page lists the total claims paid by the month of the 

claim payment for each month in the overpayment period. 
 

d. The Date of Service Summary page shows the total claims paid by the month 

the service was rendered for each month of the overpayment period. 

 
e. For most Medicaid cases, the overpayment amount is established based on the 

monthly totals reflected on the Date of Service Summary page. 

 
f. In cases where the totals on the Provider Summary page and Date of 

Service page are different, use the lesser amount of the two. 

2. Claims Payment History produced on Beneficiary Profiles 
 

a. Claim payment history produced on the profile are for the date range requested. 
For most claims NCTRACKS retains claims history for 10 years from the date of 
payment. 

b. Certain medical procedures and services have limitation criteria that require that 
the claim data be retained for a longer period (i.e. once in a lifetime procedure) 

are retained on the claims system forever. 

 

Claims with limitation criteria are retained for the period of time required (i.e. 
dentures, eyeglasses) 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms
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3. Profiles include monthly contractual fees paid for beneficiaries with active 

enrollment such as the Per Member, Per Month (PMPM) payments for all Primary 
Care Physicians (PCPs) and Capitation fees for managed care entities. These charges 

are treated the same as any other paid claims and are included in determining the 

amount of the overpayment. Include these fees when establishing the overpayment 
regardless of whether the beneficiary received any additional services. 

4. Requesting the Initial Beneficiary Profile and the Follow-Up Profile. 

a. Providers must file a claim for payment for a Medicaid covered service within 

365 days of the date of service. Refer to MA-3530, Corrective Action and 

Responsibility for Errors, for exceptions to the filing time limit. 

b. If any portion of the overpayment period is within the past 12 months when 
the initial profile is requested, all claims may not have been paid since 
providers have 12 months to file a claim. 

c. Request a follow-up profile in the 13th month after the last month of the 

overpayment period to obtain all paid claims information when needed. Each new 

profile provides the total claims paid for the overpayment period as of the date the 

profile was generated. Refer to XI.A.1.a. for procedure to follow if the amount of 

the overpayment changes. 

d. The EPI470 Medicaid Profile Follow-up Case Management Report identifies 

claims for which a follow-up profile must be requested. This NC FAST report is 
generated on the last working day of the month and is available on the first 

working day on the next month. 

 

E. How to determine the overpayment amount 

 

1. Complete a DHB-7063 to request a beneficiary profile for each individual in 

the case in which there is a period of ineligibility. Request claim information 
for each ineligible beneficiary based on the actual months of ineligibility for 

Medicaid. 

 
2. Determine the amount of claims paid during the period of ineligibility for each 

ineligible individual. 

 
a. For all Medicaid beneficiaries verify the amount of paid claims on the Date 

of Service Summary for each ineligible beneficiary in the NC FAST claim. 

 

b. For reserve cases, refer to VIII.C., above. 

 

c. For deductible cases, refer to VIII.B., above. 

 

d. For NCHC beneficiaries, determine the overpayment according to IX., above. 

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/family-and-childrens-medicaid/family-and-childrens-medicaid/ma-3530-corrective-action-and-responsibility-for-errors
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/health-benefits-nc-medicaid/forms
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F. How to Read the Medicaid Beneficiary Profile 

 

1. Beneficiary Profile Page Header and Claim Header 

 
The following Page Header information is reflected on every page of the 
current and purged profile and the Claim Header information is reflected on 
each page of the claim detail pages. 

 

Profiles are generated during provider Checkwrite. Claims listed on profile 
were adjudicated prior to or during the Checkwrite. 
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2. Claim Page Header Description (Lines 1-9) 
 
 

FR66200-R0010 The report number used internally to identify reports to the system and to 

the users 

NORTH CAROLINA 

DEPARTMENT OF 

HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

NCTRACKS 

The owner and name of the system from which the claims were retrieved 

PROCESS DATE The date the information was processed. (In MM/DD/YYYY format) 

PAYER Denotes the Division’s budget from which the claims listed are paid 

AS OF DATE This represents the Check write date for claim paid during this payment 

cycle. Profiles are generated during Check write. Claims listed on profile 
were adjudicated prior to or during the checkwriter. 

PAGE The page number within the entire job of profile requests generated 

during the Checkwrite. 

BENEFICIARY The CNDS ID number for which claims are requested. 

CURRENT OR 

PURGED PROFILE PG 

Indicates the type of profile requested and the page number within the 

beneficiary’s profile 

REQ BY CLERK The clerk ID for whom the profile is produced. (C plus the local agency's 

3-digit agency number, first initial and first three letters of the requestor’s 
last name.) 

REQ FOR This information determines the type of records presented. Defaults to 

ALL. 
Prov = If ALL, all providers selected 

Claim Type = If ALL, all claim types are selected 
Dates = The range of dates of services requested. 

BASE ID The unique number assigned to the beneficiary in NCTRACKS. 

GENDER The gender of the beneficiary 

NAME The name of the beneficiary in the eligibility file on the date the profile 

was produced 

HIC Health Insurance Claim number 

MBI Medicare Beneficiary Identifier. Only displays for beneficiaries who 

have Medicare. 

DOB The date of birth of the beneficiary 

DOD The death date of the beneficiary, if applicable 

CT Claim type 

TCN Transaction Control Number (aka Claim number) assigned by 
NCTRACKS 

ST The status of the claim 

PROV NBR Provider Number for the Billing Provider 

ATTN NBR Provider Number for the Provider who rendered service(s) 

ADM-FIN DTE Date provider was paid 

BILLED The total amount billed on the claim by the provider. 

PAT-LIAB The patient liability for this claim. 

SPEND -DWN The amount of spend-down (deductible balance) for this claim. 

NET-PD The amount paid on this claim by Medicaid. 

DIAG DESC The diagnosis number and description 
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3. Provider Summary Information 

The Provider Summary page summarizes all paid claims for each provider 

number that appears on beneficiary's profile for the period requested. The 
Summary is sorted in provider number order. The provider number, 

provider name, number of services, amount billed, and amount paid are 
presented. 

 

 

PROVIDER NUMBER Each provider which appears on the report. Report is sorted in 

provider number order. 
PROVIDER NAME The provider’s name as it appears on the Provider Master File 

NUMBER OF 

SERVICES 
Number of services is calculated by accumulating the quantity fields on 

most claims type. For crossover claims, one unit is accumulated. On 

inpatient and nursing home claims, one unit is counted for each 

accommodation and ancillary code, which appears, on the claim. On 

drug claims, one unit is counted for each NDC drug dispensed. 

AMOUNT BILLED The total amount billed, accumulated from the header, by this provider 

AMOUNT PAID The total amount paid, accumulated from the header, to this provider 
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4. Payment Summary 

 

The Payment Summary provides a monthly summary of paid claim 

information for the Medicaid beneficiary. The Summary provides the 
amounts paid the time period requested based on the month of payment. 

This report is produced at the same time as the Claims Information and 
the Provider Summary Information. 

 

 

PAID DATE The Month in which the services were performed 

AMOUNT BILLED The total amount billed by the provider for the services performed 

during the month 

AMOUNT PAID 
The total amount paid by Medicaid for services performed during the 

month 

TOTAL Total amount billed and total amount paid. 
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5. Date of Service Summary 

 
The Date of Service Summary provides a monthly summary of paid 

claim information for the Medicaid beneficiary. This page provides the 
monthly amounts billed and paid for the period requested based on dates 

of service. This report is produced at the same time as the Claim 
Information and the Provider Summary Information. 

 

 

 

PAID DATE The Month in which the services were performed 

AMOUNT 

BILLED 

The total amount billed by the provider for the services performed during 

the month. 

AMOUNT PAID The total amount paid by Medicaid for services performed during the 

month 

TOTAL Total amount billed and total amount paid. 
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6. Cross Reference ID Summary 

 
The Cross-Reference ID Summary provides all ID numbers assigned to 

recipient that have been merged. Any claims filed under these numbers 
will appear on the profile for e dates of service requested. 

 

Any ID numbers the beneficiary has that have not been merged will not 

display. A separate profile will need to be submitted for these ID 
numbers. 

 

 

 

ALT ID List all IDs that have been assigned and merged for the beneficiary. 

BASE ID The unique number assigned to the beneficiary in NC Tracks. 

CROSS REFERENCE ID 

STATUS 

The status of the ID number. The four available statuses are: 
A – Active; C – Closed; D-Deleted; M-Merged; S-Soft Delete; V-Void 



73  

7. Claim Type Codes 
 

CLAIM TYPE DESCRIPTION 

A Medicare Part A Crossover (Inpatient) 

B Medicare Part B Crossover (Professional) 

C Health Departments 

D Dental 

E Hearing Aid 

F Nursing Home 

G Hospice 

H Home Health 

I Inpatient 

K Private Duty Nursing 

L Independent Laboratory / Xray 

M Management Fee 

N Adult Care Homes 

O Outpatient 

P Professional 

Q Mental Health 

R Drug 

S Durable Medical Equipment 

T Ambulance (Professional)/Non-Emergency Medical Transportation 

U Medicare Part B Crossover UB (Outpatient) 

V Children’s Developmental Services Agencies 

W Financial Claim 

X Optical 

Y Undefined Professional 

Z Undefined Institutional 

0 Local Education Agencies 

1 Home Infusion Therapy 

2 Therapy Services 

3 Institutional Ambulance 

4 Capitation 

5 Rural Health Clinic / Federally Qualified Health Center 

6 Personal Care Services 

8 Independent Diagnostic Testing Facility / Portable Xray 

9 Maternity Event 
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8. Claim Status Code 
 

CLAIM STATUS DESCRIPTION OF CODE COUNTABLE OR NON-COUNTABLE 

A Awaiting Fund Availability Count 

C To Be Denied Do Not Count 

D Denied Do Not Count 

O To Be Paid Count 

P Paid Count 

S Pend Do Not Count 
 

G. How to Determine the Service Code for NCFAST 

 

1. Use the Provider Summary Information from the beneficiary profile to determine the 
provider number with the highest paid amount. Use the service code for this provider 
claim type when keying NC FAST claims. 

 
2. Locate the provider number for the paid claims on the profile to determine the code for 

the Claim Type. The claim type code is in the left margin of that provider’s billing 
information. Determine the Service Code that matches the Claim Type based on the 
Service Code Chart below. Enter this code on the NC FAST claim. 

 
a. Determine the Service Code that matches the Claim Type based on the Service 

Code Chart below. Enter this service code on the NC FAST claim. 

 

3. Medicaid Service Codes 

 

SERVICE 

CODE 

CLAIM 

TYPE 

DESCRIPTION 

01 A, I, 3 Medicare Part A Crossover (Inpatient), Inpatient, Institutional Ambulance 

(Emergency) 

02 O, U Outpatient, Medicare Part B Crossover UB (Outpatient) 

03 D Dental 

04 R Drug 

05 B, C, L, M, 

P, Q, V, X, 

Y, 0, 2, 4, 5, 

8 

Medicare Part B Crossover (Professional), Health Departments, Independent 

Laboratory/Xray, Management Fee, Professional, Mental Health, Children’s 

Development Services Agencies, Optical, Local Education Agencies, 

Therapy Services, Capitation, Rural Health Clinic/Federally Qualified Health 

Center, Independent Diagnosis Testing Facility/Portable X-ray 

06 G, H, K, S, 1, 

6, E 

Hospice, Home Health, Private Duty Nursing, Durable Medical Equipment, 

Home Infusion Therapy, Personal Care Services, Hearing Aid 

09 N/A Medicare Premium (Not found on Beneficiary Profiles) 

11 F, N Nursing Home, Adult Care Homes 

67 N/A NC Health Choice 

71 T Ambulance (professional)/Non-emergency Medical Transportation 
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H. Examples of Claim Types and Claim Status Codes 

 

1. The following are examples of the Claim Detail Information for various claims. 
 

a. Examples: Claim Types M, 4 (Management and Capitation fees) 
 

 

C 

T 

The Claim (Header) 

TCN Transaction Control Number (aka Claim Number) 

FROM-DOS-TO- 

DOS 
The from and through dates of service 

S 

T 
Status of claim (Header) 

DIAG DESC The diagnosis description. If the diagnosis code billed is invalid, no description 

will be displayed 

BILLED The amount billed to NC Medicaid 

NET PD The amount Medicaid paid for this claim 

LINES 01-XX Breakdown of Medicaid claim into Line Items (Medicaid Claim Line item 001 is 

displayed in example) 



76  

b. Example - Claim Type R (Drug) & P (Professional) 

 

Drug claims only show the actual date of service. The date of service is the day the 

prescription is filled. 

 

Professional claims have a “From to Date of Service”. 

 

 

C 

T 

The claim type (Header) 

S 

T 

Status of Claim (Header) 

FROM-DOS-TO 

DOS 

The from and thru dates of service 

DIAG DISC Number of days prescription to be taken 

NDC National Drug Code 

DESC The diagnosis description. If the diagnosis code billed is invalid, no description 

will print 
NET-PD The amount Medicaid paid for this claim 

LINES 001-XXX Breakdown of the Medicaid Claim into Line Items (Lines 001-004 in example). 
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c. Example - Claim Type: D (Dental) 
 

 

C 

T 
Claim type (Header) 

S 

T 

Status of Claim (Header) 

FROM-DATE-TO From Date of Services to Date of Service 

DIAG DISC The diagnosis description. If the diagnosis code billed is invalid, no 

description will print 
TOOTH NBR Indicates removal of teeth. 

NET-PD The amount Medicaid paid for this claim 

LINES 001-XXX Breakdown of the Medicaid Claim into Line Items (Lines 001-004 in 

example). 
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d. Example - Claim Type: O (Outpatient) 
 

 

C 

T 

Claim Type (Header) 

S 

T 

Status of Claim (Header) 

DESC The diagnosis description. If the diagnosis code billed is invalid, no 

description will print 
FROM-DATE-TO The from and to dates of service 

NET PAID The amount Medicaid paid for this claim 

LINES 001-XXX Breakdown of the Medicaid Claim into Line Items (Lines 001-004 in 

example). 
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e. Example - Claim Type: FPP (Family Planning) 
 

 

C 

T 

Claim Type (Header) 

S 

T 

Status of Claim (Header) 

NET-PD The amount Medicaid paid for this claim 

FP Family Planning Modifier 
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XIX. CITATIONS AND REFERENCES 

Social Security Act, Title XIX, Section 1909 

42 CFR 455 "Program Integrity" 

Social Security Act 1137, 4359.40ff 

IRS Code of 1954, Section 6103(l) 
44 CFR 17926 (March 23, 1979) amended at 51 CFR 7178 (February 8, 1986, effective May 29, 

1986) 

Social Security Act, Title 1902(a)(7) 

42 CFR 431.301-305 
Privacy Act of 1947 (PL 93-579), Section 552(b) (7) 

10 NCAC 26G 

10 NCAC 26G.08 

10 NCAC 24B .0306 

20 NCAC 32S .0306 

NCGS 7B-601 and 7B-110B 

NCGS 108A-64 

NCGS 108A-80, 143B-153 

NCGS 14-100 

Title 11 of the United States Code 

NCGS 105A-8 

NCGS 105A-12 


